DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/24/2024 and 01/29/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-10, 13 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim et al. (2026/0046658), Shim hereinafter, in view of Park et al. (2026/0074876), Park hereinafter.
Re. claims 1 and 8, Shim teaches a method (Fig. 8-10 & ¶0174/¶0178-¶0180/¶0185-¶0189) of operating a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 16, 100), and a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 16, 100), comprising: a transceiver (Fig. 16, 106) configured to: receive first information for a first candidate subband full-duplex (SBFD) configuration associated with a first L1/L2-Triggered Mobility (LTM) candidate cell or a first LTM reference configuration (Fig. 8-12 & ¶0162 - existing CSI reporting framework may measure/report L1-RSRP/SINR in CSI-RS resources, and the related features are as follows: Fig. 8-12 & ¶0167: ¶0168 - Measure resource: CSI-RS (periodic/semi-persistent/aperiodic). : Fig. 8-12 & ¶0174 - In relation to the CLI and/or CSI-RS content described above, interference from inter-cell UEs or interference from intra-cell UEs may be generated (or received) when the gNB operates in SBFD (or SFFD) or d/f TDD. In this case, the measurement/reporting of the existing CLI also needs to be performed quickly. Therefore, for this purpose, measurement/reporting for CLI needs to be performed based on L1/L2, and the method of performing measurement/reporting of CLI based on L1/L2 is described in detail below. Fig. 8-10 & ¶0178 - a method of configuring an SBFD-specific CLI measurement resource. … measurement resources for CLI measurement of the UE may be configured differently for each of an SBFD time duration during which the SBFD operation of the gNB is performed ….. Depending on an indication method of the SBFD time duration, a CLI-RSSI measurement resource may be allocated separately for the CLI measurement of the UE for the SBFD time duration determined or indicated by the UE. …. the UE may perform the CLI measurement periodically/semi-persistently/aperiodically based on a separate threshold for an RSSI measurement resource indicated along with the SBFD time duration and report the CLI measurement information. Fig. 8-10 & ¶0179 - For the SBFD (or, for SBFD time duration), DL and UL signals may be adjacent to each other (in the frequency domain), and as the DL and UL signals get closer to each other in the frequency domain, the RSSI may be increased. Therefore, in an SBFD slot (or SBFD time duration), frequency domain granularity may be (separately) applied to a measurement resource for CLI (depending on adjacency between DL and UL bands). … the RSSI in the SBFD slot may be measured at a subband level and may be reported as differential. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0180 - measurement of RSSI for the SBFD slot may be separately measured for each subband, and a difference value between the measured RSSI for each subband and the measured value of another subband based on the measured value of a specific subband may be reported as the CLI measurement information. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0185 - configuration of a CLI measurement resource in consideration of a beam. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0186 – configuration of the TCI state for the CLI-RSSI resource may be considered. In this way, assigning a TCI state ID to a measurement resource for CLI is not intended to establish a relationship with a reference signal such as an existing SSB or CSI-RS, but may be intended to have a target cell or another UE as a source thereof…….configuration of the TCI state ID to a measurement resource for CLI may be intended to provide spatial relation information with other reference signals. ..in case of CLI measurement for an SBFD slot, the beam direction of latest PDSCH or PDCCH may be a direction of PDSCH or CORESET received in the most recent SBFD slot. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0187 - When a CLI measurement resource considering a beam is configured by using the method (TCI state ID configuration or the like) …. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0188 - The UE may be configured with multiple TCI state IDs rather than a single TCI state ID, for a CLI measurement resource. In this case, the UE may report CLI measurement for at least one specific ID from among the TCI state IDs according to previous agreement and agreement or instruction. For example, the UE may also report information about the lowest or highest measured CLI TCI state ID (TCI state ID) along with the CLI measurement. The gNB may determine that beams corresponding to the TCI state ID with the lowest CLI from among the reported TCI state IDs are desired beams suitable for reception by the UE. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0189 - the UE may report to the gNB only information about the TCI state ID with the highest CLI based on pre-agreed metrics such as RSSI, RSRP, or SINR as information about prohibited/undesired beams that are not suitable for reception.); and receive second information for a second candidate SBFD configuration associated with a second LTM candidate cell or a second LTM reference configuration (Fig. 8-12 & ¶0162 - existing CSI reporting framework may measure/report L1-RSRP/SINR in CSI-RS resources, and the related features are as follows: Fig. 8-12 & ¶0167: ¶0168 - Measure resource: CSI-RS (periodic/semi-persistent/aperiodic). : Fig. 8-12 & ¶0174 - In relation to the CLI and/or CSI-RS content described above, interference from inter-cell UEs or interference from intra-cell UEs may be generated (or received) when the gNB operates in SBFD (or SFFD) … In this case, the measurement/reporting of the existing CLI also needs to be performed quickly. Therefore, for this purpose, measurement/reporting for CLI needs to be performed based on L1/L2, and the method of performing measurement/reporting of CLI based on L1/L2 is described in detail below. Fig. 8-10 & ¶0178 - a method of configuring an SBFD-specific CLI measurement resource. … measurement resources for CLI measurement of the UE may be configured differently for each of an SBFD time duration during which the SBFD operation of the gNB is performed ….. Depending on an indication method of the SBFD time duration, a CLI-RSSI measurement resource may be allocated separately for the CLI measurement of the UE for the SBFD time duration determined or indicated by the UE. …. the UE may perform the CLI measurement periodically/semi-persistently/aperiodically based on a separate threshold for an RSSI measurement resource indicated along with the SBFD time duration and report the CLI measurement information. Fig. 8-10 & ¶0179 - For the SBFD (or, for SBFD time duration), DL and UL signals may be adjacent to each other (in the frequency domain), and as the DL and UL signals get closer to each other in the frequency domain, the RSSI may be increased. Therefore, in an SBFD slot (or SBFD time duration), frequency domain granularity may be (separately) applied to a measurement resource for CLI (depending on adjacency between DL and UL bands). … the RSSI in the SBFD slot may be measured at a subband level and may be reported as differential. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0180 - measurement of RSSI for the SBFD slot may be separately measured for each subband, and a difference value between the measured RSSI for each subband and the measured value of another subband based on the measured value of a specific subband may be reported as the CLI measurement information. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0185 - configuration of a CLI measurement resource in consideration of a beam. