DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/24/24 is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims XXX, filed MM/DD/YY, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page X of the applicant’s response, the applicant argues that 1) Zhang does not teach from one access network device to another because in Zhang the First device in that flow does not identify as an access network device and 2) Zhang fails to disclose the claimed use by the second access network device .
Regarding the arguments above, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. The applicant arguments regarding the first device of Zhang and access network device fail to use broadest reasonable interpretation based on the applicant’s specification and that which is well known in the art. Firstly, Zhang does not make a distinction that the First device and Second device cannot access the network or cannot function as a device that which other devices access a network. Further, Zhang makes no specific limiting definition of its own First device, Second device and First access network device. Here the naming of the entities in the Zhang reference and the instant claim are only entities in name and their scope is defined the broadest reasonable interpretation in the art of their literal names. Further the applicant’s own specification does not provide limiting examples or a definition of access network device, and as a matter of fact intentionally leaves the term open for broadest reasonable interpretation. To add to the evidence in favor of Zhang teaching the claim limitations, applicant’s own specification give an example where the first and second access network devices are to be mobile devices, and therefore it is completely reasonable for one of ordinary skill in the art to interpret the claimed “first access network device” and “second access network device” simply as devices, terminals, entities that have access to the network.
[0047] In embodiments of this application, the access network device may be a device configured to communicate with a mobile device. The access network device may be an access point (AP) in a WLAN, may be a base transceiver station (BTS) in GSM or CDMA, may be a NodeB (NB) in WCDMA, or may be an evolved NodeB (eNB or eNodeB) in LTE, or a relay station or an access point, or an in-vehicle device or a wearable device, or an access network device (gNB) in an NR network, or an access network device in a future evolved PLMN network, or the like.
[0048] By way of example rather than limitation, in embodiments of this application, the access network device may have a mobility feature. For example, the access network device may be a mobile device. Optionally, the access network device may be a satellite or a balloon station. For example, the satellite may be a low earth orbit (LEO) satellite, a medium earth orbit (MEO) satellite, a geostationary earth orbit (GEO) satellite, a high elliptical orbit (HEO) satellite, or the like. Optionally, the access network device may alternatively be a base station disposed in a location such as land or water.
Lastly, the claimed use by the second access network device in the claim is taught by Zhang. In [0037-0039] and Fig 11, the configuration information that is received is used to send a sensing signal, from which a sensing (echo) signal is received. That sensing echo signal is then further used to send a sensing result. Therefore, as the claim language reads, Zhang does teach the argued limitations.
Examiner provides arguments with respect to 103 rejections and technical features of claim 1. Examiner did not provide a 103 rejection in the prior office action, and all arguments with respect to claim 1 and 102 rejections have been addressed above.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the title have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of the title has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-10, 12-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al (Pub No: 2024/0214976), effective filing date September 10, 2021 (FOR Priority translation provided of CN Publication CN115802399)
As to claim 1, Zhang teaches an information transmission method (Zhang, [0036], a method for sending sensing information), comprising:
sending, by a first access network device, a sensing request message to a second access network device (Zhang, [0036-0037] , Fig 11 801/802 access network devices exist and one second device sends a service request for sensing to another first device and first access network device);
wherein the sensing request message comprises sensing signal configuration information (Zhang, [0036-0037], the request carries at least sensing configuration information), and the sensing signal configuration information is used by the second access network device to receive a sensing signal (Zhang, [0037-0039], the “first”(second) access device uses the configuration information to receive a sensing and then send the result).
As to claim 2, Zhang teaches wherein the sensing signal configuration information comprises at least one of following information: a time domain resource position of a sensing signal; a frequency domain resource position of a sensing signal (Zhang, [0049][0114], the frequency and/or time domain resource information in the configuration information)
As to claim 3, Zhang teaches wherein the method further comprises: in a case in which the first access network device receives a sensing request response message from the second access network device (Zhang, [0181], a sensing signal is sent in response), sending, by the first access network device, a sensing signal to a target area (Zhang, [0192], the first device may then send/perform sensing [0219-220] in the target indicated by the configuration).
As to claim 4, Zhang teaches wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the first access network device, the sensing signal configuration information to a terminal, wherein the sensing signal configuration information is further used by the terminal to send a sensing signal (Zhang, Fig 11 [0171][0172], the device that receives the sensing configuration (request) sends it to another terminal device (first access network device in the reference) that uses it to send a sensing signal).
