DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 11, 13, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pesonen et al. (WO 2019215388 A2) in view of Zhu et al. (US 20160125642 A1).
Regarding claim 1.
Pesonen teaches:
A method comprising: obtaining an interpolated primitive from a compressed data structure based on a first interpolation point of the compressed data structure (Pesonen [0010] Another approach to retain the high frequency features involves geometry-based point interpolation. In this approach, compression efficiency of geometry images is improved by replacing some of the geometry information explicitly encoded using geometry images by a point interpolation algorithm.) (Pesonen [0006] Referring to Figure 2, the compressed images may thereafter be decompressed and the geometry and texture may be reconstructed, such that the image may then be viewed.) (Pesonen [0052] representation suited for storage and/or transmission and a decoder that can decompress the compressed video representation so as to result in a viewable form of a video.) (Pesonen [0012] No additional geometry information is encoded as the same process can be repeated by the decoder. With respect to the decoder, the same geometry-based point interpolation algorithm must be used as the algorithm employed by the encoder in order to avoid decoding drift. Also, for texture reconstruction, the color of the interpolated points is directly decoded from the texture images or approximated from decoded points. Thus, both geometry reconstruction and texture reconstruction must be added.) (Pesonen [0013] However, even when geometry-based point interpolation is employed, the remaining texturelmagel provides little updated data and can be compressed efficiently in terms of bitrate, but still requires buffer memory at the encoder and decoder. Furthermore, a decoder has to be able to decode at twice the framerate as the actual playback rate in order to decode texturelmageO and texturelmagel to reconstruct a single point cloud frame. Also, Texturelmagel requires geometry reconstruction and smoothing at the encoder, thus increasing encoding time and memory requirements. Further, point interpolation performed on the 3D data is complex and time consuming.),
a second interpolation point of the compressed data structure (Pesonen [0011] In this approach, the encoding of the depthlmgl image is eliminated and point interpolation is added to the geometry reconstruction that, from the reconstructed geometry (obtained from the depthlmgO), creates new points. The new points are then used to form an implicit depthlmgl image to build the texture image. The proceeds then proceeds in a conventional manner with two texture images being generated to encode the color information of the points, regardless of how the geometry has been obtained, that is, regardless of whether the geometry was obtained from the depthlmgO image or from the interpolation.),
and performing rendering operations utilizing the first primitive (Pesonen [0073] Optionally, in some embodiments in which the apparatus is configured to process the compressed representation and render the volumetric video datasual content in the form of video or image files, the apparatus configured to decode the resulting image may also include a user interface that may, in turn, be in communication with the processing circuitry 32 to provide output to the user, such as by rendering the visual content in the form of video or image files and, in some embodiments, to receive an indication of a user input).
Pesonen fails to teach:
and an interpolation parameter, wherein the first interpolation point and the second interpolation point are defined with unique vertices and topology information;
Zhu teaches:
and an interpolation parameter, wherein the first interpolation point and the second interpolation point are defined with unique vertices and topology information (Zhu [0151] Ambient shadow polygon 798 is formed in scenario 700 by taking a convex hull of ambient vertices 794a-794h and eight additional interpolation points: two interpolation points taken to form a polygonal representation having three line segments representing of an arc of expansion circle 792a between ambient vertices 794a and 794h, two interpolation points taken to form a polygonal representation having three line segments representing an arc of expansion circle 792b between ambient vertices 794b and 794c, two interpolation points taken to form a polygonal representation having three line segments representing an arc of expansion circle 792c between ambient vertices 794d and 794e, and two interpolation points taken to form a polygonal representation having three line segments representing an arc of expansion circle 792d between ambient vertices 794f and 794g.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pesonen with Zhu. Having the individual points which are defined to create multiple different topologies, as in Zhu, would benefit the Pesonen teachings by allowing for the interpolation to be used in multiple different spots. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having the individual points which are defined to create multiple different topologies, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 11.
