DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the welding filler alloy" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the aluminum-magnesium welding filter alloy" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the aluminum-magnesium welding filter alloy" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the aluminum-magnesium welding filter alloy" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the aluminum-magnesium welding filter alloy" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the aluminum-magnesium welding filter alloy" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the aluminum-magnesium welding filter alloy" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the aluminum-magnesium welding filter alloy" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the aluminum-magnesium welding filter alloy" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the aluminum-magnesium welding filter alloy" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the aluminum-magnesium welding filter alloy" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the aluminum-magnesium welding filter alloy" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the aluminum-magnesium welding filter alloy" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the aluminum-magnesium welding filter alloy" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the aluminum-magnesium welding filter alloy" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the aluminum-magnesium welding filter alloy" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the aluminum-magnesium welding filter alloy" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the aluminum-magnesium welding filter alloy" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the aluminum-magnesium welding filter alloy" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 112410593 A, based on the machine translation.
CN ‘593 teaches an aluminum alloy welding wire with, by weight, 4.6-7.5% Mg, 0.02-0.5% Sc, and 0.02-0.35% Zr [0010]. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists because the prior art discloses the utility of the composition over the entire disclosed range. See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding Claim 2, the alloy is in the form of a wire [0010], which reads on a rod with no claimed dimensions. The limitation of “for additive manufacturing” reads on intended use. Language in the claim that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation, for example statements of intended use or field of use. See MPEP § 2106.
Regarding Claims 3-7, CN ‘593 teaches a range of Sc that overlaps the claimed ranges.
Regarding Claims 8-10, CN ‘593 teaches a range of Mg that overlaps the claimed ranges.
Regarding Claim 11, CN ‘593 teaches Si ≤ 0.15%, Fe ≤ 0.2%, 0.1-1.0% Mn, 0% Cu, 0% Cr, 0.2-1.2% Zn, 0.01-0.12% Ti, and 0% Be [0010].
Regarding Claim 12, CN ‘593 teaches Si ≤ 0.15%.
Regarding Claim 13, CN ‘593 teaches 0% Fe.
Regarding Claim 14, CN ‘593 teaches 0% Cu.
Regarding Claims 15-17, CN ‘593 teaches Mn in the claimed range.
Regarding Claim 18, CN ‘593 teaches 0% Cr.
Regarding Claim 19, CN ‘593 teaches Zn in the claimed range.
Regarding Claim 20, CN ‘593 teaches Ti in the claimed range.
Claims 1-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 100445019 C, based on the machine translation of CN 1954959 A, which is in the same patent family.
CN 100445019 C (CN ‘019) teaches an Al-Mg-Sc welding wire [0003]. The composition of magnesium in wt % is 4-8 Mg, 0.05-0.3 Sc, and 0.05-0.3 Zr [0010]. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists because the prior art discloses the utility of the composition over the entire disclosed range. See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding Claim 2, the alloy is in the form of a wire [0003], which reads on a rod with no claimed dimensions. The limitation of “for additive manufacturing” reads on intended use. Language in the claim that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation, for example statements of intended use or field of use. See MPEP § 2106.
Regarding Claims 3-7, CN ‘019 teaches a range of Sc that overlaps the claimed ranges.
Regarding Claims 8-10, CN ‘019 teaches a range of Mg that overlaps the claimed ranges.
Regarding Claim 11, CN ‘019 teaches 0% Si, 0% Fe, 0% Cu, 0.5-1.0% Mn, 0% Cr, 0% Zn, 0-0.15% Ti, and 0% Be. Other elements read on present up to 0.15% total with 0.05% each [0019].
Regarding Claim 12, CN ‘019 teaches less than 0.20% Si.
Regarding Claim 13, CN ‘019 teaches less than 0.25% Fe.
Regarding Claim 14, CN ‘019 teaches less than 0.1% Cu.
Regarding Claim 15 and 16, CN ‘019 teaches the claimed range of Mn.
Regarding Claim 18, CN ‘019 teaches less than 0.10% Cr.
Regarding Claim 19, CN ‘019 teaches less than 0.25% Zn.
Regarding Claim 20, CN ‘019 teaches the claimed range of Ti.
Claims 1-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Langan (US 8,133,331 B2).
Langan teaches an aluminum alloy comprising, in weight %, 0.1-10 Mg, 0.01-2% Sc and up to 1% Zr (Claims 1 and 10). The alloy can be extruded (column 1, line 20). The limitation of “for additive manufacturing” reads on intended use. Language in the claim that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation, for example statements of intended use or field of use. See MPEP § 2106. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists because the prior art discloses the utility of the composition over the entire disclosed range. See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding Claim 2, the alloy can be extruded, but the limitation of “the form of an electrode for additive manufacturing” reads on intended use.
Regarding Claims 3-7, Langan teaches the claimed ranges of Sc.
Regarding Claims 8-10, Langan teaches the claimed ranges of Mg.
Regarding Claim 11, Langan teaches 0% Si, 0% Fe, 0% Cu, 0% Mn, 0% Cr, 0.5-10% Zn, 0.01-0.1% Ti, and 0% Be (Claims 1 and 11).
Regarding Claim 12, Langan teaches less than 0.20% Si.
Regarding Claim 13, Langan teaches less than 0.25% Fe.
Regarding Claim 14, Langan teaches less than 0.1% Cu.
Regarding Claim 15 and 16, Langan teaches the claimed range of Mn.
Regarding Claim 18, Langan teaches less than 0.10% Cr.
Regarding Claim 20, Langan teaches the claimed range of Ti.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 18/426,137 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists because the prior art discloses the utility of the composition over the entire disclosed range. See MPEP § 2144.05. However, one carrying out product in accord with the Application No. 18/426,137 claims would in fact carry out product fully within the scope of the instant claims. Thus, no patentable distinction is seen between product as presently claimed and product as defined in the claims of Application No. 18/426,137. Regarding Claim 2, the limitation of “for additive manufacturing” reads on intended use. Language in the claim that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation, for example statements of intended use or field of use. See MPEP § 2106.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-18 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 8,133,331 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists because the prior art discloses the utility of the composition over the entire disclosed range. See MPEP § 2144.05. Regarding the limitation of “for additive manufacturing” in Claim 1, this refers to an intended use of the aluminum-magnesium alloy. Language in the claim that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation, for example statements of intended use or field of use. See MPEP § 2106. However, one carrying out product in accord with the U.S. Patent No. 8,133,331 B2 claims would in fact carry out product fully within the scope of the instant claims. Thus, no patentable distinction is seen between product as presently claimed and product as defined in the claims of U.S. Patent No. 8,133,331 B2. Regarding Claim 2, the limitation of “for additive manufacturing” reads on intended use. Language in the claim that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation, for example statements of intended use or field of use. See MPEP § 2106.
Conclusion
Tima M. McGuthry-Banks
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1733
/Tima M. McGuthry-Banks/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733