DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-19 in the reply filed on 7/6/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 should recite “extend from the wall member to of each wall member and wherein the ribs narrow” or something equivalent for the best antecedent basis.
Claim 11 should recite “forming the removable decorative body to include [[a]] the warming dish further comprises” for the best antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 is rejected for reciting “removing the removable decorative body from the base”. It is not clear how the body being removed from the base can be part of a method of assembling the scent warmer because this is a step of disassembly. It cannot be determined from the claim how this step would result in the assembly of the scent warmer as required by claim 1 from which claim 3 depends, and therefore the scope of what the method necessarily accomplishes or requires cannot be determined and the claim is indefinite. For the purpose of examination, it is interpreted that the decorative body is removably positioned.
Claim 4 is rejected for depending on claim 3.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 5 recites “positioning the removable decorative body around the elastomeric sleeve comprises at least partially deforming the ribs of the elastomeric sleeve” however claim 1 from which claim 5 depends already recites the limitation “positioning a removable decorative body around the elastomeric sleeve on the stem and deforming the ribs of the elastomeric sleeve”. There are no limitations in claim 5 that are not already claimed in claim 1, and therefore claim 5 fails to properly further limit claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsiao (US 2011/0110118) in view of Hsiao (US 2019/0247531).
Regarding claim 1, Hsiao (US 2011/0110118) teaches –
A method of assembling a scent warmer (Figs. 2-4 show a scent warmer 20 having been assembled, pars. 39-40 teaching the method of assembly), comprising:
positioning an elastomeric sleeve (retainer 15, which is rigid but deformable; par. 40) on a stem (first top cover 16) extending upwardly from a base (lamp socket 11) of the scent warmer such that the elastomeric sleeve surrounds at least a portion of the stem (fig. 4 shows the retainer 15 surrounding the cover 16; par. 39),
the elastomeric sleeve comprising:
a wall member sized and configured to abut against the stem (ring 151 includes an inner wall abutting the cover 16); and
ribs extending radially outward from the wall member (hooked portion 1531 extends radially outward); and
positioning a removable decorative body around the elastomeric sleeve on the stem and deforming the ribs of the elastomeric sleeve (par. 40 discloses the placing of the shade 23, which is transmissive to light and provides some soothing lighting effect, onto the retainer 15 by applying force to deform the pawls 153),
the elastomeric sleeve applying a retention force between the removable decorative body and the stem (par. 40).
Should it be found that Hsiao fails to teach this method with sufficient specificity from the explicit disclosure: It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device that is disclosed in Fig. 4 of Hsiao such that the device is assembled by positioning the decorative body around the elastomeric sleeve on the stem and deforming the ribs of the elastomeric sleeve and the elastomeric sleeve applying a retention force between the removable decorative body and the stem to arrive at the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to do so to successfully assemble and use the device shown in fig. 4. All the structure of the claimed invention is disclosed and is taught to be assembled in a substantially identical manner in the prior art, and therefore the claimed method is obvious. MPEP 2113.
Hsiao appears to be silent with regards to specifically the sleeve being made of an elastomeric material.
Hsiao (US 2019/0247531) (hereinafter referred to as “Ming”) teaches a fragrance delivery device including a support loop 50 that is made of silicone which is a known elastomeric material. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Hsiao such that sleeve is made from specifically an elastomeric material such as silicone as taught by Ming to arrive at the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to do so to successfully implement the sleeve according to a known effective material. The combination of familiar prior art elements according to known means to arrive at results that are nothing more than predictable is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 2, Hsiao further teaches positioning the removable decorative body around the elastomeric sleeve comprises pressing the removable decorative body toward the base with a force greater than a weight of the removable decorative body (pars. 39-40 discloses the pressing of the shade 23 onto the retainer 15 which would inherently or at least obviously require the pressing with a force greater than a weight in order to successfully mount the device against the force of gravity).
Regarding claim 3, Hsiao further teaches removing the removable decorative body from the base by pulling the base and the removable decorative body in opposite directions (the retainer 15 is attached by threads on a threaded flange 116, and is removably positioned on the base 11, and using this threaded attachment by twisting and pulling the shade 23 would similarly be an inherent or at least obvious manner in which the device is used; MPEP 2113).
Regarding claim 4, Hsiao further teaches positioning the removable decorative body around the elastomeric sleeve further comprises positioning a warming dish of the removable decorative body opposite of the elastomeric sleeve (Fig. 4 shows that the heater 21 which is shaped as a warming dish is placed opposite the sleeve 15).
Regarding claim 5, Hsiao further teaches positioning the removable decorative body around the elastomeric sleeve comprises at least partially deforming the ribs of the elastomeric sleeve (par. 40).
Regarding claim 6, Hsiao further teaches at least partially deforming the ribs further comprises deforming the ribs more as they extend from the wall member to their tips and wherein the ribs narrow as they extend from the wall member to their tips (Fig. 4 shows the cross section of pawls 153 narrowing as the hooked portion 1531 extends from the recessed portion 1533 that the hooked portion 1531 is connected to, the recessed portion 1533 being the wall member and the hooked portion being the ribs). The placing requires more deformation of the hooked portion 1531 further away from the recessed portion 1533 because of the beveled top of the hooked portion.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-19 are allowed.
The prior art, alone or in combination fails to teach or fairly suggest each and every limitation of claim 7. The prior art considered to be the closest prior art is Hsiao. Hsiao teaches the ribs include a beveled edge on a top side (Fig. 6 shows this), but fails to teach or fairly suggest the wall member including a beveled edge on a top side. Further, an ordinary artisan would not be motivated to modify the wall member to include a beveled edge towards a top as that would interfere with the components ability to reliably retain the lampshade rendering the component insufficient for its intended purpose. Therefore, Hsiao fails to teach each and every limitation of the claimed invention and the claim is therefore indicated as allowable herein.
The remaining claims are allowed for depending on claim 7.
Conclusion
/BRENDAN A HENSEL/ Examiner, Art Unit 1758