Pesonen and Zhu teach:
The method of claim 1,
wherein the compressed data structure includes three or more interpolation points (Zhu [0151] Ambient shadow polygon 798 is formed in scenario 700 by taking a convex hull of ambient vertices 794a-794h and eight additional interpolation points:).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pesonen with Zhu. Having the individual points which are defined to create multiple different topologies, as in Zhu, would benefit the Pesonen teachings by allowing for the interpolation to be used in multiple different spots. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having the individual points which are defined to create multiple different topologies, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 13.
Pesonen teaches:
A system comprising: a memory configured to store a compressed data structure; and a processor configured to: obtain an interpolated primitive from a compressed data structure based on a first interpolation point of the compressed data structure (Pesonen [0010] Another approach to retain the high frequency features involves geometry-based point interpolation. In this approach, compression efficiency of geometry images is improved by replacing some of the geometry information explicitly encoded using geometry images by a point interpolation algorithm.) (Pesonen [0006] Referring to Figure 2, the compressed images may thereafter be decompressed and the geometry and texture may be reconstructed, such that the image may then be viewed.) (Pesonen [0052] representation suited for storage and/or transmission and a decoder that can decompress the compressed video representation so as to result in a viewable form of a video.) (Pesonen [0012] No additional geometry information is encoded as the same process can be repeated by the decoder. With respect to the decoder, the same geometry-based point interpolation algorithm must be used as the algorithm employed by the encoder in order to avoid decoding drift. Also, for texture reconstruction, the color of the interpolated points is directly decoded from the texture images or approximated from decoded points. Thus, both geometry reconstruction and texture reconstruction must be added.) (Pesonen [0013] However, even when geometry-based point interpolation is employed, the remaining texturelmagel provides little updated data and can be compressed efficiently in terms of bitrate, but still requires buffer memory at the encoder and decoder. Furthermore, a decoder has to be able to decode at twice the framerate as the actual playback rate in order to decode texturelmageO and texturelmagel to reconstruct a single point cloud frame. Also, Texturelmagel requires geometry reconstruction and smoothing at the encoder, thus increasing encoding time and memory requirements. Further, point interpolation performed on the 3D data is complex and time consuming.),
and performing rendering operations utilizing the first primitive (Pesonen [0073] Optionally, in some embodiments in which the apparatus is configured to process the compressed representation and render the volumetric video datasual content in the form of video or image files, the apparatus configured to decode the resulting image may also include a user interface that may, in turn, be in communication with the processing circuitry 32 to provide output to the user, such as by rendering the visual content in the form of video or image files and, in some embodiments, to receive an indication of a user input).
a second interpolation point of the compressed data structure (Pesonen [0011] In this approach, the encoding of the depthlmgl image is eliminated and point interpolation is added to the geometry reconstruction that, from the reconstructed geometry (obtained from the depthlmgO), creates new points. The new points are then used to form an implicit depthlmgl image to build the texture image. The proceeds then proceeds in a conventional manner with two texture images being generated to encode the color information of the points, regardless of how the geometry has been obtained, that is, regardless of whether the geometry was obtained from the depthlmgO image or from the interpolation.),
Pesonen alone fails to teach:
and an interpolation parameter, wherein the first interpolation point and the second interpolation point are defined with unique vertices and topology information;
Zhu teaches:
and an interpolation parameter, wherein the first interpolation point and the second interpolation point are defined with unique vertices and topology information (Zhu [0151] Ambient shadow polygon 798 is formed in scenario 700 by taking a convex hull of ambient vertices 794a-794h and eight additional interpolation points: two interpolation points taken to form a polygonal representation having three line segments representing of an arc of expansion circle 792a between ambient vertices 794a and 794h, two interpolation points taken to form a polygonal representation having three line segments representing an arc of expansion circle 792b between ambient vertices 794b and 794c, two interpolation points taken to form a polygonal representation having three line segments representing an arc of expansion circle 792c between ambient vertices 794d and 794e, and two interpolation points taken to form a polygonal representation having three line segments representing an arc of expansion circle 792d between ambient vertices 794f and 794g.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pesonen with Zhu. Having the individual points which are defined to create multiple different topologies, as in Zhu, would benefit the Pesonen teachings by allowing for the interpolation to be used in multiple different spots. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having the individual points which are defined to create multiple different topologies, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 20.
