Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/24/2024 and 09/22/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 11-13, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 20190132882).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a method for determining a time-frequency resource for Msg1 repeated-transmission (resource configuration for preamble and data part in Msg1; [0148]), comprising:
receiving, by a terminal, a first message sent by a network-side device, wherein the first message carries first configuration information of Msg1 repeated-transmission (From the PRACH configuration, the UE obtains one or multiple of the following RA related parameters, such as a configuration of Msg1 occasion burst, a configuration of slot structure for Msg1 transmission; [0156]); and
determining, by the terminal, a first time-frequency resource for the Msg1 repeated-transmission based on the first configuration information (From the Msg1 configuration, the UE obtains the time and frequency resources to transmit Msg1; [0156]),
wherein the determining a first time-frequency resource for the Msg1 repeated-transmission comprises at least one of the following: determining whether to perform the Msg1 repeated-transmission; determining a physical random access channel (PRACH) resource for the Msg1 repeated-transmission; or determining a frequency hopping parameter of the Msg1 repeated-transmission (the UE transmits Msg1 over the determined RACH occasion. Msg1 transmission waveform can be enhanced from Rel-15 Msg1 waveform (e.g., repetitions of Msg1 across frequency domain) to satisfy unlicensed band regulations. The Msg1 transmission is subject to LBT for NR-U, and multiple Msg1 transmission occasions can be allocated together to form a burst of Msg1 occasions; [0157]).
Regarding claim 2, Li discloses wherein the first configuration information comprises at least one of the following:
an Msg1 repeated-transmission pattern; a plurality of types of synchronization signal block (SSB) combinations; a configuration parameter of an SSB-random access channel (RACH) transmission occasion (SSB-RO) association; a first threshold, indicating a trigger threshold for the Msg1 repeated-transmission; a second threshold, indicating a selection threshold for an associated SSB of the Msg1 repeated-transmission; whether to enable RO frequency hopping; a RO frequency hopping offset; a frequency hopping count or a frequency hopping step size; an Msg1 repeated-transmission count; a pilot sequence resource set for the Msg1 repeated-transmission; or a RO mask of the Msg1 repeated-transmission (From the PRACH configuration, the UE obtains one or multiple of the following RA related parameters, such as a PRACH preamble format, indicator to use the 2-step RA or the 4-step RA, a configuration of Msg1 occasion burst, a configuration of slot structure for Msg1 transmission, an indicator to support wideband LBT down-selection for PRACH, and the like. From the Msg1 configuration, the mapping rule between the selected SS block and Msg1 occasions, the UE obtains the time and frequency resources to transmit Msg1; [0156]).
Regarding claim 3, Li discloses wherein the Msg1 repeated-transmission pattern comprises: a plurality of ROs are associated with a same SSB; or a plurality of ROs are associated with different SSBs (within an SS/PBCH block (SSB) to Msg1 occasion association period, one of the following approaches of how Msg1 /RACH occasions (i.e., resources to transmit Msg1) are configured for 2-step RA can be utilized. In the following, the SSB to Msg1 occasion association period refers to one or multiple of the Msg1 configuration periods, such that the same mapping patterns from the SSBs to Msg1 occasion association will be repeated. For NR-U, the SSB to Msg1 occasion association period can be defined by assuming the LBT for SSB and LBT for Msg1 occasions are successful; [0311]).
Regarding claim 4, Li discloses the determining whether to perform the Msg1 repeated-transmission and determining a physical random access channel (PRACH) resource for the Msg1 repeated-transmission comprises:
determining, in a case that a first condition is met, to perform the Msg1 repeated-transmission, and determining the PRACH resource for the Msg1 repeated-transmission, wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following:
that 4-step random access fails N times, wherein a value of N is predefined in a protocol or configured by the first message; that first signaling is received, wherein the first signaling instructs the terminal to perform the Msg1 repeated-transmission, and carries indication information related to RO frequency hopping; or that signal quality of a downlink signal is lower than or not higher than the first threshold, wherein the first threshold is configured by the first message, or a threshold for determining whether to perform a random access procedure of Msg3 repeated-transmission is reused as the first threshold (From the PRACH configuration, the UE obtains one or multiple of the following RA related parameters, such as a PRACH preamble format, indicator to use the 2-step RA or the 4-step RA, a configuration of Msg1 occasion burst, a configuration of slot structure for Msg1 transmission, an indicator to support wideband LBT down-selection for PRACH, and the like ; [0156].
