DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited on a Form PTO 1449 have been considered.
Specification
The specification has been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. However, the applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 9-12, 17-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iwasaki (U.S. 2023/0014175 A1).
Iwasaki discloses the following claimed limitations:
Regarding independent Claim 1, a printer (Title) comprising:
at least one thermal printhead (TPH, Abstract) comprising:
a plurality of dots, wherein each dot has an associated resistance, wherein the plurality of dots are arranged in a first pattern, and wherein the first pattern includes a first end and a second end; and
a processor and a non-transitory memory (31, 32, 35, §§0026-0028 and Fig. 3) comprising a computer program code, the non-transitory memory and the computer program code configured to, with the processor, cause the printer to:
determine a resistance value for each dot of the plurality of dots (Abstract);
compare the resistance value associated with each of at least one dot associated with the first end and at least one dot associated with the second end with a predefined threshold resistance value (§§0057-0066 and Figs. 8-9);
identify a dot of the at least one dot associated with the first end and at least one dot associated with the second end having a high resistance value based at least on the comparison (§§0057-0066 and Figs. 8-9); and
identify a type of the at least one TPH based at least on the at least one dot identified (freshly replaced or previously installed, §§0057-0066 and Figs. 8-9).
Regarding Claim 6, wherein the predefined threshold resistance value associated with the plurality of dots is stored in the non-transitory memory (§0038).
Regarding Claim 7, wherein the non-transitory memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the processor, cause the printer to read the resistance value of each of the plurality of dots during a booting phase of the printer (§0038-§0039).
Regarding Claim 9, wherein the plurality of dots define a range between 0-N dots (§0039).
Regarding Claim 10, wherein the type of TPH of the at least one TPH identified is one of a plurality of TPH series (freshly replaced or previously installed, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 11, wherein the first pattern of the plurality of dots corresponds to a resistance pattern of the plurality of dots, wherein the resistance pattern defines the type of TPH of the at least one TPH (freshly replaced or previously installed, §§0057-0066 and Figs. 8-9).
Regarding independent Claim 12, a method (Title) comprising:
determining a resistance value for each dot of a plurality of dots of at least one thermal printhead (TPH, Abstract), wherein the plurality of dots are arranged in a first pattern, and wherein the first pattern includes a first end and a second end;
comparing the resistance value associated each of with at least one dot associated with the first end and at least one dot associated with the second end with a predefined threshold resistance value (§§0057-0066 and Figs. 8-9);
identifying a dot of the at least one dot associated with the first end and at least one dot associated with the second end having a high resistance value based at least on the comparison (§§0057-0066 and Figs. 8-9); and
identifying a type of the at least one TPH, based at least on the at least one dot identified (freshly replaced or previously installed, §§0057-0066 and Figs. 8-9).
Regarding Claim 17, storing the predefined threshold resistance value associated with the plurality of dots (§0038).
Regarding Claim 18, reading the resistance value of each of the plurality of dots during a booting phase of a printer (§0038-§0039).
Regarding Claim 20, 20. The method of claim 12, wherein the type of TPH of the at least one TPH identified one of a plurality of TPH series (freshly replaced or previously installed, §§0057-0066 and Figs. 8-9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki (U.S. 2023/0014175 A1).
Iwasaki discloses the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claim 8, all limitations of Claim 1, from which this Claim depends;
wherein the resistance value of each dot defines a range of TPH resistance specification ohms +/- certain manufacturing tolerance (§0034).
Regarding Claim 19, all limitations of Claim 12, from which this Claim depends;
wherein the resistance value of each dot defines a range of TPH resistance specification ohms +/- certain manufacturing tolerance (§0034).
Iwasaki does not disclose the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claim 8, the range of TPH resistance specification being 900 ohms +/- 7%. However, Iwasaki does disclose similar ranges (Figs. 8-9), making Claim 8 obvious over prior art. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding Claim 19, the range of TPH resistance specification being 900 ohms +/- 7%. However, Iwasaki does disclose similar ranges (Figs. 8-9), making Claim 8 obvious over prior art. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki (U.S. 2023/0014175 A1) as applied to Claim 1, in view of Erhardt (U.S. 2007/0081842 A1).
