Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group I in the reply filed on 11/12/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Traversal is based on a lack of a serious search burden. MPEP 808.02. Applicant acknowledges that claim 1 and claim 11 cover different statutory categories. However, in this case, both claim 1 and claim 11 can be examined in parallel. For example, a search for "a plurality of rollers positioned to guide a current collector from a feed roller to a molten lithium bath..." (claim 1) can be conducted in parallel with a search for "providing a plurality of rollers positioned to guide a current collector from a feed roller to a molten lithium bath..."(claim 11) and so on. Thus, while there may be some nominal increase in search times, it should not rise to the level of a serious search burden.
This is not found persuasive because as explained on pages 2-3 of the Requirement for Restriction/Election sent on 10/16/25, the apparatus can be used by a different method such as dip coating with another metal such aluminum, lead, tin, zinc etc.); and the two inventions have acquired separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter and requiring different field of search. It is noted that expression relating to the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance, in this case the material “molten lithium” in the apparatus for dip coating having a bath of claims 1-10 is not significant.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 1, lines 14-15, the phrase “the hot gas tip positioned to eject a heated fluid to the side of the current collector, the hot gas tip between the cold gas tip and the molten lithium bath” contains a typographic error. Appropriate correction is required. For the purpose of examination, the phrase “the hot gas tip positioned to eject a heated fluid to the side of the current collector, and the hot gas tip arranged between the cold gas tip and the molten lithium bath”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Higuchi et al (US 4,476,805).
As to claim 1, Higuchi et al teaches a manifold capable of controlling thickness (see Figs 1-2 for an apparatus for metal coating and column 11, lines 13-27 for controlling the weight and widthwise distribution of the coating material) for molten metal dip coating (see column 1, lines 12-14 for various metals capable of including lithium), the thickness control manifold comprising: a plurality of rollers (9, 10) positioned to guide a current collector (steel strip 7) from a feed roller (guide rollers for feeding) to a molten metal bath (melting unit 1), the plurality of rollers (9, 10) further positioned to provide a vertical current collector pull (see Figs 1-2 for the vertical section of the band) such that the current collector is pulled from the molten metal bath (1) in a direction that is orthogonal to a major surface of the molten metal bath (see Figs 1-2 for the moving directions of the strip 7); a gas knife (gas sealing mechanism 20) positioned after the vertical current collector pull and against a side of the current collector (7), the gas knife (gas sealing mechanism 20) comprising one or more material overflow passageways to allow excess metal pulled up with the current collector (7) to return to the molten metal bath (1); a cold gas tip (gas inlet 21) comprising a first gas port and a first gas channel(see cooling zone 22), the cold gas tip (gas inlet 21) positioned to eject a cooled fluid to the side of the current collector; and a hot gas tip (see column 11, lines 13-27 for gas stripping nozzle 15 injecting gas at high temperature and controlling the weight and widthwise distribution of the coating material) comprising a second gas port and a second gas channel, the hot gas tip (see Figs 1-2, for the gas wiping nozzle 15) positioned between the cold gas tip (inlet 21) and the molten metal bath (1) to eject a heated fluid (gas at high temperature) to the side of the current collector (strip 7), and the hot gas tip (15) arranged between the cold gas tip (gas inlet 21) and the molten metal bath(1).
Regarding claim 8, in Higuchi et al the one or more material overflow passageways comprise one of a series of channels (see Fig 1 for gas sealing mechanism having sections) which traverse the gas knife or a single elongated slot that traverses the gas knife.
As to claim 9, Higuchi et al teaches (see Fig 17) a third gas tip (additional inlet 21) positioned between the hot gas tip (15) and the cold gas tip (inlet 21).
Regarding claim 10, in Higuchi et al the first gas port of the cold gas tip comprises an orientation selected such that gas is ejected away from the molten metal bath; wherein the second gas port of the hot gas tip comprises an orientation selected such that gas is ejected towards the molten bath (since wiping nozzle is adjusted with cylinder 57, gas ejected from the nozzle is capable of being positioned towards the melting unit 1, see Fig 17) ; and wherein the third gas tip (additional inlet 21) comprises a third gas port comprising an orientation selected such that gas is ejected in a direction orthogonal to the current collector (7) after the vertical current collector pull (see Fig 17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higuchi et al (US 4,476,805) in view of Link et al (US 2003/0140516 A1) and Ren et al (US 2024/0136493 A1).
