DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 24 June 2024, 11 July 2024, and 21 October 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-12, 14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rayner et al. (US 20130216907, hereinafter, Rayner).
Regarding claim 1, Rayner teaches an electrochemical device (Rayner ¶ 2, battery) comprising: a negative electrode plate (Rayner ¶ 2, anode), wherein the negative electrode plate comprises a negative active material layer (Rayner ¶ 68, composite electrode material), the negative active material layer comprises a silicon-based material particle (Rayner ¶ 68 silicon containing porous particle fragments) and a binder (Rayner ¶ 68, binder), and
(B+C)/7 < A < (B+C)/1.8, wherein A denotes a weight loss of the negative active material layer after being heated to 480 °C in an argon atmosphere, expressed as a mass percent of a mass of the negative active material layer before heating; B denotes a fluctuation value of a mass percent of silicon in the silicon-based material particle; and C denotes a mass percent of silicon in the negative electrode plate. (The composition of the composite electrode material of Rayner and the claimed negative active material layer are identical in composition and thus the property of weight loss of the negative active material layer after being heated to 480 °C in an argon atmosphere would be expected to be present per MPEP 2112.01, absent an objective showing.)
Regarding claim 2, Rayner teaches the electrochemical device of claim 1, wherein 1.5% ≤ A ≤ 18% (While Rayner does not explicitly disclose a weight loss of the negative active material layer after being heated to 480 °C in an argon atmosphere, Rayner teaches a binder range of 0 to 30 wt% based on the weight of the anode material which encompasses the amount of binder embodied in paragraph 33 of the instant disclosure (mass ratio between the negative active material, the conductive agent, and the binder in the negative active material layer may be (78 to 98.5):(0.1 to 10):(0.1 to 10)), with examples of the binder being at least one of carboxymethyl cellulose, polyacrylic acid, etc., which overlaps with the list of binders embodied in paragraph 32 of the instant disclosure. Therefore, the electrochemical device of Rayner is expected to possess features as substantially identical materials treated in a substantially identical manner are expected to behave the same, absent an objective showing. See MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding claim 3, Rayner teaches the electrochemical device of claim 1, wherein B < 16% (Rayner is silent regarding the fluctuation of the mass percent of silicon in the silicon-based material particle and this is therefore considered absent and B is regarded as 0).
Regarding claim 4, Rayner teaches the electrochemical device of claim 1, wherein 1% ≤ C ≤ 20% (Rayner ¶ 83 the mass percent of silicon in the composition can comprise 5 to 25 wt% silicon-containing electroactive material, substantially overlapping the claimed range of C).
Regarding claim 5, Rayner teaches the electrochemical device of claim 1, wherein a porosity P of the negative electrode plate and a mass percent C of silicon in the negative electrode plate satisfy: P > 15 x C1/4 (For a mass percent of silicon of 20 wt%, the upper limit of claim 4 and a preferred embodiment of Rayner, the porosity would need to be greater than (15 x 201/4 = ~31.72%), which is within the porosity range of especially 30 to 60% in Rayner ¶ 76).
Regarding claim 6, Rayner teaches the electrochemical device of claim 5, wherein 18% ≤ P ≤ 40% (Rayner ¶ 76, porosity of between 15 and 50%, which encompasses the claimed range).
Regarding claim 7, Rayner teaches the electrochemical device of claim 1, wherein the electrochemical device further comprises an electrolyte solution, the electrolyte solution comprises fluoroethylene carbonate, and a mass percent X of the fluoroethylene carbonate and the mass percent C of silicon in the negative electrode plate satisfy: X > C (Rayner ¶ 145, battery comprising an electrolyte including an electrolyte solvent, wherein the electrolyte solvent comprises a mixture of fluoroethylene carbonate and ethylmethyl carbonate. In a most preferred embodiment of the sixth aspect of the invention the electrolyte solvent comprises 40 to 60 vol%, more preferably 50 vol% FEC, 46 vol% EMC, 4 vol% VC. Converting to mass%, the FEC would be around 59 wt%, which is greater than the mass percent of silicon range of Rayner ¶ 83.
FEC volume * density = 50 * 1.485 = 74.25 g
EMC volume * density = 46 * 1.006 = 46.28 g
VC volume * density = 4 * 1.355 = 5.42 g
(74.25 / (74.25 + 46.28 + 5.42)) * 100 = ~59 wt% FEC
Regarding claim 9, Rayner teaches the electrochemical device of claim 1, wherein the silicon-based material particle comprises silicon and carbon (Rayner ¶ 66, the silicon containing porous particle fragments may include a coating. Carbon coatings…are preferred).
