DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
2 This instant Office Action is in response to Amendment filed on 6/17/2026.
3. This Office Action is made Final necessitated by amendment.
4. Claims 3, 7-10, 13, 17-20 are currently cancelled
5. Claims 1-2, 4-6, 11-12, and 14-16 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 6/17/2026 have been fully considered but not considered to be persuasive and not commensurate in scope with the claims.
Applicant argues in summary that the prior art WU et al. US 2023/0096178 hereafter Wu fails to disclose the subject matter as recited in amended claims claim 1 and 11 in particular the amended limitations “wherein configuration of the sidelink PRS resource pool is independent of configuration of a sidelink communication resource pool, wherein the sidelink PRS resource pool and the sidelink communication resource pool are configured respectively via different configuration signaling”
Furthermore, Applicant remarks that Wu discloses that an SL-PRS resource pool may be different from a sidelink communication resource pool and may be configured in different bandwidth parts; and Wu's disclosure of an SL-PRS resource reservation message is used to reserve transmission resources within an already configured SL-PRS resource pool…but it does not imply that the two resource pools are configured independently or through different signaling.
Examiner Response:
Applicant's argument/remarks with respect to the pending claims have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive for at least the following reasons. The Examiner first emphasizes for the record that the argued claims employ a broader in scope than the Applicant's disclosure in all aspects. In addition, the Applicant has not amended the claims significantly enough to construe a narrower meaning to the limitations. Since the claims breadth allows multiple interpretations and meanings, the Examiner is required to interpret the claim limitations in terms of their broadest reasonable interpretations while determining patentability of the disclosed invention and the interpretation that those skilled in the art would reach. See MPEP 2111.
Regarding the Applicant's argument of the limitations “wherein configuration of the sidelink PRS resource pool is independent of configuration of a sidelink communication resource pool, wherein the sidelink PRS resource pool and the sidelink communication resource pool are configured respectively via different configuration signaling” the prior art, WU explicitly and implicitly teaches the argued limitations.
For example, WU states that in 5G NR sidelink communication utilize transmission/reception resource pools, and a radio resource control (RRC) configuration of the resource pools by sidelink standards/specifications configured by a base station (Section 0071); In addition, base station allocate resources to sidelink devices (UEs) for sidelink communication via DCI (Section 0072), The SL communication resource pool is distinct (i.e. different/separate/independent) from the SL-PRS resource pool, resources dedicated for the SL communication resource pool and dedicated SL-PRS resource pool- configured by a network and predefined (Section 0096); A MAC control element (MAC CE) configured SL-PRS processes (Section 0116); and While aspects and examples are described in this application to some examples, those skilled in the art will understand that additional implementations and use cases may come about in many different arrangements and scenarios implemented across many differing platform types, devices, systems, shapes, sizes (see Section 0024).
Based on the above citations in Wu, it is clearly evident that there is an implicit and explicit different configurations of SL-PRS resource pool and sidelink communication resource pool configured by the network/base station. Additionally, per 5G sidelink standards and specification, the resource pools are configured through different configurations for example SL-PRS resource pool can be configured through MAC CE signal, and sidelink communication resource pool configured through RRC or DCI configuration signal. Lastly, Wu specifically state the words “ distinct and different” which can be interpreted to mean independent or separate process.
Moreover, Applicant remarks are very conflicting because while Applicant admits that WU discloses the configured SL-PRS resources and that SL-PRS resource pool may be different from a sidelink communication resource pool; Applicant also argues that Wu doesn’t teach said limitation, and that the term different does not mean independent or separate. Yet, the term “configured” to those skilled in the art relates to configuration. It is evident through Applicant’s remarks, that they admit that Wu discloses the SL-PRS resource pool is different from a sidelink communication resource pool, and that the SL-PRS resource pool is configured. The term, Configured means implicitly and explicitly the configuration of a terminal/UE by network device/base station as known to those skilled in the art. Also, it is imperative to point out that resource reservation is part of the normal operations in a wireless communication system. Per WU the resource pool includes resources that may be reserved but not all the resources are reserved (see 0096). Furthermore, the recited claims do not preclude a “resource reservation” method.
Additionally, it is known to those skilled in the art that the term "different" is defined as being distinct or separate; and the term independent is synonymous to the words separate or distinct. In other words, different means independent, distinct, not the same, or separate. Therefore, given the plain and ordinary meaning of the term "different,” one skilled in the art can interpret “different” to be distinct, independent, or separate; and the term “configured” implies configuration (see MPEP 2111.01); and the argued claimed limitations do not preclude certain technical terms known to those skilled in the art that are equivalent functions of the claimed subject matter. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999).
