DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 7/9/2026 has been entered. Claims 8-14 are canceled and new claims 21-27 are added. Claims 1-7 and 15-27 are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Examiner notes that Applicant's Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submissions are extremely long. The Examiner has considered all of the references submitted as part of the Information Disclosure Statements, but has not found any to be particularly relevant. If Applicant is aware of pertinent material in the references, Applicant should so state in a response to this Office action. Applicant is reminded of MPEP § 2004(13): "It is desirable to avoid the submission of long lists of documents if it can be avoided. Eliminate clearly irrelevant and marginally pertinent cumulative information. If a long list is submitted, highlight those documents which have been specifically brought to applicant's attention and/or are known to be of most significance. See Penn Yan Boats, Inc. v. Sea Lark Boats, Inc., 359 F. Supp. 948, 175 USPQ 260 (S.D. Fla. 1972), aff'd, 479 F.2d 1338, 178 USPQ 577 (5th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 874 (1974)."
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues summarily that “King fails to disclose the switch element of an error detection module where the error detection module adapted to be received in an in-wall power adapter not having a switch for controlling the application of power to a load, as set forth in Claim 1 as amended.” The examiner respectfully disagrees.
King teaches the switch element of an error detection module (see figure 12 & column 26 lines 9-25) adapted to be received in an in-wall power adapter (the switch element of the error detection module is received in a standard wall outlet—the in-wall power adapter which adapts wiring to a three-prong plug—per figure 106) not having a switch for controlling the application of power to a load (a standard wall outlet does not contain a switch to control power to a load; the mechanism for providing power is purely a physical connection between plug and in-wall adapter contacts).
Therefore, all claims stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 15-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent No. 11231730 to King et al.
Regarding claim 1, King teaches an error detection module adapted to be attached to an in-wall power adapter (figure 94), the error detection module comprising:
a switch element configured to route a line voltage to a load (figure 11; column 26 lines 9-25);
a control circuit coupled to the switch element, wherein the control circuit is adapted to control the switch element (column 26 lines 26-38); and
a user interface adapted to indicate a correct wiring configuration (column 62 lines 17-24);
wherein the control circuit controls the switch element to detect a type of wiring error (column 62 lines 42-46); and
wherein the error detection module is adapted to be received in an in-wall power adapter not having a switch for controlling the application of power to a load (figure 106 shows that the error detection module can be received in a standard wall outlet, which is an in-wall power adapter adapting wires to a three-prong plug; a standard wall outlet has no switch involved in controlling application of power to a load, but instead uses simple physical connection via metal contacts with the plug).
Regarding claim 2, King teaches the error detection module of claim 1, wherein the control circuit performs a test to detect a wiring error when a neutral wire is not connected to a contact element of the in-wall power adapter (column 63 lines 32-51).
Regarding claim 3, King teaches the error detection module of claim 1, wherein the control circuit performs a test to detect a wiring error when a line wire and a load wire connected to the in-wall power adapter are swapped (column 43 lines 34-61).
Regarding claim 4, King teaches the error detection module of claim 1, wherein the control circuit performs tests for detecting one or more wiring error of a group of wiring error comprising a line connection missing, a neutral connection missing, a traveler connection missing, line and neutral wires swapped, line and load wires swapped, line and traveler wires swapped, neutral and load wires swapped, neutral and traveler wires swapped, and load and traveler wires swapped (column 43 lines 34-61).
Regarding claim 5, King teaches the error detection module of claim 1, further comprising a test circuit coupled to the control circuit, wherein the test circuit is configured to select a contact element of the error detection module to determine a voltage of the contact element (column 57 lines 22-49).
Regarding claim 6, King teaches the error detection module of claim 5, wherein the test circuit comprises a multiplexer circuit (column 57 lines 38-40).
Regarding claim 7, King teaches the error detection module of claim 1, wherein the user interface provides an indication of a type of wiring error (column 62 lines 31-46).
