DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Applicant’s Argument, see Remark/Amendment, filed 06/12/2026, with respect to drawing objection of claims 2 and 4 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous drawing objection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeshita et al. (JP 2021182812 A) in view of Saito et al. (US 2024/0235283 A1) and Jan et al. (WO 2022063972 A1).
RE claim 1, Takeshita teaches an axial flux machine 100 with a permanent magnet 32 arrangement for use as a rotor 3 or stator of the axial flux machine 100, wherein the permanent magnet arrangement 32 has a plurality of permanent magnets 32a, 32b arranged in a ring-shaped manner around a machine axis (of shaft 4), wherein permanent magnets arranged adjacent to one another each have an oppositely aligned polarization (see translation page 3, 3rd ¶), wherein each permanent magnet 32 extends away from an inner surface (Ari) of the permanent magnet facing the machine axis to an outer surface (Aro) of the permanent magnet (Figs.2, 3, 6), wherein each permanent magnet 32 has a first side surface (Ca) and a second side surface (Cb) opposite the first side surface (Ca), wherein the two side surfaces (Ca, Cb) connect the inner surface and the outer surface to one another, wherein the first side surface (Ca) of each permanent magnet 32 is aligned in the direction of the second side surface (Cb) of a respectively immediately adjacent permanent magnet 32, wherein each first side surface has a continuously curved course from the inner surface to the outer surface (Fig.2b), such that the course of the first side surface is either concave or convex (Fig.2b).
Takeshita does not teach:
each permanent magnet 32 is magnetized in an axial direction running parallel to the machine axis
The motor being utilized in a door drive,
RE (i) above, Saito teaches each permanent magnet 95 (Figs.11, 12) is magnetized in an axial direction running parallel to the machine axis (¶ 126), doing so allow the rotating magnetic field generated by stator causes magnets to repeat attraction and repulsion with respect to each tooth, thereby rotating rotor (¶ 126). Furthermore, such configuration allows the loss can be easily reduced. In rotary electric machine, torque ripple can be easily reduced. Rotary electric machine having a small torque ripple can easily reduce noise and vibration (¶ 127).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takeshita by having each permanent magnet 32 is magnetized in an axial direction running parallel to the machine axis, as taught by Saito, for the same reasons as discussed above.
RE (ii) above, Jan suggests that axial flux motor is well-known to have smaller axial length compared to other type of electrical machine (see translation page 4, last ¶) therefore can be utilized in application such as door wing, window, sliding door or resolving door drive (see translation page 9, 5th ¶).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the axial motor disclosed by Takeshita in any applicable application such as door, as suggested by Jan, for the same reasons as discussed above.
RE claim 2/1, Takeshita in view of Saito and Jan has been discussed above. Takeshita further teaches a curvature of the first side surface (Ca) increases from the inner surface (Ari) to the outer surface (Aro) (see Fig.6)
RE claim 3/1, Takeshita in view of Saito and Jan has been discussed above. Takeshita further teaches each second side surface (Cb) has a continuously curved course from the inner surface (Ari) to the outer surface (Aro), such that the course of the second side surface is either convex or concave (Fig.2b).
RE claim 4/1, Takeshita in view of Saito and Jan has been discussed above. Takeshita further teaches a curvature of the second side surface (Cb) increases from the inner surface (Ari) to the outer surface (Aro) (see Fig.6).
RE claim 5/3, Takeshita in view of Saito and Jan has been discussed above. Takeshita further teaches the course of the second side surface (Cb) is concave when the course of the first side surface (Ca) is convex and vice versa (Figs.2, 6).
RE claim 6/1, Takeshita in view of Saito and Jan has been discussed above. Takeshita further teaches a distance between the first side surface (Ca) and the second side surface (Cb) of each permanent magnet 32 from one another, which is determined in a circumferential direction of the permanent magnet arrangement, increases from the inner surface (Ari) to the outer surface (Aro) (Figs.2, 6).
RE claim 7/1, Takeshita in view of Saito and Jan has been discussed above. Takeshita further teaches all cut surfaces of each permanent magnet 32 are congruent through section planes perpendicular to the machine axis (Figs.2b, 6).
