DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim recites “The method of claim 2, wherein win response…”(emphasis added), the Examiner interprets this as a typographical error and should read “The method of claim 2, wherein in response…” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the base station" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the base station" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang et al (US PGPUB US2021/0037468).
(Claim 1 discloses) a method of a first user equipment (UE), the method comprising: generating a discontinuous reception (DRX) control signal for controlling a DRX operation (Huang et al shows a first UE requests information from the second UE (paragraphs 516, 519, 523-528 and 562).); and transmitting the DRX control signal to a second UE in an active time of the second UE according to the DRX operation (Huan et al shows the DRX pattern is transmitted to the second UE (paragraph 524)).
(Claim 11 discloses) A method of a second user equipment (UE), the method comprising: performing a monitoring operation in an active time according to a discontinuous reception (DRX) operation (Huang et al (paragraphs 582 and figure 32).); receiving a DRX control signal for controlling the DRX operation from a first UE by the monitoring operation (Huang et al paragraphs 516, 519, 523-528 and 562, figures 23, 26, and 28).); and performing sidelink (SL) communication with the first UE based on the DRX control signal (Huang et al shows the first UE performs sidelink broadcast transmission on the basis of the updated DRX ON period (paragraphs 466-469)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al (US PGPUB US2021/0037468) in view of LG Inc (LG Electronics Inc. “Running CR of TS 38.321 for Sidelink enhancement. “ 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #116 November 2021, NPL).
Claim 2 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the DRX control signal includes at least one of information indicating to stop the DRX operation, information indicating to transition an operating state of the second UE, information indicating to change a DRX cycle according to the DRX operation, or information indicating to extend the active time. Huang et al teaches the first UE performs wakeup for sidelink resource monitoring on the basis of the DRX pattern received from the second UE (paragraphs 546 555, 562, and figure 28). It fails to teach information indicating to stop the DRX operation. LG Inc teaches a terminal stops sl-drx-onDurationTimer and sl-drx-InactivityTime when receiving SL DRX Command MAC CE (Section 5.x.1, pages 18-19).
Huang et al and LG Inc are analogous art because they are both related to DRX usage. Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to the use LG Inc with the system in Huang et al because both UEs are able to keep aligned regarding the SL DRX active time (LG Inc, section 5.x.2).
Claim 3 discloses the method of claim 2, wherein in response to the information indicating to stop the DRX operation, the DRX operation is not performed in the second UE, and in response to the information indicating to transition an operating state of the second UE, the operating state of the second UE transitions to a wake-up state. Huang et al further teaches the first UE performs wakeup for sidelink resource monitoring on the basis of the DRX pattern received from the second UE (paragraphs 546 555, 562, and figure 28). LG Inc further teaches a terminal stops sl-drx-onDurationTimer and sl-drx-InactivityTime when receiving SL DRX Command MAC CE (Section 5.x.1, pages 18-19).
Claim 4 discloses the method of claim 2, wherein win response to the information indicating to change a DRX cycle according to the DRX operation, the DRX cycle of the second UE is changed from a first DRX cycle to a second DRX cycle, and a length of the first DRX cycle and a length of the second DRX cycle are different from each other. Huang et al further teaches the first UE applies the default DRX pattern which has a shorter cycle or to which DRX is not applied, when not receiving an indication of the updated DRX pattern from the second UE (paragraphs 528-530).
Claims 12-14 are rejected under the grounds of claims 2-4 respectively as recited above.
Allowable Subject Matter
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Claims 5-10 and 15-19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park et al (US PGPUB US2024/0381483) teaches of SL Mode 1 operation in consideration of SL DRX active time of reception terminal in NR V2X.
Manolakos et al (US PGPUB US2021/0385766) teaches of timing accuracy for reference signal transmission during user equipment (UE) power saving state.
/BRIAN J. GILLIS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472