Regarding claim 15, King teaches a method of detecting a wiring error for an in-wall power adapter (figure 94), the method comprising:
receiving an error detection module in an in-wall power adapter, wherein the in-wall power adapter does not comprise a switch (figure 106 shows that the error detection module can be received in a standard wall outlet, which is an in-wall power adapter adapting wires to a three-prong plug; a standard wall outlet has no switch involved in controlling application of power to a load, but instead uses simple physical connection via metal contacts with the plug);
configuring a switch element of an error detection module to route a line voltage to contact element of the in-wall power adapter (figure 11; column 26 lines 9-25);
coupling a control circuit to the switch element, wherein the control circuit is adapted to control the switch element (column 26 lines 26-38); and
providing a user interface to indicate a correct wiring condition (column 62 lines 17-24);
wherein the control circuit controls the switch element to detect a wiring error (column 62 lines 42-46).
Regarding claim 16, King teaches the method of claim 15, further comprising detecting, by the control circuit, a wiring error when a neutral wire is not connected to a contact element of the in-wall power adapter (column 63 lines 32-51).
Regarding claim 17, King teaches the method of claim 15, further comprising detecting, by the control circuit, a wiring error when a line wire and a load wire connected to the in-wall power adapter are swapped (column 43 lines 34-61).
Regarding claim 18, King teaches the method of claim 15, further comprising testing, by the control circuit, for one or more wiring errors of a group of wiring errors comprising a line connection missing, a neutral connection missing, a traveler connection missing, line and neutral wires swapped, line and load wires swapped, line and traveler wires swapped, neutral and load wires swapped, neutral and traveler wires swapped, and load and traveler wires swapped (column 43 lines 34-61).
Regarding claim 19, King teaches the method of claim 15, further comprising detecting voltages on one or more contact elements of the error detection module (column 57 lines 22-49).
Regarding claim 20, King teaches the method of claim 15, further comprising detecting a voltage on a contact associated with a 3-way wiring arrangement (column 62 lines 31-46).
Regarding claim 21, King teaches a method method of detecting a wiring error for an in-wall power adapter, the method comprising: receiving an error detection module in an in-wall power adapter, wherein the in- wall power adapter does not comprise a switch (figure 106 shows that the error detection module can be received in a standard wall outlet, which is an in-wall power adapter adapting wires to a three-prong plug; a standard wall outlet has no switch involved in controlling application of power to a load, but instead uses simple physical connection via metal contacts with the plug); configuring a switch element of the error detection module to route a line voltage to a load (figure 11; column 26 lines 9-25); coupling a control circuit of the error detection module to the switch element, wherein the control circuit is adapted to control the switch element (column 26 lines 26-38); controlling, by the control circuit, the switch element to detect a wiring error (column 62 lines 42-46); and providing an indication of a correct wiring condition (column 62 lines 17-24).
Regarding claim 22, King teaches the method of claim 21, further comprising detecting voltages on one or more contact elements of the error detection module (column 57 lines 22-49).
Regarding claim 23, King teaches the method of claim 21, further comprising detecting a voltage on a contact element associated with a 3-way wiring arrangement (column 62 lines 31-46).
Regarding claim 24, King teaches the method of claim 21, further comprising configuring the switch to route the line voltage on a contact associated with a 3-way wiring arrangement (figure 11; column 26 lines 9-25).
Regarding claim 25, King teaches the method of claim 21, further comprising selecting, using the switch, a contact element to which the line voltage is applied (column 38 lines 9-18).
Regarding claim 26, King teaches the method of claim 21, further comprising selecting, by the switch, a contact element on which a voltage is detected (column 57 lines 22-49).
Regarding claim 27, King teaches the method of claim 21, further comprising receiving wires of a junction box at contact elements of an in-wall power adapter (column 86 lines 51-54).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT P ALEJNIKOV JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/ARLEEN M VAZQUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857