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising: obtaining an interpolated primitive from a compressed data structure based on a first interpolation point of the compressed data structure (Pesonen [0010] Another approach to retain the high frequency features involves geometry-based point interpolation. In this approach, compression efficiency of geometry images is improved by replacing some of the geometry information explicitly encoded using geometry images by a point interpolation algorithm.) (Pesonen [0006] Referring to Figure 2, the compressed images may thereafter be decompressed and the geometry and texture may be reconstructed, such that the image may then be viewed.) (Pesonen [0052] representation suited for storage and/or transmission and a decoder that can decompress the compressed video representation so as to result in a viewable form of a video.) (Pesonen [0012] No additional geometry information is encoded as the same process can be repeated by the decoder. With respect to the decoder, the same geometry-based point interpolation algorithm must be used as the algorithm employed by the encoder in order to avoid decoding drift. Also, for texture reconstruction, the color of the interpolated points is directly decoded from the texture images or approximated from decoded points. Thus, both geometry reconstruction and texture reconstruction must be added.) (Pesonen [0013] However, even when geometry-based point interpolation is employed, the remaining texturelmagel provides little updated data and can be compressed efficiently in terms of bitrate, but still requires buffer memory at the encoder and decoder. Furthermore, a decoder has to be able to decode at twice the framerate as the actual playback rate in order to decode texturelmageO and texturelmagel to reconstruct a single point cloud frame. Also, Texturelmagel requires geometry reconstruction and smoothing at the encoder, thus increasing encoding time and memory requirements. Further, point interpolation performed on the 3D data is complex and time consuming.),
and performing rendering operations utilizing the first primitive (Pesonen [0073] Optionally, in some embodiments in which the apparatus is configured to process the compressed representation and render the volumetric video datasual content in the form of video or image files, the apparatus configured to decode the resulting image may also include a user interface that may, in turn, be in communication with the processing circuitry 32 to provide output to the user, such as by rendering the visual content in the form of video or image files and, in some embodiments, to receive an indication of a user input).
a second interpolation point of the compressed data structure (Pesonen [0011] In this approach, the encoding of the depthlmgl image is eliminated and point interpolation is added to the geometry reconstruction that, from the reconstructed geometry (obtained from the depthlmgO), creates new points. The new points are then used to form an implicit depthlmgl image to build the texture image. The proceeds then proceeds in a conventional manner with two texture images being generated to encode the color information of the points, regardless of how the geometry has been obtained, that is, regardless of whether the geometry was obtained from the depthlmgO image or from the interpolation.),
Pesonen alone fails to teach:
and an interpolation parameter, wherein the first interpolation point and the second interpolation point are defined with unique vertices and topology information (Pesonen [0011] In this approach, the encoding of the depthlmgl image is eliminated and point interpolation is added to the geometry reconstruction that, from the reconstructed geometry (obtained from the depthlmgO), creates new points. The new points are then used to form an implicit depthlmgl image to build the texture image. The proceeds then proceeds in a conventional manner with two texture images being generated to encode the color information of the points, regardless of how the geometry has been obtained, that is, regardless of whether the geometry was obtained from the depthlmgO image or from the interpolation.);
Zhu teaches:
and an interpolation parameter, wherein the first interpolation point and the second interpolation point are defined with unique vertices and topology information (Zhu [0151] Ambient shadow polygon 798 is formed in scenario 700 by taking a convex hull of ambient vertices 794a-794h and eight additional interpolation points: two interpolation points taken to form a polygonal representation having three line segments representing of an arc of expansion circle 792a between ambient vertices 794a and 794h, two interpolation points taken to form a polygonal representation having three line segments representing an arc of expansion circle 792b between ambient vertices 794b and 794c, two interpolation points taken to form a polygonal representation having three line segments representing an arc of expansion circle 792c between ambient vertices 794d and 794e, and two interpolation points taken to form a polygonal representation having three line segments representing an arc of expansion circle 792d between ambient vertices 794f and 794g.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pesonen with Zhu. Having the individual points which are defined to create multiple different topologies, as in Zhu, would benefit the Pesonen teachings by allowing for the interpolation to be used in multiple different spots. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having the individual points which are defined to create multiple different topologies, to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 2, 7, 14, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pesonen et al. (WO 2019215388 A2) in view of Zhu et al. (US 20160125642 A1) and Shreiner et al. (US-20160093088).