Regarding claim 10, Rayner teaches the electrochemical device of claim 3, wherein B ≤ 10% (Rayner is silent regarding the fluctuation of the mass percent of silicon in the silicon-based material particle and this is therefore considered absent and B is regarded as 0).
Regarding claim 11, Rayner teaches the electrochemical device of claim 4, wherein 1% ≤ C ≤ 10% (Rayner ¶ 83 the mass percent of silicon in the composition can comprise 5 to 25 wt% silicon-containing electroactive material, overlapping the claimed range of C).
Regarding claim 12, Rayner teaches the electrochemical device of claim 6, wherein 22% ≤ P ≤ 40% (Rayner ¶ 76, porosity of between 15 and 50%, which encompasses the claimed range of P).
Regarding claim 14, Rayner teaches the electrochemical device of claim 4, wherein 1% ≤ C ≤ 5% (Rayner ¶ 83 the mass percent of silicon in the composition can comprise 5 wt%, overlapping the claimed range of C).
Regarding claim 16, Rayner teaches an electronic device, comprising an electrochemical device (Rayner claim 58, a device including a battery), the electrochemical device comprising a negative electrode plate (Rayner ¶ 2, anode), wherein the negative electrode plate comprises a negative active material layer (Rayner ¶ 68, composite electrode material), the negative active material layer comprises a silicon-based material particle (Rayner ¶ 68 silicon containing porous particle fragments) and a binder (Rayner ¶ 68, binder), and
(B+C)/7 < A < (B+C)/1.8, wherein A denotes a weight loss of the negative active material layer after being heated to 480 °C in an argon atmosphere, expressed as a mass percent of a mass of the negative active material layer before heating; B denotes a fluctuation value of a mass percent of silicon in the silicon-based material particle; and C denotes a mass percent of silicon in the negative electrode plate. (The composition of the composite electrode material of Rayner and the claimed negative active material layer are identical in composition and thus the property of weight loss of the negative active material layer after being heated to 480 °C in an argon atmosphere would be expected to be present per MPEP 2112.01, absent an objective showing.)
Regarding claim 17, Rayner teaches the electronic device of claim 16, wherein 1.5% ≤ A ≤ 18% (While Rayner does not explicitly disclose a weight loss of the negative active material layer after being heated to 480 °C in an argon atmosphere, Rayner teaches a binder range of 0 to 30 wt% based on the weight of the anode material which encompasses the amount of binder embodied in paragraph 33 of the instant disclosure (mass ratio between the negative active material, the conductive agent, and the binder in the negative active material layer may be (78 to 98.5):(0.1 to 10):(0.1 to 10)), with examples of the binder being at least one of carboxymethyl cellulose, polyacrylic acid, etc., which overlaps with the list of binders embodied in paragraph 32 of the instant disclosure. Therefore, the electrochemical device of Rayner is expected to possess feature as substantially identical materials treated in a substantially identical manner are expected to behave the same, absent an objective showing. See MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding claim 18, Rayner teaches the electronic device of claim 16, wherein B < 16% (Rayner is silent regarding the fluctuation of the mass percent of silicon in the silicon-based material particle and this is therefore considered absent and B is regarded as 0).
Regarding claim 19, Rayner teaches the electronic device of claim 16, wherein 1% ≤ C ≤ 20% (Rayner ¶ 83 the mass percent of silicon in the composition can comprise 5 to 25 wt% silicon-containing electroactive material, substantially overlapping the claimed range of C).
Regarding claim 20, Rayner teaches the electronic device of claim 16, wherein the silicon-based material particle comprises silicon and carbon (Rayner ¶ 66, the silicon containing porous particle fragments may include a coating. Carbon coatings…are preferred).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rayner (US 20130216907) in view of Park et al. (US 20200091510, hereinafter, Park).
Regarding claims 8, 13, and 15, Rayner teaches the electrochemical device of claim 7, including fluoroethylene carbonate, but not wherein the mass percent of fluoroethylene carbonate X satisfies 2% ≤ X ≤ 20%, 2% ≤ X ≤ 15%, or 2% ≤ X ≤ 10%.
In a related field of endeavor, Park teaches a lithium secondary battery with a silicon anode and an electrolyte including fluoroethylene carbonate in an amount of about 5 wt% or greater and less than about 10 wt% (Park ¶ 15), which lies within all claimed ranges of X. Furthermore, by selecting mass percent of silicon in the composition C as 5 wt% (Rayner ¶ 83), and a fluoroethylene carbonate amount as greater than 5 wt% but less than 10 wt%, for example 6 wt%, the limitation of X > C is satisfied. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to substitute the electrolyte of Rayner with the electrolyte of Park as it would have been the substitution of one known electrolyte for another, with predictable results.
Conclusion
/M.F./ Examiner, Art Unit 1784
/HUMERA N. SHEIKH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1784