DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application 18/751,827 filed on 06/24/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Firoiu et al. (Patent No. US 9,209,943 B1 hereinafter Firoiu) in view of Ramanathan et al. (Patent No. US 11,082,324 B2 hereinafter Ramanathan).
Regarding claim 1, Firoiu teaches “a method comprising: obtaining, in a distributor device of a mesh network, information to be sent to a plurality of nodes;” as [(Col. 1, lines 60-62), The method begins with a source node of a network encoding a first generation of data… (Col. 16, lines 17-18), Packets received from an application at the sender node are grouped into generations.] “encoding the information according to an encoding scheme to obtain encoded information;” [(Col. 1, lines 60-63), The method begins with a source node of a network encoding a first generation of data using linearly-independent encoding vectors to produce an encoded first generation.] “partitioning the encoded information into a plurality of encoded portions;” [(Col. 16, lines 17-18), Packets received from an application at the sender node are grouped into generations… (See Abstract), The packets are then transmitted over a subgraph of nodes with multiple paths to a destination node] “transmitting, from the distributor device, an encoded portion of the plurality of encoded portions to the plurality of nodes;” [(Col. 1, lines 63-64), packets containing the encoded first generation are created… (See Abstract), The packets are then transmitted over a subgraph of nodes with multiple paths to a destination node] “re-transmitting the encoded portion to at least one node of the plurality of nodes when the at least one node did not successfully receive the encoded portion;” [(Col. 1, lines 66-67 and Col. 2, lines 1-2), A determination is made at a receiving node that an insufficient amount of packets of the encoded first generation have been received… (Col. 18, lines 40-41), a repair request is generated if no innovative packet is received within a time… (Col. 2, lines 5-7), In response to the repair request, at least one node upstream from the receiving node sends a packet with encoded first generation data] “and iteratively transmitting additional encoded portions of the plurality of encoded portions to provide the information to the plurality of nodes” [(Col. 1, lines 66-67 and Col. 2, lines 1-7), A determination is made at a receiving node that an insufficient amount of packets of the encoded first generation have been received in order to decode the encoded first generation. A repair request is sent from the receiving node to nodes upstream to indicate a need for more packets of the encoded first generation without specifying a particular packet. In response to the repair request, at least one node upstream from the receiving node sends a packet with encoded first generation data. … (Col. 15, lines 63-65), The destinations decode (as discussed earlier) the original packets when they have received enough linearly independent encoded packets from a generation. Note: Firoiu expressly teaches iterative transmission of additional encoded packets until decoding is possible].
However, Firoiu does not specifically disclose a plurality of nodes of the mesh network.
In an analogous art, Ramanathan teaches “a plurality of nodes of the mesh network” as [(Col. 33, lines 62-64), a mesh network communication protocol for communicating between respective mesh network nodes].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Firoiu to provide an effective technique as taught by Ramanathan to improve the management of mobile ad hoc network communication protocols by overcoming the problems associated with the link-state and distance-vector algorithms a number of routing protocols [Ramanathan: Col. 2, lines 52-60].
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Firoiu and Ramanathan, specifically Firoiu teaches “further comprising determining to encode the information when an amount of the information exceeds a threshold” as [(Col. 16, lines 17-18), Packets received from an application at the sender node are grouped into generations… (Col. 1, lines 60-62), The method begins with a source node of a network encoding a first generation of data… (Col. 1, lines 66-67 and Col. 2, lines 1-2), A determination is made at a receiving node that an insufficient amount of packets of the encoded first generation have been received in order to decode the encoded first generation.. Note: Firoiu teaches organizing information into generation/packets groups prior to encoding. The generation-based encoding mechanism inherently requires determining when enough data exits to form a generation prior to encoding].
