CTNF 18/752,233 CTNF 89842 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Amendment This is in response to an amendment/response/communication filed 6/24/2024. No claims have been cancelled. No claims have been added. Claims(s) 1-10 is/are currently pending. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS(s)) submitted on 6/24/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner. Reference designation for Non Patent Literature Documents citation #CA was incorrect as noted on the IDS dated 6/24/2024. The Examiner corrected the reference designation on the PTO-892. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Drawings 06-37 AIA The drawings were received on 6/24/2024 . These drawings are accepted . Specification 06-31 AIA The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The limitations, “receiver configured to…”, “controller configured to…” and “transmitter configured to… , are considered as well-known structural elements, therefore, 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is NOT invoked. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam et al. US 20230144052 in view of Zhang et al. US 20240163957 . As to claim 1: Islam et al. discloses: A communication apparatus comprising: a receiver configured to receive, from a base station, information for configuring a first initial downlink bandwidth part (BWP) and information for configuring a second initial downlink BWP; (“One aspect provides method for wireless communication by a network entity. The method may include determining one or more parameters to allow a user equipment (UE) to switch, during a random access channel (RACH) procedure, from a second bandwidth part (BWP) to a first BWP to monitor for synchronization signal blocks (SSBs). The method may include transmitting signaling, to the UE, configuring the UE with the one or more parameters.”; Islam et al.; 0006) (“Due to differences in capability, RedCap UEs (due to their low bandwidth capability) and conventional (e.g., non-RedCap or Legacy) UEs may be configured to operate in bandwidth parts (BWPs) with different features. The table 700 in FIG. 7 summarizes some of the different features. For example, a conventional, non-RedCap initial downlink (DL) BWP may contain SSBs, RACH common search space (CSS) and CORESET0. As illustrated in FIG. 7, a RedCap initial DL BWP may contain, for example, the RACH CSS, but may not contain SSBs, CORESETs (e.g., CORESET0, CORESET for paging), and/or system information blocks (SIB). In other cases, a RedCap UE may not contain the RACH CSS, but may contain CORESETs (e.g., CORESET0). Similarly, the RedCap non-initial DL BWP may not contain SSB or system information, and may be unable to access this information. Though operating without certain information may significantly reduce the complexity of a RedCap UE, a RedCap UE operating in these BWPs without access to information (e.g., SSBs) may not get the benefit of the information while operating on the BWP.”; Islam et al.; 0076) (“In general, a conventional RedCap UE is not be able to track SSBs from the time of an initial Msg1 transmission until the time the network configures the RedCap UE with an active BWP (that contains non-cell-defining SSB) via RRC signaling. As a result, a UE may not be able to receive and transmit messages properly during the RACH procedure.”; Islam et al.; 0080) (“As illustrated in these examples, a UE may be able to extend the allowable time gap between the failed second RACH message (e.g., an RAR) and the first retransmitted RACH message (e.g., a MSG1). In some cases, the timeline may be sufficient to allow the UE to attempt a number n of MSG1 (re)transmissions, without receiving an RAR, before switching to another BWP to monitor for an SSB. The UE may transmit a first message, and monitor for the second message. In response, a UE transmits the first message a second time. This process may repeat for n number of times. In response, the UE may switch back to monitor SSBs in a first BWP. The value of n can be configured by network and may be equal to 1. In some cases, the network may define a timer and UE will decide the value of n based on timer duration, RACH locations and RAR window durations.”; Islam et al.; 0095) (“If a UE cannot successfully receive MSG2 or MSG4 within the timer duration, the UE may be allowed to change BWP and measure SSBs during the measurement gap period. The timeline may be extended between different messages in the RedCap UE's RACH procedure so that the RedCap UE can switch BWP and measure SSBs. The extended time can be defined in a standard specification or configured by network. Extended time may indicate a measurement duration that will be initiated after the expiration of a timer.”; Islam et al.; 0104) (“According to certain aspects of the present disclosure, during the RACH procedure, at the end of time of a first-time instance, a UE may switch BWP, measure SSBs, and then return to the BWP containing RACH search space. A UE may decide to switch BWP based on the backoff period, location of RACH resources, SSB to RACH mapping, BWP switching time, SSB processing time and time stamp of last SSB measurement. A first time instance may refer to one or more combination of the end of RAR window, end of contention resolution window or a timer. The timer might be defined in the specification or configured by the network.”; Islam et al.; 0109) (“Clause 1: A method for wireless communication by a network entity, comprising determining one or more parameters to allow a user equipment (UE) to switch, during a random access channel (RACH) procedure, from a second BWP to a first BWP to monitor for synchronization signal blocks (SSBs), and transmitting signaling, to the UE, configuring the UE with the one or more parameters.”; Islam et al.; 0139) (“Clause 11: The method of any one of clauses 8 through 10, wherein the UE is configured by network regarding the number of first messages that it can transmit before switching to the first BWP.”; Islam et al.; 0149) (“Communications device 1800 includes a processing system 1802 coupled to a transceiver 1808 (e.g., a