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0186 – configuration of the TCI state for the CLI-RSSI resource may be considered. In this way, assigning a TCI state ID to a measurement resource for CLI is not intended to establish a relationship with a reference signal such as an existing SSB or CSI-RS, but may be intended to have a target cell or another UE as a source thereof….configuration of the TCI state ID to a measurement resource for CLI may be intended to provide spatial relation information with other reference signals. ..in case of CLI measurement for an SBFD slot, the beam direction of latest PDSCH or PDCCH may be a direction of PDSCH or CORESET received in the most recent SBFD slot. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0187 - When a CLI measurement resource considering a beam is configured by using the method (TCI state ID configuration or the like) …. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0188 - The UE may be configured with multiple TCI state IDs rather than a single TCI state ID, for a CLI measurement resource. In this case, the UE may report CLI measurement for at least one specific ID from among the TCI state IDs according to previous agreement and agreement or instruction. For example, the UE may also report information about the lowest or highest measured CLI TCI state ID (TCI state ID) along with the CLI measurement. The gNB may determine that beams corresponding to the TCI state ID with the lowest CLI from among the reported TCI state IDs are desired beams suitable for reception by the UE. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0189 - the UE may report to the gNB only information about the TCI state ID with the highest CLI based on pre-agreed metrics such as RSSI, RSRP, or SINR as information about prohibited/undesired beams that are not suitable for reception); and a processor (Fig. 16, 102) operably coupled with the transceiver (Fig. 16, 106), the processor configured to: determine a value of an SBFD indicator (Fig. 8-12 & ¶0187 - When a CLI measurement resource considering a beam is configured by using the method (TCI state ID configuration or the like) …. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0188 - The UE may be configured with multiple TCI state IDs rather than a single TCI state ID, for a CLI measurement resource. In this case, the UE may report CLI measurement for at least one specific ID from among the TCI state IDs according to previous agreement and agreement or instruction. For example, the UE may also report information about the lowest or highest measured CLI TCI state ID (TCI state ID) along with the CLI measurement. The gNB may determine that beams corresponding to the TCI state ID with the lowest CLI from among the reported TCI state IDs are desired beams suitable for reception by the UE. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0189 - the UE may report to the gNB only information about the TCI state ID with the highest CLI based on pre-agreed metrics such as RSSI, RSRP, or SINR as information about prohibited/undesired beams that are not suitable for reception. Also, see table 5 & 6 along with ¶0174); and select an SBFD configuration of an LTM candidate cell based on (i) the first information when the value is associated with the first LTM candidate cell or the first LTM reference configuration or (ii) the second information when the value is associated with the second LTM candidate cell or the second LTM reference configuration (Fig. 8-12 & ¶0162 - existing CSI reporting framework may measure/report L1-RSRP/SINR in CSI-RS resources, and the related features are as follows: Fig. 8-12 & ¶0167: ¶0168 - Measure resource: CSI-RS (periodic/semi-persistent/aperiodic). : Fig. 8-12 & ¶0174 - In relation to the CLI and/or CSI-RS content described above, interference from inter-cell UEs or interference from intra-cell UEs may be generated (or received) when the gNB operates in SBFD (or SFFD) or d/f TDD. In this case, the measurement/reporting of the existing CLI also needs to be performed quickly. Therefore, for this purpose, measurement/reporting for CLI needs to be performed based on L1/L2, and the method of performing measurement/reporting of CLI based on L1/L2 is described in detail below. Fig. 8-10 & ¶0178 - a method of configuring an SBFD-specific CLI measurement resource. … measurement resources for CLI measurement of the UE may be configured differently for each of an SBFD time duration during which the SBFD operation of the gNB is performed ….. Depending on an indication method of the SBFD time duration, a CLI-RSSI measurement resource may be allocated separately for the CLI measurement of the UE for the SBFD time duration determined or indicated by the UE. …. the UE may perform the CLI measurement periodically/semi-persistently/aperiodically based on a separate threshold for an RSSI measurement resource indicated along with the SBFD time duration and report the CLI measurement information. Fig. 8-10 & ¶0179 - For the SBFD (or, for SBFD time duration), DL and UL signals may be adjacent to each other (in the frequency domain), and as the DL and UL signals get closer to each other in the frequency domain, the RSSI may be increased. Therefore, in an SBFD slot (or SBFD time duration), frequency domain granularity may be (separately) applied to a measurement resource for CLI (depending on adjacency between DL and UL bands). … the RSSI in the SBFD slot may be measured at a subband level and may be reported as differential. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0180 - measurement of RSSI for the SBFD slot may be separately measured for each subband, and a difference value between the measured RSSI for each subband and the measured value of another subband based on the measured value of a specific subband may be reported as the CLI measurement information. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0185 - configuration of a CLI measurement resource in consideration of a beam. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0186 – configuration of the TCI state for the CLI-RSSI resource may be considered. In this way, assigning a TCI state ID to a measurement resource for CLI is not intended to establish a relationship with a reference signal such as an existing SSB or CSI-RS, but may be intended to have a target cell or another UE as a source thereof…configuration of the TCI state ID to a measurement resource for CLI may be intended to provide spatial relation information with other reference signals. ..in case of CLI measurement for an SBFD slot, the beam direction of latest PDSCH or PDCCH may be a direction of PDSCH or CORESET received in the most recent SBFD slot. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0187 - When a CLI measurement resource considering a beam is configured by using the method (TCI state ID configuration or the like) …. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0188 - The UE may be configured with multiple TCI state IDs rather than a single TCI state ID, for a CLI measurement resource. In this case, the UE may report CLI measurement for at least one specific ID from among the TCI state IDs according to previous agreement and agreement or instruction. For example, the UE may also report information about the lowest or highest measured CLI TCI state ID (TCI state ID) along with the CLI measurement. The gNB may determine that beams corresponding to the TCI state ID with the lowest CLI from among the reported TCI state IDs are desired beams suitable for reception by the UE. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0189 - the UE may report to the gNB only information about the TCI state ID with the highest CLI based on pre-agreed metrics such as RSSI, RSRP, or SINR as information about prohibited/undesired beams that are not suitable for reception. Also, see table 5 & 6 along with ¶0174), wherein the transceiver (Fig. 16, 106) is further configured to receive a downlink (DL) signal based on the SBFD configuration of the LTM candidate cell (Fig. 8-12 & ¶0162 - existing CSI reporting framework may measure/report L1-RSRP/SINR in CSI-RS resources, and the related features are as follows: Fig. 8-12 & ¶0167: ¶0168 - Measure resource: CSI-RS (periodic/semi-persistent/aperiodic). : Fig. 8-12 & ¶0174 - In relation to the CLI and/or CSI-RS content described above, interference from inter-cell UEs or interference from intra-cell UEs may be generated (or received) when the gNB operates in SBFD (or SFFD) or d/f TDD. In this case, the measurement/reporting of the existing CLI also needs to be performed quickly. Therefore, for this purpose, measurement/reporting for CLI needs to be performed based on L1/L2, and the method of performing measurement/reporting of CLI based on L1/L2 is described in detail below. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0186 – configuration of the TCI state for the CLI-RSSI resource may be considered. In this way, assigning a TCI state ID to a measurement resource for CLI is not intended to establish a relationship with a reference signal such as an existing SSB or CSI-RS, but may be intended to have a target cell or another UE as a source thereof…configuration of the TCI state ID to a measurement resource for CLI may be intended to provide spatial relation information with other reference signals. ..in case of CLI measurement for an SBFD slot, the beam direction of latest PDSCH or PDCCH may be a direction of PDSCH or CORESET received in the most recent SBFD slot.), and
Yet, Shim does not expressly teach wherein the value of the SBFD indicator is from a set of identifier values associated with a set of transmit-receive points (TRPs).
However, in the analogous art, Park explicitly discloses wherein the value of the SBFD indicator is from a set of identifier values associated with a set of transmit-receive points (TRPs). (Fig. 1-10 & ¶0166 - For an SBFD operation scenario, a single configured DL and UL BWP pair may be used. A UE may be configured with one or more BWPs for a component carrier (CC) (or cell), where each BWP may be indexed with a BWP-ID, e.g., 0, 1, 2, or 3. The UE may receive (from a gNB) a SBFD configuration comprising at least time and/or frequency domain for DL/UL subband location information, where the SBFD configuration may be associated with a BWP-ID X, e.g., X=0, 1, 2, or 3. The SBFD configuration may be indicated/configured in the CC/cell level (e.g., along with the CC/cell configuration) or in a system information block (SIB) and/or in a master information block (MIB). In an example, the UE may receive the SBFD configuration for the CC (or cell), and the UE may determine that a BWP (e.g., DL/UL BWP pair) associated with the BWP-ID X is an active BWP, …. The UE may determine the BWP with the BWP-ID X comprises at least one subband (e.g., UL subband(s) and/or DL subband(s)) within the BWP. In response to the determining, the UE may identify/determine that the SBFD configuration (e.g., comprising the at least one subband) is associated with the BWP-ID X. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0167 - A UE (e.g., a SBFD-enabled UE) may receive or be configured with one or more SBFD UL or DL subbands in one or more time-instances, where the subbands may be associated with a BWP-ID X (e.g., X=0, 1, 2, or 3), e.g., and/or a CC/cell. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0184 - a UE may be configured with (at least) one (RB-set-based) SBFD configuration per (DL/UL) BWP pair (associated with a BWP-ID) or CC/cell. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0185 - UE may be configured with one or more BWPs for a CC (or cell), where each BWP may be indexed/configured with a BWP-ID X, e.g., X=0, 1, 2, or 3. The UE may receive (from a gNB) a first SBFD configuration, at least comprising a first time and/or frequency domain DL/UL subband location information, e.g., associated with a first (DL/UL) BWP pair with BWP-ID 1 (e.g., X=1 out of {0, 1, 2, 3}), and/or associated with the CC/cell.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Shim’s invention of a system and a method by which a terminal performs cross link interference (CLI) measurement in a wireless communication system to include Park’s invention of method and apparatus for subband non-overlapping full duplex, SBFD configuration in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient dynamic SBFD configuration updating/switching mechanism with improved flexibility, resulting in improved latency with heavy traffic condition in both uplink/downlink direction for wireless communication between a user equipment and a serving base station operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0079-¶0084, Park)
Re. claims 2 and 9, Shim and Park teach claims 1 and 8.
Yet, Shim does not expressly teach receiving the SBFD indicator in a downlink control information (DCI) or in a medium access control (MAC) layer control element (CE).
However, in the analogous art, Park explicitly discloses receiving the SBFD indicator in a downlink control information (DCI) or in a medium access control (MAC) layer control element (CE). (Fig. 1-10 & ¶0166 - For an SBFD operation scenario, a single configured DL and UL BWP pair may be used. A UE may be configured with one or more BWPs for a component carrier (CC) (or cell), where each BWP may be indexed with a BWP-ID, e.g., 0, 1, 2, or 3. The UE may receive (from a gNB) a SBFD configuration comprising at least time and/or frequency domain for DL/UL subband location information, where the SBFD configuration may be associated with a BWP-ID X, e.g., X=0, 1, 2, or 3. The SBFD configuration may be indicated/configured in the CC/cell level (e.g., along with the CC/cell configuration…. the UE may receive the SBFD configuration for the CC (or cell), and the UE may determine that a BWP (e.g., DL/UL BWP pair) associated with the BWP-ID X is an active BWP, …. The UE may determine the BWP with the BWP-ID X comprises at least one subband (e.g., UL subband(s) and/or DL subband(s)) within the BWP. In response to the determining, the UE may identify/determine that the SBFD configuration (e.g., comprising the at least one subband) is associated with the BWP-ID X. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0168 - UE may be configured with one or more resource allocations for SBFD subbands. The SBFD configuration may include a flag signal (e.g., enabled/disabled), where for example one value (e.g., the value of zero (0)) indicates no SBFD configuration (e.g., SBFD not enabled), and another value (e.g., the value of one (1)) may indicate SBFD configuration enabled. The SBFD configurations may be indicated via a system information block (SIB), semi-statically (e.g., via RRC), dynamic (e.g., via MAC-CE, DCI), and so forth. The UE may receive an indication of the time resources (e.g., one or more symbols, slots, and so forth), for which the SBFD is applicable for a serving cell, carrier or BWP.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Shim’s invention of a system and a method by which a terminal performs cross link interference (CLI) measurement in a wireless communication system to include Park’s invention of method and apparatus for subband non-overlapping full duplex, SBFD configuration in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient dynamic SBFD configuration updating/switching mechanism with improved flexibility, resulting in improved latency with heavy traffic condition in both uplink/downlink direction for wireless communication between a user equipment and a serving base station operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0079-¶0084, Park)
Re. claims 3 and 10, Shim and Park teach claims 1 and 8.