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Firoiu and Ramanathan, specifically Firoiu teaches “further comprising: receiving at least one message from the plurality of nodes;” as [(Col. 18, lines 36-40), Nodes that determine they have insufficient information (i.e., they are not full rank) request local repair packets via a feedback message (for the forwarding nodes, the feedback message is piggyback onto the data transmission when possible).] “and determining whether the plurality of nodes successfully received the encoded portion based at least in part on the at least one message” [(Col. 1, lines 66-67 and Col. 2, lines 1-2), A determination is made at a receiving node that an insufficient amount of packets of the encoded first generation have been received in order to decode the encoded first generation].
Regarding claim 4, Firoiu teaches “further comprising transmitting the encoded portion of the plurality of encoded portions to the plurality of nodes” as [(Col. 1, lines 63-64), packets containing the encoded first generation are created…. (See Abstract), The packets are then transmitted over a subgraph of nodes with multiple paths to a destination node].
However, Firoiu does not specifically disclose via a multicast transmission to a predetermined destination address, the predetermined destination address to indicate that the information is encoded.
In an analogous art, Ramanathan teaches “via a multicast transmission to a predetermined destination address,” as [(Col. 12, lines 37-38), they are multicast periodically through assigned multicast address] “the predetermined destination address to indicate that the information is encoded” [(Col. 1, lines 41-44), require a mechanism for route discovery for communication of a message from a message-generating source node to a destination node… (Col. 7, lines 50-51), each data packet carries the complete source to destination address].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Firoiu to provide an effective technique as taught by Ramanathan to improve the management of mobile ad hoc network communication protocols by overcoming the problems associated with the link-state and distance-vector algorithms a number of routing protocols [Ramanathan: Col. 2, lines 52-60].
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Firoiu and Ramanathan, specifically Firoiu teaches “further comprising negotiating with the plurality of nodes regarding the encoding scheme” as [(Col. 18, lines 64-67), This feedback information can range from a simple indication of generation incomplete (rank feedback, used in Phase 1) to more information that describes more precisely what is missing... (Col. 2, lines 2-5), A repair request is sent from the receiving node to nodes upstream to indicate a need for more packets of the encoded first generation without specifying a particular packet… (Col. 22, lines 8-10), the generation size is passed from the source node to all the downstream nodes together with the data].
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andersson in view of Viswanathan et al. (Pub. No. 2014/0355579 A1 hereinafter Viswanathan).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Firoiu and Ramanathan, specifically Firoiu teaches “wherein the negotiating comprises sending, from the distributor device, to one or more of the plurality of nodes to indicate that the information is encoded according to the encoding scheme” as [(Col. 18, lines 64-67), This feedback information can range from a simple indication of generation incomplete (rank feedback, used in Phase 1) to more information that describes more precisely what is missing... (Col. 2, lines 2-5), A repair request is sent from the receiving node to nodes upstream to indicate a need for more packets of the encoded first generation without specifying a particular packet… (Col. 22, lines 8-10), the generation size is passed from the source node to all the downstream nodes together with the data].
However, the combination of Firoiu and Ramanathan does not specifically disclose a vendor-specific message.
In an analogous art, Viswanathan teaches “a vendor-specific message” as [(Para. 0049), the request for provisioning is indicated in a vendor-specific information element (IE) of the probe request frame 310].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Firoiu and Ramanathan to provide an effective technique as taught by Viswanathan for implementing various security measures for provisioning a wireless device before being able to communicate with other devices via an AP [Viswanathan: Para. 0006].
Claims 7 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Firoiu in view of Ramanathan, and further in view of Payne et al. (Pub. No. 2013/0282873 A1 hereinafter Payne).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Firoiu and Ramanathan does not specifically disclose wherein each of the plurality of encoded portions comprises a block, the block comprising a plurality of chunks, each of the plurality of chunks comprising a plurality of segments.
In an analogous art, Payne teaches “wherein each of the plurality of encoded portions comprises a block, the block comprising a plurality of chunks, each of the plurality of chunks comprising a plurality of segments” as [(Para. 0105), data received from an information source is encoded into data blocks at the broadcast server. Each data block is then parceled into one or more messages so that each message can be parceled into information packets 154.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Firoiu and Ramanathan to provide an effective technique as taught by Payne for data parsed from a plurality of incoming data feeds from existing information sources prepared for optimized wireless transmission and then transmitted nationwide to connected and non-connected computing devices thereby extending the reach of existing information sources, such as Internet and on-line service [Payne: Para. 0021].