transmitter and/or a receiver). Transceiver 1808 is configured to transmit (or send) and receive signals for the communications device 1800 via an antenna 1810, such as the various signals as described herein. Processing system 1802 may be configured to perform processing functions for communications device 1800, including processing signals received and/or to be transmitted by communications device 1800.”; Islam et al.; 0119) (where See FIG. 2 and 18 for “receiver” See FIG. 2 for “base station” “network entity…one or more parameters…from a first bandwidth part (BWP)…transmitting signaling, to the UE, configuring the UE with the one or more parameters”/base station 102”/FIG. 2/”transceiver 1808 (e.g., a transmitter and/or a receiver). Transceiver 1808 is configured to transmit (or send) and receive signals for the communications device”/”UEs may be configured to operate in bandwidth parts (BWPs) with different features…non-RedCap initial DL BWP” maps to “a receiver configured to receive, from a base station, information for configuring a first initial downlink bandwidth part (BWP)” , where “transceiver 1808 (e.g….receiver)”/”transceivers 254a”/FIG. 2 maps to “receiver” , “configured to …receive” maps to “configured to receive” , “transmitting” maps to “receive” , “configuring the UE with the one or more parameters” maps to “information for configuring” , “first BWP”/”non-RedCap initial downlink (DL) BWP” maps to “first initial downlink bandwidth part (BWP)” “the network configures the RedCap UE with an active BWP (that contains non-cell-defining SSB) via RRC signaling”/”RedCap initial DL BWP may contain SSBs”/”a second bandwidth part (BWP)“/”UE is configured by network regarding the number of first messages that it can transmit before switching to the first BWP” maps to “and information for configuring a second initial downlink BWP” , where “number of first messages”/”contains non-cell-defining SSB” a controller configured to perform a random access procedure on the second initial downlink BWP; and (“User equipment 104 includes controller/processor 280, which may be configured to implement various functions related to wireless communications…”; Islam et al.; 0046) (where see FIG. 2 and FIG. 18 for “controller” “controller/processor 280, which may be configured” maps to “controller configured” “Switch to RedCap initial BWP for RACH”/FIG. 12 maps to “perform a random access procedure on the second initial downlink BWP” , where “RACH” maps to “perform a random access procedure” , “RedCap initial BWP”/”second BWP” maps to “second initial downlink BWP” a transmitter configured to transmit, to the base station, [a request] message for resuming an [radio resource control (RRC)] connection, wherein (“…Moreover, RACH may be used for downlink (DL) and/or uplink (UL) data arrival when the UE is in RRC idle or RRC inactive modes, and when reestablishing a connection with the network.”; Islam et al.; 0061) (where “transmitter …). Transceiver 1808 is configured to transmit” maps to “a transmitter configured to transmit” “MSG3”/FIG. 12/”reestablishing a connection”/”network”/”base station”/FIG. 2 maps to “transmit, to the base station, [a request] message for resuming an [radio resource control (RRC)] connection” , where “MSG3” maps to “message” , “reestablishing a connection” maps to “resuming an…connection” the controller is configured to: start a timer on a basis of the transmission of the [request] message for resuming the [RRC] connection; and (“In other words, in some cases, the UE may retransmit (e.g., MSG1 or MSG3) multiple times without switching BWP. If those retransmissions do not succeed, a UE may switch BWP and measure multiple SSB periods for a longer time. In some cases, the network can define a timer and measurement gap period (e.g., through a standard specification or SIB signaling). If the UE does not successfully receive Msg2 or Msg4 within the timer duration, UE will be allowed to change BWP and measure SSBs during the measurement gap period.”; Islam et al.; 0090) (“The timer starts when the UE first transmits a PRACH message. The timer expires when UE cannot decode random access response or contention resolution within a certain period. The UE may switch BWP, measure SSBs, and come back to the BWP containing RACH search space during the measurement duration.”; Islam et al.; 0105) (where “controller/processor 280, which may be configured” maps to “controller configured” “may retransmit (e.g., …or MSG3) multiple times … the network can define a timer … (e.g., through a standard specification or SIB signaling). If the UE does not successfully receive … or Msg4 within the timer duration”/”The timer starts when the UE first transmits a PRACH message”/“reestablishing a connection” maps to “start a timer on a basis of the transmission of the [request] message for resuming the [RRC] connection” , where “timer starts” maps to “start a timer” , “when the UE first transmits” maps to “on a bases of the transmission of the…message” , “reestablishing connection” maps to “resuming the…connection” control to operate on the first initial downlink BWP on which a cell defining-synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (CD-SSB) is transmitted, … (“…If the RedCap UE cannot complete RACH procedures after performing functions discussed above within a pre-configured timer (hard coded in specification, or indicated by SIB1), the RedCap UE may switch BWP and measure CD-SSB. This procedure can be applied when RedCap UE cannot decode MSG2 or MSG4.”; Islam et al.; 0103) (where “If the RedCap UE cannot complete RACH procedures after performing functions discussed above within a pre-configured timer (hard coded in specification, or indicated by SIB1), the RedCap UE may switch BWP and measure CD-SSB”/”Switch Back to Non-RedCap initial BWP to monitor SSB”/FIG. 12/”first bandwidth part (BWP)” maps to “control to operate on the first initial downlink BWP on which a cell defining-synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (CD-SSB) is transmitted” , where “switch” maps to “control to operate on” , Non-RedCap initial BWP”/”first bandwidth part (BWP)” maps to “first initial downlink BWP” , “CD-SSB” maps to “on which a cell defining-synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (CD-SSB) is transmitted” Islam et al. teaches base station of a network configuring a UE with a Non-RedCap initial BWP for SSB reception and a RedCap initial BWP for performing RACH procedure, where a MSG3 is considered as being operable to transmit a messages associated with reestablishing a connection, where a timer is started when the message is transmitted and where the UE switches back to the Non-RedCap initial BWP to monitor for a SSB if the timer expires. Islam et al. as described above does not explicitly teach: a request message for [resuming] an radio resource control (RRC) [connection] in a case where an RRC layer receives an integrity check failure indication for indicating a failure of an integrity check from a lower layer while the timer is running. However, Zhang et al. further teaches a request/integrity check capability which includes: a request message for [resuming] an radio resource control (RRC) [connection] (“In a possible implementation, the RRC connection resume procedure that is for the SDT includes: The terminal sends the RRC request message to the network device in a random access procedure. The indicating, by a lower layer, first information to an upper layer includes: A medium access control MAC layer indicates the first information to an RRC layer, where the first information indicates that contention resolution succeeds. The stopping the first timer based on the first information includes: The RRC layer stops the first timer after receiving the first information indicated by the MAC layer.”; Zhang et al.; 0052) (where “the RRC connection resume procedure that is for the SDT includes: The terminal sends the RRC request message to the network device in a random access procedure” maps to “a request message for [resuming] an radio resource control (RRC) [connection]” in a case where an RRC layer receives an integrity check failure indication for indicating a failure of an integrity check from a lower layer while the timer is running. (“In some embodiments, when the first timer runs, the integrity check of the terminal fails. In some embodiments, that the integrity check of the terminal fails is: An RRC layer of the terminal receives an integrity check failure indicated by a bottom layer of the RRC layer, where the bottom layer of the RRC layer is, for example, a PDCP layer.”; Zhang et al.; 0420) (“In some embodiments, after the integrity check of the terminal fails, the terminal is in RRC INACTIVE state. In some embodiments, when the terminal is in RRC INACTIVE state, the terminal initiates, to a network device, an RRC connection resume procedure that is for SDT, and starts the first timer. After the integrity check of the terminal fails when the first timer runs, the terminal is still in RRC INACTIVE state.”; Zhang et al.; 0421) (“In some embodiments, the UE may obtain an RA configuration of a current cell from the system information broadcast by the base station. For example, the configuration includes an available random access preamble and an RA resource for sending the random access preamble. For example, the RA resource for sending the random access preamble is a time-frequency resource used by the UE to send the random access preamble, and may also be referred to as a random access channel(s) occasion (RO). In some embodiments, the RA may include four-step random access (4-step RA) and two-step random access (2-step RA). The base station may broadcast, in the system message, an RA configuration corresponding to the 4-step RA and an RA configuration corresponding to the 2-step RA, or may broadcast, in the system message, only an RA configuration corresponding to the 4-step RA, or may broadcast, in the system message, only an RA configuration corresponding to the 2-step RA.”; Zhang et al.; 0125) (“In some embodiments, the base station may broadcast, in the system message, the RA configuration corresponding to the 4-step RA and the RA configuration corresponding to the 2-step RA. When the UE is not configured with a contention free random access (CFRA) resource, the UE may determine, based on relative values of currently measured reference signal received power (RSRP) and a preset RSRP threshold, to initiate the 4-step RA or the 2-step RA. For example, when the currently measured RSRP is greater than or equal to the preset RSRP threshold, the UE may initiate the 2-step RA. When the currently measured RSRP is less than the preset RSRP threshold, the UE may initiate the 4-step RA.”; Zhang et al.; 0126) (where “when the first timer runs, the integrity check of the terminal fails. In some embodiments, that the integrity check of the terminal fails is: An RRC layer of the terminal receives an integrity check failure indicated by a bottom layer of the RRC layer, where the bottom layer of the RRC layer is, for example, a PDCP layer” maps to “in a case where an RRC layer receives an integrity check failure indication for indicating a failure of an integrity check from a lower layer while the timer is running” , where “when” maps to “in a case” , “RRC layer of the terminal receives an integrity check failure indicated by a bottom layer of the RRC layer, where the bottom layer of the RRC layer is, for example, a PDCP layer” maps to “where an RRC layer receives an integrity check failure indication for indicating a failure of an integrity check from a lower layer” , where “when the first timer runs” maps to “while the timer is running” Where determining whether to initiate a 4-step RA or the 2-step RA based on RSRP is considered as analogous to Islam’s switching BWP since the 4-step RA/2-step RA use different resources (see FIG. 5 and FIG. 7) which maps to “control to operate on the first initial downlink BWP” . The reference signal associated with determining RSRP for a current cell is considered as analogous to Islam’s “CD-SSB” which maps to “CD-SSB” . Zhang et al. teaches a terminal sending an RRC request message to a network device in a random access procedure and teaches an integrity check failure while a timer is running where an integrity check failure is communicated between a lower PDCP layer and a RRC layer. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the request/integrity check capability of Zhang et al. into Islam et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Islam et al. to include the request/integrity check capability as taught by the processing/communications of Zhang et al., the benefits of improved RACH (Islam et al.; 0002) with improved RRC connection resume (Zhang et al; Abstract) are achieved. As to claim 2: Islam et al. discloses: A communication apparatus, wherein the controller is configured to control to operate on the first initial downlink BWP in a case where the CD-SSB is not transmitted on the second initial downlink BWP. (see FIG. 7) As to claim 4: Islam et al. discloses: A communication apparatus, wherein the information for configuring the first initial downlink BWP and the information for configuring the second initial downlink BWP are included in system information. (“As illustrated in these examples, a UE may be able to extend the allowable time gap between the failed second RACH message (e.g., an RAR) and the first retransmitted RACH message (e.g., a MSG1). In some cases, the timeline may be sufficient to allow the UE to attempt a number n of MSG1 (re)transmissions, without receiving an RAR, before switching to another BWP to monitor for an SSB. The UE may transmit a first message, and monitor for the second message. In response, a UE transmits the first message a second time. This process may repeat for n number of times. In response, the UE may switch back to monitor SSBs in a first BWP. The value of n can be configured by network and may be equal to 1. In some cases, the network may define a timer and UE will decide the value of n based on timer duration, RACH locations and RAR window durations.”; Islam et al.; 0095) (“A network may define a timer and measurement gap period through specification or signal information block (SIB) signaling. For example, before the RedCap UE switches to its initial BWP for RACH (assuming no SSB is transmitted in the RedCap-specific initial DL BWP), the UE may keep a record of multiple SSB candidates and the associated PRACH resources. If the RedCap UE selects PRACH resources associated with beam A for RACH, but fails to receive MSG2 (or msgB) after N attempts of power ramping (or has reached P_{c, max} of an open loop power control (OLPC) parameter set, a RedCap UE may select the physical RACH (PRACH) resources associated with beam B to re-attempt RACH (without switching to the BWP with cell-defining SSB (CD-SSB) for additional SSB sampling). If the RedCap UE cannot complete RACH procedures after performing functions discussed above within a pre-configured timer (hard coded in specification, or indicated by SIB1), the RedCap UE may switch BWP and measure CD-SSB. This procedure can be applied when RedCap UE cannot decode MSG2 or MSG4.”; Islam et al.; 0103) As to claim 5: Islam et al. discloses: A communication apparatus, wherein the communication apparatus is in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state. (“A random-access channel (RACH) is so named because it refers to a wireless channel (medium) that may be shared by multiple UEs and used by the UEs to (randomly) access the network for communications. For example, the RACH may be used for call setup and to access the network for data transmissions. In some cases, RACH may be used for initial access to a network when the UE switches from a radio resource control (RRC) connected idle mode to active mode, or when handing over in RRC connected mode. Moreover, RACH may be used for downlink (DL) and/or uplink (UL) data arrival when the UE is in RRC idle or RRC inactive modes, and when reestablishing a connection with the network.”; Islam et al.; 0061) As to claim 6: Islam et al. discloses: A communication method performed by a communication apparatus, the communication method comprising the steps of: receiving, from a base station, information for configuring a first initial downlink bandwidth part (BWP) and information for configuring a second initial downlink BWP; (“One aspect provides method for wireless communication by a network entity. The method may include determining one or more parameters to allow a user equipment (UE) to switch, during a random access channel (RACH) procedure, from a second bandwidth part (BWP) to a first BWP to monitor for synchronization signal blocks (SSBs). The method may include transmitting signaling, to the UE, configuring the UE with the one or more parameters.”; Islam et al.; 0006) (“Due to differences in capability, RedCap UEs (due to their low bandwidth capability) and conventional (e.g., non-RedCap or Legacy) UEs may be configured to operate in bandwidth parts (BWPs) with different features. The table 700 in FIG. 7 summarizes some of the different features. For example, a conventional, non-RedCap initial downlink (DL) BWP may contain SSBs, RACH common search space (CSS) and CORESET0. As illustrated in FIG. 7, a RedCap initial DL BWP may contain, for example, the RACH CSS, but may not contain SSBs, CORESETs (e.g., CORESET0, CORESET for paging), and/or system information blocks (SIB). In other cases, a RedCap UE may not contain the RACH CSS, but may contain CORESETs (e.g., CORESET0). Similarly, the RedCap non-initial DL BWP may not contain SSB or system information, and may be unable to access this information. Though operating without certain information may significantly reduce the complexity of a RedCap UE, a RedCap UE operating in these BWPs without access to information (e.g., SSBs) may not get the benefit of the information while operating on the BWP.”; Islam et al.; 0076) (“In general, a conventional RedCap UE is not be able to track SSBs from the time of an initial Msg1 transmission until the time the network configures the RedCap UE with an active BWP (that contains non-cell-defining SSB) via RRC signaling. As a result, a UE may not be able to receive and transmit messages properly during the RACH procedure.”; Islam