Shim further discloses wherein a RS resource in the set of RS resources corresponds to (i) a CSI-RS resource or index (Fig. 8-12 & ¶0162 - existing CSI reporting framework may measure/report L1-RSRP/SINR in CSI-RS resources, and the related features are as follows: Fig. 8-12 & ¶0167: ¶0168 - Measure resource: CSI-RS (periodic/semi-persistent/aperiodic). : Fig. 8-12 & ¶0174 - In relation to the CLI and/or CSI-RS content described above, interference from inter-cell UEs or interference from intra-cell UEs may be generated (or received) when the gNB operates in SBFD (or SFFD) … In this case, the measurement/reporting of the existing CLI also needs to be performed quickly. Therefore, for this purpose, measurement/reporting for CLI needs to be performed based on L1/L2, and the method of performing measurement/reporting of CLI based on L1/L2 is described in detail below. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0187 - When a CLI measurement resource considering a beam is configured by using the method (TCI state ID configuration or the like) …. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0188 - The UE may be configured with multiple TCI state IDs rather than a single TCI state ID, for a CLI measurement resource. In this case, the UE may report CLI measurement for at least one specific ID from among the TCI state IDs according to previous agreement and agreement or instruction. For example, the UE may also report information about the lowest or highest measured CLI TCI state ID (TCI state ID) along with the CLI measurement. The gNB may determine that beams corresponding to the TCI state ID with the lowest CLI from among the reported TCI state IDs are desired beams suitable for reception by the UE. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0189 - the UE may report to the gNB only information about the TCI state ID with the highest CLI based on pre-agreed metrics such as RSSI, RSRP, or SINR as information about prohibited/undesired beams that are not suitable for reception. Examiner interprets that one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “Or” in the limitation) or (ii) an SSB resource or index.
Yet, Shim does not expressly teach determining a set of reference signal (RS) resources for measurements in a slot or symbol, wherein the set of RS resources do not include resources associated with the SBFD configuration of the LTM candidate cell,
However, in the analogous art, Park explicitly discloses determining a set of reference signal (RS) resources for measurements in a slot or symbol, wherein the set of RS resources do not include resources associated with the SBFD configuration of the LTM candidate cell (Fig. 8-12 & ¶0163 - expression ‘RS’ may also be interchangeably used with one or more of SSB, CSI-RS, SRS and DM-RS. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0165 - expressions “UL-only and DL-only Tx/Rx occasions” may interchangeably be used with legacy TDD UL or legacy TDD DL, respectively. In an example, the legacy TDD UL/DL Tx/Rx occasions may be the cases where SBFD is not configured and/or where SBFD is disabled. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0166 - For an SBFD operation scenario, a single configured DL and UL BWP pair may be used. A UE may be configured with one or more BWPs for a component carrier (CC) (or cell), where each BWP may be indexed with a BWP-ID, e.g., 0, 1, 2, or 3. The UE may receive (from a gNB) a SBFD configuration comprising at least time and/or frequency domain for DL/UL subband location information, where the SBFD configuration may be associated with a BWP-ID X, e.g., X=0, 1, 2, or 3. The SBFD configuration may be indicated/configured in the CC/cell level (e.g., along with the CC/cell configuration…. the UE may receive the SBFD configuration for the CC (or cell). Fig. 8-12 & ¶0168 - The UE may be configured with one or more resource allocations for SBFD subbands. The SBFD configuration may include a flag signal (e.g., enabled/disabled), where for example one value (e.g., the value of zero (0)) indicates no SBFD configuration (e.g., SBFD not enabled), and another value (e.g., the value of one (1)) may indicate SBFD configuration enabled)),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Shim’s invention of a system and a method by which a terminal performs cross link interference (CLI) measurement in a wireless communication system to include Park’s invention of method and apparatus for subband non-overlapping full duplex, SBFD configuration in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient dynamic SBFD configuration updating/switching mechanism with improved flexibility, resulting in improved latency with heavy traffic condition in both uplink/downlink direction for wireless communication between a user equipment and a serving base station operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0079-¶0084, Park)
Re. claims 6 and 13, Shim and Park teach claims 1 and 8.
Yet, Shim does not expressly teach wherein the set of identifier values are indexes or physical cell identifiers.