Regarding claim 2.
Pesonen and Zhu teach:
The method of claim 1,
Pesonen and Zhu fail to teach:
wherein the topology information indicates implicit or explicit connectivity information (Shreiner [0070] The pre-defined connectivity information should define (indicate) how the vertices that it relates to (thus, e.g., the vertices of the inner primitives) should be connected together to form the primitives in question (i.e. it will indicate and define the topology of the primitives in question), and should be predefined, i.e. generated in advance (before the processing of the patch in question by the tessellation stage and/or GPU begins). Thus the pre-defined connectivity information will exist before the patch in question is passed to the tessellation stage and is connectivity information that has not been generated by the tessellation stage.).
Shreiner teaches:
wherein the topology information indicates implicit or explicit connectivity information (Shreiner [0070] The pre-defined connectivity information should define (indicate) how the vertices that it relates to (thus, e.g., the vertices of the inner primitives) should be connected together to form the primitives in question (i.e. it will indicate and define the topology of the primitives in question), and should be predefined, i.e. generated in advance (before the processing of the patch in question by the tessellation stage and/or GPU begins). Thus the pre-defined connectivity information will exist before the patch in question is passed to the tessellation stage and is connectivity information that has not been generated by the tessellation stage.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pesonen and Zhu with Shreiner. Having connectivity information and ray tracing, as in Shreiner, would benefit the Pesonen and Zhu teachings by allowing for the interpolation have the connections defined and being able to utilize ray tracing for the rays. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having connectivity information and ray tracing, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 7.
Pesonen and Zhu teach:
The method of claim 1,
Pesonen and Zhu fail to teach:
wherein the rendering operations comprise one of performing rasterization-based rendering or performing ray tracing based rendering (Shreiner [0113] The graphics processing pipeline may (and in an embodiment does) further comprise a plurality of processing stages downstream of the primitive assembly stage, including at least a rasteriser operable to rasterise the assembled one or more output primitives to generate graphics fragments to be processed, and a renderer operable to process fragments generated by the rasteriser to generate rendered fragment data.).
Shreiner teaches:
Pesonen and Zhu fail to teach:
wherein the rendering operations comprise one of performing rasterization-based rendering or performing ray tracing based rendering (Shreiner [0113] The graphics processing pipeline may (and in an embodiment does) further comprise a plurality of processing stages downstream of the primitive assembly stage, including at least a rasteriser operable to rasterise the assembled one or more output primitives to generate graphics fragments to be processed, and a renderer operable to process fragments generated by the rasteriser to generate rendered fragment data.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pesonen and Zhu with Shreiner. Having connectivity information and ray tracing, as in Shreiner, would benefit the Pesonen and Zhu teachings by allowing for the interpolation have the connections defined and being able to utilize ray tracing for the rays. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having connectivity information and ray tracing, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 14.
Pesonen and Zhu teach:
The system of claim 13
Pesonen and Zhu fail to teach:
wherein the topology information indicates implicit or explicit connectivity information (Shreiner [0070] The pre-defined connectivity information should define (indicate) how the vertices that it relates to (thus, e.g., the vertices of the inner primitives) should be connected together to form the primitives in question (i.e. it will indicate and define the topology of the primitives in question), and should be predefined, i.e. generated in advance (before the processing of the patch in question by the tessellation stage and/or GPU begins). Thus the pre-defined connectivity information will exist before the patch in question is passed to the tessellation stage and is connectivity information that has not been generated by the tessellation stage.).
