DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1 and 2 of the Remarks, filed on October 15, 2026, with respect to drawing objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of the drawings has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 2 of the Remarks, filed on October 15, 2026, with respect to claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claims 18-20 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed on October 15, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the rejections of claims 1-6, 8-13, 15-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103, Applicant’s arguments on pages 2-5 of the Remarks have been fully considered by the examiner.
Applicant argued that each of the independent claims 1, 8, and 15 has been amended. For example, claim 8 has been amended overcomes the rejection because Zerbe in view of Ragonese fails to teach an equalizer "configured to address signal loss present in an input signal as received by the equalizer."
Applicant notes an equalizer, by definition, is designed to combat, compensate for, or “address signal loss present in an input signal.” By amending the claim to explicitly state this, the Applicant is merely reciting the inherent nature of how an equalizer operates.
Zerbe explicitly describes an equalizer circuit/sampling mechanism. Any standard equalizer taught by Zerbe or Ragonese inherently receives an input signal and modifies it to address high-frequency loss or attenuation.
It is well-established that the recitation of an intended use or functional limitation of an otherwise old structure does not impart patentable weight to the claim if the prior art structure is capable of performing the recited function (see MPEP § 2111.02).
Zerbe explicitly discloses an equalizer circuit arranged on a substrate that receives a data/input signal and generates an equalized signal (see, e.g., Zerbe, Abstract; Fig. 3). An equalizer inherently functions to compensate for channel degradation, distortion, or signal loss present in its incoming signal. Therefore, the equalizer of Zerbe (and/or Ragonese) is structurally identical to, and fully capable of, performing the function of “addressing signal loss present in an input signal."
Because the prior art structure inherently possesses the capabilities recited in the functional amendment, the addition of this text fails to patentably distinguish claim 8 over the combination of Zerbe and Ragonese. Therefore, the rejection of claim 8 (including claims 1 and 15, and the dependent claims) under 35 U.S.C. 103 is maintained.
Drawings
The drawings were received on October 15, 2026. These drawings are acceptable by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-10, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zerbe et al. (US 8,861,667 B1), hereinafter “Zerbe” in view of Ragonese et al. (US 2018/0062678 A1), hereinafter “Ragonese”.
Zerbe illustrates a communication system (117) in Figure 3 comprising: an equalizing transmitter (115) and an equalizing receiver (116) coupled to one another via a high-speed signal path (122); and a controller (141) coupled to the equalizing transmitter (115) and the equalizing receiver (116) via relatively low-speed signal paths 142A and 142B, respectively. The equalizing transmitter (115) includes a transmit shift register (124), an output driver (121), and a transmit equalizer (129). The equalizing receiver (116) includes a sampling circuit (123), a buffer (132), a tap selection circuit (128), and tap select logic (139).
Figure 31 illustrates an alternative embodiment of an equalizing receiver which may apply to the equalizing receiver (116) of Figure 3 comprising: a sampling circuit (451); a shift register (453); a clock-data-recovery (CDR) circuit (457); application logic (455); a tap data selector (461); a signal generator (462); an equalizer clock generator (459); and an equalization data source selector (463).
Regarding claim 8, Zerbe illustrates a communication system in Figure 3 comprising: a first connector type of a first substrate (equalizing transmitter 115 or IC device, col. 4, lines 54-67) configured to couple to a first device (not shown which generates the Tx data to the transmit shift register 124 of the equalizing transmitter 115); an equalizer (transmit equalizer 129) arranged on the first substrate to produce an equalized signal; a clock and data recovery (CDR) subsystem (CDR 457 of Figure 31) arranged on a second substrate (equalizing receiver 116 or IC device, col. 4, lines 54-67) to receive the equalized signal; and
Although Zerbe does not explicitly teach that the equalizer is configured to address signal loss present in an input signal as received by the equalizer, as amended in claim 8.
Zerbe explicitly describes an equalizer circuit/sampling mechanism. Any standard equalizer taught by Zerbe inherently receives an input signal and modifies it to address high-frequency loss or attenuation.
It is well-established that the recitation of an intended use or functional limitation of an otherwise old structure does not impart patentable weight to the claim if the prior art structure is capable of performing the recited function (see MPEP § 2111.02).
Zerbe explicitly discloses an equalizer circuit arranged on a substrate that receives a data/input signal and generates an equalized signal (see, e.g., Zerbe, Abstract; Fig. 3). An equalizer inherently functions to compensate for channel degradation, distortion, or signal loss present in its incoming signal. Therefore, the equalizer of Zerbe (and/or Ragonese) is structurally identical to, and fully capable of, performing the function of “addressing signal loss present in an input signal."