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Firoiu, Ramanathan and Payne, specifically Payne teaches “wherein the information comprises a firmware update for the plurality of nodes, and encoding the information comprises encoding the information using a Reed-Solomon encoding to enable erasure correction of up to a predetermined number of segments of a chunk of the plurality of chunks” as [(Para. 0106), a Reed Solomon code is computed down the columns of the block of data packets… (Para. 0107), the information packets are sent with redundancy using a method based on Reed-Solomon code… (Para. 0106), even if 32 arbitrary packets out of 232 total data packets were lost during transmission, a successful reassembling of the information can still be achieved at the receiver end… (Para. 0112), the number of erasures, i.e. errors whose locations are known].
Regarding claim 10, Firoiu teaches “an apparatus comprising: a baseband processor coupled to the RF transceiver;” as [(Col. 4, line 58), an application interface 3… (Col. 4, line 60), network coding module… Fig. 1 shows processing and transmission of encoded packets] “the baseband processor comprising circuitry to: obtain information to be sent to a plurality of nodes of the network;” as [(Col. 1, lines 60-62), The method begins with a source node of a network encoding a first generation of data… (Col. 16, lines 17-18), Packets received from an application at the sender node are grouped into generations.] “encode the information according to an encoding scheme to obtain encoded information;” [(Col. 1, lines 60-63), The method begins with a source node of a network encoding a first generation of data using linearly-independent encoding vectors to produce an encoded first generation.] “and retransmit the encoded information of one or more of the plurality of chunks, on the block basis, for any block of the plurality of blocks that was not successfully received by one or more of the plurality of nodes” [(Col. 1, lines 66-67 and Col. 2, lines 1-7), A determination is made at a receiving node that an insufficient amount of packets of the encoded first generation have been received in order to decode the encoded first generation. A repair request is sent from the receiving node to nodes upstream to indicate a need for more packets of the encoded first generation without specifying a particular packet. In response to the repair request, at least one node upstream from the receiving node sends a packet with encoded first generation data.].
However, Firoiu does not specifically disclose a radio frequency (RF) transceiver to receive and transmit RF signals in a mesh network; partition the encoded information into a plurality of blocks, each of the plurality of blocks having a plurality of chunks, each of the plurality of chunks having a plurality of segments; and transmit, via the RF transceiver, the encoded information on a block basis.
In an analogous art, Ramanathan teaches “a radio frequency (RF) transceiver to receive and transmit RF signals in a mesh network” as [(Col. 36, line 2), a radio frequency transceiver … (Col. 33, lines 62-64), a mesh network communication protocol for communicating between respective mesh network nodes].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Firoiu to provide an effective technique as taught by Ramanathan to improve the management of mobile ad hoc network communication protocols by overcoming the problems associated with the link-state and distance-vector algorithms a number of routing protocols [Ramanathan: Col. 2, lines 52-60].
However, the combination of Firoiu and Ramanathan does not specifically disclose partition the encoded information into a plurality of blocks, each of the plurality of blocks having a plurality of chunks, each of the plurality of chunks having a plurality of segments; and transmit, via the RF transceiver, the encoded information on a block basis.
In an analogous art, Payne teaches “partition the encoded information into a plurality of blocks, each of the plurality of blocks having a plurality of chunks, each of the plurality of chunks having a plurality of segments;” as [(Para. 0105), data received from an information source is encoded into data blocks at the broadcast server. Each data block is then parceled into one or more messages so that each message can be parceled into information packets 154.] “and transmit, via the RF transceiver, the encoded information on a block basis” [(Para. 0107), the information packets are sent with redundancy using a method based on Reed-Solomon code… (Para. 0106), a Reed Solomon code is computed down the columns of the block of data packets].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Firoiu and Ramanathan to provide an effective technique as taught by Payne for data parsed from a plurality of incoming data feeds from existing information sources prepared for optimized wireless transmission and then transmitted nationwide to connected and non-connected computing devices thereby extending the reach of existing information sources, such as Internet and on-line service [Payne: Para. 0021].
