DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8 and 10-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on newly discover art of Niemi applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pacheco et al. US 2017/0228214 further in view of Niemi et al. US 2008/0018748.
In regarding to claim 1: Pacheco teaches:
1. An image capturing apparatus comprising: circuitry configured to: perform an image capturing process to repeatedly generate image frames included in a moving image captured by an imaging device;
[0024] As stated above, the redirection module 206 can receive audio data frames from the camera driver 202 and image data frames from the microphone driver 206. Each time the redirection module 206 receives a new image data frame and a new audio data frame, the redirection module can analyze the image data to determine whether a trigger event is located in the image or audio data. If the redirection module 206 does not detect a trigger event in the image or audio data, the redirection module can provide the unaltered audio and image data frames to the video conference module 210 for encoding and other processing. The video conference module 210 can then send the encoded audio and image data frames to the other information handling systems participating in the video conference. The voice input module 212 can be placed and kept in a low power state while the redirection module 206 does not detect a trigger event, so that the information handling system 100 can conserve power.
Pacheco, 0016, 0024, 0027-0028, 0031, emphasis added.
transmit the image frames repeatedly generated to a communication terminal at a site different from a site at which the image capturing apparatus is located;
[0024] As stated above, the redirection module 206 can receive audio data frames from the camera driver 202 and image data frames from the microphone driver 206. Each time the redirection module 206 receives a new image data frame and a new audio data frame, the redirection module can analyze the image data to determine whether a trigger event is located in the image or audio data. If the redirection module 206 does not detect a trigger event in the image or audio data, the redirection module can provide the unaltered audio and image data frames to the video conference module 210 for encoding and other processing. The video conference module 210 can then send the encoded audio and image data frames to the other information handling systems participating in the video conference. The voice input module 212 can be placed and kept in a low power state while the redirection module 206 does not detect a trigger event, so that the information handling system 100 can conserve power.
Pacheco, 0016, 0024, 0028, 0031, emphasis added.
However, Pacheco fails to explicitly teach, but Niemi teaches: detect whether the image capturing apparatus is moving or has stopped;
[0045] According to a third aspect of the invention, a method for acquiring at least two digital images by means of a digital camera, wherein the digital images are to be stitched into a combined image, comprises: capturing a first digital image, wherein a first scenery is imaged; allowing a user to move the digital camera to direct the camera towards a second scenery; detecting a stopped movement of the digital camera; and automatically capturing a second digital image in response to detection of a stopped movement.
Niemi, 0045-0046, emphasis added.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Niemi with the system of Pacheco in order detect whether the image capturing apparatus is moving or has stopped, as such, improved user interface for aiding a user in taking several images to be stitched together is desired..—0009.
Furthermore, Pacheco teaches: accept a lock instruction to lock an image frame to be transmitted to the communication terminal among the image frames,
[0024] As stated above, the redirection module 206 can receive audio data frames from the camera driver 202 and image data frames from the microphone driver 206. Each time the redirection module 206 receives a new image data frame and a new audio data frame, the redirection module can analyze the image data to determine whether a trigger event is located in the image or audio data. If the redirection module 206 does not detect a trigger event in the image or audio data, the redirection module can provide the unaltered audio and image data frames to the video conference module 210 for encoding and other processing. The video conference module 210 can then send the encoded audio and image data frames to the other information handling systems participating in the video conference. The voice input module 212 can be placed and kept in a low power state while the redirection module 206 does not detect a trigger event, so that the information handling system 100 can conserve power.
Pacheco, 0016, 0024, 0027-0028, 0031, emphasis added.
Furthermore, Niemi teaches: in response to the detection of a stop of the image capturing apparatus;
[0045] According to a third aspect of the invention, a method for acquiring at least two digital images by means of a digital camera, wherein the digital images are to be stitched into a combined image, comprises: capturing a first digital image, wherein a first scenery is imaged; allowing a user to move the digital camera to direct the camera towards a second scenery; detecting a stopped movement of the digital camera; and automatically capturing a second digital image in response to detection of a stopped movement.
Niemi, 0045-0046, emphasis added.
and repeatedly transmit the image frame for which the lock instruction is received to the communication terminal in response to the acceptance of the lock instruction.