In summary, the argued prior art, Wu, explicitly and implicitly anticipates the argued claim limitation and subject matter. The claimed functionality of Wu is similar to that of Applicant’s in particular the elements claimed are well-understood, routine, conventional activities or elements to those in the relevant in the field. See MPEP 2106.05. It is generally considered to be within the ordinary skill in the art to recreate Applicant's argued claimed subject matter without modifying the general routine operation of base stations and UEs operating under sidelink communication technology per 5G standards/specification. Therefore, the argument is not commensurate in scope with the claim, and the argument is not considered to be persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 11-12, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wu et al. US 20230096178 hereafter Wu.
As to Claim 1. (Currently Amended) Wu discloses a method for sidelink communication, comprising [Section 0001: The technology discussed below relates to wireless communication networks more particularly, to techniques for sidelink positioning reference signal (PRS) transmission]:
configuring sidelink positioning reference signal (PRS)-related [i.e. SL-PRS or sidelink PRS] information [Fig. 7 (Depicts MAC Control Element configuration for SL-PRS process, see 0015), Sections 0023, 0096, 0116: The positioning signals may be sidelink (SL) positioning reference signals (PRS); and the SL-PRS resource pool and the SL communication resource pool configured in two different bandwidth parts (BWPs). Dedicated SL-PRS resource pool-512a-c configured by a network and predefined. A MAC control element (MAC CE) configured for SL-PRS processes];
wherein the sidelink PRS-related information comprises a sidelink PRS resource pool;
[Sections 0091, 0102, 0112: SL-PRS includes resource pools. When transmitting the SL-PRS in resources within the SL-PRS resource pool, the SL-PRS may be sent as a standalone signal. A SL-PRS time resource location may be a parameter used to indicate the SL-PRS time resource location within the SL-PRS resource pool];
wherein configuration [i.e. MACE CE signal] of the sidelink PRS resource pool is independent of configuration [i.e. RRC configuration or DCI signal] of a sidelink communication resource pool, wherein the sidelink PRS resource pool and the sidelink communication resource pool are configured respectively via different configuration
signaling [Fig. 5 (Diagram for separate SL Communication Resource Pool-510 and SL-PRS Resource Pool-512, see 0013), Fig. 7 (Depicts MAC Control Element configuration for SL-PRS process, see 0015), Sections 0071-0072, 0096, 0116: In 5G NR sidelink communication utilize transmission/reception resource pools, and a radio resource control (RRC) configuration of the resource pools by sidelink standards/specifications configured by a base station. In addition, base station allocate resources to sidelink devices (UEs) for sidelink communication via DCI (downlink control information). The SL communication resource pool-510 is distinct (i.e. different/independent) from the SL-PRS resource pool-512, resources dedicated for the SL communication resource pool-510a-c and dedicated SL-PRS resource pool-512a-c configured by a network and predefined. A MAC control element (MAC CE) configured SL-PRS processes].
As to Claim 2. (Currently Amended) Wu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the sidelink PRS resource pool [Section 0091: SL-PRS includes resource pools] comprises at least one of: a resource pool for sidelink PRS transmission, wherein the resource pool for sidelink PRS transmission is configured for transmission of a sidelink PRS-related signal or a sidelink PRS-related channel; or a resource pool for sidelink PRS reception, wherein the resource pool for sidelink PRS reception is configured for reception of the sidelink PRS-related signal or the sidelink PRS-related channel [Sections 0100, 0102, 0162, 0166: Accordingly, coordinated transmissions of SL-PRSs associated with PSCCH (i.e. physical sidelink control channel) transmission. When transmitting the SL-PRS in resources within the SL-PRS resource pool, the SL-PRS may be sent as a standalone signal. The first wireless communication device transmit a first SL-PRS in the first SL-PRS resource within the SL-PRS resource pool. The wireless communication device receive a first SL-PRS in the first SL-PRS resource within the SL-PRS resource pool from the second wireless communication device].
As to Claim 4. (Currently Amended) Wu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein time frequency resources occupied by the sidelink PRS resource pool are different from time frequency resources occupied by the sidelink communication resource pool [Sections 0023, 0071, 0090: The positioning signals may be sidelink (SL) positioning reference signals (PRS); and the SL-PRS resource pool and the SL communication resource pool configured in two different bandwidth parts (i.e. frequency). In 5G NR, resource pool includes frequency and time/slot resources configured by the base station. The SL-PRS resource pools may be different from the SL (sidelink) communication resource pools].