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Firoiu, Ramanathan and Payne, specifically Payne teaches “wherein the circuitry comprises an encoder to encode the information according to a Reed-Solomon” as (Para. 0106), a Reed Solomon code is computed down the columns of the block of data packets… (Para. 0107), the information packets are sent with redundancy using a method based on Reed-Solomon code] “encoding scheme having a (n, k) encoding,” [(Para. 0116), the messages are then parceled into k information packets … (Para. 0105), data received from an information source is encoded into data blocks at the broadcast server. Each data block is then parceled into one or more messages so that each message can be parceled into information packets 154. Each data packet is accompanied by a message identifier and a sequence number.] “wherein n is a number of output octets of the encoder and k is a number of input octets the encoder, the circuitry to determine n and k based at least in part on a size of the information,” [(Para. 0116), k information packets… (Para. 0106), Referring to FIG. 16, in accordance with the present invention, a Reed Solomon code is computed down the columns of the block of data packets, thereby creating Reed Solomon parity-check packets. The most general case (n,k) is adopted where 1.ltoreq.n.ltoreq.255 (1) 1.ltoreq.k.ltoreq.n (2) where [0101] k=number of information packets generated by parceling the input message, [0102] n=total number of transmitted packets. The total number of transmitted packets is determined based on the degree of protection requested. By allowing for the arbitrary combination of n and k, maximal flexibility is achieved. In particular, n and k are chosen during run-time, instead of design-time. For example, (255,223), (255,251), (7,3), (16,1) Reed Solomon codes, used column-wise are all possible combinations for generating Reed Solomon parity-check packets. In a typical operation, by using a (255, 223) Reed Solomon code column-wise, 32 parity-check packets are generated for a group of 200 information packets to be transmitted. Thus, even if 32 arbitrary packets out of 232 total data packets were lost during transmission, a successful reassembling of the information can still be achieved at the receiver end] “wherein each of the plurality of segments is formed of a predetermined number of octets” [(Para. 0138), In accordance with the present invention, outbound data will be segmented and sent to the user by way of the user receiver].
Regarding claim 12, Firoiu teaches “the segmented message comprising encoded information of the output segment and a header” as [(Col. 1, lines 63-64), packets containing the encoded first generation are created.].
However, Firoiu does not specifically disclose wherein the circuitry is to transmit each of the output octets output by the encoder as a segmented message, wherein the circuitry is to transmit via the RF transceiver the segmented message to the plurality of nodes via a multicast transmission to a predetermined destination address, the predetermined destination address to indicate that the information is encoded.
In an analogous art, Ramanathan teaches “wherein the circuitry is to transmit via the RF transceiver the segmented message to the plurality of nodes via a multicast transmission to a predetermined destination address” as [(Col. 12, lines 37-38), they are multicast periodically through assigned multicast address ] “the predetermined destination address to indicate that the information is encoded” [(Col. 1, lines 41-44), require a mechanism for route discovery for communication of a message from a message-generating source node to a destination node… (Col. 7, lines 50-51), each data packet carries the complete source to destination address].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Firoiu to provide an effective technique as taught by Ramanathan to improve the management of mobile ad hoc network communication protocols by overcoming the problems associated with the link-state and distance-vector algorithms a number of routing protocols [Ramanathan: Col. 2, lines 52-60].
However, the combination of Firoiu and Ramanathan does not specifically disclose wherein the circuitry is to transmit each of the output octets output by the encoder as a segmented message.
In an analogous art, Payne teaches “wherein the circuitry is to transmit each of the output octets output by the encoder as a segmented message” as [(Para. 0105), Each data block is then parceled into one or more messages so that each message can be parceled into information packets 154.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Firoiu and Ramanathan to provide an effective technique as taught by Payne for data parsed from a plurality of incoming data feeds from existing information sources prepared for optimized wireless transmission and then transmitted nationwide to connected and non-connected computing devices thereby extending the reach of existing information sources, such as Internet and on-line service [Payne: Para. 0021].