FIG. 37 illustrates a failure by a UE to receive any RAR corresponding to the Msg1 in a first Msg1 occasion burst 3701. This can occur when a gNB does not detect a Msg1 from the UE, for example due to beam misalignment, or when the gNB fails LBT in all RAR occasions and does not transmit any RAR 3702, or when the UE fails to detect a RAR from the gNB. Then, the 4-step RA for a current Msg1 occasion burst fails, and the UE can again apply a 4-step RA in a next available Msg1 occasion burst 3704. FIG. 37 further illustrates that the UE receives a RAR with a correct RAPID 3705 corresponding to a next Msg1 occasion 3704; [0445]).
Regarding claim 11, Li discloses determining, by the terminal in a case that the first configuration information further comprises a RO for second and subsequent Msg1 transmissions in the Msg1 repeated-transmission, that the network-side device supports the Msg1 repeated-transmission (the UE obtains one or multiple of the following RA related parameters, such as a PRACH preamble format, indicator to use the 2-step RA or the 4-step RA, a configuration of Msg1 occasion burst, a configuration of slot structure for Msg1 transmission, an indicator to support wideband LBT down-selection for PRACH, and the like. From the Msg1 configuration, the mapping rule between the selected SS block and Msg1 occasions, the UE obtains the time and frequency resources to transmit Msg1. In step 903, the UE transmits Msg1 over the determined RACH occasion, wherein the Msg1 includes a randomly selected RA preamble sequence from the available sequences, and a data part that includes at least a UE ID if the 2-step RA is used; [0156-0157]).
Regarding claim 12, Li discloses wherein the Msg1 repeated-transmission pattern comprises: the RO for the second and subsequent Msg1 transmissions in the Msg1 repeated-transmission and a RO for a first Msg1 transmission in the Msg1 repeated-transmission are associated with a same SSB; or the RO for the second and subsequent Msg1 transmissions in the Msg1 repeated-transmission and a RO for a first Msg1 transmission in the Msg1 repeated-transmission are associated with one or more different SSBs (the SSB to Msg1 occasion association period refers to one or multiple of the Msg1 configuration periods, such that the same mapping patterns from the SSBs to Msg1 occasion association will be repeated. For NR-U, the SSB to Msg1 occasion association period can be defined by assuming the LBT for SSB and LBT for Msg1 occasions are successful; [0311]).
Regarding claim 13, Li discloses determining the Msg1 repeated-transmission count based on a quantity of ROs for the second and subsequent Msg1 transmissions in the Msg1 repeated-transmission in the first configuration information; and/or determining, based on an SSB pattern configured or predetermined by the network-side device, an SSB associated with the second and subsequent Msg1 transmissions in the Msg1 repeated-transmission (an SSB-perMsg1-Occasion can be introduced to indicate the number of time unit that contains each Msg1 occasion that an SS/PBCH block maps to, wherein the values of SSB-perMsg1-Occasion can be the same as Rel-15 NR (i.e., {1/8,1/4,1/2,1,2,4,8,16}) or different from Rel-15 NR; also the time unit that contains each Msg1 occasion can be each Msg1 occasion itself (e.g., for NR in licensed or when Msg1 occasion is fixed inside Msg1 slot), or the Msg1 slot(s) that can contain the Msg1 occasion when the Msg1 is configured with flexible starting OFDM symbol positions within the Msg1 slot(s) depending on the completion time of LBT (e.g., when CAT-4/CAT-3 LBT is used for Msg1); [0314]).
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 2.
Regarding claim 18, Li discloses sending first signaling to the terminal, wherein the first signaling instructs the terminal to perform the Msg1 repeated-transmission (the UE transmits Msg1 over the determined RACH occasion. Msg1 transmission waveform can be enhanced from Rel-15 Msg1 waveform (e.g., repetitions of Msg1 across frequency domain) to satisfy unlicensed band regulations. The Msg1 transmission is subject to LBT for NR-U, and multiple Msg1 transmission occasions can be allocated together to form a burst of Msg1 occasions; [0157]); and
carries indication information related to RO frequency hopping (for 2-step RA, the OCB regulation can be met for an Msg1, by properly choosing the radio resource configuration of the PRACH preamble part and data part of the Msg1, as well as the number of PRBs for the preamble part and data part respectively; such that the frequency range of the Msg1 can meet the requirement from the OCB regulation. For instance, this can be achieved by choosing a longer sequence for PRACH with larger bandwidth than that of Rel-15 NR with 12 PRBs; and/or a larger number of PRBs for the data part compared to PRACH; and/or by allowing data part to use different frequency resources with the PRACH part potentially with frequency hopping from PRACH to data part of the Msg1; [0298]).
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 20190132882) in view of Futaki et al. (US 20250168888).