Shreiner teaches:
wherein the topology information indicates implicit or explicit connectivity information (Shreiner [0070] The pre-defined connectivity information should define (indicate) how the vertices that it relates to (thus, e.g., the vertices of the inner primitives) should be connected together to form the primitives in question (i.e. it will indicate and define the topology of the primitives in question), and should be predefined, i.e. generated in advance (before the processing of the patch in question by the tessellation stage and/or GPU begins). Thus the pre-defined connectivity information will exist before the patch in question is passed to the tessellation stage and is connectivity information that has not been generated by the tessellation stage.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pesonen and Zhu with Shreiner. Having connectivity information and ray tracing, as in Shreiner, would benefit the Pesonen and Zhu teachings by allowing for the interpolation have the connections defined and being able to utilize ray tracing for the rays. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having connectivity information and ray tracing, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 19.
Pesonen and Zhu teach:
The system of claim 13
Pesonen and Zhu fail to teach:
wherein the rendering operations comprise one of performing rasterization-based rendering or performing ray tracing based rendering (Shreiner [0113] The graphics processing pipeline may (and in an embodiment does) further comprise a plurality of processing stages downstream of the primitive assembly stage, including at least a rasteriser operable to rasterise the assembled one or more output primitives to generate graphics fragments to be processed, and a renderer operable to process fragments generated by the rasteriser to generate rendered fragment data.).
Shreiner teaches:
wherein the rendering operations comprise one of performing rasterization-based rendering or performing ray tracing based rendering (Shreiner [0113] The graphics processing pipeline may (and in an embodiment does) further comprise a plurality of processing stages downstream of the primitive assembly stage, including at least a rasteriser operable to rasterise the assembled one or more output primitives to generate graphics fragments to be processed, and a renderer operable to process fragments generated by the rasteriser to generate rendered fragment data.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pesonen and Zhu with Shreiner. Having connectivity information and ray tracing, as in Shreiner, would benefit the Pesonen and Zhu teachings by allowing for the interpolation have the connections defined and being able to utilize ray tracing for the rays. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having connectivity information and ray tracing, to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 3-4 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pesonen et al. (WO 2019215388 A2) in view of Zhu et al. (US 20160125642 A1) and Vinchon et al. (US-20080012854).
Regarding claim 3.
Pesonen and Zhu teach:
The method of claim 1,
Pesonen and Zhu fail to teach:
wherein the compressed data structure stores vertex data for unique vertices (Vinchon [0011] The compressed data structure can uses tessellated triangles and can comprise: [0012] one or more face fields, each face field representing a face of the solid and referencing one or more triangle fields; [0013] one or more triangle fields, each representing a triangle forming at least part of a face and referencing three vertex fields; and [0014] a plurality of vertex fields, each representing a vertex of a triangle and referencing three coordinate field, at least one coordinate of a vertex being defined in terms of a difference value with respect to at least one other vertex).
Vinchon teaches:
wherein the compressed data structure stores vertex data for unique vertices (Vinchon [0011] The compressed data structure can uses tessellated triangles and can comprise: [0012] one or more face fields, each face field representing a face of the solid and referencing one or more triangle fields; [0013] one or more triangle fields, each representing a triangle forming at least part of a face and referencing three vertex fields; and [0014] a plurality of vertex fields, each representing a vertex of a triangle and referencing three coordinate field, at least one coordinate of a vertex being defined in terms of a difference value with respect to at least one other vertex).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pesonen and Zhu with Vinchon. Having a compressed data structure that has vertex information, as in Vinchon, would benefit the Pesonen and Zhu teachings by allowing the vertex information that is needed to be stored to be compressed. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having a compressed data structure that has vertex information, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 4.
Pesonen, Zhu, and Vinchon teach:
The method of claim 3,
wherein the topology information identifies which unique vertices comprise which triangles (Vinchon [0011] The compressed data structure can uses tessellated triangles and can comprise: [0012] one or more face fields, each face field representing a face of the solid and referencing one or more triangle fields; [0013] one or more triangle fields, each representing a triangle forming at least part of a face and referencing three vertex fields; and [0014] a plurality of vertex fields, each representing a vertex of a triangle and referencing three coordinate field, at least one coordinate of a vertex being defined in terms of a difference value with respect to at least one other vertex).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pesonen and Zhu with Vinchon. Having a compressed data structure that has vertex information, as in Vinchon, would benefit the Pesonen and Zhu teachings by allowing the vertex information that is needed to be stored to be compressed. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having a compressed data structure that has vertex information, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 15.
