DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to the amendment dated 3/30/2026 and entered by RCE dated 4/30/2026. The previous claim objection has been withdrawn due to applicant’s amendment. Claims 1-4 remain pending. This action is Non-Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Parks et al. (U.S. 1,556,804).
Parks discloses a cooling module comprising: a manifold (50, 70) to which a valve (57) configured to control flow of a fluid by rotation about a rotational axis of the valve (the vertical axis in figs. 3 and 6-7) is attached and in which a fluid flow path (such as a path through, for example, 85) configured to allow the fluid to flow therethrough is formed, wherein the manifold includes a foreign matter reservoir (f, 95’, 88) having a flow path cross-sectional area larger than a flow path cross-sectional area of the fluid flow path (see the cross-sectional area of f , 95’ and 88 in fig. 7 which extends vertically greater than the horizontal fluid flow passage at the left end in fig. 7) and storing a foreign matter flowing through the fluid flow path (this is an intended use of a material handled and has not been given patentable weight, the reservoir is capable of storing any type of material including “foreign matter”), the flow path cross-sectional area of the foreign matter reservoir being parallel to the flow path cross-sectional area of the fluid flow path (as explained above, see the cross-sectional area of f , 95’ and 88 in fig. 7 which extends vertically greater than the horizontal fluid flow passage at the left end in fig. 7), the foreign matter reservoir fluidly connects the valve and one of an inflow port (such the port from 82/a leading to the interior of the valve) configured to allow the fluid to flow therethrough into the valve and an outflow port (this limitation is written in the alternative as the applicant recites the fluid connection of the valve and “one of” the inflow port and outflow port, as the valve is fluidly connected to an inflow port, the claim is deemed to be met; however, see also the port leading from the valve to b) configured to allow the fluid to flow therethrough out of the valve to the fluid flow path (fig. 1, as fluid flows through the various chambers, see the description in pg. 2, ll. 36-80), and the foreign matter reservoir has a reservoir space located, when viewed in a cross-section that is parallel to the rotational axis of the valve, lower than the fluid flow path (95’ and 88, which, as shown in fig. 7, is lower than the fluid flow path which extends horizontally at the left end in fig. 7; it is noted this is similar in structural location to the applicant’s reservoir 11, which has portions at the same level as the rotary valve, (11R and 11T), as well as a portion (11U) below the valve, Parks similarly has a portion (f) that is located at the same level as the valve and portions (95’, 88) below the valve), so that foreign matter that flows in the fluid flow path with the fluid and has a specific gravity larger than the fluid drops out from the fluid flow path into the reservoir space (this is an intended use of a material handled and has not been given patentable weight, the reservoir is capable of storing any type of material including foreign matter of any specific gravity as it is lower than the fluid flow path).
Regarding claim 3, Parks further discloses wherein the manifold includes a first housing (50) and a second housing (70) joined to the first housing (best shown in fig. 3), and the foreign matter reservoir is formed between the first housing and the second housing (as it is within the manifold and thus between the first and second housings).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parks in view of Johnson (U.S. 4,470,429).
Parks discloses the claimed invention and while fluid necessarily must be provided motive force in order to flow through the valve, Parks does not explicitly disclose the foreign matter reservoir being connected to a suction port through which the fluid is sucked into a pump configured to pressure-feed the fluid.
Johnson discloses it was known in the art to have a similar multi-way valve that has a port that is connected to a suction valve to provide the motive force for the fluid through the valve (col. 1, ll. 23-28, col. 1, ll. 31-35, col. 3, ll. 17-22).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Parks by having a suction pump be attached to one of the ports as taught by Johnson as Parks is silent as to the means to provide the motive force to the fluid and a suction pump is a known, inexpensive, and reliable means of providing motive force to a fluid.
Regarding claim 4, Parks as modified further discloses wherein the manifold includes a first housing (50) and a second housing (70) joined to the first housing (best shown in fig. 3), and the foreign matter reservoir is formed between the first housing and the second housing (as the reservoir is within the manifold and thus between the first and second housings).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The newly added limitations are seen to be met by further features of Parks. Including elements 95’ and 88, which are shown to be lower than the fluid flow path shown at the threaded opening on the left side in figure 7, labeled 85 in figure 1. The cross-sectional view of figure 7 is parallel to the rotational axis of the valve. It is noted this is similar in structural location to the applicant’s reservoir 11, which has portions at the same level as the rotary valve, 11R and 11), as well as a portion 11U below the valve, Parks similarly has a portion f that is located at the same level as the valve and portions 95’, 88 below the valve.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL R REID/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753