DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (2020/0129815) in view of Iwami et al. (2005/0049084). Claim 1, Hayashi discloses a golf ball comprising a spherical core, and an outermost cover positioned outside the spherical core and having a plurality of dimples formed thereon, wherein a hardness difference S (=Hs-Ho) of 20 between a surface hardness Hs of the spherical core and a center hardness Ho (Shore C hardness) of the spherical core [0143], a material hardness C (Shore D hardness) of 65 for the outermost cover [0151]. Hayashi discloses the golf ball has between 200 and 500 dimple but does not disclose the total volume of the dimples [0150]. Iwami teaches a golf ball comprising about 432 dimples with a total volume V (V+W) (mm3) of the plurality of dimples below a surface of a virtual sphere from 485.2 mm3 to 585.2 mm3 (tables 3-4 (V+W)). Solving for Vx(S+C)/1000≥50 (585.2x(20+65)/1000 = 50). One of ordinary skill in the art would modify the dimple volume for the desired flight performance. Claim 2, Iwami teaches a lower volume V (applicant’s Vi) of 400.4 mm3 and an upper volume W (applicant’s Vo) of 184.9 mm3 (table 4 examples VI). Vi-1.50xVo ≥ 0 [400.4-1.5x184.9 = 123.05]. Claim 3, Hayashi discloses wherein SxC≥1000 (20x65=1300) is satisfied. Claim 4, Hayashi discloses the cover contains an ionomer resin (table 3). Claim 5, Hayashi discloses 85≥Vx(S+C)/1000≥50 (585.2x(20+65)/1000 = 50). Claim 6, Hayashi discloses the hardness difference S is 20 in Shore C hardness [0143]. Claim 7, Hayashi discloses the surface hardness Hs of the spherical core ranges from 50 to 90 in Shore C hardness [0141]. Claim 8, Hayashi discloses the center hardness Ho of the spherical core ranges from 40 to 90 in Shore C hardness [0142]. Claim 9, Hayashi discloses the material hardness C of the outermost cover ranges from 20 to 70 in Shore D hardness [0151]. Claim 10, Iwami teaches the total volume V (V+W) of the plurality of dimples ranges from 485.2 mm3 to 585.2 mm3 (tables 3-4 (V+W)). Claim 11, Hayashi discloses the outermost cover layer has a thickness from 0.3 mm to 4.0 mm [0149]. Claim 12, Iwami teaches a lower volume V (applicant’s Vi) of 400.4 mm3 and an upper volume W (applicant’s Vo) of 184.9 mm3 (table 4 examples VI). 260 ≥ Vi-1.50xVo ≥ 0 [400.4-1.5x184.9 = 123.05]. Claim 13, Hayashi discloses wherein 2500 ≥ SxC ≥ 1000 (20x65=1300) is satisfied. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify the dimple volume for the desired flight performance.
Conclusion
/RAEANN GORDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711
February 3, 2026