Claim Interpretation
In view of the fact that 1) the claims are recited using open transitional phrases and 2) even a fluorinated yttrium oxide layer can contain certain amounts of yttrium oxide (see ¶ 0017 of the specification), a layer of a particular ceramic material (e.g. “yttrium fluoride layer” and “zirconium oxide layer”) is not considered to mean a layer of exclusively said ceramic material (and optionally unavoidable impurities).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The support for 80 at% or more YOF is found only in context of total of YF3, YOF, and Y2O3, and this is made only in context of surface fluorination of a Y2O3 coating. (See Spec ¶¶ 0045-0049). Nothing here suggests that ZrO2 is part of the denominator. Nowhere does the specification contemplate 80 at% or more YOF when ZrO2 is part of the denominator. While it is not contested that each element recited in the claim is indeed in the specification, that alone is not sufficient for original written description support, for the elements are drawn to separate and disparate embodiments in the specification. As such, following the rationale from Hyatt v. Dudas (492 F.3d 1365,1370), even though support for individual elements may be found in the specification, there is no support for the combination of elements, and it is this lack of support for the combination of elements that renders the limitation in question non-compliant with the written description requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-6 and 9; and claim 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over U.S. 2019/0382880 A1 (“He”).
Considering claims 1 and 3-6 and claim 11, He discloses semiconductor processing components coated with a rare earth silicate coating and a rare earth oxide coating, wherein the semiconductor processing component can be susceptors, showerheads, nozzles, and rings. (He abs. ¶¶ 0032-0038, 0047-0049, and 0063). He is analogous, as it is from the same field of endeavor as that of the instant application (susceptor having a coating containing YF3). In particular, He discloses that its coating can comprise an alternation of respective layers of Y2O3, SiO2, and ZrO2, wherein each layer has a thickness of less than a single atomic layer to a few atomic layers, and wherein each layer is deposited via ALD. (Id. ¶¶ 0077-0079). It is noted that the Instant Application deems thickness of less than a single atomic layer to be not distinct. (Spec. ¶ 0025). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. (See In re Wertheim, 191 USPQ 90, In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934, and In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379; MPEP § 2144.05). Furthermore, given that the Instant Application gave only an example of an indistinct layer but did not provide a definition, and as He in general discloses very thin layers, He is alternatively considered to have taught thickness needed to be indistinct with sufficient specificity (due to relatively large overlap between what is disclosed and what is required).
He further discloses that its coating may have its surface be subjected to a fluorination treatment at elevated temperatures as to form a surface portion of YOF or YF3. (He ¶¶ 0032 and 0038). He further discloses that in the fluorination treatment, oxygen is replaced with fluorine. (Id. ¶ 0037). With the original Y2O3 layers being indistinct due to low thickness, the converted YOF or YF3 coating also remains indistinct due to low thickness.
He anticipates or renders obvious claims 1 and 3-6 and claim 11.
Considering claim 2, with both YOF and YF3 disclosed in He, having a mixture of the two would be obvious, especially in view of the diffusive nature of the surface fluorination process.
Considering claim 9, as the fluorination occurs at the outermost surface, the coating of He reads on claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over He, as applied to claim 1 above.
Considering claims 7 and 8, the overall thickness of the coating is 3 nm to 20 µm. (Id. ¶ 0082). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness.
Response to Arguments and Additional Comments
In view of amendments to the claims the various prior art rejections over Wu have been withdrawn.
Limitation having the effect of further requiring a significantly thick bottom portion of the coating to contain only layers of ZrO2 alternating with layers of Y2O3 would overcome the rejection over He.
Concluding Remarks
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Z. Jim Yang/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781