DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 11-12, 14, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2022/0104103 A1, hereinafter “Lee”).
As to claim 1:
Lee discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless network (see Figs. 1-3 and 11-12), comprising:
determining whether a trigger condition is detected or not (electronic device 101 determines whether Srxlev>SnonIntraServeP and Sqaul>SnonIntraSearchQ is met/detected or not; see [0161]- [0162] note: Srxlev>SnonIntraServeP or Sqaul>SnonIntraSearchQ = trigger condition);
based on the trigger condition being not detected, selecting a cell among a plurality of cells for the UE in accordance with a signal quality (“if the result of measurement for the first cell does not meet the designated condition (e.g., Srxlev≤SnonIntraServeP or Sqaul≤SnonIntraSearchQ), the electronic device 101 may perform a search on the inter-frequency layer having a higher cell reselection priority, the same cell reselection priority, or a lower cell reselection priority. For the frequency of the higher cell reselection priority, the electronic device 101 may determine that a trigger for reselection occurs, e.g., when Squal>Thresh.sub.X,HighQ at the frequency of the higher cell reselection priority or when Srxlev>Thresh.sub.X,HighP at the frequency of higher cell reselection priority. For the frequency having the same cell reselection priority, the electronic device 101 may determine that a trigger for reselection occurs based on the ranking. For the frequency of the low cell reselection priority, the electronic device 101 may determine that a trigger for reselection occurs, e.g., e.g., when Squal≤Thresh.sub.Serving, LowQ in the serving cell and Squal>Thresh.sub.X_LowQ at the frequency of the lower cell reselection priority. For the frequency of the lower cell reselection priority, the electronic device 101 may determine that a trigger for reselection occurs, e.g., when Srxlev<Thresh.sub.Serving,LowP in the serving cell and Srxlev>Thresh.sub.X_LowP at the frequency of lower cell reselection priority”; Fig. 11; [0162]; [0168]; [0148] note: Squal = signal quality);
based on the trigger condition being detected, selecting a cell from at least one cell of low-band frequency category (“if the result of measurement for the first cell meets a designated condition (e.g., Srxlev>SnonIntraServeP and Sqaul>SnonIntraSearchQ), the electronic device 101 may perform a search on the inter-frequency layer having a higher cell reselection priority”; [0161] “If a cell reselection procedure is applied, the electronic device 101 may perform a cell search according to the priority as shown in Table 8 (e.g., priority set inside the electronic device 101)”; see Table 8; [0168]; [0148] note: higher cell reselection priority in table 8 are low band 5, 8 and 20), the plurality of cells categorized into the low-band frequency category, a mid-band frequency category, and high-band frequency category (see table 8 and [0142]-[0143]; [0148] where 5, 8, 20 of the low band, 1, 2, 3, 4 of the mid band and 7, 38, 39, 40, 41 of the high band); and
camping to the cell (“camp on the selected cell”; Fig. 11; [0163]) or transmitting, on a serving cell, a measurement report including a measurement result of the cell (For examination purposes, this limitation has not been chosen by the examiner as it is optional/alternative).
