DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Display Device Comprising Multiple Conductive Layers of Different Thickness with Different Protruding Edges.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasumatsu et al (US 2015/0137086) in view of Ushikubo (US 2023/0389369).
Regarding Claim 1, Yasumatsu et al discloses a display device (organic electroluminescence unit (a display unit 1 [0045] Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees) comprising:
a first pixel electrode (first electrode 11 [0049] corresponding to 2R Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees and Fig 3) arranged on an insulating surface (drive substrate 10 [0054] includes substrate 110 which may be a glass or plastic substrate [0055] Fig 5 viewed from 90 degrees);
a second pixel electrode (first electrode 11 [0049] corresponding to 2G Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees and Fig 3) spaced apart from the first pixel electrode (11 2R Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees and Fig 3) in a first direction (horizontal direction Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees and Fig 3);
a third pixel electrode (first electrode 11 [0049] corresponding to 2B Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees and Fig 3) spaced apart from the first pixel electrode (11 2R Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees and Fig 3) in a second direction (vertical direction Fig 3) intersecting the first direction (horizontal direction Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees and Fig 3);
an organic insulating layer (dividing wall 12 may include organic material [0069] Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees) overlapping a part of the first pixel electrode (11 2R Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees and Fig 3) and a part of the second pixel electrode (11 2G Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees and Fig 3) in the first direction (horizontal direction Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees and Fig 3);
a first common layer (hole injection layer 13B [0067] Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees, or electron injection layer 15B [0067] Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees) arranged on the first pixel electrode (11 2R Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees and Fig 3), the second pixel electrode (11 2G Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees and Fig 3), the third pixel electrode (11 2B Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees and Fig 3), and the organic insulating layer (12 Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees);
a first light emitting layer (light emitting layer 14 [0047] Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees) arranged on the first common layer (13B or 15B Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees) and continuously arranged overlapping the first pixel electrode (11 2R Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees and Fig 3), the second pixel electrode (11 2G Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees and Fig 3), and the organic insulating layer (12 Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees);
a counter electrode (second electrode 16 [0067] Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees) arranged on the first light emitting layer (14 Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees),
wherein the first common layer (13B Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees) has a first region (shown in annotated Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees) overlapping the first pixel electrode (11 2R Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees and Fig 3), a second region (shown in annotated Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees) provided between the first pixel electrode (11 2R Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees and Fig 3) and the third pixel electrode (11 2B Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees and Fig 3), and a third region (shown in annotated Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees) overlapping the third pixel electrode (11 2B Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees and Fig 3), and
the second region (shown in annotated Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees) is separated from each of the first region (shown in annotated Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees) and third region (shown in annotated Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees).
Yasumatsu et al does not disclose
a second light emitting layer arranged on the first pixel electrode and arranged overlapping the third light emitting layer; and
a counter electrode arranged on the first light emitting layer and the second light emitting layer.
Ushikubo, in the related art of semiconductor devices that include light emitting devices, discloses
a second light emitting layer (end portion 132R-1 [0056]- [0057] Fig 4) arranged on the first pixel electrode (pixel electrode 124B [0040] Fig 4) and arranged overlapping (shown in Fig 2 and Fig 4) the third light emitting layer (light emitting layer 132G [0038] Fig 2); and
a counter electrode (counter electrode 136 [0040] Fig 3-4) arranged on the first light emitting layer (light emitting layer 132B [0055] Fig 4) and the second light emitting layer (132R-1 Fig 4).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yasumatsu et al to include the light emitting layer from one region over the top of the light emitting layer from another region creating overlap as taught by Ushikubo in order to suppress the occurrence of unintended light emission in the light emitting layers [0058]. Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that reducing the unintended light emission in the light emitting layers would optimize and improve the optical performance of the device (see MPEP 2143.I(D)).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Yasumatsu et al and Ushikubo discloses the limitations of claim 1 as explained above. The combination of Yasumatsu et al and Ushikubo further discloses
wherein the first light-emitting layer (light emitting layer 14 [0047] Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees, Yasumatsu et al/light emitting layer 132B [0055] Fig 4 Ushikubo) is separated (shown in annotated Fig 4 Ushikubo) between the first region (shown in annotated Fig 4 Ushikubo) and second region (shown in annotated Fig 4 Ushikubo), and the second light-emitting layer (end portion 132R-1 [0056]- [0057] Fig 4 Ushikubo) is separated (shown in annotated Fig 4 Ushikubo) between the second region (shown in annotated Fig 4 Ushikubo) and third region (shown in annotated Fig 4 Ushikubo).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Yasumatsu et al and Ushikubo discloses the limitations of claim 1 as explained above. The combination of Yasumatsu et al and Ushikubo further discloses
wherein the counter electrode (second electrode 16 [0067] Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees, Yasumatsu et al) is separated (the organic insulating layer 12 is present in the second region where it separates the common layers and light emitting layers from the first electrode 11 Yasumatsu et al) between the first region (shown above in annotated Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees, Yasumatsu et al) and the second region(shown above in annotated Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees, Yasumatsu et al), and between the second region (shown above in annotated Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees, Yasumatsu et al) and the third region (shown above in annotated Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees, Yasumatsu et al).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Yasumatsu et al and Ushikubo discloses the limitations of claim 1 as explained above. The combination of Yasumatsu et al and Ushikubo further discloses
