DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 5-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 8,439,947. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims of the patent encompass subject matter of claims of the present application. See the table below.
Claims 2-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 8,439,947 in view of Nelson et al. (2010/0094347). See the table below. U.S. Patent No. 8,439,947 claims the system substantially as claimed in the present application, but does not explicitly claim that the system comprises an implant or bone implant, wherein the implant is configured to be rotatably aligned using the flexible inserter. Nelson et al. teach, in figures 17 and 18 and para. [0099]-[0101], a system including an implant or bone implant (148), wherein the implant is configured to be rotatably aligned using a flexible inserter (114). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of Nelson et al. to include an implant or bone implant, as claimed, with the system as claimed in U.S. Patent No. 8,439,947. Such a modification would allow preparation of fractured bone and fixation of the bone with an implant or bone implant.
Claims of U.S. Pat. App. No. 18/751,615
Claims of U.S. Pat. No. 8,439,947
1
1
2
1 (in view of Nelson et al.)
3
1 (in view of Nelson et al.)
4
1 (in view of Nelson et al.)
5
1
6
1
7
1
8
3
9
4
10
1
11
5
12
6
13
8
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-5, 11, 12, 14-17, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Nelson et al. (2010/0094347) in view of Corcoran et al. (2005/0080400) and further in view of Barber (4,541,423).
Nelson discloses in figures 17 and 18 and para. [0097] and [0099]-[0101]; a system for inserting an implant (148) into an internal anatomical site comprising: a drill (126, [0087]) (Fig. 17-18) configured to form a bore in bone at the internal anatomical site (according to para. [0097]), and a flexible inserter (114) including a shaft (114) (Fig. 5 and 17-18) having a flexible portion interlocking segments (portions in Fig. 17-18), the flexible inserter configured to insert the implant into the bore in bone (where it is capable of performing this function); wherein the system further comprises an implant or a bone implant (Fig. 18-19, [0087], and [0076]); wherein the implant is configured to be rotatably aligned using the flexible inserter ([0101]); wherein the system further comprises a flexible obturator ([0066]); wherein the shaft of the flexible inserter is substantially cannulated and comprises a thickness between an outer surface and an inner surface (Fig. 18); wherein the interlocking segments are constructed from a solid, continuous length of material (Fig. 18-23); and wherein adjacent interlocking segments are axially offset from one another (when the shaft is curved within the bone it would be offset).
Nelson also disclose a method for inserting an implant (148) into a bore in bone, comprising: forming the bore in bone with a drill (according to para. [0097], and inserting an implant into the bore in bone with a flexible inserter (114) including a shaft (114) having a flexible portion including interlocking segments (Fig. 17-20); wherein the shaft of the flexible inserter is substantially cannulated and comprises a thickness between an outer surface and an inner surface (Fig. 18-23); wherein the interlocking segments are constructed from a solid, continuous length of material (Fig. 18-23); wherein adjacent interlocking segments are axially offset from one another (when the shaft is curved within the bone it will be offset); and wherein inserting the implant into the bore in bone with the flexible inserter includes rotatably aligning the implant in the bone using the flexible inserter ([0080] and [0094]).
Nelson teaches all the claimed limitations discussed above, however Nelson does not disclose that the interlocking segments are discrete interlocking segments.
Corcoran discloses another well-known flexible shaft where the interlocking segments can be either connected (Fig. 6b) or independent (Fig. 3-4) as discloses in [0026]. Thus, Corcoran discloses that these arrangements for the interlocking segments is well known equivalents in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the interlocking segments of Nelson to be independent/discrete, as taught by Corcoran, since it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element for another will yield predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82, USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Nelson in view of Corcoran teach all the claimed limitations discussed above however Nelson in view of Corcoran do not explicitly disclose that the drill is a flexible drill.
Barber teaches, in figures 1, 4, and 5 and col. 2, line 46 to col. 3, line 26 and col. 4, lines 29-42; a flexible drill (10) configured to form a bore in bone at the internal anatomical site and a method of forming the bore with the flexible drill.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of Barber, to apply a flexible drill in the system and method of Nelson et al. Such a modification would allow the drilling of a curved bore in bone for receiving and proper positioning of an implant.
Claims 13 and 18 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Nelson et al. (2010/0094347) in view of Corcoran et al. (2005/0080400) and Barber (4,541,423), and further in view of Krause et al. (6,053,922).
Nelson in view of Corcoran and Barber discloses the invention substantially as claimed, but do not explicitly disclose that the interlocking segments are constructed from a solid, continuous length of material by a plurality of laser cuts extending completely through the thickness of the shaft.
Krause teach, in col. 10, lines 27-42; interlocking segments of a shaft constructed from a solid, continuous length of material by a plurality of laser cuts extending completely through the thickness of the shaft. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of Krause et al., to construct, as claimed, the interlocking segments of the shaft of Nelson in view of Corcoran and Barber. Such a modification would allow convenient and precise cutting of the shaft to produce a desired slot pattern (i.e., slots between segments) and a shaft with a predetermined flexibility.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 3/5/26 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art when considered in combination appears to teach the claimed limitations.
/DIANNE DORNBUSCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771