Pesonen and Zhu teach:
The system of claim 13
Pesonen and Zhu fail to teach:
wherein the compressed data structure stores vertex data for unique vertices (Vinchon [0011] The compressed data structure can uses tessellated triangles and can comprise: [0012] one or more face fields, each face field representing a face of the solid and referencing one or more triangle fields; [0013] one or more triangle fields, each representing a triangle forming at least part of a face and referencing three vertex fields; and [0014] a plurality of vertex fields, each representing a vertex of a triangle and referencing three coordinate field, at least one coordinate of a vertex being defined in terms of a difference value with respect to at least one other vertex).
Vinchon teaches:
wherein the compressed data structure stores vertex data for unique vertices (Vinchon [0011] The compressed data structure can uses tessellated triangles and can comprise: [0012] one or more face fields, each face field representing a face of the solid and referencing one or more triangle fields; [0013] one or more triangle fields, each representing a triangle forming at least part of a face and referencing three vertex fields; and [0014] a plurality of vertex fields, each representing a vertex of a triangle and referencing three coordinate field, at least one coordinate of a vertex being defined in terms of a difference value with respect to at least one other vertex).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pesonen and Zhu with Vinchon. Having a compressed data structure that has vertex information, as in Vinchon, would benefit the Pesonen and Zhu teachings by allowing the vertex information that is needed to be stored to be compressed. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having a compressed data structure that has vertex information, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 16.
Pesonen, Zhu teach and Vinchon teach:
The system of claim 15
wherein the topology information identifies which unique vertices comprise which triangles (Vinchon [0011] The compressed data structure can uses tessellated triangles and can comprise: [0012] one or more face fields, each face field representing a face of the solid and referencing one or more triangle fields; [0013] one or more triangle fields, each representing a triangle forming at least part of a face and referencing three vertex fields; and [0014] a plurality of vertex fields, each representing a vertex of a triangle and referencing three coordinate field, at least one coordinate of a vertex being defined in terms of a difference value with respect to at least one other vertex).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pesonen and Zhu with Vinchon. Having a compressed data structure that has vertex information, as in Vinchon, would benefit the Pesonen and Zhu teachings by allowing the vertex information that is needed to be stored to be compressed. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having a compressed data structure that has vertex information, to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 5 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pesonen et al. (WO 2019215388 A2) in view of Zhu et al. (US 20160125642 A1) and Swallow et al. (US-20050179696).
Regarding claim 5.
Pesonen and Zhu teach:
The method of claim 1,
Pesonen and Zhu fail to teach:
wherein the first interpolation point and the second interpolation point represent different levels of detail of geometry (Swallow [0034] In the range where the atom is being interpolated from two levels of detail, the points of the higher level of detail are paired [24] with point information of the lower level of detail, from which points of the interpolated atom are interpolated.).
Swallow teaches:
wherein the first interpolation point and the second interpolation point represent different levels of detail of geometry (Swallow [0034] In the range where the atom is being interpolated from two levels of detail, the points of the higher level of detail are paired [24] with point information of the lower level of detail, from which points of the interpolated atom are interpolated.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pesonen and Zhu with Swallow. Having different levels of detail, as in Swallow, would benefit the Pesonen and Zhu teachings by allowing different levels of details in a texture to be interpolated. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having different levels of detail, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 17.
Pesonen and Zhu teach:
The system of claim 13
Pesonen and Zhu fail to teach:
wherein the first interpolation point and the second interpolation point represent different levels of detail of geometry (Swallow [0034] In the range where the atom is being interpolated from two levels of detail, the points of the higher level of detail are paired [24] with point information of the lower level of detail, from which points of the interpolated atom are interpolated.).