et al.; 0080) (“As illustrated in these examples, a UE may be able to extend the allowable time gap between the failed second RACH message (e.g., an RAR) and the first retransmitted RACH message (e.g., a MSG1). In some cases, the timeline may be sufficient to allow the UE to attempt a number n of MSG1 (re)transmissions, without receiving an RAR, before switching to another BWP to monitor for an SSB. The UE may transmit a first message, and monitor for the second message. In response, a UE transmits the first message a second time. This process may repeat for n number of times. In response, the UE may switch back to monitor SSBs in a first BWP. The value of n can be configured by network and may be equal to 1. In some cases, the network may define a timer and UE will decide the value of n based on timer duration, RACH locations and RAR window durations.”; Islam et al.; 0095) (“If a UE cannot successfully receive MSG2 or MSG4 within the timer duration, the UE may be allowed to change BWP and measure SSBs during the measurement gap period. The timeline may be extended between different messages in the RedCap UE's RACH procedure so that the RedCap UE can switch BWP and measure SSBs. The extended time can be defined in a standard specification or configured by network. Extended time may indicate a measurement duration that will be initiated after the expiration of a timer.”; Islam et al.; 0104) (“According to certain aspects of the present disclosure, during the RACH procedure, at the end of time of a first-time instance, a UE may switch BWP, measure SSBs, and then return to the BWP containing RACH search space. A UE may decide to switch BWP based on the backoff period, location of RACH resources, SSB to RACH mapping, BWP switching time, SSB processing time and time stamp of last SSB measurement. A first time instance may refer to one or more combination of the end of RAR window, end of contention resolution window or a timer. The timer might be defined in the specification or configured by the network.”; Islam et al.; 0109) (“Clause 1: A method for wireless communication by a network entity, comprising determining one or more parameters to allow a user equipment (UE) to switch, during a random access channel (RACH) procedure, from a second BWP to a first BWP to monitor for synchronization signal blocks (SSBs), and transmitting signaling, to the UE, configuring the UE with the one or more parameters.”; Islam et al.; 0139) (“Clause 11: The method of any one of clauses 8 through 10, wherein the UE is configured by network regarding the number of first messages that it can transmit before switching to the first BWP.”; Islam et al.; 0149) (“Communications device 1800 includes a processing system 1802 coupled to a transceiver 1808 (e.g., a transmitter and/or a receiver). Transceiver 1808 is configured to transmit (or send) and receive signals for the communications device 1800 via an antenna 1810, such as the various signals as described herein. Processing system 1802 may be configured to perform processing functions for communications device 1800, including processing signals received and/or to be transmitted by communications device 1800.”; Islam et al.; 0119) (where See FIG. 2 and 18 for “receiver” See FIG. 2 for “base station” “network entity…one or more parameters…from a first bandwidth part (BWP)…transmitting signaling, to the UE, configuring the UE with the one or more parameters”/base station 102”/FIG. 2/”transceiver 1808 (e.g., a transmitter and/or a receiver). Transceiver 1808 is configured to transmit (or send) and receive signals for the communications device”/”UEs may be configured to operate in bandwidth parts (BWPs) with different features…non-RedCap initial DL BWP” maps to “a receiver configured to receive, from a base station, information for configuring a first initial downlink bandwidth part (BWP)” , where “transceiver 1808 (e.g….receiver)”/”transceivers 254a”/FIG. 2 maps to “receiver” , “configured to …receive” maps to “configured to receive” , “transmitting” maps to “receive” , “configuring the UE with the one or more parameters” maps to “information for configuring” , “first BWP”/”non-RedCap initial downlink (DL) BWP” maps to “first initial downlink bandwidth part (BWP)” “the network configures the RedCap UE with an active BWP (that contains non-cell-defining SSB) via RRC signaling”/”RedCap initial DL BWP may contain SSBs”/”a second bandwidth part (BWP)“/”UE is configured by network regarding the number of first messages that it can transmit before switching to the first BWP” maps to “and information for configuring a second initial downlink BWP” , where “number of first messages”/”contains non-cell-defining SSB” perform a random access procedure on the second initial downlink BWP; and (“User equipment 104 includes controller/processor 280, which may be configured to implement various functions related to wireless communications…”; Islam et al.; 0046) (where see FIG. 2 and FIG. 18 for “controller” “controller/processor 280, which may be configured” maps to “controller configured” “Switch to RedCap initial BWP for RACH”/FIG. 12 maps to “perform a random access procedure on the second initial downlink BWP” , where “RACH” maps to “perform a random access procedure” , “RedCap initial BWP”/”second BWP” maps to “second initial downlink BWP” transmit, to the base station, [a request] message for resuming an [radio resource control (RRC)] connection, wherein (“…Moreover, RACH may be used for downlink (DL) and/or uplink (UL) data arrival when the UE is in RRC idle or RRC inactive modes, and when reestablishing a connection with the network.”; Islam et al.; 0061) (where “transmitter …). Transceiver 1808 is configured to transmit” maps to “a transmitter configured to transmit” “MSG3”/FIG. 12/”reestablishing a connection”/”network”/”base station”/FIG. 2 maps to “transmit, to the base station, [a request] message for resuming an [radio resource control (RRC)] connection” , where “MSG3” maps to “message” , “reestablishing a connection” maps to “resuming an…connection” start a timer on a basis of the transmission of the [request] message for resuming the [RRC] connection; and (“In other words, in some cases, the UE may retransmit (e.g., MSG1 or MSG3) multiple times without switching BWP. If those retransmissions do not succeed, a UE may switch BWP and measure multiple SSB periods for a longer time. In some cases, the network can define a timer and measurement gap period (e.g., through a standard specification or SIB signaling). If the UE does not successfully receive Msg2 or Msg4 within the timer duration, UE will be allowed to change BWP and measure SSBs during the measurement gap period.”; Islam et al.; 0090) (“The timer starts when the UE first transmits a PRACH message. The timer expires when UE cannot decode random access response or contention resolution within a certain period. The UE may switch BWP, measure SSBs, and come back to the BWP containing RACH search space during the measurement duration.”; Islam et al.; 0105) (where “controller/processor 280, which may be configured” maps to “controller configured” “may retransmit (e.g., …or MSG3) multiple times … the network can define a timer … (e.g., through a standard specification or SIB signaling). If the UE does not successfully receive … or Msg4 within the timer duration”/”The timer starts when the UE first transmits a PRACH message”/“reestablishing a connection” maps to “start a timer on a basis of the transmission of the [request] message for resuming the [RRC] connection” , where “timer starts” maps to “start a timer” , “when the UE first transmits” maps to “on a bases of the transmission of the…message” , “reestablishing connection” maps to “resuming the…connection” control to operate on the first initial downlink BWP on which a cell defining-synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (CD-SSB) is transmitted, … (“…If the RedCap UE cannot complete RACH procedures after performing functions discussed above within a pre-configured timer (hard coded in specification, or indicated by SIB1), the RedCap UE may switch BWP and measure CD-SSB. This procedure can be applied when RedCap UE cannot decode MSG2 or MSG4.”; Islam et al.; 0103) (where “If the RedCap UE cannot complete RACH procedures after performing functions discussed above within a pre-configured timer (hard coded in specification, or indicated by SIB1), the RedCap UE may switch BWP and measure CD-SSB”/”Switch Back to Non-RedCap initial BWP to monitor SSB”/FIG. 12/”first bandwidth part (BWP)” maps to “control to operate on the first initial downlink BWP on which a cell defining-synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (CD-SSB) is transmitted” , where “switch” maps to “control to operate on” , Non-RedCap initial BWP”/”first bandwidth part (BWP)” maps to “first initial downlink BWP” , “CD-SSB” maps to “on which a cell defining-synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (CD-SSB) is transmitted” Islam et al. teaches base station of a network configuring a UE with a Non-RedCap initial BWP for SSB reception and a RedCap initial BWP for performing RACH procedure, where a MSG3 is considered as being operable to transmit a messages associated with reestablishing a connection, where a timer is started when the message is transmitted and where the UE switches back to the Non-RedCap initial BWP to monitor for a SSB if the timer expires. Islam et al. as described above does not explicitly teach: a request message for [resuming] an radio resource control (RRC) [connection] in a case where an RRC layer receives an integrity check failure indication for indicating a failure of an integrity check from a lower layer while the timer is running. However, Zhang et al. further teaches a request/integrity check capability which includes: a request message for [resuming] an radio resource control (RRC) [connection] (“In a possible implementation, the RRC connection resume procedure that is for the SDT includes: The terminal sends the RRC request message to the network device in a random access procedure. The indicating, by a lower layer, first information to an upper layer includes: A medium access control MAC layer indicates the first information to an RRC layer, where the first information indicates that contention resolution succeeds. The stopping the first timer based on the first information includes: The RRC layer stops the first timer after receiving the first information indicated by the MAC layer.”; Zhang et al.; 0052) (where “the RRC connection resume procedure that is for the SDT includes: The terminal sends the RRC request message to the network device in a random access procedure” maps to “a request message for [resuming] an radio resource control (RRC) [connection]” in a case where an RRC layer receives an integrity check failure indication for indicating a failure of an integrity check from a lower layer while the timer is running. (“In some embodiments, when the first timer runs, the integrity check of the terminal fails. In some embodiments, that the integrity check of the terminal fails is: An RRC layer of the terminal receives an integrity check failure indicated by a bottom layer of the RRC layer, where the bottom layer of the RRC layer is, for example, a PDCP layer.”; Zhang et al.; 0420) (“In some embodiments, after the integrity check of the terminal fails, the terminal is in RRC INACTIVE state. In some embodiments, when the terminal is in RRC INACTIVE state, the terminal initiates, to a network device, an RRC connection resume procedure that is for SDT, and starts the first timer. After the integrity check of the terminal fails when the first timer runs, the terminal is still in RRC INACTIVE state.”; Zhang et al.; 0421) (“In some embodiments, the UE may obtain an RA configuration of a current cell from the system information broadcast by the base station. For example, the configuration includes an available random access preamble and an RA resource for sending the random access preamble. For example, the RA resource for sending the random access preamble is a time-frequency resource used by the UE to send the random access preamble, and may also be referred to as a random access channel(s) occasion (RO). In