[0024] As stated above, the redirection module 206 can receive audio data frames from the camera driver 202 and image data frames from the microphone driver 206. Each time the redirection module 206 receives a new image data frame and a new audio data frame, the redirection module can analyze the image data to determine whether a trigger event is located in the image or audio data. If the redirection module 206 does not detect a trigger event in the image or audio data, the redirection module can provide the unaltered audio and image data frames to the video conference module 210 for encoding and other processing. The video conference module 210 can then send the encoded audio and image data frames to the other information handling systems participating in the video conference. The voice input module 212 can be placed and kept in a low power state while the redirection module 206 does not detect a trigger event, so that the information handling system 100 can conserve power.
[0028] In an embodiment, the user of the information handling system 100 may also want to modify the image data in response to a trigger event, so that other individuals participating in the video conference will not be able to figure out what the user is saying by reading the user's lips while the audio data is muted. In this situation, the redirection module 206 can modify the image data received from the camera driver 208, and can then provide the modified image data with the silent audio data to the video conference module 210. The redirection module can modify the image data by blurring the image around the user's mouth, by repeating the previous image data, or the like.
Pacheco, 0016, 0024, 0027-0028, 0031, emphasis added.
Note: The motivation that was applied to claim 1 above, applies equally as well to claims 2-8 and 10-13 as presented blow.
In regarding to claim 2: Pacheco teaches:
2. The image capturing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to transmit the image frames repeatedly generated to the communication terminal in response to acceptance of a lock release instruction to release lock of the image frame.
Pacheco, 0016, 0024, 0027-0028, 0031
In regarding to claim 3: Pacheco teaches:
3. The image capturing apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising an operation unit including a lock button configured to receive the lock instruction, wherein the circuitry is configured to accept the lock instruction in response to pressing of the lock button.
Pacheco, 0016, 0024, 0027-0028, 0031
In regarding to claim 4: Pacheco teaches:
4. The image capturing apparatus according to claim 2, further comprising an operation unit including a lock release button configured to receive the lock release instruction, wherein the circuitry is configured to accept the lock release instruction in response to pressing of the lock release button.
Pacheco, 0016, 0024, 0027-0028, 0031
In regarding to claim 5: Pacheco teaches:
5. The image capturing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to accept the lock instruction by a remote command transmitted from the communication terminal.
Pacheco, 0016, 0024, 0027-0028, 0031
In regarding to claim 6: Pacheco teaches:
6. The image capturing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the circuitry is configured to accept the lock release instruction by a remote command transmitted from the communication terminal.
Pacheco, 0016, 0024, 0027-0028, 0031
In regarding to claim 7: Pacheco teaches:
7. The image capturing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is configured to detect a predetermined object from the image frames, and accept the lock instruction, in response to the detection of the predetermined object.
Pacheco, 0016, 0024, 0027-0028, 0031
In regarding to claim 10: Pacheco teaches:
10. The image capturing apparatus according to claim 9, wherein in response to the detection of a start of movement of the image capturing apparatus, the circuitry is configured to accept a lock release instruction to release lock of the image frame, and transmit the image frames repeatedly generated to the communication terminal.
Pacheco, 0016, 0024, 0027-0028, 0031
In regarding to claim 11: Pacheco teaches:
11. The image capturing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to start a timer in response to the acceptance of the lock instruction, and start transmission of the image frames repeatedly generated to the communication terminal in response to expiration of the timer.
Pacheco, 0016, 0024, 0027-0028, 0031
Claims 12-13 list all similar elements of claim 1, but in method and a non-transitory recording medium form rather than apparatus form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 1 applies equally as well to claims 12-13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pacheco et al. US 2017/0228214 as applied to claims 1-7 above, and further in view of Cassini et al. US 2018/0098029.
In regarding to claim 8: Pacheco teaches:
8. The image capturing apparatus according to claim 7, however, Pacheco fails explicitly to teach, but Cassini teaches: wherein the predetermined object includes an electronic whiteboard.
Cassini, 0030.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of Cassini with the system of Pacheco in order wherein the predetermined object includes an electronic whiteboard, as such, the method can provide different operating modes to match the requirements of different types or settings of video conferencing sessions, such as ordinary business conferences, tele-teaching, and tele-interviewing…--0030.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL T TEKLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481