DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Response to Election/Restriction filed 12/19/2025. Claims 18-20 are pending and have been examined.
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/25/2024, 09/20/2024, 03/13/2025 and 12/09/2025 were considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention II, claims 18-20, in the reply filed on 12/19/2025 is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
Claim 18 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,623,254 in view of Smalser, Sr. (US 5,754,220), herein Smalser. For example, note the following relationship between claim 1 of the instant application and the patented claims.
Application No. 18/751,862
U.S. Patent No. 11,623,254
18. (Original) A pipeline inspection device, comprising:
1. A pipeline inspection device, comprising:
a cable including a camera disposed on a distal end of the cable, the camera and the cable configured to be directed into a conduit;
a cable disposed at least partially within the drum, the cable including a camera disposed on a distal end of the cable, the camera and the cable configured to be directed into a conduit;
a drum rotatably supported by the stand, the drum including an opening in a front wall of the drum;
a drum rotatably supported by the stand, the drum including an opening in a front wall of the drum;
a stand for supporting the drum, the drum being rotatably coupled to the stand;
a stand;
a hub housing electrical components of the pipeline inspection device, the hub being received within the drum via the opening;
a hub including a body at least partially insertable into and removable from the opening of the drum, the hub being electrically coupled to the cable when inserted into the opening;
a wireless communication module housed within the hub; and
a battery housing disposed on the hub; and
a battery supported by the hub, the battery and the hub being removable from the drum as a single unit.
the battery configured to provide power to the camera.
4. The pipeline inspection device of claim 1, wherein, when the hub is inserted into the drum, the battery provides power to the camera.
However, the patented claims do not explicitly teach a battery removably received within the battery housing.
In an analogous art, Smalser, which discloses a system for pipeline inspection, clearly teaches a battery removably received within the battery housing. (Fig. 3: Battery B is removably mounted in battery pack housing 94, col. 5 lines 10-36.)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the patented claims by a battery removably received within the battery housing, as taught by Smalser, for the benefit of replacing the battery.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,623,254 in view of Smalser (US 5,754,220) in view of Olsson et al. (US 2014/0167766), herein Olsson
Consider claim 19, the patented claims combined with Smalser clearly teach the battery housing.
However, the patented claims combined with Smalser do not explicitly teach the battery housing includes a cover that is movable between an open and a closed position.
In an analogous art, Olsson, which discloses a system for pipeline inspection, clearly teaches the battery housing includes a cover that is movable between an open and a closed position. (Figs. 2, 3: Battery compartment cap 220 can be removed from outer shell piece 210 to allow access to the battery, [0056].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the patented claims combined with Smalser by the battery housing includes a cover that is movable between an open and a closed position, as taught by Olsson, to achieve the predictable result of removing the battery from the housing.
Claim 20 of the application corresponds to claims 1, 4 of the patent in view of Smalser and Olsson [0056].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smalser, Sr. (US 5,754,220), herein Smalser.
Consider claim 18, Smalser clearly teaches a pipeline inspection device, (Fig. 3) comprising:
a cable including a camera disposed on a distal end of the cable, the camera and the cable configured to be directed into a conduit; (Fig. 3: Coaxial cable 32 and camera 10 are inserted into a pipe, col. 3 line 40 to col. 4 line 11.)
a drum rotatably supported by the stand, the drum including an opening in a front wall of the drum; (Fig. 4: Cable storage drum 46 includes opening 90, col. 4 line 55 to col. 5 line 9.)
a stand for supporting the drum, the drum being rotatably coupled to the stand; (Figs. 3, 4: Cable storage drum 46 is rotatably mounted to stand 44, col. 4 lines 29-65.)
a hub housing electrical components of the pipeline inspection device, the hub being received within the drum via the opening; (Figs. 1, 3, 5: Mounting sleeve 96 houses coupling assembly 50 and terminal 52, col. 3 lines 29-32, col. 5 lines 13-15.)
a battery housing disposed on the hub; (Fig. 3: Battery pack housing is secured to mounting sleeve 96, col. 5 lines 10-36.) and
a battery removably received within the battery housing, the battery configured to provide power to the camera. (Fig. 3: Battery B is removably mounted in battery pack housing 94 and powers camera 10, col. 5 lines 10-36.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smalser (US 5,754,220) in view of Olsson et al. (US 2014/0167766), herein Olsson.
Consider claim 19, Smalser clearly teaches the battery housing.
However, Smalser does not explicitly teach the battery housing includes a cover that is movable between an open and a closed position.
In an analogous art, Olsson, which discloses a system for pipeline inspection, clearly teaches the battery housing includes a cover that is movable between an open and a closed position. (Figs. 2, 3: Battery compartment cap 220 can be removed from outer shell piece 210 to allow access to the battery, [0056].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Smalser by the battery housing includes a cover that is movable between an open and a closed position, as taught by Olsson, to achieve the predictable result of removing the battery from the housing.
Consider claim 20, Smalser combined with Olsson clearly teaches the cover of the battery housing forms a watertight seal when in the closed position. (Fig. 2: Battery compartment cap 220 forms a water-tight seal with outer shell piece 210, [0056].)
Conclusion
In the case of amending the claimed invention, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/JOHN R SCHNURR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425