DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 11,940,660 B2 to Ger et al. (hereinafter “Ger”) in view of EP 3772095 B1 (hereinafter “EP’095”).
Regarding claim 1, Ger discloses an optical module comprising a housing (31 in Fig. 5) and a heat sink (53 in Fig. 5) located on an outer surface of the housing, wherein the heat sink comprises a plurality of fins that extend in a longitudinal direction of the housing and arranged along a transverse direction of the housing (53 in Fig. 5).
However, Ger does not explicitly disclose that the fins are plurality of non-linear fins, wherein the adjacent two of the non-linear fins form a flow channel, as claimed in the present application. On the other hand, such non-linear fins on a heat sink structure are known in the art. For example, EP’095 discloses a heat sink structure (e.g. Fig. 9), having plurality of non-linear fins that are arranged along a transverse direction of the housing (Fig. 2), wherein adjacent two of the plurality of non-linear fins together form a flow channel (paragraph [0032]), and adjacent two of the plurality of non-linear fins are substantially linearly symmetrical about a longitudinal axis of the housing (Fig. 8, Fig. 2).
One of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize such non-linear fins as advantageous and desirable since the advantage of such structures are well known in the art. Specifically, non-linear fins increase the surface area for the cooling medium for more effective heat exchange, and such use increases the fidelity of the heat sink element. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the present application to modify the device of Ger to have the fins that are plurality of non-linear fins, wherein the adjacent two of the non-linear fins form a flow channel, as claimed in the present application.
Regarding claim 2-4, EP’095 discloses wherein each of the plurality of non-linear fins comprises an end linear part and a plurality of non-linear parts (Fig. 8), and wherein the flow channel has a plurality of wide segments and a plurality of narrow segments which are arranged alternatively (Fig. 8), and wherein each of the plurality of non-linear fins comprises a plurality of linear parts and a plurality of non-linear parts which are arranged alternatively, the plurality of non-linear parts of the adjacent two of the non-linear fins together form the plurality of wide segments, and the plurality of linear parts of adjacent two non-linear fins together form plurality of narrow segments (Fig. 8).
As such, the combination of Ger in view of EP’095 in the manner discussed regarding claim 1 would also render the claimed limitations of claims 2-4 obvious.
Regarding claim 8, EP’095 discloses wherein each of the plurality of non-linear parts is formed by a plurality of linear segments extending along a different directions and being connected to each other (Fig. 8). As such, the combination of Ger in view of EP’095 in the manner discussed regarding claim 1 would also render the claimed limitations of claim 8 obvious.
Regarding claim 9, Ger discloses the optical module being an Octal Small Form Factor Pluggable optical module (column 1, lines 15-17).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 10-15 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: as discussed above, an optical module comprising a housing, and a heat sink wherein the heat sink comprises a plurality of non-linear fins such that each of the non-linear fins comprises a plurality of linear parts and a plurality of non-linear parts which are arranged alternately, the plurality of non-linear parts of adjacent two of the plurality of non-linear fins together form the plurality of wide segments, and the plurality of linear parts of adjacent two of the plurality of non-linear fins together form the plurality of narrow segments, is obvious in view of the available prior art.
However, none of the prior art fairly teaches or suggests such an optical module wherein the plurality of linear parts of each of the plurality of non-linear fins comprise a first end linear part and a plurality of intermediate linear parts, the first end linear part is located closer to an electrical port of the optical module than the plurality of intermediate linear parts, the plurality of intermediate linear parts and the plurality of non-linear parts are arranged alternately, the plurality of intermediate linear parts of adjacent two of the plurality of non-linear fins together form the plurality of narrow segments, and a length of the first end linear part is larger than a length of each of the plurality of intermediate linear parts, as claimed in claims 5 and 10 of the present application. There is no credible reasons why, or more importantly how, one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the heat sink structures of the prior art to arrive at such structures.
Conclusion
/SUNG H PAK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874