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Firoiu, Ramanathan and Payne, specifically Firoiu teaches “wherein the circuitry is to retransmit the segmented message” as [(Col. 1, lines 66-67 and Col. 2, lines 1-7), a determination is made at a receiving node that an insufficient amount of packets of the encoded first generation have been received in order to decode the encoded first generation. A repair request is sent from the receiving node to nodes upstream to indicate a need for more packets of the encoded first generation without specifying a particular packet. In response to the repair request, at least one node upstream from the receiving node sends a packet with encoded first generation data].
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Firoiu, Ramanathan and Payne, specifically Firoiu teaches “wherein the circuitry is to: query one or more nodes of the plurality of nodes to determine whether the one or more nodes support the encoding scheme;” as [(Col. 18, lines 64-67), This feedback information can range from a simple indication of generation incomplete (rank feedback, used in Phase 1) to more information that describes more precisely what is missing... (Col. 2, lines 2-5), A repair request is sent from the receiving node to nodes upstream to indicate a need for more packets of the encoded first generation without specifying a particular packet…] “and in response to an indication from a first node of the one or more nodes that the first node does not support the encoding scheme, transmit via the RF transceiver the information in an unencoded state” [(Col. 2, lines 46-48), a MANET solution that makes use of Control Over Network-Coding for Enhanced Radio Transport Optimization (CONCERTO) that is enabled by the paradigm shift afforded by network-coding.. Note: network code may be selectively enabled].
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Firoiu, Ramanathan and Payne, specifically Payne teaches “wherein the apparatus comprises a distributor device to transmit the information comprising a firmware update” as [(Para. 0106), a Reed Solomon code is computed down the columns of the block of data packets… (Para. 0107), the information packets are sent with redundancy using a method based on Reed-Solomon code… (Para. 0106), even if 32 arbitrary packets out of 232 total data packets were lost during transmission, a successful reassembling of the information can still be achieved at the receiver end… (Para. 0112), the number of erasures, i.e. errors whose locations are known].
Regarding claim 16, Firoiu teaches “wherein the distributor device is to receive the firmware update from an initiator” as (Col. 1, lines 60-62), The method begins with a source node of a network encoding a first generation of data].
However, Firoiu does not specifically disclose a list of devices to be provided with the firmware update, the list of devices comprising the plurality of nodes.
In an analogous art, Ramanathan teaches “a list of devices to be provided with the firmware update, the list of devices comprising the plurality of nodes” as [(Col. 33, lines 62-64), a mesh network communication protocol for communicating between respective mesh network nodes… (Col. 2, lines 1-3), A typical mesh network protocol maintains a routing table at each node, which is then used to control the communication.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Firoiu to provide an effective technique as taught by Ramanathan to improve the management of mobile ad hoc network communication protocols by overcoming the problems associated with the link-state and distance-vector algorithms a number of routing protocols [Ramanathan: Col. 2, lines 52-60].
Regarding claim 17, Firoiu teaches “a baseband processor coupled to the RF transceiver,” as[(Col. 4, line 58), an application interface 3… (Col. 4, line 60), network coding module… Fig. 1 shows processing and transmission of encoded packets] “the baseband processor comprising circuitry to: the plurality of chunks comprising encoded information encoded according to an encoding scheme;” [(Col. 1, lines 60-63), encoding a first generation of data using linearly-independent encoding vectors to produce an encoded first generation.] “provide at least a portion of the plurality of chunks and information regarding one or more missing segments within a chunk of the plurality of chunks to a decoder;” [(Col. 1, lines 66-67 and Col. 2, lines 1-7), A determination is made at a receiving node that an insufficient amount of packets of the encoded first generation have been received in order to decode the encoded first generation. A repair request is sent from the receiving node to nodes upstream to indicate a need for more packets of the encoded first generation without specifying a particular packet. In response to the repair request, at least one node upstream from the receiving node sends a packet with encoded first generation data. … (Col. 18, lines 64-67), This feedback information can range from a simple indication of generation incomplete (rank feedback, used in Phase 1) to more information that describes more precisely what is missing…] “inform the distributor whether the plurality of chunks were successfully decoded;” [(Col. 2, lines 2-7), A repair request is sent from the receiving node to nodes upstream to indicate a need for more packets of the encoded first generation… (Col. 21, lines 66-67), The fully-reliable algorithm ensures that every packet from the sending application gets to the application at the destination node. A destination decodes when a generation has full rank, i.e., the number of innovative packets in the generation equals to the size of the generation…] “and provide the decoded plurality of chunks to an application” [(Col. 16, lines 31-33), Destination nodes store received packets and decode them for the destination application, as soon as the received generation has full rank].