As to claim 2:
Lee further discloses wherein the selecting of the cell based on the trigger condition being detected (“if the result of measurement for the first cell meets a designated condition (e.g., Srxlev>SnonIntraServeP and Sqaul>SnonIntraSearchQ), the electronic device 101 may perform a search on the inter-frequency layer having a higher cell reselection priority”; [0161] “If a cell reselection procedure is applied, the electronic device 101 may perform a cell search according to the priority as shown in Table 8 (e.g., priority set inside the electronic device 101)”; see Table 8; [0168]; [0148] note: higher cell reselection priority in table 8 are low band 5, 8 and 20) comprises: in case that the UE is in one of the inactive mode and the connected mode, detecting the at least one cell of the low-band frequency category (“if the result of measurement for the first cell meets a designated condition (e.g., Srxlev>SnonIntraServeP and Sqaul>SnonIntraSearchQ), the electronic device 101 may perform a search on the inter-frequency layer having a higher cell reselection priority”; [0161] “If a cell reselection procedure is applied, the electronic device 101 may perform a cell search according to the priority as shown in Table 8 (e.g., priority set inside the electronic device 101)”; see Table 8; [0168];[0177]; [0148] note: higher cell reselection priority in table 8 are low band 5, 8 and 20); prioritizing the at least one cell of the low-band frequency category over at least one cell of the mid-band frequency range, at least one cell of the high-band frequency range (If a cell reselection procedure is applied, the electronic device 101 may perform a cell search according to the priority as shown in Table 8 (e.g., priority set inside the electronic device 101)”; see Table 8; [0168];[0177]); and selecting the cell based on the at least one prioritized cell (“if the result of measurement for the first cell meets a designated condition (e.g., Srxlev>SnonIntraServeP and Sqaul>SnonIntraSearchQ), the electronic device 101 may perform a search on the inter-frequency layer having a higher cell reselection priority”; [0161] “If a cell reselection procedure is applied, the electronic device 101 may perform a cell search according to the priority as shown in Table 8 (e.g., priority set inside the electronic device 101)”; see Table 8; [0168]; [0148] note: higher cell reselection priority in table 8 are low band 5, 8 and 20).
As to claim 4:
Lee further discloses wherein the plurality of cells comprises neighbor cells included in a neighbor cell list configured for the serving cell (“The system information received from the serving cell may include a cell reselection priority for at least one neighbor cell (e.g., a cell reselection priority for the frequency associated with the neighbor cell)”; [0161]).
As to claim 7:
Lee further discloses wherein the low-band frequency category corresponds to one or more frequency bands of which frequency is lower than 1 gigahertz (GHz) (see table 8 where low-band frequency are bands 5, 8 and 20), wherein the mid-band frequency category corresponds to one or more frequency bands of which frequency is higher than 1 GHz and lower than an upper limit of new radio (NR) frequency range 1 (see table 8 where mid-band frequency are bands 1, 2, 3 and 4), and wherein the high-band frequency category corresponds to one or more frequency bands of which frequency is within NR frequency range 2 (see table 8 where high-band frequency are bands 7, 38, 39, 40 and 41).
As to claim 11:
Lee discloses a user equipment (UE) in a wireless network (see Figs. 1-3 and 11-12), the UE comprising: a processor (processor of electronic device 101; see Figs. 1-3); and a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the UE to (“The memory 130 may store various data used by at least one component (e.g., the processor 120 or the sensor module 176) of the electronic device 101. The various data may include, for example, software (e.g., the program 140) and input data or output data for a command related thereto”; [0044]):
determine whether a trigger condition is detected or not (electronic device 101 determines whether Srxlev>SnonIntraServeP and Sqaul>SnonIntraSearchQ is met/detected or not; see [0161]- [0162] note: Srxlev>SnonIntraServeP or Sqaul>SnonIntraSearchQ = trigger condition);