However, in the analogous art, Park explicitly discloses wherein the set of identifier values are indexes or physical cell identifiers. (Fig. 1-10 & ¶0166 - For an SBFD operation scenario, a single configured DL and UL BWP pair may be used. A UE may be configured with one or more BWPs for a component carrier (CC) (or cell), where each BWP may be indexed with a BWP-ID, e.g., 0, 1, 2, or 3. The UE may receive (from a gNB) a SBFD configuration comprising at least time and/or frequency domain for DL/UL subband location information, where the SBFD configuration may be associated with a BWP-ID X, e.g., X=0, 1, 2, or 3. The SBFD configuration may be indicated/configured in the CC/cell level (e.g., along with the CC/cell configuration…. the UE may receive the SBFD configuration for the CC (or cell). Fig. 1-10 & ¶0176: ¶0179 - For an SBFD operation scenario, multiple configured DL and UL BWP pairs may be used. A UE may be configured with one or more BWPs for a CC (or cell), where each BWP may be indexed with a BWP-ID, e.g., 0, 1, 2, or 3. The UE may receive (from a gNB) an SBFD configuration at least comprising one or more pairs as follows: a first pair of {BWP-ID X, ‘DL’ (as a selected link direction for SBFD SB)}, and/or a second pair of {BWP-ID Y, ‘UL’ (as a selected link direction for SBFD SB)}, and/or a third pair of {BWP-ID Z, ‘DL’ (as a selected link direction for SBFD SB)}, ….. Examiner interprets that one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “Or” in the limitation)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Shim’s invention of a system and a method by which a terminal performs cross link interference (CLI) measurement in a wireless communication system to include Park’s invention of method and apparatus for subband non-overlapping full duplex, SBFD configuration in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient dynamic SBFD configuration updating/switching mechanism with improved flexibility, resulting in improved latency with heavy traffic condition in both uplink/downlink direction for wireless communication between a user equipment and a serving base station operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0079-¶0084, Park)
Re. claim 15, Shim teaches a base station (BS) (Fig. 16, 200), comprising: a processor (Fig. 16, 202); and a transceiver (Fig. 16, 206) operably coupled with the processor, the transceiver configured to: transmit first information for a first candidate subband full-duplex (SBFD) configuration associated with a first L1/L2-Triggered Mobility (LTM) candidate cell or a first LTM reference configuration (Fig. 8-12 & ¶0162 - existing CSI reporting framework may measure/report L1-RSRP/SINR in CSI-RS resources, and the related features are as follows: Fig. 8-12 & ¶0167: ¶0168 - Measure resource: CSI-RS (periodic/semi-persistent/aperiodic). : Fig. 8-12 & ¶0174 - In relation to the CLI and/or CSI-RS content described above, interference from inter-cell UEs or interference from intra-cell UEs may be generated (or received) when the gNB operates in SBFD (or SFFD) or d/f TDD. In this case, the measurement/reporting of the existing CLI also needs to be performed quickly. Therefore, for this purpose, measurement/reporting for CLI needs to be performed based on L1/L2, and the method of performing measurement/reporting of CLI based on L1/L2 is described in detail below. Fig. 8-10 & ¶0178 - a method of configuring an SBFD-specific CLI measurement resource. … measurement resources for CLI measurement of the UE may be configured differently for each of an SBFD time duration during which the SBFD operation of the gNB is performed ….. Depending on an indication method of the SBFD time duration, a CLI-RSSI measurement resource may be allocated separately for the CLI measurement of the UE for the SBFD time duration determined or indicated by the UE. …. the UE may perform the CLI measurement periodically/semi-persistently/aperiodically based on a separate threshold for an RSSI measurement resource indicated along with the SBFD time duration and report the CLI measurement information. Fig. 8-10 & ¶0179 - For the SBFD (or, for SBFD time duration), DL and UL signals may be adjacent to each other (in the frequency domain), and as the DL and UL signals get closer to each other in the frequency domain, the RSSI may be increased. Therefore, in an SBFD slot (or SBFD time duration), frequency domain granularity may be (separately) applied to a measurement resource for CLI (depending on adjacency between DL and UL bands). … the RSSI in the SBFD slot may be measured at a subband level and may be reported as differential. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0180 - measurement of RSSI for the SBFD slot may be separately measured for each subband, and a difference value between the measured RSSI for each subband and the measured value of another subband based on the measured value of a specific subband may be reported as the CLI measurement information. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0185 - configuration of a CLI measurement resource in consideration of a beam. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0186 – configuration of the TCI state for the CLI-RSSI resource may be considered. In this way, assigning a TCI state ID to a measurement resource for CLI is not intended to establish a relationship with a reference signal such as an existing SSB or CSI-RS, but may be intended to have a target cell or another UE as a source thereof…….configuration of the TCI state ID to a measurement resource for CLI may be intended to provide spatial relation information with other reference signals. ..in case of CLI measurement for an SBFD slot, the beam direction of latest PDSCH or PDCCH may be a direction of PDSCH or CORESET received in the most recent SBFD slot. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0187 - When a CLI measurement resource considering a beam is configured by using the method (TCI state ID configuration or the like) …. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0188 - The UE may be configured with multiple TCI state IDs rather than a single TCI state ID, for a CLI measurement resource. In this case, the UE may report CLI measurement for at least one specific ID from among the TCI state IDs according to previous agreement and agreement or instruction. For example, the UE may also report information about the lowest or highest measured CLI TCI state ID (TCI state ID) along with the CLI measurement. The gNB may determine that beams corresponding to the TCI state ID with the lowest CLI from among the reported TCI state IDs are desired beams suitable for reception by the UE. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0189 - the UE may report to the gNB only information about the TCI state ID with the highest CLI based on pre-agreed metrics such as RSSI, RSRP, or SINR as information about prohibited/undesired beams that are not suitable for reception); wherein a value of an SBFD indicator indicates an SBFD configuration of an LTM candidate cell and is associated with (i) with the first LTM candidate cell or the first LTM reference configuration or (ii) a second LTM candidate cell or a second LTM reference configuration (Fig. 8-12 & ¶0162 - existing CSI reporting framework may measure/report L1-RSRP/SINR in CSI-RS resources, and the related features are as follows: Fig. 8-12 & ¶0167: ¶0168 - Measure resource: CSI-RS (periodic/semi-persistent/aperiodic). : Fig. 8-12 & ¶0174 - In relation to the CLI and/or CSI-RS content described above, interference from inter-cell UEs or interference from intra-cell UEs may be generated (or received) when the gNB operates in SBFD (or SFFD) or d/f TDD. In this case, the measurement/reporting of the existing CLI also needs to be performed quickly. Therefore, for this purpose, measurement/reporting for CLI needs to be performed based on L1/L2, and the method of performing measurement/reporting of CLI based on L1/L2 is described in detail below. Fig. 8-10 & ¶0178 - a method of configuring an SBFD-specific CLI measurement resource. … measurement resources for CLI measurement of the UE may be configured differently for each of an SBFD time duration during which the SBFD operation of the gNB is performed ….. Depending on an indication method of the SBFD time duration, a CLI-RSSI measurement resource may be allocated separately for the CLI measurement of the UE for the SBFD time duration determined or indicated by the UE. …. the UE may perform the CLI measurement periodically/semi-persistently/aperiodically based on a separate threshold for an RSSI measurement resource indicated along with the SBFD time duration and report the CLI measurement information. Fig. 8-10 & ¶0179 - For the SBFD (or, for SBFD time duration), DL and UL signals may be adjacent to each other (in the frequency domain), and as the DL and UL signals get closer to each other in the frequency domain, the RSSI may be increased. Therefore, in an SBFD slot (or SBFD time duration), frequency domain granularity may be (separately) applied to a measurement resource for CLI (depending on adjacency between DL and UL bands). … the RSSI in the SBFD slot may be measured at a subband level and may be reported as differential. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0180 - measurement of RSSI for the SBFD slot may be separately measured for each subband, and a difference value between the measured RSSI for each subband and the measured value of another subband based on the measured value of a specific subband may be reported as the CLI measurement information. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0185 - configuration of a CLI measurement resource in consideration of a beam. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0186 – configuration of the TCI state for the CLI-RSSI resource may be considered. In this way, assigning a TCI state ID to a measurement resource for CLI is not intended to establish a relationship with a reference signal such as an existing SSB or CSI-RS, but may be intended to have a target cell or another UE as a source thereof…configuration of the TCI state ID to a measurement resource for CLI may be intended to provide spatial relation information with other reference signals. ..in case of CLI measurement for an SBFD slot, the beam direction of latest PDSCH or PDCCH may be a direction of PDSCH or CORESET received in the most recent SBFD slot. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0187 - When a CLI measurement resource considering a beam is configured by using the method (TCI state ID configuration or the like) …. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0188 - The UE may be configured with multiple TCI state IDs rather than a single TCI state ID, for a CLI measurement resource. In this case, the UE may report CLI measurement for at least one specific ID from among the TCI state IDs according to previous agreement and agreement or instruction. For example, the UE may also report information about the lowest or highest measured CLI TCI state ID (TCI state ID) along with the CLI measurement. The gNB may determine that beams corresponding to the TCI state ID with the lowest CLI from among the reported TCI state IDs are desired beams suitable for reception by the UE. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0189 - the UE may report to the gNB only information about the TCI state ID with the highest CLI based on pre-agreed metrics such as RSSI, RSRP, or SINR as information about prohibited/undesired beams that are not suitable for reception. Also, see table 5 & 6 along with ¶0174); and transmit a downlink (DL) signal based on the SBFD configuration of the LTM candidate cell (Fig. 8-12 & ¶0162 - existing CSI reporting framework may measure/report L1-RSRP/SINR in CSI-RS resources, and the related features are as follows: Fig. 8-12 & ¶0167: ¶0168 - Measure resource: CSI-RS (periodic/semi-persistent/aperiodic). : Fig. 8-12 & ¶0174 - In relation to the CLI and/or CSI-RS content described above, interference from inter-cell UEs or interference from intra-cell UEs may be generated (or received) when the gNB operates in SBFD (or SFFD) or d/f TDD. In this case, the measurement/reporting of the existing CLI also needs to be performed quickly. Therefore, for this purpose, measurement/reporting for CLI needs to be performed based on L1/L2, and the method of performing measurement/reporting of CLI based on L1/L2 is described in detail below. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0186 – configuration of the TCI state for the CLI-RSSI resource may be considered. In this way, assigning a TCI state ID to a measurement resource for CLI is not intended to establish a relationship with a reference signal such as an existing SSB or CSI-RS, but may be intended to have a target cell or another UE as a source thereof…configuration of the TCI state ID to a measurement resource for CLI may be intended to provide spatial relation information with other reference signals. ..in case of CLI measurement for an SBFD slot, the beam direction of latest PDSCH or PDCCH may be a direction of PDSCH or CORESET received in the most recent SBFD slot),
Yet, Shim does not expressly teach transmit an SBFD indicator,wherein the value of the SBFD indicator is from a set of identifier values associated with a set of transmit-receive points (TRPs).
