DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hajianpour (US Patent #5,575,761), and further in view of Lieberman et al. (Pub # US 2018/0116904 A1).
Consider claim 1, Hajianpour teaches a haptic device comprising: a housing (Abstract); a vibration body accommodated in the housing; a control device configured to present at least one of a tactile sensation and a force sensation to a user by controlling a vibration pattern of the vibration body (Column 2 lines 14-34); and a band including a first portion fixed to an outer surface of the housing (Column 3 lines 25-42).
Hajianpour does not teach wherein a body of the user is attachable between an abutting portion of the band being a portion different from the first portion and a contact surface being a part of the outer surface of the housing.
In the same field of endeavor, Liberman et al. teaches wherein a body of the user is attachable between an abutting portion of the band being a portion different from the first portion and a contact surface being a part of the outer surface of the housing [0086] for the benefit of fingers engage the device for stability and control.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein a body of the user is attachable between an abutting portion of the band being a portion different from the first portion and a contact surface being a part of the outer surface of the housing as shown in Liberman et al., in Hajianpour device for the benefit of fingers engage the device for stability and control.
Consider claim 2, Hajianpour clearly shown and disclose the haptic device, wherein the band includes a second portion being different from the first portion and fixed to a portion, of the outer surface of the housing, different from a portion to which the first portion is fixed, and the abutting portion extends from the first portion to the second portion of the band (Column 3 lines 43-56).
Consider claim 3, Hajianpour teaches similar invention.
Hajianpour does not specifically teach the haptic device, wherein the band has a length of equal to or more than 3 cm and equal to or less than 15 cm from the first portion to the second portion.
In the same field of endeavor, Liberman et al. teaches wherein the band has a length of equal to or more than 3 cm and equal to or less than 15 cm from the first portion to the second portion. Liberman discloses the device wrap around various body parts, which includes the length as claimed above [0065] for the benefit of better fit the user body.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the haptic device, wherein the band has a length of equal to or more than 3 cm and equal to or less than 15 cm from the first portion to the second portion as shown in Liberman et al., in Hajianpour device for the benefit of better fit the user body.
Consider claim 4, Hajianpour teaches the similar invention.
Hajianpour does not teach wherein the housing includes a main body portion accommodating the vibration body and a projecting portion projecting from an outer surface of the main body portion, and the projecting portion has bending rigidity being larger than bending rigidity of the band.
In the same field of endeavor, Liberman et al. teaches wherein the housing includes a main body portion accommodating the vibration body and a projecting portion projecting from an outer surface of the main body portion, and the projecting portion has bending rigidity being larger than bending rigidity of the band [0051 and 0060] for the benefit of maintain the device orientation and provides a comfortable fit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the housing includes a main body portion accommodating the vibration body and a projecting portion projecting from an outer surface of the main body portion, and the projecting portion has bending rigidity being larger than bending rigidity of the band as shown in Liberman et al., in Hajianoour device for the benefit of maintain the device orientation and provides a comfortable fit.
Consider claim 5, Hajianpour teaches similar invention.
Hajianpour does not teach the haptic device, wherein the first portion of the band is adjacent to the projecting portion.
In the same field of endeavor, Liberman et al. teaches wherein the first portion of the band is adjacent to the projecting portion [0052] for the benefit of maintain the device orientation and provides a comfortable fit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the first portion of the band is adjacent to the projecting portion as shown in Liberman et al., in Hajianpour device for the benefit of maintain the device orientation and provides a comfortable fit.
Consider claim 6, Hajianpour teaches similar invention.
Hajianpour does not teach wherein the housing further includes a wide portion at a leading end, of the projecting portion, on a side opposite to a base end, the base end being an end on the main body portion side, and when a virtual straight line passing through the first portion and the second portion of the band is drawn, a maximum dimension of the wide portion in a direction parallel to the virtual straight line is larger than a minimum dimension of the projecting portion in the direction parallel to the virtual straight line.
In the same field of endeavor, Liberman et al. teaches wherein the housing further includes a wide portion at a leading end, of the projecting portion, on a side opposite to a base end, the base end being an end on the main body portion side, and when a virtual straight line passing through the first portion and the second portion of the band is drawn, a maximum dimension of the wide portion in a direction parallel to the virtual straight line is larger than a minimum dimension of the projecting portion in the direction parallel to the virtual straight line [0054] for the benefit of improving engagement and stabilizing device orientation during use.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the housing further includes a wide portion at a leading end, of the projecting portion, on a side opposite to a base end, the base end being an end on the main body portion side, and when a virtual straight line passing through the first portion and the second portion of the band is drawn, a maximum dimension of the wide portion in a direction parallel to the virtual straight line is larger than a minimum dimension of the projecting portion in the direction parallel to the virtual straight line as shown in Liberman et al., in Hajianpour device for the benefit of improving engagement and stabilizing device orientation during use.