some embodiments, the RA may include four-step random access (4-step RA) and two-step random access (2-step RA). The base station may broadcast, in the system message, an RA configuration corresponding to the 4-step RA and an RA configuration corresponding to the 2-step RA, or may broadcast, in the system message, only an RA configuration corresponding to the 4-step RA, or may broadcast, in the system message, only an RA configuration corresponding to the 2-step RA.”; Zhang et al.; 0125) (“In some embodiments, the base station may broadcast, in the system message, the RA configuration corresponding to the 4-step RA and the RA configuration corresponding to the 2-step RA. When the UE is not configured with a contention free random access (CFRA) resource, the UE may determine, based on relative values of currently measured reference signal received power (RSRP) and a preset RSRP threshold, to initiate the 4-step RA or the 2-step RA. For example, when the currently measured RSRP is greater than or equal to the preset RSRP threshold, the UE may initiate the 2-step RA. When the currently measured RSRP is less than the preset RSRP threshold, the UE may initiate the 4-step RA.”; Zhang et al.; 0126) (where “when the first timer runs, the integrity check of the terminal fails. In some embodiments, that the integrity check of the terminal fails is: An RRC layer of the terminal receives an integrity check failure indicated by a bottom layer of the RRC layer, where the bottom layer of the RRC layer is, for example, a PDCP layer” maps to “in a case where an RRC layer receives an integrity check failure indication for indicating a failure of an integrity check from a lower layer while the timer is running” , where “when” maps to “in a case” , “RRC layer of the terminal receives an integrity check failure indicated by a bottom layer of the RRC layer, where the bottom layer of the RRC layer is, for example, a PDCP layer” maps to “where an RRC layer receives an integrity check failure indication for indicating a failure of an integrity check from a lower layer” , where “when the first timer runs” maps to “while the timer is running” Where determining whether to initiate a 4-step RA or the 2-step RA based on RSRP is considered as analogous to Islam’s switching BWP since the 4-step RA/2-step RA use different resources (see FIG. 5 and FIG. 7) which maps to “control to operate on the first initial downlink BWP” . The reference signal associated with determining RSRP for a current cell is considered as analogous to Islam’s “CD-SSB” which maps to “CD-SSB” . Zhang et al. teaches a terminal sending an RRC request message to a network device in a random access procedure and teaches an integrity check failure while a timer is running where an integrity check failure is communicated between a lower PDCP layer and a RRC layer. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the request/integrity check capability of Zhang et al. into Islam et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Islam et al. to include the request/integrity check capability as taught by the processing/communications of Zhang et al., the benefits of improved RACH (Islam et al.; 0002) with improved RRC connection resume (Zhang et al; Abstract) are achieved. As to claim 7: Islam et al. discloses: A communication apparatus, wherein the controller is configured to control to operate on the first initial downlink BWP in a case where the CD-SSB is not transmitted on the second initial downlink BWP. (see FIG. 7) As to claim 9: Islam et al. discloses: A communication apparatus, wherein the information for configuring the first initial downlink BWP and the information for configuring the second initial downlink BWP are included in system information. (“As illustrated in these examples, a UE may be able to extend the allowable time gap between the failed second RACH message (e.g., an RAR) and the first retransmitted RACH message (e.g., a MSG1). In some cases, the timeline may be sufficient to allow the UE to attempt a number n of MSG1 (re)transmissions, without receiving an RAR, before switching to another BWP to monitor for an SSB. The UE may transmit a first message, and monitor for the second message. In response, a UE transmits the first message a second time. This process may repeat for n number of times. In response, the UE may switch back to monitor SSBs in a first BWP. The value of n can be configured by network and may be equal to 1. In some cases, the network may define a timer and UE will decide the value of n based on timer duration, RACH locations and RAR window durations.”; Islam et al.; 0095) (“A network may define a timer and measurement gap period through specification or signal information block (SIB) signaling. For example, before the RedCap UE switches to its initial BWP for RACH (assuming no SSB is transmitted in the RedCap-specific initial DL BWP), the UE may keep a record of multiple SSB candidates and the associated PRACH resources. If the RedCap UE selects PRACH resources associated with beam A for RACH, but fails to receive MSG2 (or msgB) after N attempts of power ramping (or has reached P_{c, max} of an open loop power control (OLPC) parameter set, a RedCap UE may select the physical RACH (PRACH) resources associated with beam B to re-attempt RACH (without switching to the BWP with cell-defining SSB (CD-SSB) for additional SSB sampling). If the RedCap UE cannot complete RACH procedures after performing functions discussed above within a pre-configured timer (hard coded in specification, or indicated by SIB1), the RedCap UE may switch BWP and measure CD-SSB. This procedure can be applied when RedCap UE cannot decode MSG2 or MSG4.”; Islam et al.; 0103) As to claim 10: Islam et al. discloses: A communication apparatus, wherein the communication apparatus is in an RRC idle state or an RRC inactive state. (“A random-access channel (RACH) is so named because it refers to a wireless channel (medium) that may be shared by multiple UEs and used by the UEs to (randomly) access the network for communications. For example, the RACH may be used for call setup and to access