However, in the analogous art, Park explicitly discloses transmit an SBFD indicator (Fig. 1-10 & ¶0166 - For an SBFD operation scenario, a single configured DL and UL BWP pair may be used. A UE may be configured with one or more BWPs for a component carrier (CC) (or cell), where each BWP may be indexed with a BWP-ID, e.g., 0, 1, 2, or 3. The UE may receive (from a gNB) a SBFD configuration comprising at least time and/or frequency domain for DL/UL subband location information, where the SBFD configuration may be associated with a BWP-ID X, e.g., X=0, 1, 2, or 3. The SBFD configuration may be indicated/configured in the CC/cell level (e.g., along with the CC/cell configuration…. the UE may receive the SBFD configuration for the CC (or cell), and the UE may determine that a BWP (e.g., DL/UL BWP pair) associated with the BWP-ID X is an active BWP, …. The UE may determine the BWP with the BWP-ID X comprises at least one subband (e.g., UL subband(s) and/or DL subband(s)) within the BWP. In response to the determining, the UE may identify/determine that the SBFD configuration (e.g., comprising the at least one subband) is associated with the BWP-ID X. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0168 - UE may be configured with one or more resource allocations for SBFD subbands. The SBFD configuration may include a flag signal (e.g., enabled/disabled), where for example one value (e.g., the value of zero (0)) indicates no SBFD configuration (e.g., SBFD not enabled), and another value (e.g., the value of one (1)) may indicate SBFD configuration enabled. The SBFD configurations may be indicated via a system information block (SIB), semi-statically (e.g., via RRC), dynamic (e.g., via MAC-CE, DCI), and so forth. The UE may receive an indication of the time resources (e.g., one or more symbols, slots, and so forth), for which the SBFD is applicable for a serving cell, carrier or BWP), wherein the value of the SBFD indicator is from a set of identifier values associated with a set of transmit-receive points (TRPs) (Fig. 1-10 & ¶0166 - For an SBFD operation scenario, a single configured DL and UL BWP pair may be used. A UE may be configured with one or more BWPs for a component carrier (CC) (or cell), where each BWP may be indexed with a BWP-ID, e.g., 0, 1, 2, or 3. The UE may receive (from a gNB) a SBFD configuration comprising at least time and/or frequency domain for DL/UL subband location information, where the SBFD configuration may be associated with a BWP-ID X, e.g., X=0, 1, 2, or 3. The SBFD configuration may be indicated/configured in the CC/cell level (e.g., along with the CC/cell configuration) or in a system information block (SIB) and/or in a master information block (MIB). In an example, the UE may receive the SBFD configuration for the CC (or cell), and the UE may determine that a BWP (e.g., DL/UL BWP pair) associated with the BWP-ID X is an active BWP, …. The UE may determine the BWP with the BWP-ID X comprises at least one subband (e.g., UL subband(s) and/or DL subband(s)) within the BWP. In response to the determining, the UE may identify/determine that the SBFD configuration (e.g., comprising the at least one subband) is associated with the BWP-ID X. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0167 - A UE (e.g., a SBFD-enabled UE) may receive or be configured with one or more SBFD UL or DL subbands in one or more time-instances, where the subbands may be associated with a BWP-ID X (e.g., X=0, 1, 2, or 3), e.g., and/or a CC/cell. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0184 - a UE may be configured with (at least) one (RB-set-based) SBFD configuration per (DL/UL) BWP pair (associated with a BWP-ID) or CC/cell. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0185 - UE may be configured with one or more BWPs for a CC (or cell), where each BWP may be indexed/configured with a BWP-ID X, e.g., X=0, 1, 2, or 3. The UE may receive (from a gNB) a first SBFD configuration, at least comprising a first time and/or frequency domain DL/UL subband location information, e.g., associated with a first (DL/UL) BWP pair with BWP-ID 1 (e.g., X=1 out of {0, 1, 2, 3}), and/or associated with the CC/cell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Shim’s invention of a system and a method by which a terminal performs cross link interference (CLI) measurement in a wireless communication system to include Park’s invention of method and apparatus for subband non-overlapping full duplex, SBFD configuration in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient dynamic SBFD configuration updating/switching mechanism with improved flexibility, resulting in improved latency with heavy traffic condition in both uplink/downlink direction for wireless communication between a user equipment and a serving base station operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0079-¶0084, Park)
Re. claim 16, Claim 16 is rejected for the same reason as claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim, in view of Park.
Re. claim 17, Claim 17 is rejected for the same reason as claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim, in view of Park.
Claims 4-5, 11-12 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim, in view of Park, further in view of Zhan et al. (2024/0284219), Zhang hereinafter.
Re. claims 4 and 11, Shim and Park teach claims 1 and 8.
Yet, Shim and Park do not expressly teach determining a measurement timing restriction associated with a measurement signal based on the SBFD configuration of the LTM candidate cell, wherein the measurement timing restriction corresponds to a set of symbols or slots that are allowed or preferred for DL reception of the measurement signal on the LTM candidate cell.
However, in the analogous art, Zhang explicitly discloses determining a measurement timing restriction associated with a measurement signal based on the SBFD configuration of the LTM candidate cell, wherein the measurement timing restriction corresponds to a set of symbols or slots that are allowed or preferred for DL reception of the measurement signal on the LTM candidate cell. (Fig. 1-16 & ¶0086 - SBFD supports simultaneous Tx/Rx of DL/UL on a sub-band basis. SBFD may increase the UL duty cycle, leading to latency reduction and improvement in UL coverage. For example, under SBFD, a UL signal may be transmitted in DL slots or flexible slots, and a DL signal may be received in UL slots, leading to latency savings. Fig. 1-16 & ¶0088 - FIG. 7 is a diagram 700 illustrating an example co-channel interference. As shown in FIG. 7, a first cell 710 may be transmitting to a first UE (e.g., UE 1 702) via the slot 706, and a neighbor cell (e.g., cell 720) may be receiving from its own UE (e.g., UE 2 704) via slot 708. A DL to UL cross-link interference exists between cell 710 and cell 720. Fig. 1-16 & ¶0093 - FIG. 9 is a diagram 900 illustrating an example UL muting during a CLI measurement. As shown in FIG. 9, an interfered cell 910 may indicate, at 910, its UE(s) (e.g., UE 1 902) to mute UL transmission 930 in a CLI measurement window to prevent the UE(s) from transmitting UL signals that may interference with the CLI measurement with another cell (e.g., cell 920). . Fig. 1-16 & ¶0110 - At 1014, the UE 1002 may evaluate a UL muting condition associated with a UL transmission to obtain an evaluation result of the UL transmission. For example, referring to 9, the UE 904 may evaluate a UL muting condition associated with a UL transmission 940 to obtain an evaluation result of the UL transmission 940. Fig. 1-16 & ¶0168 - receiving, from a second network entity, a UL muting indication including a UL muting pattern for a CLI measurement related to the first network entity and the second network entity; and indicating, to one or more UEs, the UL muting pattern for the one or more UEs to restrict first UL transmission to the first network entity based on the UL muting pattern. Fig. 1-16 & ¶0172 - where the CLI measurement may be performed in an SBFD operation, and the one or more measurement frequency resources may be one or more subbands associated with the SBFD operation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Shim’s invention of a system and a method by which a terminal performs cross link interference (CLI) measurement in a wireless communication system and Park’s invention of method and apparatus for subband non-overlapping full duplex, SBFD configuration in a wireless communication system to include Zhang’s invention of UL <Uplink> muting pattern and UL conditional UL muting in wireless communication system , because it provides an efficient mechanism in reducing interferences during measurement and transmission and improves efficiency of the wireless communication system. (¶0031, Zhang)
Re. claims 5 and 12, Shim and Park teach claims 1 and 8.
