DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-11, and 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sasaki et al. (2003/0045375). Claim 1, Sasaki discloses a golf ball comprising a spherical core, and an outermost cover positioned outside the spherical core and having a plurality of dimples formed thereon, wherein a hardness difference S (=Hs-Ho) of 15-40 Shore D or 30-63 Shore C between a surface hardness Hs of the spherical core and a center hardness Ho (Shore C hardness) of the spherical core [0035], a material hardness C (Shore D hardness) of 35-55 for the outermost cover [0045]. Sasaki discloses the total dimple volume is from 300 to 700 mm3 [0071]. Solving for V x (S+C)/1000≥55 (700 x (30+55)/1000 = 59.5). Claim 3, S x C ≥1000 (30x55=1650) is satisfied. Claim 4, the cover contains an ionomer resin [0049]. Claim 5, 85≥Vx(S+C)/1000≥55 (700 x (30+55)/1000 = 59.5). Claim 6, the hardness difference S is 15-40 Shore D or 30-63 Shore C [0035]. Claim 7, the surface hardness Hs of the spherical core ranges from 40-70 Shore D or 63-102 Shore C [0037]. Claim 8, Hayashi discloses the center hardness Ho of the spherical core ranges from 30 to 70 Shore D or 50 to 102 Shore C hardness [0142]. Claim 9, the material hardness C of the outermost cover ranges from 35 to 55 in Shore D hardness [0045]. Claim 10, the total dimple volume is from 300 to 700 mm3 [0071]. Claim 11, the outermost cover layer has a thickness from 0.5 mm to 2.0 mm [0043]. Claim 13, 2500 ≥ SxC ≥ 1000 (30x55=1650) is satisfied. Claim 14, the material hardness C of the outermost cover ranges from 35 to 55 in Shore D hardness [0045]. Claim 15, the total dimple volume is from 300 to 700 mm3 [0071]. Claim 16, the core is one layer made from polybutadiene [0028]. Claim 17, the single core diameter is from 25 to 40 mm [0034].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al. (2003/0045375) in view of Iwami et al. (2005/0049084). Claim 2, Sasaki describes a lower volume but does not disclose the values for the lower volume [0071]. Iwami teaches a lower volume V (applicant’s Vi) of 400.4 mm3 and an upper volume W (applicant’s Vo) of 184.9 mm3 (table 4 examples VI). Vi-1.50xVo ≥ 0 [400.4-1.5x184.9 = 123.05]. Claim 12, Iwami teaches a lower volume V (applicant’s Vi) of 400.4 mm3 and an upper volume W (applicant’s Vo) of 184.9 mm3 (table 4 examples VI). 260 ≥ Vi-1.50xVo ≥ 0 [400.4-1.5x184.9 = 123.05]. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify the dimple volume for the desired flight performance.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAEANN GORDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711
July 29, 2026