Consider claim 7, Hajianpour teaches similar invention.
Hajianpour does not teach wherein when viewed in a direction along the virtual straight line, the wide portion has a curved surface projecting toward a side of the main body portion.
In the same field of endeavor, Liberman et al. teaches wherein when viewed in a direction along the virtual straight line, the wide portion (203, Fig. 1) has a curved surface projecting toward a side of the main body portion (101, Fig. 1) for the benefit of improving engagement and stabilizing device orientation during use.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein when viewed in a direction along the virtual straight line, the wide portion has a curved surface projecting toward a side of the main body portion as shown in Liberman et al., in Hajianpour device for the benefit of improving engagement and stabilizing device orientation during use.
Consider claim 8, Hajianpour teaches similar invention.
Hajianpour does not teach wherein when viewed in a direction along the virtual straight line, the wide portion has a curved surface projecting toward a side opposite to the main body portion.
In the same field of endeavor, Liberman et al. teaches wherein when viewed in a direction along the virtual straight line, the wide portion (201, Fig. 2) has a curved surface projecting toward a side opposite to the main body portion (102, Fig. 2) for the benefit of improving engagement and stabilizing device orientation during use.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein when viewed in a direction along the virtual straight line, the wide portion has a curved surface projecting toward a side opposite to the main body portion as shown in Liberman et al., in Hajianpour device for the benefit of improving engagement and stabilizing device orientation during use.
Consider claim 10, Hajianpour teaches similar invention.
Hajianpour does not teach wherein the housing further includes a wide portion at a leading end, of the projecting portion, on a side opposite to a base end, the base end being an end on the main body portion side, and when a virtual straight line passing through the first portion and the second portion of the band is drawn, a maximum dimension of the wide portion in a direction parallel to the virtual straight line is larger than a minimum dimension of the projecting portion in the direction parallel to the virtual straight line.
In the same field of endeavor, Liberman et al. teaches wherein the housing further includes a wide portion at a leading end, of the projecting portion, on a side opposite to a base end, the base end being an end on the main body portion side, and when a virtual straight line passing through the first portion and the second portion of the band is drawn, a maximum dimension of the wide portion in a direction parallel to the virtual straight line is larger than a minimum dimension of the projecting portion in the direction parallel to the virtual straight line [0052 and 0054] for the benefit of improving engagement and stabilizing device orientation during use.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the housing further includes a wide portion at a leading end, of the projecting portion, on a side opposite to a base end, the base end being an end on the main body portion side, and when a virtual straight line passing through the first portion and the second portion of the band is drawn, a maximum dimension of the wide portion in a direction parallel to the virtual straight line is larger than a minimum dimension of the projecting portion in the direction parallel to the virtual straight line as shown in Liberman et al., in Hajianpour device for the benefit of improving engagement and stabilizing device orientation during use.
Claims 9, 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hajianpour (US Patent #5,575,761) in view of Lieberman et al. (Pub # US 2018/0116904 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (Pub # US2019/0004604 A1).
Consider claim 9, Hajianpour and Liberman et al. combined reference teaches similar invention.
Hajianpour and Liberman et al. combined reference does not teach wherein the housing includes a main body portion accommodating the vibration body, the main body portion has an outer surface, a part of the outer surface being the contact surface, and the contact surface is a curved surface projecting toward the abutting portion.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang et al. teaches wherein the housing includes a main body portion accommodating the vibration body, the main body portion has an outer surface, a part of the outer surface being the contact surface, and the contact surface is a curved surface projecting toward the abutting portion [0053] for the benefit of improving retention and haptic coupling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the housing includes a main body portion accommodating the vibration body, the main body portion has an outer surface, a part of the outer surface being the contact surface, and the contact surface is a curved surface projecting toward the abutting portion as shown in Wang et al., in Hajianpour and Liberman et al. combined device for the benefit of improving retention and haptic coupling.
Consider claim 11, Hajianpour teaches the haptic device, wherein the housing includes a main body portion accommodating the vibration body, the main body portion has an outer surface, a part of the outer surface being the contact surface (Column 3 lines 43-56).
