DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The reply filed on 7/02/2026, cancelled claim 11, and amended claims 1-6, 8, and 10. Claims 1-10 are currently pending herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 7/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants’ arguments not rendered moot have been addressed below.
On pages 8-10 of the response, Applicant states: “…amended claim 1 requires a platform disposed on an upper surface of the handcart main body and movable in a left-right direction perpendicular to the front-rear direction. The present specification defines the front direction as the direction in which the handcart travels when pushed by a user, defines the rear direction as the opposite direction, and defines the left-right direction with respect to the front direction as the lateral direction. The specification further describes that the platform is disposed on guide rails so as to be movable in the lateral direction. Accordingly, the claimed platform movement is not a loading/unloading movement for transferring a battery between a cart and a storage rack, as in Johnson. Rather, the claimed platform is movable in the left-right direction perpendicular to the front-rear direction of the handcart main body.”
Regarding these contentions, the Examiner maintains that the Johnson reference provides for the disputed claim limitations based on the below interpretation of the claims. Specifically, while the Johnson reference does not specifically recite that the cited components are provided to move in a left-right it is clear from the disclosure and cited figures (see above) that the cited components are assembled in the same manner as currently claimed (See, e.g., Johnson: Fig.1-5). One of ordinary skill in the art would not necessarily interpret the disputed limitations to be fixed from pivoting as the Applicant argues. Applicants are reminded, that [t]he invention disclosed in [a] written description may be outstanding in its field, but the name of the game is the claim. In re Hiniker Co., 47 USPQ 1523, 1529 (Fed. Cir. 1998). Specifically, if Applicants believe that an invention has differences over the prior art, particularly regarding left-right movement of the claimed elements, Applicants must find a way to convey this argument in the claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See, e.g., In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Therefore, these arguments are not persuasive.
Drawings
The previous objections to the drawings are withdrawn in light of the amendments, the objections that remain are detailed below.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following claim limitations: “a platform disposed on an upper surface of the vehicle-handcart main body to be movable in a left-right direction perpendicular to the front-rear direction” (Claim 1; see below 35 USC 112b rejection) and “the handcart main body is provided with a guide rail along the left-right direction, and the platform is guided on the guide rail in the left-right direction” (Claim 4 – see below 35 USC 112 rejection) must all be shown and labeled or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The objection to the specification has been withdrawn in light of the amendments.
Claim Objections
The previous objections of the claims are withdrawn in light of the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous rejections of the claims under 35 USC 112 are withdrawn in light of the amendments, the rejections that remain are detailed below.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Specifically, the limitation “a platform disposed on an upper surface of the vehicle-handcart main body to be movable in a left-right direction perpendicular to the front-rear direction” and “the handcart main body is provided with a guide rail along the left-right direction, and the platform is guided on the guide rail in the left-right direction” (Claim 1/4, emphasis added – the platform is indicated as element 30 and the guide rail element 22, however in the figures, as best understood, the platform 30 does not appear to move in the left-right direction on the guide rails 22) are unclear and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction and/or explanation is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnson (US 4,120,411 B2).
[Claim 1] Regarding Claim 1, Johnson discloses: A handcart (See, e.g., Fig.1-5, 10), comprising: a handcart main body (See, e.g., Fig.1-5, 14+15) including wheels (See, e.g., Fig.1-5, 12) on a lower surface (See, e.g., Fig.1-5) and a handle (See, e.g., Fig.1-5, 20+16+18+66) erected on a rear portion in a front-rear direction (See, e.g., Fig.1-5); and a platform (See, e.g., Fig.1-5, C+48+50) disposed on an upper surface of the handcart main body to be movable in a left-right direction perpendicular to the front-rear direction (See, e.g., Fig.1-5; see above annotated figure 1 & 2).
[Claim 2] Regarding Claim 2, Johnson discloses: further comprising: a lock mechanism for locking movement of the platform in the left-right direction (See, e.g., Fig.1-5, 66).
