CTFR 18/752,232 CTFR 82140 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 02/02/2026. Claims 1-20 are currently pending. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 2, 6-14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAO et al. (US 2016/0044663 A1; hereafter YAO) in view of TAKAHASHI et al. (US 2016/0234829 A1; hereafter TAKAHASHI) . With respect to claim 1 , YAO discloses a method of operating a time division duplex (TDD) communication system ( FIG. 8; paragraph [0046] ), comprising the steps of: establishing communications with a remote transceiver; determining ( 710 of FIG. 7 ) a subframe configuration ( FIG. 1, see the UL/DL configs 0-6; FIG. 3, see the Configurations 0 and 6 ) including static and flexible subframes; transmitting ( 720 of FIG. 7 ) the subframe configuration ( FIG. 1, see the UL/DL configs 0-6; FIG. 3, see the Configurations 0 and 6 ) to the remote transceiver in response to the step of determining; and receiving a channel state information (CSI) report ( paragraph [0065], see the UE perform CSI and afterward sends to Node B ) from the remote transceiver in response to the step of transmitting. YAO does not disclose receiving a channel state information (CSI) report in a subframe n from the remote transceiver in response to the step of transmitting, wherein the CSI report is determined based on a CSI reference resource in a subframe n – n_[CQI,ref], where n_{CQI,ref] is an integer greater than or equal to a threshold number n_threshold. TAKAHASHI discloses receiving a channel state information (CSI) report in a subframe n from the remote transceiver in response to the step of transmitting, wherein the CSI report is determined based on a CSI reference resource in a subframe n – n_[CQI,ref], where n_{CQI,ref] is an integer greater than or equal to a threshold number n_threshold ( paragraphs [0234], [0235], [0236], [0237], and [0238], see the reported CSI placed in a subframe n – n_CQI ref and the value is limited by a threshold integer m, and this subframe is the CSI reference resource ). TAKAHASHI teaches the benefit on increased efficiency for wireless system communications by using CSI resource based on CQI ( paragraph [0013] ). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the technique of TAKAHASHI in the method of YAO to produce an expected result. With respect to claim 2 , YAO further discloses comprising: signaling the static subframe by Radio Resource Control (RRC) ( paragraph [0049] ); and signaling the flexible subframe by a downlink control information (DCI) packet ( paragraph [0052] ). With respect to claim 6 , YAO further discloses wherein the CSI report ( paragraph [0065], see the UE perform CSI and afterward sends to Node B ) is determined in response to a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource and at least two channel state information interference measurement (CSI-IM) resources ( paragraph [0071], see the RLM/RRM measuring ). With respect to claim 7 , YAO further discloses wherein a first CSI-IM resource ( paragraph [0071], see the RLM/RRM measuring ) determines static subframe interference, and wherein a second CSI-IM resource ( paragraph [0071], see the RLM/RRM measuring ) determines flexible subframe interference. With respect to claim 8 , YAO further discloses comprising receiving periodic CSI reports ( paragraph [0065], see the UE perform CSI and afterward sends to Node B ) from the remote transceiver. With respect to claim 9 , YAO further discloses comprising receiving the CSI report ( paragraph [0065], see the UE perform CSI and afterward sends to Node B ) as selected by the remote transceiver in order of decreasing priority according to CSI subframe set priority, CSI type, a serving cell index ( paragraph [0055], see CFI value ), and a CSI process index. With respect to claim 10 , YAO further discloses comprising receiving the CSI report ( paragraph [0065], see the UE perform CSI and afterward sends to Node B ) as selected by the remote transceiver in order of decreasing priority according to CSI type, CSI process index, a serving cell index ( paragraph [0055], see CFI value ), and a CSI subframe set priority. With respect to claim 11 , YAO further discloses wherein the step of determining is in response to Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling ( paragraph [0049] ). With respect to claim 12 , YAO discloses a method of operating a time division duplex (TDD) communication system ( FIG. 8; paragraph [0046] ), comprising the steps of: establishing communications with a remote transceiver; receiving ( 720 of FIG. 7 ) a subframe configuration ( FIG. 1, see the UL/DL configs 0-6; FIG. 3, see the Configurations 0 and 6 ) including static and flexible subframes; creating a channel state information (CSI) report ( paragraph [0065], see the UE perform CSI and afterward sends to Node B ) in response to the subframe configuration; and transmitting the CSI report ( paragraph [0065], see the UE perform CSI and afterward sends to Node B ) to the remote transceiver. YAO does not disclose transmitting the CSI report to the remote transceiver in a subframe n, wherein the CSI report is determined based on a CSI reference resource in a subframe n – n_[CQI,ref], where n_{CQI,ref] is an integer greater than or equal to a threshold number n_threshold. TAKAHASHI discloses transmitting the CSI report to the remote transceiver in a subframe n, wherein the CSI report is determined based on a CSI reference resource in a subframe n – n_[CQI,ref], where n_{CQI,ref] is an integer greater than or equal to a threshold number n_threshold ( paragraphs [0234], [0235], [0236], [0237], and [0238], see the reported CSI placed in a subframe n – n_CQI ref and the value is limited by a threshold integer m, and this subframe is the CSI reference resource ). TAKAHASHI teaches the benefit on increased efficiency for wireless system communications by using CSI resource based on CQI ( paragraph [0013] ). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the technique of TAKAHASHI in the method of YAO to produce an expected result. With respect to claim 13 , YAO further discloses wherein the static subframe is signaled by Radio Resource Control (RRC) ( paragraph [0049] ), and wherein the flexible subframe is signaled by a downlink control information (DCI) packet ( paragraph [0052] ). With respect to claim 14 , YAO further discloses comprising receiving a plurality of bits in an uplink grant ( paragraph [0074] ) to indicate which subframe is used for the CSI report ( paragraph [0065], see the UE perform CSI and afterward sends to Node B ). With respect to claim 18 , YAO further discloses comprising: creating a channel state information (CSI) report ( paragraph [0065], see the UE perform CSI and afterward sends to Node B ) for one of the static and flexible subframes; and selecting the CSI report ( paragraph [0065], see the UE perform CSI and afterward sends to Node B ) according to at least one of a CSI subframe set priority, a CSI type, a serving cell index ( paragraph [0055], see CFI value ), and a CSI process index . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3-5 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAO in view of TAKAHASHI and further in view of SONG et al. (US 2016/0197687 A1; hereafter SONG) . With respect to claim 3 , YAO further discloses comprising transmitting a plurality of bits in a message ( paragraph [0074] ) to indicate which subframe is used for the CSI report ( paragraph [0065], see the UE perform CSI and afterward sends to Node B ). YAO does not disclose an uplink grant. SONG discloses an uplink grant ( paragraphs [0040] and [0041] ). SONG teaches the benefit of more flexible scheduling for UE and base stations by using two types of subframes ( paragraph [0017] ). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the subframe types as taught by SONG in the method of YAO to produce an expected result. With respect to claim 4 , YAO further discloses comprising transmitting a plurality of bits in a message ( paragraph [0074] ) to indicate whether the CSI report ( paragraph [0065], see the UE perform CSI and afterward sends to Node B ) is determined from the static subframe, the flexible subframe, or both subframes. YAO does not disclose an uplink grant and whether the CSI report is determined from the statis subframe, the flexible subframe, or both subframes, wherein the CSI report includes at least one aperiodic CSI report triggered by the plurality of bits in the uplink grant. SONG discloses an uplink grant ( paragraphs [0040] and [0041] ) and whether the CSI report is determined ( paragraph [0041], see the bits ‘01’ or ‘11’ for flexible or static subframes ) from the statis subframe, the flexible subframe, or both subframes, wherein the CSI report includes at least one aperiodic CSI report triggered ( 401, 402, 403, 404 of FIG. 4; 501, 502, 503, 504 in FIG. 5 ) by the plurality of bits in the uplink grant ( paragraphs [0040] and [0041] ). SONG teaches the benefit of more flexible scheduling for UE and base stations by using two types of subframes ( paragraph [0017] ). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the subframe types as taught by SONG in the method of YAO to produce an expected result. With respect to claim 5 , YAO does not disclose transmitting a CSI request in the uplink grant to the remote transceiver in a valid downlink subframe at least n_threshold subframes prior to an uplink subframe specified by the uplink grant. SONG discloses transmitting a CSI request in the uplink grant ( paragraphs [0040] and [0041] ) to the remote transceiver in a valid downlink subframe at least n_threshold subframes ( paragraph [0033]; see the N + K, where K is the timing delay used to schedule the subframe ) prior to an uplink subframe specified by the uplink grant ( paragraphs [0040] and [0041] ). SONG teaches the benefit of more flexible scheduling for UE and base stations by using two types of subframes ( paragraph [0017] ). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the subframe types as taught by SONG in the method of YAO to produce an expected result. With respect to claim 15 , YAO further discloses comprising receiving a plurality of bits in a message ( paragraph [0074] ) to indicate whether the CSI report ( paragraph [0065], see the UE perform CSI and afterward sends to Node B ) is determined from the static subframe, the flexible subframe, or both subframes. YAO does not disclose an uplink grant and whether the CSI report is determined from the statis subframe, the flexible subframe, or both subframes, wherein the CSI report includes at least one aperiodic CSI report triggered by the plurality of bits in the uplink grant. SONG discloses an uplink grant ( paragraphs [0040] and [0041] ) and whether the CSI report is determined ( paragraph [0041], see the bits ‘01’ or ‘11’ for flexible or static subframes ) from the statis subframe, the flexible subframe, or both subframes, wherein the CSI report includes at least one aperiodic CSI report triggered ( 401, 402, 403, 404 of FIG. 4; 501, 502, 503, 504 in FIG. 5 ) by the plurality of bits in the uplink grant ( paragraphs [0040] and [0041] ). SONG teaches the benefit of more flexible scheduling for UE and base stations by using two types of subframes ( paragraph [0017] ). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the subframe types as taught by SONG in the method of YAO to produce an expected result. With respect to claim 16 , YAO further discloses wherein a message ( paragraph [0074] ) from the remote transceiver comprises a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource and at least two channel state information interference measurement (CSI-IM) resources ( paragraph [0071], see the RLM/RRM measuring ). YAO does not disclose an uplink grant. SONG discloses an uplink grant ( paragraphs [0040] and [0041] ). SONG teaches the benefit of more flexible scheduling for UE and base stations by using two types of subframes ( paragraph [0017] ). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the subframe types as taught by SONG in the method of YAO to produce an expected result. With respect to claim 17 , YAO further discloses wherein a first CSI-IM signal ( paragraph [0071], see the RLM/RRM measuring ) determines static subframe interference, and wherein a second CSI-IM signal ( paragraph [0071], see the RLM/RRM measuring ) determines flexible subframe interference . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAO in view of SONG . With respect to claim 19 , YAO discloses a time division duplex base station ( FIG. 8; paragraph [0046] ), comprising: a processor ( 22 of FIG. 8 ); and a transceiver ( 28 of FIG. 8 ) coupled to the processor and arranged to transmit ( 720 of FIG. 7 ) a subframe configuration ( FIG. 1, see the UL/DL configs 0-6; FIG. 3, see the Configurations 0 and 6 ) including static and flexible subframes to a remote transceiver, the transceiver further arranged to transmit a message ( paragraph [0074] ) to the remote transceiver and to receive a channel state information (CSI) report ( paragraph [0065], see the UE perform CSI and afterward sends to Node B ) from the remote transceiver in response to the message ( paragraph [0074] ). YAO does not disclose an uplink grant and wherein the CSI report includes at least one aperiodic CSI report triggered by a plurality of bits in the uplink grant than indicate whether the CSI report is determined from the static subframe, the flexible subframe, or both the static and flexible subframes. SONG discloses an uplink grant ( paragraphs [0040] and [0041] ) wherein the CSI report includes at least one aperiodic CSI report triggered by a plurality of bits in the uplink grant than indicate whether the CSI report ( paragraph [0041], see the bits ‘01’ or ‘11’ for flexible or static subframes ) is determined from the static subframe, the flexible subframe, or both the static and flexible subframes ( 401, 402, 403, 404 of FIG. 4; 501, 502, 503, 504 in FIG. 5 ). SONG teaches the benefit of more flexible scheduling for UE and base stations by using two types of subframes ( paragraph [0017] ). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the subframe types as taught by SONG in the method of YAO to produce an expected result. With respect to claim 20 , YAO further discloses wherein the static subframe is signaled by Radio Resource Control (RRC) ( paragraph [0049] ), and wherein the flexible subframe is signaled by a downlink control information (DCI) packet ( paragraph [0052] ). Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 12 and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely solely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Brian T O'Connor whose telephone number is (571)270-1081. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri Flex 10am-6:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Gary Mui can be reached at 571-270-1420. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /BRIAN T O CONNOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465 May 26, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/752,232 Page 2 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/752,232 Page 3 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/752,232 Page 4 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/752,232 Page 5 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/752,232 Page 6 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/752,232 Page 7 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/752,232 Page 8 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/752,232 Page 9 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/752,232 Page 10 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 18/752,232 Page 11 Art Unit: 2465