Iwasaki discloses the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claims 2-4, all limitations of Claim 1, from which these Claims depend;
Regarding Claim 3, wherein the at least one TPH further comprising a plurality of heaters, wherein each of the plurality of heaters is associated with one dot of the plurality of dots (§0023).
Iwasaki does not disclose the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claim 2, wherein the non-transitory memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the processor, cause the printer to determine a thermal management technique based at least on the type of TPH of the at least one TPH identified.
Regarding Claim 4, wherein the non-transitory memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the processor, cause the printer to adjust a thermal output of the plurality of heaters based at least on the determined thermal management technique.
Erhardt discloses the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claim 2, wherein the non-transitory memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the processor, cause the printer to determine a thermal management technique based at least on the type of TPH of the at least one TPH identified (§§0049-0051). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the teachings of Erhardt to the printer of Iwasaki to enable printing on various substrates.
Regarding Claim 4, wherein the non-transitory memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the processor, cause the printer to adjust a thermal output of the plurality of heaters based at least on the determined thermal management technique (§§0004, 0007-0008, 0049-0051, 0067). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the teachings of Erhardt to the printer of Iwasaki to enable printing on various substrates.
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki (U.S. 2023/0014175 A1) as applied to Claim 12, in view of Erhardt (U.S. 2007/0081842 A1).
Iwasaki discloses the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claims 13-15, all limitations of Claim 12, from which these Claims depend;
Regarding Claim 14, wherein the at least one TPH further comprising a plurality of heaters, wherein each of the plurality of heaters is associated with one dot of the plurality of dots (§0023).
Iwasaki does not disclose the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claim 13, determining a thermal management technique based at least on the type of TPH of the at least one TPH identified.
Regarding Claim 15, adjusting a thermal output of the plurality of heaters, based at least on the determined thermal management technique.
Erhardt discloses the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claim 13, determining a thermal management technique based at least on the type of TPH of the at least one TPH identified (§§0049-0051). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the teachings of Erhardt to the method of Iwasaki to enable printing on various substrates.
Regarding Claim 15, adjusting a thermal output of the plurality of heaters, based at least on the determined thermal management technique (§§0004, 0007-0008, 0049-0051, 0067). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the teachings of Erhardt to the method of Iwasaki to enable printing on various substrates.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki (U.S. 2023/0014175 A1) as applied to Claim 1, in view of Qu et al. (U.S. 2015/0266324 A1).
Iwasaki discloses the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claims 5, all limitations of Claim 1, from which this Claim depends.
Iwasaki does not disclose the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claim 5, wherein the plurality of dots correspond to a plurality of shift registers associated with the at least one TPH.
Qu et al. disclose the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claim 5, wherein the plurality of dots correspond to a plurality of shift registers associated with the at least one TPH. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the teachings of Qi et al. to the printer of Iwasaki to enable controlling the printer using a control architecture known to be suitable for the purpose.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki (U.S. 2023/0014175 A1) as applied to Claim 12, in view of Qu et al. (U.S. 2015/0266324 A1).
Iwasaki discloses the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claims 16, all limitations of Claim 12, from which this Claim depends.
Iwasaki does not disclose the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claim 16, wherein the plurality of dots correspond to a plurality of shift registers associated with the at least one TPH.
Qu et al. disclose the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claim 16, wherein the plurality of dots correspond to a plurality of shift registers associated with the at least one TPH. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the teachings of Qi et al. to the method of Iwasaki to enable controlling the printer using a control architecture known to be suitable for the purpose.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/29/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, while it is true that “Iwasaki analyzes the entire distribution pattern across all heaters to characterize the overall trend-not specific dots at defined end positions”, instant Application claims, as amended 5/29/26, recite the dots to be “associated with” the defined end positions rather than “at” those positions.
Furthermore, Iwasaki teaches comparing resistance values of each heater with a threshold, including the ones at the end positions (§§0057-0066 and Figs. 8-9).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER D SHENDEROV/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/JASON S UHLENHAKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853