Hajianpour and Liberman et al. combined reference does not teach the contact surface is a curved surface projecting toward the abutting portion.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang et al. teaches the contact surface is a curved surface projecting toward the abutting portion [0053] for the benefit of improving retention and haptic coupling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the contact surface is a curved surface projecting toward the abutting portion as shown in Wang et al., in Hajianpour and Liberman et al. combined device for the benefit of improving retention and haptic coupling.
Consider claim 12, Liberman teaches the haptic device wherein the housing includes a main body portion accommodating the vibration body, the main body portion has an outer surface, a part of the outer surface being the contact surface [0065].
Hajianpour and Liberman et al. combined refernce does not teach the contact surface is a curved surface projecting toward the abutting portion.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang et al. teaches the contact surface is a curved surface projecting toward the abutting portion [0053] for the benefit of improving retention and haptic coupling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the contact surface is a curved surface projecting toward the abutting portion as shown in Wang et al., in Hajianpour and Liberman et al. combined device for the benefit of improving retention and haptic coupling.
Consider claim 13, Liberman et al. teaches the haptic device, wherein the housing includes a main body portion accommodating the vibration body, the main body portion has an outer surface, a part of the outer surface being the contact surface [0051 and 0060].
Hajianpour and Liberman et al. combined refernce does not teach the contact surface is a curved surface projecting toward the abutting portion.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang et al. teaches the contact surface is a curved surface projecting toward the abutting portion [0053] for the benefit of improving retention and haptic coupling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the contact surface is a curved surface projecting toward the abutting portion as shown in Wang et al., in Hajianpour and Liberman et al. combined device for the benefit of improving retention and haptic coupling.
Consider claim 14, Liberman et al. teaches the haptic device according to claim 5, wherein the housing includes a main body portion accommodating the vibration body, the main body portion has an outer surface, a part of the outer surface being the contact surface [0052].
Hajianpour and Liberman et al. combined refernce does not teach the contact surface is a curved surface projecting toward the abutting portion.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang et al. teaches the contact surface is a curved surface projecting toward the abutting portion [0053] for the benefit of improving retention and haptic coupling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the contact surface is a curved surface projecting toward the abutting portion as shown in Wang et al., in Hajianpour and Liberman et al. combined device for the benefit of improving retention and haptic coupling.
Consider claim 15, Liberman et al. teaches the haptic device wherein the housing includes a main body portion accommodating the vibration body, the main body portion has an outer surface, a part of the outer surface being the contact surface [0054].
Hajianpour and Liberman et al. combined refernce does not teach the contact surface is a curved surface projecting toward the abutting portion.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang et al. teaches the contact surface is a curved surface projecting toward the abutting portion [0053] for the benefit of improving retention and haptic coupling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the contact surface is a curved surface projecting toward the abutting portion as shown in Wang et al., in Hajianpour and Liberman et al. combined device for the benefit of improving retention and haptic coupling.
Consider claim 16, Hajianpour teaches the haptic device, wherein the housing (10, Fig., 1) includes a main body portion (14, Fig. 1) accommodating the vibration body, the main body portion has an outer surface (19, Fig. 1) a part of the outer surface being the contact surface (Column 3 lines 25-42).
Hajianpour and Liberman et al. combined refernce does not teach the contact surface is a curved surface projecting toward the abutting portion.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang et al. teaches the contact surface is a curved surface projecting toward the abutting portion [0053] for the benefit of improving retention and haptic coupling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the contact surface is a curved surface projecting toward the abutting portion as shown in Wang et al., in Hajianpour and Liberman et al. combined device for the benefit of improving retention and haptic coupling.
Consider claim 17, Hijianpour teaches the haptic device, wherein the housing includes a main body portion (10, Fig. 1) accommodating the vibration body (14, Fig. 1), the main body portion has an outer surface (19, Fig. 1), a part of the outer surface being the contact surface (Column 3 lines 25-42).
Hajianpour and Liberman et al. combined refernce does not teach the contact surface is a curved surface projecting toward the abutting portion.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang et al. teaches the contact surface is a curved surface projecting toward the abutting portion [0053] for the benefit of improving retention and haptic coupling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the contact surface is a curved surface projecting toward the abutting portion as shown in Wang et al., in Hajianpour and Liberman et al. combined device for the benefit of improving retention and haptic coupling.
Conclusion
/JACK K WANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686