[Claim 3] Regarding Claim 3, Johnson discloses: wherein the lock mechanism includes a lock hole formed in the platform, a lock pin disposed on the handcart main body and enterable in the lock hole, a biasing member for biasing the lock pin such that the lock pin enters in the lock hole, and an operation member for operating the lock pin in a direction in which the lock pin retracts out of the lock hole against a biasing force of the biasing member (See, e.g., Fig.1-5, 66+80+etc.).
[Claim 4] Regarding Claim 4, Johnson discloses: wherein: the handcart main body is provided with a guide rail (See, e.g., Fig.1-5, 21+46) along the left-right direction, and the platform is guided on the guide rail in the left-right direction (See, e.g., Fig.1-5; see above annotated figure 1 & 2).
[Claim 5] Regarding Claim 5, Johnson discloses: further comprising: a lifting table (See, e.g., Fig.1-5, B) disposed to be movable up and down with respect to the handcart main body (See, e.g., Fig.1-5), wherein the platform is disposed so as to be movable in the left-right direction with respect to the lifting table (See, e.g., Fig.1-5).
[Claim 6] Regarding Claim 6, Johnson discloses: wherein: the lifting table is provided with a guide rail along the left-right direction (See, e.g., Fig.1-5, 21+46), and the platform is guided on the guide rail in the left-right direction (See, e.g., Fig.1-5).
[Claim 7] Regarding Claim 7, Johnson discloses: wherein: the platform is provided with a pair of left and right guide members spreading out forward (See, e.g., Fig.1-5, 21+46).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson in view of Gilland et al. (US 9,850,114 B2).
[Claim 8] Regarding Claim 8, Johnson fails to explicitly teach: a biasing member for biasing the platform toward a center in the left-right direction.
However, Gilland teaches a similar handcart (See, e.g., Gilland: Fig.1-27, 402) wherein a biasing member for biasing a part of a handcart platform (See, e.g., Gilland: Fig.1-27, 422+425)
Gilland teaches that it is well known in the art of handcart design to provide a biasing member for biasing a part of a handcart platform. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system taught by Johnson modified so that a biasing member biases the platform toward a center in the lateral direction, such as taught by Gilland, for the purpose of conveniently providing the platform component of the cart to provide effective control and movement at the proper time and thereby prevent component damage through inadvertent movement. Furthermore, it is well known in handcart design that biasing members are used to apply a constant, controlled force to components in order to ensure that the component returns to a specific position, stays in contact with another component; such biasing elements are crucial for stabilizing motion, managing energy, and improving efficiency. Moreover, the modification is obvious as no more than the use of familiar elements according to known methods in a manner that achieves predictable results. (See, e.g., KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398,416 (2007)).
[Claim 9] Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Johnson in view of Gilland teaches: wherein the biasing member is an elastic member (See, e.g., Gilland: Fig.1-27, 425).
Claim 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson in view of Erickson et al. (US 11,165,115 B2).
[Claim 10] Regarding Claim 10, Johnson discloses: wherein the wheel includes front wheels including a pair of left and right fixed wheels (See, e.g., Fig.1-5) and rear wheels including a pair of left and right wheels (See, e.g., Fig.1-5)
Johnson fails to explicitly teach: where the rear wheels include a pair of left and right omni-directional wheels.
However, Erickson teaches a similar handcart (See, e.g., Erickson: Fig.1-5, 100) where the rear wheels include a pair of left and right omni-directional wheels (See, e.g., Erickson: Fig.1-5, 104).
Erickson teaches that it is well known in the art of handcart design to provide where the rear wheels include a pair of left and right omni-directional wheels. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system taught by Johnson modified so that the where the rear wheels include a pair of left and right omni-directional wheels, such as taught by Erickson, for the purpose of conveniently allowing the user to move the cart in any direction to allow for easier maneuverability (See, e.g., Erickson: Fig.1-5; col.1, Ln.51). Moreover, the modification is obvious as no more than the use of familiar elements according to known methods in a manner that achieves predictable results. (See, e.g., KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398,416 (2007)).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and can be found on the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JAMES M DOLAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613