RE claim 8/1, Takeshita in view of Saito and Jan has been discussed above. Takeshita further teaches the inner surface (Ari) of each permanent magnet 32 runs in sections along an inner ring circumference of the permanent magnet arrangement and the outer surface (Aro) of each permanent magnet 32 runs in sections along an outer ring circumference of the permanent magnet arrangement (Fig.3).
RE claim 9/1, Takeshita in view of Saito and Jan has been discussed above. Takeshita further teaches a length of the outer surface (Aro) in the circumferential direction is greater than a length of the inner surface (Ari) (Figs.3, 6).
RE claim 10/1, Takeshita in view of Saito and Jan has been discussed above. Takeshita further teaches the permanent magnets 32 are configured and the inner surfaces (Ari) and the outer surfaces (Aro) of each permanent magnet 32 are aligned with one another (Figs.3, 6) such that, in at least one section plane perpendicular to the machine axis, a beam running radially from the machine axis through an inner distance center point of the inner surface (Ari) of each permanent magnet 32 intersects the outer surface (Aro) (Figs.3, 6) and/or the outer ring circumference of the respective permanent magnet at a distance from an outer distance center point, wherein the inner distance center point and the outer distance center point are determined by the average path length between end points of the respective inner surface and the respective outer surface.
RE claim 11/1, Takeshita in view of Saito and Jan has been discussed above. Takeshita further teaches the permanent magnets 32 are configured and aligned relative to each other such that in at least one section plane perpendicular to the machine axis (of shaft 4), a beam running radially from the machine axis through an outermost point, in the circumferential direction, of the outer surface of a first permanent magnet 32 runs in sections in the corresponding section plane of a second permanent magnet 32 arranged immediately adjacent to the first permanent magnet 32 (Figs.2, 3, 6).
RE claim 12/1, Takeshita in view of Saito and Jan has been discussed above. Takeshita further teaches the axial flux machine 100 (Fig.1) with a coil arrangement 23 and with a permanent magnet arrangement 32, wherein the coil arrangement 23 has a plurality of electrical machine coils 23 arranged adjacent to one another in a ring-shaped manner around the machine axis (Fig.1b), wherein the coil arrangement 23 is arranged axially displaced adjacent to the permanent magnet arrangement 32 (Fig.1).
RE claim 13/12, Takeshita in view of Saito and Jan has been discussed above. Takeshita further teaches the inner ring circumference and the outer ring circumference of the permanent magnet 32 arrangement correspond substantially to corresponding ring circumferences of the coil arrangement 23 (Fig.1).
RE claim 14/12, as discussed above, Jan teaches the axial flux machine is used in a swing leaf door, a sliding door, or a revolving door drive (discussed above, see Jan’s translation page 9, 5th ¶).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 3 and 4 of the Remark, Applicant argued that Takeshita’s Figure 2 show a side surface that is both concave and convex and resembles a sinusoidal wave. Therefore, Applicant argued that such structure is significant differences from Applicant’s claim invention.
In response:
Applicant’s argument was not persuasive because the claim recited the transitional phrase “comprising”. The transitional term "comprising", which is synonymous with "including," "containing," or "characterized by," is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. Therefore, the claim does not limit the first side surface to “only” have concave or convex.
Reproduced MPEP 2111.03:
“The transitional term "comprising", which is synonymous with "including," "containing," or "characterized by," is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. See, e.g., Mars Inc. v. H.J. Heinz Co., 377 F.3d 1369, 1376, 71 USPQ2d 1837, 1843 (Fed. Cir. 2004) ("[L]ike the term ‘comprising,’ the terms ‘containing’ and ‘mixture’ are open-ended."). Invitrogen Corp. v. Biocrest Manufacturing, L.P., 327 F.3d 1364, 1368, 66 USPQ2d 1631, 1634 (Fed. Cir. 2003) ("The transition ‘comprising’ in a method claim indicates that the claim is open-ended and allows for additional steps."); Genentech, Inc. v. Chiron Corp., 112 F.3d 495, 501, 42 USPQ2d 1608, 1613 (Fed. Cir. 1997)”
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS TRUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834