DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 6-8, 10-12, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jochen Pfaff et al. U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0176855 (Pfaff).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 5, 19, and 20, Pfaff discloses seat assembly comprising: a seat ([0040]); and a seatback ([0054]) extending upwardly from the seat, wherein the seatback defines a vent outlet (, wherein the vent outlet is spaced from the seat to overlie a neck of an individual seated in the seat (Figure 2 and 3). Pfaff does not directly disclose the vent outlet having a vertical dimension from about 4 inches to about 10 inches or 20-30 inches. Dimensional modification is common and well known in the art. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide a vent outlet dimensioned to best fit a seated user’s body contact area and it is well known this dimension range could be 4-10 or 20-30 inches. Such a modification would provide a means to efficient emit air that would contact the user.
Regarding claim 3, Pfaff discloses the seat wherein the seatback comprises a resilient support structure, wherein the resilient support structure defines a plurality of openings, wherein the plurality of openings cooperate to define the vent outlet (Element 32a-f Figure 3).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Pfaff discloses the seat wherein further comprising a blower configured to effect airflow out the vent outlet; wherein the blower is embedded in the seatback (Element 12).
Regarding claim 8, Pfaff discloses the seat further comprising a conduit in fluid communication with the vent outlet, wherein the conduit is configured to communicate air from an air conditioned source (Figure 3 region Element 20 delivering air from Element 16 region to Element 32a-f region).
Regarding claims 10-12, Pfaff discloses the seat further comprising at least one baffle that is configured to control flow through the seatback toward the vent outlet, further comprising a flow housing, wherein the at least one baffle is positioned within the flow housing (Figure 3 Element 31 within the housing shown); wherein the flow housing comprises a top, a bottom, and an inlet, wherein the inlet is offset relative to a midline between the top and the bottom of the flow housing (Figure 2 and 3, showing the top and bottom and inlet).
Regarding claim 18, Pfaff discloses the seat further comprising a covering material positioned over the vent outlet ([0030]).
Claim(s) 4, 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jochen Pfaff et al. U.S. Patent Publication 2022/016855 (Pfaff) in view of Brian Comiskey et al. U.S. Patent 7,827,805 B2 (Comiskey).
Regarding claim 4, Pfaff discloses the seat wherein comprising the resilient support structure (Element 102). Pfaff does not directly disclose the support structure to be foam. Comiskey discloses a seat assembly comprising a ventilation system within a resilient support structure that comprises foam (Column 4 Line 19-25).
Therefore it would have been an obvious modification well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pfaff as taught by Comiskey to include Comiskey’s foam material. Such a modification would provide material for the support structure that is durable and resilient as a seat surface for the user.
Regarding claims 13-15, Pfaff in view of Comiskey discloses the seat wherein the resilient support structure comprises a front side and a back side, wherein the plurality of openings extend from the front side to the back side, wherein the seat assembly further comprises a diffusion region on the back side, wherein the diffusion region extends across each opening of the plurality of openings; further comprising a diffusion material that is configured to diffuse airflow across the diffusion region; wherein the diffusion material comprises an entangled fibrous material or an open cell foam (Figure 5a-5b Column 4 Line 19-25, open cell foam material having openings, Comiskey).
Regarding claim 16, Pfaff in view of Comiskey discloses the seat further comprising a blower (Element 12, Pfaff) configured to effect airflow out the vent outlet, wherein the vent outlet has a lower end, an upper end spaced from the lower end along a vertical axis (Figure 2), and a midline equally spaced between the upper end and the lower end, wherein the blower is in communication with the diffusion region at a location offset from the midline of the vent outlet (Element 31, Pfaff).
Regarding claim 17, Pfaff in view of Comiskey discloses the seat further comprising a partition between the blower and the diffusion region along a direction of flow, wherein the partition defines at least one opening defining the location offset from the midline of the vent outlet (Element 12 with 18 offset and separated from the Element 31, Pfaff).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jochen Pfaff et al. U.S. Patent Publication 2022/016855 (Pfaff) in view of Giles A. Kendall U.S. Patent 3,732,944 (Kendall).
Regarding claim 9, Pfaff discloses the seat further comprising a conduit in fluid communication with the vent outlet, wherein the conduit is configured to communicate air from an air conditioned source (Figure 3 region Element 20 delivering air from Element 16 region to Element 32a-f region). Pfaff does not directly disclose the conduit comprises a vacuum hose. Kendall discloses a vehicle seat having an air conditioned system comprising a conduit (Element 62) comprising a vacuum hose (Column 3 Lien 53-65).
Therefore it would have been an obvious modification well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pfaff as taught by Kendall to include Kendall’s conduit with a vacuum hose. Such a modification would provide a means to facilitate airflow within the ventilation system for the enhanced comfort of the seated user.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/SHIN H KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636