As to claim 2, Higuchi et al teaches arms (69) moving means to sweep off the coating metal (see Figs 18-19) and a rod (58) connected to the nozzle 15, but lacks servo-controlled type arms. However, the use of servo-controlled arms is known in the art, for instance Link et al teaches (see Figs 1, 6 and para [0035] for motor-controlled arm 3, 103). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use servo-controlled arm in Higuchi et al to automatically drive the sweeping/deflecting devices.
Regarding claims 3-4, Higuchi et al teaches the hot gas tip (15) mounted on a rod (58) to adjust the space (rod 58 connected to a hydraulic cylinder 57 adjusting horizontal spacing, see column 11, lines 48-61) between the wiping nozzle 15 and the strip (7), but lacks teaching a cold tip positioned on the second arm. Ren et al (US 2024/0136493A1) teaches a thickness adjuster 128 including a gas source with nozzles 134 directing gas mounted on arms (see Fig 2 for structures supporting the nozzles). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the cold or hot gas tip on arms in Higuchi et al to properly arrange the gas supplying nozzles relative to the substrate. As to the servo-drive type arms, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use servo-controlled arm in Higuchi et al as modified to efficiently drive the rod/structures using an electric motor rather than using a hydraulic cylinder.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higuchi et al (US 4,476,805) further in view of Itoh et al (US 2014/0366802A1).
As to claim 6, Higuchi et al lacks teaching temperature sensors to measure temperatures of first and second regions of the strips located as claimed. However, Itoh et al teaches (see Figs 6-8 and para [0068]) temperature sensors 9 located between gas introduction parts and above introduction part. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use temperature sensors as claimed in Higuchi et al to adjust the temperature molten metal as desired (see para [0022] and [0043]).
Regarding claim 7, Higuchi et al lacks teaching the hot gas tip (15) comprising a cartridge heater positioned against the second gas channel. Itoh et al teaches a hot gas tip (gas nozzle 10 with a gas supply means 102) further comprising a cartridge heater (104) positioned against the second gas channel and one or more wires coupled to the cartridge heater, the one or more wires configured to deliver power to the cartridge heater (see Fig 1 for the coil and power supply). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a cartridge heater for the hot gas tip as claimed in Higuchi et al to moderately heat the jetted gas as taught by Itoh et al (see para [0043]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Higuchi et al teaches the hot gas tip (15) mounted on a rod (58) to adjust the space (rod 58 connected to a hydraulic cylinder 57 adjusting horizontal spacing, see column 11, lines 48-61) between the wiping nozzle 15 and the strip (7). Yet, Higuchi et al does not teach a servo-controlled arm dynamically adjusting, horizontally or vertically, a relative position of the gas tips with respect to the current collector. Link et al teaches the use of servo-controlled arms (see Figs 1, 6 and para [0035] for motor-controlled arm 3, 103). However, in Link et al the servo-controlled arm 103 carries deflection devices 112, 115 to engage and bend the surface of the strip (see para [0012]). Ren et al teaches a gas source with nozzles directing gas mounted on arms (see Fig 2 for structures supporting the nozzles). However, Ren et al does not teach a servo-controlled arm dynamically adjusting, horizontally or vertically, a relative position of the gas tips with respect to the current collector. Prior art of record does not disclose or suggest, a thickness control manifold for molten lithium dip coating, the thickness control manifold comprising, among others, a plurality of rollers, a gas knife, a cold gas tip and a hot gas tip cold, and first and second servo-controlled arms, wherein the first/second servo-controlled arm dynamically adjust horizontally or vertically relative positions of the cold/hot gas tip with respect to the current collector.
YEWEBDAR T. TADESSE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717
/YEWEBDAR T TADESSE/