Swallow teaches:
wherein the first interpolation point and the second interpolation point represent different levels of detail of geometry (Swallow [0034] In the range where the atom is being interpolated from two levels of detail, the points of the higher level of detail are paired [24] with point information of the lower level of detail, from which points of the interpolated atom are interpolated.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pesonen and Zhu with Swallow. Having different levels of detail, as in Swallow, would benefit the Pesonen and Zhu teachings by allowing different levels of details in a texture to be interpolated. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having different levels of detail, to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 6, 12, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pesonen et al. (WO 2019215388 A2) in view of Zhu et al. (US 20160125642 A1) and Vanka et al. (US-20210303087).
Regarding claim 6.
Pesonen and Zhu teach:
The method of claim 1,
Pesonen and Zhu fail to teach:
wherein the interpolation parameter is provided on a per-ray basis or on a per-compressed-data-structure-basis (Vanka [0126] As an example, a method can include determining a size of a data structure, which may be in terms of samples, time (e.g., a time window), etc. In such an example, the size of the data structure may depend on circuitry latency. For example, where latency is longer, the data structure may be bigger (e.g., longer in time, more samples, etc.). As an example, a drawing application can include interpolation features that may interpolate between samples. As an example, a data structure can include samples and/or interpolation parameters.).
Vanka teaches:
wherein the interpolation parameter is provided on a per-ray basis or on a per-compressed-data-structure-basis (Vanka [0126] As an example, a method can include determining a size of a data structure, which may be in terms of samples, time (e.g., a time window), etc. In such an example, the size of the data structure may depend on circuitry latency. For example, where latency is longer, the data structure may be bigger (e.g., longer in time, more samples, etc.). As an example, a drawing application can include interpolation features that may interpolate between samples. As an example, a data structure can include samples and/or interpolation parameters.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pesonen and Zhu with Vanka. Having the interpolation parameter per the data structure and doing linear interpolation, as in Vanka, would benefit the Pesonen and Zhu teachings by allowing for different types of interpolation. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having the interpolation parameter per the data structure and doing linear interpolation, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 12.
Pesonen and Zhu teach:
The method of claim 1,
Pesonen and Zhu fail to teach:
wherein the obtaining comprises performing one of a linear interpolation or a non-linear interpolation (Vanka [0126] For example, where a user utters “straight line”, an interpolation may utilize a linear approach for rendering between samples; whereas, where a user utters “curve”, an interpolation may utilize a spline approach for rendering between samples.).
Vanka teaches:
wherein the obtaining comprises performing one of a linear interpolation or a non-linear interpolation (Vanka [0126] For example, where a user utters “straight line”, an interpolation may utilize a linear approach for rendering between samples; whereas, where a user utters “curve”, an interpolation may utilize a spline approach for rendering between samples.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pesonen and Zhu with Vanka. Having the interpolation parameter per the data structure and doing linear interpolation, as in Vanka, would benefit the Pesonen and Zhu teachings by allowing for different types of interpolation. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having the interpolation parameter per the data structure and doing linear interpolation, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 18.
Pesonen and Zhu teach:
The method of claim 1,
Pesonen and Zhu fail to teach:
wherein the interpolation parameter is provided on a per-ray basis or on a per-compressed-data-structure-basis (Vanka [0126] As an example, a method can include determining a size of a data structure, which may be in terms of samples, time (e.g., a time window), etc. In such an example, the size of the data structure may depend on circuitry latency. For example, where latency is longer, the data structure may be bigger (e.g., longer in time, more samples, etc.). As an example, a drawing application can include interpolation features that may interpolate between samples. As an example, a data structure can include samples and/or interpolation parameters.).
Vanka teaches:
wherein the interpolation parameter is provided on a per-ray basis or on a per-compressed-data-structure-basis (Vanka [0126] As an example, a method can include determining a size of a data structure, which may be in terms of samples, time (e.g., a time window), etc. In such an example, the size of the data structure may depend on circuitry latency. For example, where latency is longer, the data structure may be bigger (e.g., longer in time, more samples, etc.). As an example, a drawing application can include interpolation features that may interpolate between samples. As an example, a data structure can include samples and/or interpolation parameters.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pesonen and Zhu with Vanka. Having the interpolation parameter per the data structure and doing linear interpolation, as in Vanka, would benefit the Pesonen and Zhu teachings by allowing for different types of interpolation. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, having the interpolation parameter per the data structure and doing linear interpolation, to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pesonen et al. (WO 2019215388 A2) in view of Zhu et al. (US 20160125642 A1) and Endersen et al. (US-20170236335).