As to Claim 5. (Original) Wu discloses the method of claim 4, wherein slots in the sidelink PRS resource pool are different from slots in the sidelink communication resource pool [Sections 0055, 0071, 0090: Different slot structures may be utilized. In 5G NR sidelink utilize transmission or reception resource pools with minimum resource allocation unit in time may be slot. The SL-PRS resource pools may be different from the SL (sidelink) communication resource pools].
As to Claim 6. (Original) Wu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the sidelink PRS resource pool and a sidelink BWP where the sidelink PRS resource pool is located occupy same frequency domain resources [Sections 0023, 0052, 0108: The SL-PRS resource pool and the SL communication resource pool configured in two different bandwidth parts (i.e. frequency). A set of continuous sub-bands or bandwidth parts (BWPs) may span the entire bandwidth. In the frequency domain, the resources assigned to the respective UEs may span the entire bandwidth of the SL-PRS resource pool or a sub-band thereof].
As to Claim 11. (Currently Amended) Wu discloses a communication device [i.e. Wireless Communication Device or UE], comprising: a processor [Processor-1004]; and a memory [Memory-1005/Computer-Readable Medium-1006] storing a computer program which, when executed by the processor, causes the communication device to [Fig. 10, Sections 0142, 0146: The wireless communication device implemented with a processing system that includes one or more processors. The processor is responsible for managing the bus including the execution of software stored on the computer-readable medium and the memory used for storing data that is manipulated by the processor when executing software]:
configure sidelink positioning reference signal (PRS)-related [i.e. SL-PRS or sidelink PRS] information [Fig. 7 (Depicts MAC Control Element configuration for SL-PRS process, see 0015), Sections 0023, 0096, 0116: The positioning signals may be sidelink (SL) positioning reference signals (PRS); and the SL-PRS resource pool and the SL communication resource pool configured in two different bandwidth parts (BWPs). Dedicated SL-PRS resource pool-512a-c configured by a network and predefined. A MAC control element (MAC CE) configured for SL-PRS processes],
wherein the sidelink PRS-related information comprises a sidelink PRS resource pool [Sections 0091, 0102, 0112: SL-PRS includes resource pools. When transmitting the SL-PRS in resources within the SL-PRS resource pool, the SL-PRS may be sent as a standalone signal. A SL-PRS time resource location may be a parameter used to indicate the SL-PRS time resource location within the SL-PRS resource pool];
wherein configuration [i.e. MACE CE signal] of the sidelink PRS resource pool is independent of configuration of a sidelink communication resource pool, wherein the sidelink PRS resource pool and the sidelink communication resource pool are configured respectively via different configuration signaling [Fig. 5 (Diagram for separate SL Communication Resource Pool-510 and SL-PRS Resource Pool-512, see 0013), Fig. 7 (Depicts MAC Control Element configuration for SL-PRS process, see 0015), Sections 0071-0072, 0096, 0116: In 5G NR sidelink communication utilize transmission/reception resource pools, and a radio resource control (RRC) configuration of the resource pools by sidelink standards/specifications configured by a base station. In addition, base station allocate resources to sidelink devices (UEs) for sidelink communication via DCI (downlink control information). The SL communication resource pool-510 is distinct (i.e. different/independent) from the SL-PRS resource pool-512, resources dedicated for the SL communication resource pool-510a-c and dedicated SL-PRS resource pool-512a-c configured by a network and predefined. A MAC control element (MAC CE) configured SL-PRS processes].
As to Claim 12. (Currently Amended) The device of claim 11, wherein the sidelink PRS resource pool comprises at least one of: a resource pool for sidelink PRS transmission, wherein the resource pool for sidelink PRS transmission is configured for transmission of a sidelink PRS-related signal or a sidelink PRS-related channel; or a resource pool for sidelink PRS reception, wherein the resource pool for sidelink PRS reception is configured for reception of the sidelink PRS-related signal or the sidelink PRS-related channel [See Claim 2 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 14. (Currently Amended) The device of claim 11, wherein time frequency resources occupied by the sidelink PRS resource pool are different from time frequency resources occupied by the sidelink communication resource pool [See Claim 4 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 15. (Original) The device of claim 14, wherein slots in the sidelink PRS resource pool are different from slots in the sidelink communication resource pool [See Claim 5 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 16. (Original) The device of claim 11, wherein the sidelink PRS resource pool and a sidelink BWP where the sidelink PRS resource pool is located occupy same frequency domain resources [See Claim 6 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: BAO et al. US 20230047361
Furthermore, each additional prior arts cited on PTO-892 but not applied in rejection contains a disclosed description related to the claimed subject matter found either in the Figures, description summary and/or disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
August 19, 2026
/JAEL M ULYSSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477