DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 10-11, 13-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Muthler et al. (US 20210390758 A1), hereinafter referenced as Muthler.
Regarding Claim 1, Muthler discloses a method (Muthler, [0069]: teaches process 400 <read on method> being performed in a real-time ray tracing graphics system 700 as shown in FIG. 7) comprising:
obtaining a cone angle value (Muthler, [0203]: teaches a cosine angle of a cone <read on cone angle value> being used, where the cosine angle is part of a relationship between Ray-Op A and B parameters);
determining a cone characterization value based on the cone angle value and on a ray tracing operation (Muthler, [0203]: teaches a cosine of an angle of a cone being used for intersection tests <read on ray tracing operation>, where certain Ray-Ops <read on cone characterization value>, such as
F
L
T
T
M
I
N
and
F
L
T
M
A
X
, are used for geometric LOD selection; [0199]: teaches a Ray-Op test being an arithmetic or logical computation that results in a true/false output, where these tests provide highly flexible techniques "by which rays can change the default ray tracing behavior of the TTU 738 on an individual or group basis"; Note: it should be mentioned that a "cone characterization value" is described in the specification as an indication of how much computation to expend in further calculations, which is being interpreted broadly); and
performing rendering operations based on the cone characterization value (Muthler, [0087]: teaches "the ray intersection information returned from the traversal coprocessor is used for rendering <read on rendering operations> the scene"; [0235]: teaches "based on the results of the ray tracing, the pixel values stored in the buffer may be modified," where the ray tracing results are Ray-Op test results <read on cone characterization value>).
Regarding Claim 10, it recites the limitations that are similar in scope to Claim 1, but in a system. As shown in the rejection, Muthler discloses the limitations of Claim 1. Additionally, Muthler discloses a system (Muthler, [0069]: teaches process 400 being performed in a real-time ray tracing graphics system 700 as shown in FIG. 7) comprising:
a memory configured to store data and instructions for ray tracing operations (Muthler, [0112]: teaches system 700 including processor 720, GPU 730, memory 740, and display 750; [0114]: teaches processor 720 issuing instructions for GPU 730 to generate images <read on ray tracing operations> using 3D data stored in memory 740); and
a processor configured to perform ray tracing operations using the data and instructions, by (Muthler, [0114]: teaches processor 720 issuing instructions for GPU 730 to generate images <read on ray tracing operations> using 3D data stored in memory 740):…
Thus, Claim 10 is met by Muthler according to the mapping presented in the rejection of Claim 1, given the method corresponds to a system.
Regarding Claim 19, it recites the limitations that are similar in scope to Claim 1, but in a non-transitory computer-readable medium. As shown in the rejection, Muthler discloses the limitations of Claim 1. Additionally, Muthler discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations (Muthler, [0112]: teaches system 700 including processor 720, GPU 730, memory 740 <read on non-transitory computer-readable medium>, and display 750; [0114]: teaches processor 720 issuing instructions for GPU 730 to generate images <read on operations> using 3D data stored in memory 740) comprising:…
Thus, Claim 19 is met by Muthler according to the mapping presented in the rejection of Claim 1, given the method corresponds to a non-transitory computer-readable medium.
Regarding Claims 2, 11, and 20, Muthler discloses the method, the system, and the non-transitory computer-readable medium of Claims 1, 10, and 19 respectively. Additionally, Muthler further discloses wherein
the cone angle value is specified by an application or a shader program (Muthler, [0203]: teaches Ray-Op tests containing parameters and opcodes arranged in logical and/or arithmetic relationships; [0199]: teaches Ray-Op A and B parameters being configured and/or preprogrammed <read on application> in hardware).
Regarding Claims 4 and 13, Muthler discloses the method and the system of Claims 1 and 10 respectively. Additionally, Muthler further discloses wherein the rendering operations comprise
selecting a level of detail for geometry (Muthler, [0203]: teaches "since
F
L
T
T
M
I
N
and
F
L
T
T
M
A
X
tests operate on the bounding box
t
m
i
n
and bounding box
t
m
a
x
values which may be geometric values computed in the intersection test, these Ray-Ops may be used for geometric level-of-detail").
Regarding Claims 5 and 14, Muthler discloses the method and the system of Claims 4 and 13 respectively. Additionally, Muthler further discloses wherein the level of detail selected is based on
a comparison of the cone characterization value and a size of a bounding volume (Muthler, [0203]: teaches opcodes, such as FLT_TMIN_LESS and FLT_TMAX_LESS, "provides for comparing a value computed during the ray/acceleration data structure intersection test scaled by one geometric attribute associated with the ray <read on size of BV> and biased by another geometric attribute associated with the ray to at least one geometric parameter associated with the at least one node," where the opcodes are a part of Ray-Op parameters <read on cone characterization value>).
Regarding Claims 6 and 15, Muthler discloses the method and the system of Claims 4 and 13 respectively. Additionally, Muthler further discloses wherein the level of detail selected is based on
comparison information stored in a bounding volume hierarchy (Muthler, [0187]: teaches a node data structure 1622, which is a part of a bounding volume hierarchy, holding Ray-Op related information for a bounding volume, where flags are stored; [0067]: teaches setting FRA flags <read on comparison information> for selecting appropriate LODs).