Regarding claim 8.
Pesonen and Zhu teach:
The method of claim 1,
Pesonen and Zhu fail to teach:
further comprising compressing a plurality of primitives including the first primitive to generate the compressed data structure (Endersen [ABSTRACT] creating a spatial acceleration structure for the data set that: describes the plurality of geometric primitives in a multi-dimensional space, applies a unique index to each of the vertices of the geometric primitives, and contains leaf-nodes containing geometric primitives; sorting within each leaf-node, the geometric primitives using a third ranking system, wherein the geometric primitives within each leaf-node of the acceleration structure are reordered to have vertices with consecutive indices; optionally compressing the sorted primitives within the leaf-nodes using a compression algorithm; and processing the primitives using the acceleration structure.).
Endersen teaches:
further comprising compressing a plurality of primitives including the first primitive to generate the compressed data structure (Endersen [ABSTRACT] creating a spatial acceleration structure for the data set that: describes the plurality of geometric primitives in a multi-dimensional space, applies a unique index to each of the vertices of the geometric primitives, and contains leaf-nodes containing geometric primitives; sorting within each leaf-node, the geometric primitives using a third ranking system, wherein the geometric primitives within each leaf-node of the acceleration structure are reordered to have vertices with consecutive indices; optionally compressing the sorted primitives within the leaf-nodes using a compression algorithm; and processing the primitives using the acceleration structure.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pesonen and Zhu with Endersen. Compressing the primitives, as in Endersen, would benefit the Pesonen and Zhu teachings by allowing for a better way to store the primitives. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, compressing the primitives, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 9.
Pesonen, Zhu and Endersen teach:
The method of claim 8,
wherein the compressing comprises storing unique vertices and the topology information into the compressed data structure (Endersen [ABSTRACT] creating a spatial acceleration structure for the data set that: describes the plurality of geometric primitives in a multi-dimensional space, applies a unique index to each of the vertices of the geometric primitives, and contains leaf-nodes containing geometric primitives; sorting within each leaf-node, the geometric primitives using a third ranking system, wherein the geometric primitives within each leaf-node of the acceleration structure are reordered to have vertices with consecutive indices; optionally compressing the sorted primitives within the leaf-nodes using a compression algorithm; and processing the primitives using the acceleration structure.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pesonen and Zhu with Endersen. Compressing the primitives, as in Endersen, would benefit the Pesonen and Zhu teachings by allowing for a better way to store the primitives. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, compressing the primitives, to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pesonen et al. (WO 2019215388 A2) in view of Zhu et al. (US 20160125642 A1) and Huang et al. (CN-114742933).
Regarding claim 10.
Pesonen and Zhu teach:
The method of claim 1,
Pesonen and Zhu fail to teach:
wherein the obtaining comprises performing interpolation in one of a fixed-point number space or a floating-point number space (Huang [Page 6 Paragraph 10] the interpolation between the two y1, y2 is lerp=y1 + (y2-y1) * weigt, weigt is a real number in the interval [0, 1], the inverse interpolation algorithm uses known interpolation lerp and two y1, y2 to calculate the weight value).
Huang teaches:
Pesonen and Zhu fail to teach:
wherein the obtaining comprises performing interpolation in one of a fixed-point number space or a floating-point number space (Huang [Page 6 Paragraph 10] the interpolation between the two y1, y2 is lerp=y1 + (y2-y1) * weigt, weigt is a real number in the interval [0, 1], the inverse interpolation algorithm uses known interpolation lerp and two y1, y2 to calculate the weight value).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pesonen and Zhu with Huang. Interpolating in a certain number space, as in Huang, would benefit the Pesonen and Zhu teachings by allowing for a way to interpolate in a number space. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, interpolating in a certain number space, to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
/DENIS VASILIY MINKO/Examiner, Art Unit 2612
/Said Broome/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2612