wherein a thickness of the first pixel electrode (first electrode 11 [0049] corresponding to 2R Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees and Fig 3, Yasumatsu et al) is greater (shown in Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees, Yasumatsu et al) than a thickness of the first common layer (hole injection layer 13B [0067] Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees, Yasumatsu et al).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Yasumatsu et al and Ushikubo discloses the limitations of claim 1 as explained above. The combination of Yasumatsu et al and Ushikubo further discloses
further comprising: an inorganic insulating layer (protection layer 18 may be inorganic [0063] Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees, Yasumatsu et al) covering a periphery of the first pixel electrode (first electrode 11 [0049] corresponding to 2R Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees and Fig 3, Yasumatsu et al), a periphery of the second pixel electrode (first electrode 11 [0049] corresponding to 2G Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees and Fig 3, Yasumatsu et al) and a periphery of the third pixel electrode (first electrode 11 [0049] corresponding to 2B Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees and Fig 3, Yasumatsu et al), wherein the inorganic insulating layer (18 Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees, Yasumatsu et al) is provided above the organic insulating layer (12 Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees, Yasumatsu et al).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Yasumatsu et al and Ushikubo discloses the limitations of claim 1 as explained above. The combination of Yasumatsu et al and Ushikubo further discloses
wherein the first common layer (13B Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees, Yasumatsu et al) has at least one of a hole transport layer and a hole injection layer (13B is a hole injection layer, Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees, Yasumatsu et al), when the first pixel electrode (first electrode 11 may serve as an anode [0068] Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees, Yasumatsu et al), the second pixel electrode (first electrode 11 may serve as an anode [0068] Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees, Yasumatsu et al) and the third pixel electrode (first electrode 11 may serve as an anode [0068] Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees, Yasumatsu et al) are anodes.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Yasumatsu et al and Ushikubo discloses the limitations of claim 1 as explained above. The combination of Yasumatsu et al and Ushikubo further discloses
wherein the first common layer (13B Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees Yasumatsu et al) has at least one of an electron transport layer and an electron injection layer (15B is an electron injection layer [0067] Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees, Yasumatsu et al), when the first pixel electrode (11 2R Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees and Fig 3, Yasumatsu et al), the second pixel electrode (11 2G Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees and Fig 3, Yasumatsu et al) and the third pixel electrode (11 2B Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees and Fig 3, Yasumatsu et al) are cathodes.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Yasumatsu et al and Ushikubo discloses the limitations of claim 1 as explained above. The combination of Yasumatsu et al and Ushikubo further discloses
further comprising: a second common layer (electron injection layer 15B [0067] Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees, Yasumatsu et al) between the first emission layer (light emitting layer 14 [0047] Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees, Yasumatsu et al/light emitting layer 132B [0055] Fig 4 Ushikubo) and second emission layer (end portion 132R-1 [0056]- [0057] Fig 4 Ushikubo) and the counter electrode (second electrode 16 [0067] Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees, Yasumatsu et al/counter electrode 136 [0040] Fig 3-4 Ushikubo).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Yasumatsu et al and Ushikubo discloses the limitations of claim 1 as explained above. The combination of Yasumatsu et al and Ushikubo further discloses
wherein a shape of the organic insulating layer (12 Fig 1 viewed from 90 degrees, Yasumatsu et al) is rectangular in a plan view (the examiner notes that in the plan view shown in Fig 3 of Yasumatsu et al, the top portion of the trapezoidal shape 12 would appear as rectangular).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasumatsu et al (US 2015/0137086) in view of Ushikubo (US 2023/0389369), in further view of Park et al (US 2021/0183984).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Yasumatsu et al and Ushikubo discloses the limitations of claim 1 as explained above. The combination of Yasumatsu and Ushikubo does not disclose
further comprising: an inorganic insulating layer covering a periphery of the first pixel electrode, a periphery of the second pixel electrode and a periphery of the third pixel electrode, wherein the inorganic insulating layer is provided below the organic insulating layer.
Park et al, in the related art of semiconductor devices that include display devices, discloses
an inorganic insulating layer (planarization layer 117 may be inorganic or organic [0098] Fig 6) covering a periphery of the pixel electrodes (pixel electrode 210 [0099] Fig 6).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Yasumatsu et al and Ushikubo to include an inorganic insulating layer covering a periphery of the first pixel electrode, a periphery of the second pixel electrode and a periphery of the third pixel electrode, wherein the inorganic insulating layer is provided below the organic insulating layer as taught by Park et al in order to have higher temperature stability and greater physical hardness as to avoid degradation and environmental stressors. Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that having an inorganic insulating layer would be advantageous in improving the durability and reliability of the device. Additionally, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that having an inorganic material [0098] for the planarization layer would be a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (see MPEP 2143.I(B) (suitable alternate).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 10:
The prior art does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, that “wherein the first pixel electrode has a first conductive layer, a second conductive layer and a third conductive layer stacked in order from the insulating surface, a thickness of the second conductive layer is thicker than a thickness of the first conductive layer and thicker than a thickness of the third conductive layer, and an edge of the third conductive layer protrudes more than an edge of the second conductive layer in a cross-sectional view,” in the combination required by the claim.
Specifically, the combination of Yasumatsu et al and Ushikubo does not disclose the three conductive layers of varying thickness. Although a new reference may be found that discloses this feature, the resulting combination would not meet the limitation of having an edge of the third conductive layer protruding more than an edge of the second conductive layer as shown in Fig 9 of the instant application. Moreover, should another reference be found that discloses this feature, it would not be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the references to make this alteration.
It is these features found in the claim, as they are claimed in the combination that has not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes this claim allowable over the prior art.
Related Cited Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nakamura et al (US 2020/0357963) which discloses a top-emission display panel with a transistor, a capacitor, and wiring with overlap [0006], and Hiraga (US 2018/0204893) which discloses a light emitting device with an anode electrode and a cathode electrode [0004].
Conclusion
/D.P.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812