Regarding claim 5, Li does not expressly disclose wherein that the 4-step random access fails N times comprises: in a 4-step random access procedure, the terminal tries to perform Msg1 single-transmission N times and does not receive corresponding Msg2; or in a 4-step random access procedure, the terminal tries to perform Msg1 single-transmission N times and receives corresponding Msg2, but fails to transmit Msg3, wherein the value of N is predefined in the protocol or configured by the first message.
In an analogous art, Futaki discloses wherein that the 4-step random access fails N times comprises: in a 4-step random access procedure, the terminal tries to perform Msg1 single-transmission N times and does not receive corresponding Msg2; or
in a 4-step random access procedure, the terminal tries to perform Msg1 single-transmission N times and receives corresponding Msg2, but fails to transmit Msg3, wherein the value of N is predefined in the protocol or configured by the first message (A failure of the CFRA may mean an unsuccessful completion of the CFRA procedure. A failure of the CFRA can be caused by successive failures of random access response (i.e., MSG2 in 4-step RA, or MSGB in 2-step RA) reception. In other words, a failure of CFRA can be caused by successive failures of random access preamble (MSG1 in 4-step RA, MSGA in 2-step RA) transmission. Alternatively, if the CFRA is performed during a handover, a failure of the CFRA may mean that the handover was not successful within a certain time period; [0096]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Futaki into the system of Li in order to improve the probability of random-access success (Futaki; [0088]).
Regarding claim 14, Li does not expressly disclose wherein the receiving, by a terminal, a first message sent by a network-side device, wherein the first message carries first configuration information of Msg1 repeated-transmission, comprises: receiving, by the terminal, the first message, wherein the first message carries the first configuration information indicating execution of the Msg1 repeated-transmission in a contention-free random access procedure.
In an analogous art, Futaki discloses wherein the receiving, by a terminal, a first message sent by a network-side device, wherein the first message carries first configuration information of Msg1 repeated-transmission, comprises: receiving, by the terminal, the first message, wherein the first message carries the first configuration information indicating execution of the Msg1 repeated-transmission in a contention-free random access procedure (the UE 1 (MAC layer 206) performs a contention-free random access (CFRA). In this CFRA, the UE 1 uses a contention-free random access resource that is explicitly provided to the UE 1 by the RAN node 2 via dedicated RRC signaling; [0093].
failure of the CFRA can be caused by successive failures of random access response (i.e., MSG2 in 4-step RA, or MSGB in 2-step RA) reception. In other words, a failure of CFRA can be caused by successive failures of random access preamble (MSG1 in 4-step RA, MSGA in 2-step RA) transmission; [0096]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Futaki into the system of Li in order to improve the probability of random-access success (Futaki; [0088]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Li and Futaki, particularly Li discloses wherein the first configuration information comprises at least one of the following:
a random access type; an Msg1 repeated-transmission pattern; an Msg1 repeated-transmission count; whether to enable RO frequency hopping; a RO frequency hopping offset; or a RO set (The gNB can indicate the type of PRACH transmission through broadcast information associated with an SS/PBCH block that the UE has detected during cell search. Upon receiving the PRACH transmission from the UE, the gNB is able to decode the data parts across frequency domain into the complete data message, as illustrated in FIG. 22; [0297]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 20190132882) in view of Lei et al. (US 20230388053).
Regarding claim 6, Li does not expressly disclose wherein the first signaling comprises downlink control information (DCI) or a Media Access Control layer control element (MAC CE) or Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling.
Lei discloses wherein the first signaling comprises downlink control information (DCI) or a Media Access Control layer control element (MAC CE) or Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling (UE sends Msg1 directly according to the number of repetition transmissions of PRACH indicated by the first system information (MIB/SIB) or the first RRC signaling. In this case, the number of repetition transmissions of PRACH is directly configured by the first system information or the first RRC signaling, and UE does not need to make determination based on a CE Level. If current Msg1 transmission fails, the UE does not need to try other numbers of repetition transmissions (such as numbers of repetition transmissions of Msg1 corresponding to other CE levels) or use PRACH resources, thereby effectively improving processing efficiency of random access; [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Lei into the system of Li in order to dynamically indicate the number of repeat transmissions for data transmission in real time without the need of a network side, thus saving on the control signaling overhead, and improving the transmission efficiency (Lei; [0032]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 7, if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, would comprise a combination of elements which is not taught by the prior art of record. The same remarks apply to dependent claims 8-10 mutatis mutandis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Awadin et al. (US 20230188261), “INITIAL ACCESS FOR REDUCED CAPABILITY NEW RADIO DEVICES.”
/OUSSAMA ROUDANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413