the network for data transmissions. In some cases, RACH may be used for initial access to a network when the UE switches from a radio resource control (RRC) connected idle mode to active mode, or when handing over in RRC connected mode. Moreover, RACH may be used for downlink (DL) and/or uplink (UL) data arrival when the UE is in RRC idle or RRC inactive modes, and when reestablishing a connection with the network.”; Islam et al.; 0061) 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam et al. US 20230144052 in view of Zhang et al. US 20240163957 and in further view of Zhang et al., “Communication Method and Apparatus”, 2023-04-06, WO, WO 2023051442 (citations are from English translation, hereinafter, “Zhang2”) . As to claim 3: Islam et al. as described above does not explicitly teach: the controller is configured to control to perform at least one of monitoring of downlink control information for a paging… However, Zhang2 further teaches a paging capability which includes: the controller is configured to control to perform at least one of monitoring of downlink control information for a paging… (“S410. The network device sends first configuration information to the first terminal, where the first configuration information is used to configure a paging search space set in the first BWP and in the second BWP, and the paging search space set is used for the first terminal to monitor paging PDCCH, to monitor short message information or monitor whether the first terminal is paged. Correspondingly, the first terminal receives the first configuration information.”; Zhang2, p.30, middle of page) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the paging capability of Zhang2 into Islam et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Islam et al. to include the paging capability as taught by the processing/communications of Zhang2, the benefits of improved RACH (Islam et al.; 0002) with improved paging (Zhang2; Abstract) are achieved. As to claim 8: Islam et al. as described above does not explicitly teach: the controller is configured to control to perform at least one of monitoring of downlink control information for a paging… However, Zhang2 further teaches a paging capability which includes: the controller is configured to control to perform at least one of monitoring of downlink control information for a paging… (“S410. The network device sends first configuration information to the first terminal, where the first configuration information is used to configure a paging search space set in the first BWP and in the second BWP, and the paging search space set is used for the first terminal to monitor paging PDCCH, to monitor short message information or monitor whether the first terminal is paged. Correspondingly, the first terminal receives the first configuration information.”; Zhang2, p.30, middle of page) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the paging capability of Zhang2 into Islam et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Islam et al. to include the paging capability as taught by the processing/communications of Zhang2, the benefits of improved RACH (Islam et al.; 0002) with improved paging (Zhang2; Abstract) are achieved . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : US 20230072763 – teaches a radio link failure associated with physical, MAC, etc. with RRC (see para. 0090). US 20220361279 – teaches sending a SDT procedure failure from a MAC layer to an RRC layer (see para. 0025). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL K PHILLIPS whose telephone number is (571)272-1037. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8am-10am, 1pm-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ricky Ngo can be reached on 571-272-3139. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. MICHAEL K. PHILLIPS Examiner Art Unit 2464 /MICHAEL K PHILLIPS/Examiner, Art Unit 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/752,233 Page 2 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/752,233 Page 3 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/752,233 Page 4 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/752,233 Page 5 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/752,233 Page 6 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/752,233 Page 7 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/752,233 Page 8 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/752,233 Page 9 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/752,233 Page 10 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/752,233 Page 11 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/752,233 Page 12 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/752,233 Page 13 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/752,233 Page 14 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/752,233 Page 15 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/752,233 Page 16 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/752,233 Page 17 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/752,233 Page 18 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/752,233 Page 19 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/752,233 Page 20 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/752,233 Page 21 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/752,233 Page 22 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/752,233 Page 23 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/752,233 Page 24 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/752,233 Page 25 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/752,233 Page 26 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/752,233 Page 27 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/752,233 Page 28 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/752,233 Page 29 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/752,233 Page 30 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/752,233 Page 31 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/752,233 Page 32 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/752,233 Page 33 Art Unit: 2464