However, Firoiu does not specifically disclose an Internet of Things (IoT) device comprising: a radio frequency (RF) transceiver to receive and transmit RF signals in a mesh network; receive, from a distributor coupled to IoT device via the mesh network, a plurality of chunks of a block of a firmware update, each of the plurality of chunks comprising a plurality of segments, in the decoder, recover the one or more missing segments based on the encoding scheme, and decode at least the portion of the plurality of chunks.
In an analogous art, Ramanathan teaches “an Internet of Things (IoT) device comprising: a radio frequency (RF) transceiver to receive and transmit RF signals in a mesh network” as [(Col. 36, line 2), a radio frequency transceiver … (), supporting the concept of the Internet of Things (IoT)…. (Col. 33, lines 62-64), a mesh network communication protocol for communicating between respective mesh network nodes] “from a distributor coupled to IoT device via the mesh network” [(Col. 33, lines 62-64), It is therefore an object to provide a mesh network communication protocol for communicating between respective mesh network nodes, comprising: receiving a data packet from a current sender by a recipient…].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Firoiu to provide an effective technique as taught by Ramanathan to improve the management of mobile ad hoc network communication protocols by overcoming the problems associated with the link-state and distance-vector algorithms a number of routing protocols [Ramanathan: Col. 2, lines 52-60].
However, the combination of Firoiu and Ramanathan does not specifically disclose receive a plurality of chunks of a block of a firmware update, each of the plurality of chunks comprising a plurality of segments, in the decoder, recover the one or more missing segments based on the encoding scheme, and decode at least the portion of the plurality of chunks.
In an analogous art, Payne teaches “receive a plurality of chunks of a block of a firmware update,” as [(Para. 0105), data received from an information source is encoded into data blocks at the broadcast server. Each data block is then parceled into one or more messages so that each message can be parceled into information packets 154... (Para. 0116), the messages are then parceled into k information packets] “each of the plurality of chunks comprising a plurality of segments,” [(Para. 0105), data received from an information source is encoded into data blocks at the broadcast server. Each data block is then parceled into one or more messages so that each message can be parceled into information packets 154.] “in the decoder, recover the one or more missing segments based on the encoding scheme,” [(Para. 0106), a Reed Solomon code is computed down the columns of the block of data packets… (Para. 0106), even if 32 arbitrary packets out of 232 total data packets were lost during transmission, a successful reassembling of the information can still be achieved at the receiver end] “and decode at least the portion of the plurality of chunks” [(Para. 0106), even if 32 arbitrary packets out of 232 total data packets were lost during transmission, a successful reassembling of the information can still be achieved at the receiver end… Note: Reassembling encoded packets inherently requires providing received encoded portions to a decoder].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Firoiu and Ramanathan to provide an effective technique as taught by Payne for data parsed from a plurality of incoming data feeds from existing information sources prepared for optimized wireless transmission and then transmitted nationwide to connected and non-connected computing devices thereby extending the reach of existing information sources, such as Internet and on-line service [Payne: Para. 0021].