Although Zerbe teaches in col. 7, lines 12-21 that the transmit-side equalization signal is used to reduce low-latency distortions that may result from any number of sources including, without limitation, dispersion-type ISI, inductive and capacitive coupling (which may be compensated, for example, by sourcing a pre-emphasis output driver within bank (131) with a value being transmitted on a neighboring signal path), and low-latency reflections (e.g., reflections that do not travel significantly further than the unreflected primary signal and therefore arrive at the receiver shortly after the primary signal), Zerbe fails to show or teach that the high-speed signal path (122) is an isolator configured to galvanically isolate the equalizer and the CDR subsystem and pass the equalized signal.
Ragonese illustrates a communication system in Figure 4 comprising a galvanic isolation circuit, such as the transformer (106 or 116) coupled between chip A including an equalizer (30) and chip B including a CDR circuit (172). Ragonese also teaches that a transformer acts as an isolator to perform galvanic isolation functions between chip A and chip B and generally falls within the scope to galvanically isolate the equalizer and the CDR subsystem and pass the equalized signal (paragraphs [0035], [0055], [0071], [0085], and [0095]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art as taught by Ragonese to modify Zerbe’s communication system by using a transformer or an isolator instead of the high-speed signal path (122) to isolate an equalizer from a CDR circuit that fits the definition of placing an “isolator” (the transformer) between them in order to provide galvanic separation while passing the equalized signal, making an additional isolator redundant.
Regarding apparatus claim 1, the features are analogous to those of apparatus claim 8. Therefore, the reasons set forth above regarding claim 8 apply equally to claim 1.
Regarding method claim 15, the method steps correspond to the apparatus features of claim 8. Therefore, the reasons set forth above regarding claim 8 apply equally to claim 15.
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, although Zerbe and Ragonese do not explicitly show or teach that the equalizer is arranged on the first substrate with a first physical layer that couples to the first connector type, and regarding claims 3, 10, and 17, although Zerbe and Ragonese do not explicitly show or teach that the CDR subsystem is part of a de-serializer and is configured to reduce jitter in the equalized signal to generate a parallel data stream, since both chip A and chip B shown in Ragonese communication system are operated as transceivers, inherently, they are known as PHY (for physical layer) and combine digital adaptive equalizers, phase-lock loops (or known as CDR), line drivers, encoders, decoders and other related components. See col. 1, lines 23-26 of the cited reference to Diab (US 6,541,878 B1). Also see element 134 of Figure 1 of the cited reference to De Bernardinis (US 12,074,961 B1).
Claims 4-5, 11-12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zerbe in view of Ragonese as applied to claims 3, 10, and 17 above, and further in view of Pillai (US 2019/0020441 A1), hereinafter “Pillai”.
Regarding claims 4-5, 11-12, and 18, as applied to claims 3, 10, and 17, Zerbe and Ragonese fail to show or teach that the system further comprising a serializer configured to obtain and drive a serial output based on the parallel data stream, and wherein the serializer is coupled to a second physical layer on the second substrate that couples to a second connector type.
Pillai illustrates a communication circuit in Figure 1 for communications between a first PHY device (110) and a second PHY device (112) through a communication barrier (106) and teaches that each PHY device comprises a deserializer followed by a serializer configured to convert a parallel data stream from the deserializer to a serial data stream by the serializer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art as taught by Pillai to implement a serializer after Zerbe’s CDR circuit (457) of the equalizing receiver to convert the parallel data stream of the CDR circuit into a serial data stream for furth processing in order to overcome the physical limitations of high-speed parallel data transfer over cables and circuit board traces.
Claims 6, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zerbe in view of Ragonese, as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15 above, and further in view of CHOI et al. (US 2016/010 5273 A1), hereinafter “Choi”.
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 19, as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15, respectively, Zerbe and Ragonese fail to show or teach that the system further comprises an eye-opening monitor (EOM) arranged on the second substrate between the isolator and the CDR subsystem.
Choi illustrates alternative communication systems in Figures 2, 4, and 6, for example, the communication system shown in Figure 2 comprising a transmitter circuit (TX 230) and a receiver circuit (RX 210) and teaches the RX circuit comprises an EOM (218) coupled to a CDR circuit (215) for monitoring waveforms of a particular spot of the SER/DES circuit (paragraph [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art as taught by Choi to implement an EOM arranged on Zerbe’s equalizing receiver between the replacement of the high-speed signal path (122) with a transformer (isolator) and the CDR circuit in order to measure and report on the state of the eye opening to provide high-quality or a figure of merit for the signal’s quality.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 14, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
DUPUIS et al. (US 2009/0017773 A1) relates to a circuit includes a first area containing a first group of functional circuitry located in a substrate of an integrated circuit and a second area containing a second group of functional circuitry also contained within the substrate of the integrated circuit. Capacitive isolation circuitry located in the conductive layers in the integrated circuit provides a high voltage isolation link between the first group of functional circuitry and the second group of functional circuitry. The capacitive isolation circuitry distributes a first portion of the high voltage isolation signal across the first group of capacitors in the capacitive isolation circuitry and distributes a second portion of the high voltage isolation circuitry across the second group of capacitors in the capacitive isolation circuitry.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Young T. Tse/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632