As to claim 6, Zhang teaches wherein the sensing signal is used by the second access network device to obtain sensing data, and the method further comprises: receiving, by the first access network device, the sensing data from the second access network device (Zhang, Fig 11, [0181] the device that receives the sensing request configuration and the receiving device obtains sensing data by sending a sensing signal, the result is sent back), and sending the sensing data to a core network device (Zhang, Fig 10 [0141] the sensing result is sent to the core network).
As to claim 7, Zhang teaches an information transmission method (Zhang, [0036], a method for sending sensing information), comprising:
receiving, by a second access network device, a sensing request message from a first access network device (Zhang, [0036-0037], N access network devices exist and one device receives a service request for sensing from another first access network device),
wherein the sensing request message comprises sensing signal configuration information (Zhang, [0036-0037], the request carries at least sensing configuration information); and receiving, by the second access network device, a sensing signal based on the sensing signal configuration information (Zhang, [0037-0039], the “first”(second) access device uses the configuration information to receive a sensing and then send the result).
As to claim 8, Zhang teaches wherein the sensing signal configuration information comprises at least one of following information: a time domain resource position of a sensing signal; a frequency domain resource position of a sensing signal (Zhang, [0049][0114], the frequency and/or time domain resource information in the configuration information)
As to claim 9, Zhang teaches wherein before the receiving, by the second access network device, a sensing signal based on the sensing signal configuration information, the method further comprises: sending, by the second access network device, a sensing request response message to the first access network device (Zhang, [0181], a sensing signal is sent in response).
As to claim 10, Zhang teaches wherein the sensing request response message is used to instruct the first access network device to send a sensing signal to a target area (Zhang, [0192], the first device may then send/perform sensing [0219-220] in the target indicated by the configuration).
As to claim 12, Zhang teaches wherein the method further comprises: obtaining, by the second access network device, sensing data based on the sensing signal, and sending the sensing data to the first access network device (Zhang, Fig 11, [0181] the device that receives the sensing request configuration and the receiving device obtains sensing data by sending a sensing signal, the result is sent back).
As to claim 13, Zhang teaches A first access network device, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory to enable the first access network device to perform (Zhang, [0036-0037] , Fig 11 “second device”):
sending a sensing request message to a second access network device; wherein the sensing request message comprises sensing signal configuration information (Zhang, [0036-0037] , Fig 11 801/802 access network devices exist and one second device sends a service request for sensing to another first device and first access network device); (Zhang, [0036-0037], the request carries at least sensing configuration information), and the sensing signal configuration information is used by the second access network device to receive a sensing signal (Zhang, [0037-0039], the “first”(second) access device uses the configuration information to receive a sensing and then send the result).
As to claim 14, Zhang teaches wherein the sensing signal configuration information comprises at least one of following information: a time domain resource position of a sensing signal; a frequency domain resource position of a sensing signal (Zhang, [0049][0114], the frequency and/or time domain resource information in the configuration information)
As to claim 15, Zhang teaches wherein the processor is configured to enable the first access network device to perform: in a case in which the first access network device receives a sensing request response message from the second access network device (Zhang, [0181], a sensing signal is sent in response), sending a sensing signal to a target area (Zhang, [0192], the first device may then send/perform sensing [0219-220] in the target indicated by the configuration)..
As to claim 16, Zhang teaches wherein the processor is configured to enable the first access network device to perform: sending the sensing signal configuration information to a terminal, wherein the sensing signal configuration information is further used by the terminal to send a sensing signal (Zhang, Fig 11 [0171][0172], the device that receives the sensing configuration (request) sends it to another terminal device (first access network device in the reference) that uses it to send a sensing signal).
As to claim 18, Zhang teaches wherein the sensing signal is used by the second access network device to obtain sensing data, and the processor is configured to enable the first access network device to perform: receiving the sensing data from the second access network device (Zhang, Fig 11, [0181] the device that receives the sensing request configuration and the receiving device obtains sensing data by sending a sensing signal, the result is sent back), and sending the sensing data to a core network device (Zhang, Fig 10 [0141] the sensing result is sent to the core network).
As to claim 19, Zhang teaches a second access network device, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory to enable the second access network device (Zhang, [0036-0037] , Fig 11 “first device”) to perform the method according to claim 7 (Zhang, citations for claim 7)
As to claim 20, Zhang teaches wherein the sensing signal configuration information comprises at least one of following information: a time domain resource position of a sensing signal; a frequency domain resource position of a sensing signal (Zhang, [0049][0114], the frequency and/or time domain resource information in the configuration information)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5, 11, 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AFSHAWN M TOWFIGHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469