based on the trigger condition being not detected, select a cell among a plurality of cells for the UE in accordance with a signal quality (“if the result of measurement for the first cell does not meet the designated condition (e.g., Srxlev≤SnonIntraServeP or Sqaul≤SnonIntraSearchQ), the electronic device 101 may perform a search on the inter-frequency layer having a higher cell reselection priority, the same cell reselection priority, or a lower cell reselection priority. For the frequency of the higher cell reselection priority, the electronic device 101 may determine that a trigger for reselection occurs, e.g., when Squal>Thresh.sub.X,HighQ at the frequency of the higher cell reselection priority or when Srxlev>Thresh.sub.X,HighP at the frequency of higher cell reselection priority. For the frequency having the same cell reselection priority, the electronic device 101 may determine that a trigger for reselection occurs based on the ranking. For the frequency of the low cell reselection priority, the electronic device 101 may determine that a trigger for reselection occurs, e.g., e.g., when Squal≤Thresh.sub.Serving, LowQ in the serving cell and Squal>Thresh.sub.X_LowQ at the frequency of the lower cell reselection priority. For the frequency of the lower cell reselection priority, the electronic device 101 may determine that a trigger for reselection occurs, e.g., when Srxlev<Thresh.sub.Serving,LowP in the serving cell and Srxlev>Thresh.sub.X_LowP at the frequency of lower cell reselection priority”; Fig. 11; [0162]; [0168]; [0148] note: Squal = signal quality);
based on the trigger condition being detected, select a cell from at least one cell of low-band frequency category (“if the result of measurement for the first cell meets a designated condition (e.g., Srxlev>SnonIntraServeP and Sqaul>SnonIntraSearchQ), the electronic device 101 may perform a search on the inter-frequency layer having a higher cell reselection priority”; [0161] “If a cell reselection procedure is applied, the electronic device 101 may perform a cell search according to the priority as shown in Table 8 (e.g., priority set inside the electronic device 101)”; see Table 8; [0168]; [0148] note: higher cell reselection priority in table 8 are low band 5, 8 and 20), the plurality of cells categorized into the low-band frequency category, a mid-band frequency category, and high-band frequency category (see table 8 and [0142]-[0143]; [0148] where 5, 8, 20 of the low band, 1, 2, 3, 4 of the mid band and 7, 38, 39, 40, 41 of the high band); and
camp to the cell (“camp on the selected cell”; Fig. 11; [0163]) or transmit, on a serving cell, a measurement report including a measurement result of the cell (For examination purposes, this limitation has not been chosen by the examiner as it is optional/alternative).
As to claim 12:
Lee further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the UE to (“The memory 130 may store various data used by at least one component (e.g., the processor 120 or the sensor module 176) of the electronic device 101. The various data may include, for example, software (e.g., the program 140) and input data or output data for a command related thereto”; [0044]): in case that the UE is in one of the inactive mode and the connected mode, detect the at least one cell of the low-band frequency category (“if the result of measurement for the first cell meets a designated condition (e.g., Srxlev>SnonIntraServeP and Sqaul>SnonIntraSearchQ), the electronic device 101 may perform a search on the inter-frequency layer having a higher cell reselection priority”; [0161] “If a cell reselection procedure is applied, the electronic device 101 may perform a cell search according to the priority as shown in Table 8 (e.g., priority set inside the electronic device 101)”; see Table 8; [0168];[0177]; [0148] note: higher cell reselection priority in table 8 are low band 5, 8 and 20); prioritize the at least one cell of the low-band frequency category over at least one cell of the mid-band frequency range, at least one cell of the high-band frequency range (If a cell reselection procedure is applied, the electronic device 101 may perform a cell search according to the priority as shown in Table 8 (e.g., priority set inside the electronic device 101)”; see Table 8; [0168];[0177]); and select the cell based on the at least one prioritized cell (“if the result of measurement for the first cell meets a designated condition (e.g., Srxlev>SnonIntraServeP and Sqaul>SnonIntraSearchQ), the electronic device 101 may perform a search on the inter-frequency layer having a higher cell reselection priority”; [0161] “If a cell reselection procedure is applied, the electronic device 101 may perform a cell search according to the priority as shown in Table 8 (e.g., priority set inside the electronic device 101)”; see Table 8; [0168]; [0148] note: higher cell reselection priority in table 8 are low band 5, 8 and 20).
As to claim 14:
Lee further discloses wherein the plurality of cells comprises neighbor cells included in a neighbor cell list configured for the serving cell (“The system information received from the serving cell may include a cell reselection priority for at least one neighbor cell (e.g., a cell reselection priority for the frequency associated with the neighbor cell)”; [0161]).