Regarding claim 18, Firoiu teaches “the predetermined destination address to indicate that the firmware update is encoded according to the encoding scheme” as [(Col. 1, lines 60-63), The method begins with a source node of a network encoding a first generation of data using linearly-independent encoding vectors to produce an encoded first generation… (), When an application starts sending data to a multicast or unicast IP address].
However, Firoiu does not specifically disclose wherein the IoT device is to receive the plurality of chunks via a multicast transmission to a predetermined destination address.
In an analogous art, Ramanathan teaches “wherein the IoT device is to receive the plurality of chunks via a multicast transmission to a predetermined destination address” as [(Col. 12, lines 37-38), they are multicast periodically through assigned multicast address … (Col. 1, lines 41-44), require a mechanism for route discovery for communication of a message from a message-generating source node to a destination node… (Col. 7, lines 50-51), each data packet carries the complete source to destination address].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Firoiu to provide an effective technique as taught by Ramanathan to improve the management of mobile ad hoc network communication protocols by overcoming the problems associated with the link-state and distance-vector algorithms a number of routing protocols [Ramanathan: Col. 2, lines 52-60].
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Firoiu, Ramanathan and Payne, specifically Firoiu teaches “wherein the circuitry is to provide the plurality of chunks to the decoder when a threshold number of segments of the plurality of chunks has been received” as (Col. 1, lines 66-67 and Col. 2, lines 1-7), A determination is made at a receiving node that an insufficient amount of packets of the encoded first generation have been received in order to decode the encoded first generation. A repair request is sent from the receiving node to nodes upstream to indicate a need for more packets of the encoded first generation without specifying a particular packet. In response to the repair request, at least one node upstream from the receiving node sends a packet with encoded first generation data. … (Col. 15, lines 63-65), The destinations decode (as discussed earlier) the original packets when they have received enough linearly independent encoded packets from a generation.].
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Firoiu and Ramanathan, specifically Firoiu teaches “wherein the decoder is to receive at least the threshold number of segments” as [(Col. 15, lines 63-65), The destinations decode (as discussed earlier) the original packets when they have received enough linearly independent encoded packets from a generation].
However, the combination of Firoiu and Ramanathan does not specifically disclose recover at least one segment of the one or more missing segments from at least the threshold number of segments based on the encoding scheme.
In an analogous art, Payne teaches “recover at least one segment of the one or more missing segments from at least the threshold number of segments based on the encoding scheme” as [(Para. 0106), even if 32 arbitrary packets out of 232 total data packets were lost during transmission, a successful reassembling of the information can still be achieved at the receiver end].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Firoiu and Ramanathan to provide an effective technique as taught by Payne for data parsed from a plurality of incoming data feeds from existing information sources prepared for optimized wireless transmission and then transmitted nationwide to connected and non-connected computing devices thereby extending the reach of existing information sources, such as Internet and on-line service [Payne: Para. 0021].
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Firoiu in view of Ramanathan, further in view of Payne, and further in view of Factor et al. (Pub. No. 2020/0169382 A1 hereinafter Factor).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Firoiu, Ramanathan and Payne, specifically Payne teaches “wherein encoding the information” as [(Para. 0105), data received from an information source is encoded into data blocks at the broadcast server. Each data block is then parceled into one or more messages so that each message can be parceled into information packets 154.].
However, the combination of Firoiu, Ramanathan and Payne does not specifically disclose a further comprises padding a last segment of the plurality of segments of a first chunk of a first block.
In an analogous art, Factor teaches “a further comprises padding a last segment of the plurality of segments of a first chunk of a first block” as [(Para. 0025), add the padding to a beginning or an end of the compressed and encrypted data… For example, each consecutive modified data block can alternately include the padding at the beginning and the end of the modified data blocks respectively. (Para. 0003), the processor can determine a number of bytes to remove from the data based on a length of the padding].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Firoiu, Ramanathan and Payne to provide an effective technique as taught by Factor for generate a modified data block by encrypting the compressed data, and adding a padding to the compressed and encrypted data [Factor: Para. 0002].
Conclusion
/NATALI PASCUAL PEGUERO/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463