Regarding Claims 7 and 16, Muthler discloses the method and the system of Claims 6 and 15 respectively. Additionally, Muthler further discloses wherein
the comparison information is stored in a sequence of one or more child descriptors (Muthler, [0099]: teaches a tree data structure, such as a BLAS, that includes a plurality of nodes arranged in a hierarchy, where "the root node N1 may identify the vertices of the bounding volume N1 and children nodes <read on child descriptor> of the root node"),
each marked as being a child descriptor containing level of detail information (Muthler, [0085]: teaches an example situation of selecting a child node <read on child descriptor> according to a predetermined criteria, such as a child node containing an LOD <read on LOD information> that is also the first occurring child node according to a predetermined ordering, for culling or traversal) and
a bounding volume for the sequence is stored in a parent of the sequence (Muthler, FIG. 2B teaches a plurality of LODs being stored in a BLAS tree data structure, where models of the geometry (i.e., a car geometry) <read on bounding volume> are rooted at the root <read on parent of sequence> node).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 8, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muthler et al. (US 20210390758 A1), hereinafter referenced as Muthler as applied to Claims 1 and 10 above respectively, in view of Ozdas et al. (US 20140333623 A1), hereinafter referenced as Ozdas.
Regarding Claims 3 and 12, Muthler discloses the method and the system of Claims 1 and 10 respectively. Muthler does not expressly disclose the limitations of Claims 3 and 12; however, Ozdas discloses wherein the cone characterization value is based on
a size of a base of a cone having an axis extending from an origin of a ray to a point of intersection of the ray with a bounding volume (Ozdas, [0051]: teaches a conic projection that includes a cross-section 142 <read on size of cone base> as shown in FIGS. 5 and 6; FIG. 5 teaches the conic projection originating from a single point, where the conic projection then intersects with volume elements of a bounding volume).
Ozdas is analogous art with respect to Muthler because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely performing efficient ray tracing operations. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement a conic projection for ray intersection testing as taught by Ozdas into the teaching of Muthler. The suggestion for doing so would allow for a single conic projection to be used as opposed to using a plurality of individual rays, thereby saving on ray tracing performance and yielding predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Ozdas with Muthler.
Regarding Claims 8 and 17, Muthler discloses the method and the system of Claims 1 and 10 respectively. Muthler does not expressly disclose the limitations of Claims 8 and 17; however, Ozdas discloses wherein the rendering operations comprise
selecting a shader to execute based on the cone characterization value (Ozdas, [0065]: teaches an array of shader codes within a general purpose processing cluster 475, where each shader code portion is instantiated <read on selecting shader> in response to an identified intersection between a ray and a surface <read on cone characterization value>).
Ozdas is analogous art with respect to Muthler because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely performing efficient ray tracing operations. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement a general purpose processing cluster that includes a plurality of shader code sections as taught by Ozdas into the teaching of Muthler. The suggestion for doing so would allow each shader code to calculate portions of the BVH, such as lighting data from light energy records, thereby improving overall ray tracing rendering efficiency. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Ozdas with Muthler.
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muthler et al. (US 20210390758 A1), hereinafter referenced as Muthler as applied to Claims 1 and 10 above respectively, in view of Grossman et al. (US 20120038657 A1), hereinafter referenced as Grossman.
Regarding Claims 9 and 18, Muthler discloses the method and the system of Claims 1 and 10 respectively. Muthler does not expressly disclose the limitations of Claims 9 and 18; however, Grossman discloses wherein the rendering operations comprise
selecting a texture level of detail based on the cone characterization value (Grossman, [0026]: teaches using one or more tables to determine what texture LOD (if any) is available for each tile; [0050]: teaches shader 154 selecting suitable values for a texture LOD threshold <read on cone characterization value> based on knowledge of the most detailed LOD that is stored in texture memory 112 for each tile; Note: it should be mentioned that the texture LOD threshold is being broadly interpreted as a type of flag check).
Grossman is analogous art with respect to Muthler because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely graphics rendering pipelines. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to calculate an LOD threshold to handle texture LOD loading and rendering as taught by Grossman into the teaching of Muthler. The suggestion for doing so would allow the system to check for valid LOD values, thereby allowing the shader to perform dynamic adjustments to the LOD threshold based on performance. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Grossman with Muthler.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Akenine-Moller et al. (US 20190236830 A1) discloses performing a texture LOD approximation for a ray tracing system;
Ernst et al. (US 20110080403 A1) discloses compression and encoding a BVH for efficient ray tracing performance;
Rabbani Rankouhi et al. (US 20250095272 A1) discloses traversing an ADS BVH for efficient ray tracing by utilizing instance nodes;
Saleh et al. (US 20190197761 A1) discloses a texture processor-based ray tracing accelerator method and system; and
Stanard (US 20190156550 A1) discloses performing efficient ray tracing intersection testing for ADS BVH data structures.
/K.D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2614
/KENT W CHANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2614