As to claim 17:
Lee further discloses wherein the low-band frequency category corresponds to one or more frequency bands of which frequency is lower than 1 gigahertz (GHz) (see table 8 where low-band frequency are bands 5, 8 and 20), wherein the mid-band frequency category corresponds to one or more frequency bands of which frequency is higher than 1 GHz and lower than an upper limit of new radio (NR) frequency range 1 (see table 8 where mid-band frequency are bands 1, 2, 3 and 4), and wherein the high-band frequency category corresponds to one or more frequency bands of which frequency is within NR frequency range 2 (see table 8 where high-band frequency are bands 7, 38, 39, 40 and 41).
As to claim 20:
Lee discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause a user equipment (UE) to perform operations including (“The machine-readable storage medium may be provided in the form of a non-transitory storage medium”; [0213] see Figs. 1-3 and 11-12):
determining whether a trigger condition is detected or not (electronic device 101 determines whether Srxlev>SnonIntraServeP and Sqaul>SnonIntraSearchQ is met/detected or not; see [0161]- [0162] note: Srxlev>SnonIntraServeP or Sqaul>SnonIntraSearchQ = trigger condition);
based on the trigger condition being not detected, selecting a cell among a plurality of cells for the UE in accordance with a signal quality (“if the result of measurement for the first cell does not meet the designated condition (e.g., Srxlev≤SnonIntraServeP or Sqaul≤SnonIntraSearchQ), the electronic device 101 may perform a search on the inter-frequency layer having a higher cell reselection priority, the same cell reselection priority, or a lower cell reselection priority. For the frequency of the higher cell reselection priority, the electronic device 101 may determine that a trigger for reselection occurs, e.g., when Squal>Thresh.sub.X,HighQ at the frequency of the higher cell reselection priority or when Srxlev>Thresh.sub.X,HighP at the frequency of higher cell reselection priority. For the frequency having the same cell reselection priority, the electronic device 101 may determine that a trigger for reselection occurs based on the ranking. For the frequency of the low cell reselection priority, the electronic device 101 may determine that a trigger for reselection occurs, e.g., e.g., when Squal≤Thresh.sub.Serving, LowQ in the serving cell and Squal>Thresh.sub.X_LowQ at the frequency of the lower cell reselection priority. For the frequency of the lower cell reselection priority, the electronic device 101 may determine that a trigger for reselection occurs, e.g., when Srxlev<Thresh.sub.Serving,LowP in the serving cell and Srxlev>Thresh.sub.X_LowP at the frequency of lower cell reselection priority”; Fig. 11; [0162]; [0168]; [0148] note: Squal = signal quality);
based on the trigger condition being detected, selecting a cell from at least one cell of low-band frequency category (“if the result of measurement for the first cell meets a designated condition (e.g., Srxlev>SnonIntraServeP and Sqaul>SnonIntraSearchQ), the electronic device 101 may perform a search on the inter-frequency layer having a higher cell reselection priority”; [0161] “If a cell reselection procedure is applied, the electronic device 101 may perform a cell search according to the priority as shown in Table 8 (e.g., priority set inside the electronic device 101)”; see Table 8; [0168]; [0148] note: higher cell reselection priority in table 8 are low band 5, 8 and 20), the plurality of cells categorized into the low-band frequency category, a mid-band frequency category, and high-band frequency category (see table 8 and [0142]-[0143]; [0148] where 5, 8, 20 of the low band, 1, 2, 3, 4 of the mid band and 7, 38, 39, 40, 41 of the high band); and
camping to the cell (“camp on the selected cell”; Fig. 11; [0163]) or transmitting, on a serving cell, a measurement report including a measurement result of the cell (For examination purposes, this limitation has not been chosen by the examiner as it is optional/alternative).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2022/0104103 A1) in view of Shimoda et al. (US 2020/0214073 A1, hereinafter “Shimoda”).
