DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olson (US 2012/0265054 A1) in view of Van Steenwyk et al (US 4,173,228 A, hereinafter “Van Steenwyk”).
Regarding claim 2, Olson discloses a localization system, comprising: at least one catheter configured for delivery of an electrode array comprising one or more biopotential electrodes to a body cavity defined by surrounding tissue (pars 0023, 0027); a patient interface module comprising a plurality of localization electrodes configured for fixed orientation relative to the body (pars 0023-0027, 0029), including pairs of localization electrodes that define axes of a coordinate system (pars 0023-0027, 0029, 0038); and a cardiac information console configured to: drive the localization electrodes to establish an electrical field between localization electrodes in each pair of localization electrodes (pars 0023-0027, 0033-0038), process current output at pairs of the localization electrodes to establish a manipulatable coordinate system for the tissue (pars 0023-0027, 0033-0038), wherein the coordinate system is manipulatable to rotate, make shorter, and/or make longer the axes, to modify a representation of the electrode array (par 0033-0045), and process biopotential signals sensed and/or recorded by the biopotential electrodes to orient the biopotential electrodes within the coordinate system (pars 0023, 0037).
Olson discloses the claimed invention (see rejection above), but does not explicitly disclose driving the localization electrodes with localization signals having both a magnitude and a phase. Van Steenwyk is analogous art in regard to localization structures and methods for catheters (abstract). Van Steenwyk discloses it was known in the art to utilize localization signals with both a magnitude and phase to determine proximity and orientation of a catheter (abstract, col 5, ln 14-39). Applied to the invention of Olson, the features of Van Steenwyk would provide driving localization electrodes with localization signals having both a magnitude and a phase as known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the features of Van Steenwyk in the invention of Olson, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of avoiding the hazard, inconvenience, and expense of x-ray positioning by utilizing a method that determines catheter position quickly and easily both during and after placement of a catheter.
Regarding claim 3, Olson discloses the cavity is a heart chamber and the surrounding tissue is one or more walls of the heart chamber (pars 0022-0023, 0027).
Regarding claim 4, Olson discloses the electrode array is a 3D array (pars 0041-0042).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Lindsey G Wehrheim
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3799
/LINDSEY G WEHRHEIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799