As to claim 8:
Lee discloses the invention set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the determining of whether the trigger condition comprises: identifying whether a path loss exceeds a predetermined threshold or not; in case that the path loss exceeds the predetermined threshold, determining that the trigger condition is detected; and in case that the path loss does not exceed the predetermined threshold, determining that the trigger condition is not detected.
However, Shimoda discloses wherein the determining of whether the trigger condition comprises (“Path loss may be used for cell selection and/or cell re-selection. For example, as a threshold used for cell selection and/or cell re-selection, a condition of path loss may be used”; [0417] note: condition of path loss = trigger condition): identifying whether a path loss exceeds a predetermined threshold or not (“a threshold may be set for path loss. The UAV-UE may select a cell with path loss higher than the threshold. For example, the cell may be a cell that is detected first among cells with path loss higher than the threshold. In this manner, for example, the UAV-UE can promptly select a cell with certain coverage or wider”; [0448]); in case that the path loss exceeds the predetermined threshold, determining that the trigger condition is detected (“a threshold may be set for path loss. The UAV-UE may select a cell with path loss higher than the threshold. For example, the cell may be a cell that is detected first among cells with path loss higher than the threshold. In this manner, for example, the UAV-UE can promptly select a cell with certain coverage or wider”; [0448]; [0417]); and in case that the path loss does not exceed the predetermined threshold, determining that the trigger condition is not detected (“a threshold may be set for path loss. The UAV-UE may select a cell with path loss higher than the threshold. For example, the cell may be a cell that is detected first among cells with path loss higher than the threshold. In this manner, for example, the UAV-UE can promptly select a cell with certain coverage or wider”; [0448]; [0417]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Shimoda into Lee’s system/method as it would allow the determining of whether the trigger condition to comprise: identifying whether a path loss exceeds a predetermined threshold or not; in case that the path loss exceeds the predetermined threshold, determining that the trigger condition is detected; and in case that the path loss does not exceed the predetermined threshold, determining that the trigger condition is not detected. Such combination would have been obvious as the references are from analogous art where a motivation would have been to provide a high-speed communication system etc. in NR and LTE (Shimoda; [0064]).
As to claim 18:
Lee discloses the invention set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the UE to: identify whether a path loss exceeds a predetermined threshold or not; in case that the path loss exceeds the predetermined threshold, determine that the trigger condition is detected; and in case that the path loss does not exceed the predetermined threshold, determine that the trigger condition is not detected.
However, Shimoda discloses to: identify whether a path loss exceeds a predetermined threshold or not (“a threshold may be set for path loss. The UAV-UE may select a cell with path loss higher than the threshold. For example, the cell may be a cell that is detected first among cells with path loss higher than the threshold. In this manner, for example, the UAV-UE can promptly select a cell with certain coverage or wider”; [0448]); in case that the path loss exceeds the predetermined threshold, determine that the trigger condition is detected (“a threshold may be set for path loss. The UAV-UE may select a cell with path loss higher than the threshold. For example, the cell may be a cell that is detected first among cells with path loss higher than the threshold. In this manner, for example, the UAV-UE can promptly select a cell with certain coverage or wider”; [0448]; [0417]); and in case that the path loss does not exceed the predetermined threshold, determine that the trigger condition is not detected (“a threshold may be set for path loss. The UAV-UE may select a cell with path loss higher than the threshold. For example, the cell may be a cell that is detected first among cells with path loss higher than the threshold. In this manner, for example, the UAV-UE can promptly select a cell with certain coverage or wider”; [0448]; [0417]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Shimoda into Lee’s system/method as it would allow the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the UE to: identify whether a path loss exceeds a predetermined threshold or not; in case that the path loss exceeds the predetermined threshold, determine that the trigger condition is detected; and in case that the path loss does not exceed the predetermined threshold, determine that the trigger condition is not detected. Such combination would have been obvious as the references are from analogous art where a motivation would have been to provide a high-speed communication system etc. in NR and LTE (Shimoda; [0064]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5-6, 9-10, 13, 15-16 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MARIELA VIDAL CARPIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476