Yet, Shim does not expressly teach determining, based on the SBFD configuration of the LTM candidate cell, a first subset of slots and a second subset of slots of the LTM candidate cell, wherein: the first subset of slots do not include resources associated with the SBFD configuration of the LTM candidate cell, and the second subset of slots include resources associated with the SBFD configuration of the LTM candidate cell; receiving a first measurement signal in the first subset of slots and a second measurement signal in the second subset of slots; and transmitting, in an uplink (UL) signal or channel, (i) a first measurement report corresponding to the first measurement signal and (ii) a second measurement report corresponding to the second subset of slots.
However, in the analogous art, Park explicitly discloses receiving a first measurement signal in the first subset of slots and a second measurement signal in the second subset of slots; and transmitting, in an uplink (UL) signal or channel, (i) a first measurement report corresponding to the first measurement signal and (ii) a second measurement report corresponding to the second subset of slots. (Fig. 8-12 & ¶0163 - expression ‘RS’ may also be interchangeably used with one or more of SSB, CSI-RS, SRS and DM-RS. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0165 - expressions “UL-only and DL-only Tx/Rx occasions” may interchangeably be used with legacy TDD UL or legacy TDD DL, respectively. In an example, the legacy TDD UL/DL Tx/Rx occasions may be the cases where SBFD is not configured and/or where SBFD is disabled. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0166 - For an SBFD operation scenario, a single configured DL and UL BWP pair may be used. A UE may be configured with one or more BWPs for a component carrier (CC) (or cell), where each BWP may be indexed with a BWP-ID, e.g., 0, 1, 2, or 3. The UE may receive (from a gNB) a SBFD configuration comprising at least time and/or frequency domain for DL/UL subband location information, where the SBFD configuration may be associated with a BWP-ID X, e.g., X=0, 1, 2, or 3. The SBFD configuration may be indicated/configured in the CC/cell level (e.g., along with the CC/cell configuration…. the UE may receive the SBFD configuration for the CC (or cell). Fig. 8-12 & ¶0168 - The UE may be configured with one or more resource allocations for SBFD subbands. The SBFD configuration may include a flag signal (e.g., enabled/disabled), where for example one value (e.g., the value of zero (0)) indicates no SBFD configuration (e.g., SBFD not enabled), and another value (e.g., the value of one (1)) may indicate SBFD configuration enabled). See at least ¶0169-¶0172 along with Fig.6),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Shim’s invention of a system and a method by which a terminal performs cross link interference (CLI) measurement in a wireless communication system to include Park’s invention of method and apparatus for subband non-overlapping full duplex, SBFD configuration in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient dynamic SBFD configuration updating/switching mechanism with improved flexibility, resulting in improved latency with heavy traffic condition in both uplink/downlink direction for wireless communication between a user equipment and a serving base station operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0079-¶0084, Park)
Yet, Shim and Park do not expressly teach determining, based on the SBFD configuration of the LTM candidate cell, a first subset of slots and a second subset of slots of the LTM candidate cell, wherein: the first subset of slots do not include resources associated with the SBFD configuration of the LTM candidate cell, and the second subset of slots include resources associated with the SBFD configuration of the LTM candidate cell;
However, in the analogous art, Zhang explicitly discloses determining, based on the SBFD configuration of the LTM candidate cell, a first subset of slots and a second subset of slots of the LTM candidate cell, wherein: the first subset of slots do not include resources associated with the SBFD configuration of the LTM candidate cell, and the second subset of slots include resources associated with the SBFD configuration of the LTM candidate cell; (Fig. 1-16 & ¶0086 - SBFD supports simultaneous Tx/Rx of DL/UL on a sub-band basis. SBFD may increase the UL duty cycle, leading to latency reduction and improvement in UL coverage. For example, under SBFD, a UL signal may be transmitted in DL slots or flexible slots, and a DL signal may be received in UL slots, leading to latency savings. Fig. 1-16 & ¶0088 - FIG. 7 is a diagram 700 illustrating an example co-channel interference. As shown in FIG. 7, a first cell 710 may be transmitting to a first UE (e.g., UE 1 702) via the slot 706, and a neighbor cell (e.g., cell 720) may be receiving from its own UE (e.g., UE 2 704) via slot 708. A DL to UL cross-link interference exists between cell 710 and cell 720. Fig. 1-16 & ¶0093 - FIG. 9 is a diagram 900 illustrating an example UL muting during a CLI measurement. As shown in FIG. 9, an interfered cell 910 may indicate, at 910, its UE(s) (e.g., UE 1 902) to mute UL transmission 930 in a CLI measurement window to prevent the UE(s) from transmitting UL signals that may interference with the CLI measurement with another cell (e.g., cell 920). . Fig. 1-16 & ¶0110 - At 1014, the UE 1002 may evaluate a UL muting condition associated with a UL transmission to obtain an evaluation result of the UL transmission. For example, referring to 9, the UE 904 may evaluate a UL muting condition associated with a UL transmission 940 to obtain an evaluation result of the UL transmission 940. Fig. 1-16 & ¶0168 - receiving, from a second network entity, a UL muting indication including a UL muting pattern for a CLI measurement related to the first network entity and the second network entity; and indicating, to one or more UEs, the UL muting pattern for the one or more UEs to restrict first UL transmission to the first network entity based on the UL muting pattern. Fig. 1-16 & ¶0172 - where the CLI measurement may be performed in an SBFD operation, and the one or more measurement frequency resources may be one or more subbands associated with the SBFD operation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Shim’s invention of a system and a method by which a terminal performs cross link interference (CLI) measurement in a wireless communication system and Park’s invention of method and apparatus for subband non-overlapping full duplex, SBFD configuration in a wireless communication system to include Zhang’s invention of UL <Uplink> muting pattern and UL conditional UL muting in wireless communication system , because it provides an efficient mechanism in reducing interferences during measurement and transmission and improves efficiency of the wireless communication system. (¶0031, Zhang)
Re. claim 18, Claim 18 is rejected for the same reason as claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim, in view of Park, further in view of Zhan.
Re. claim 19, Claim 19 is rejected for the same reason as claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim, in view of Park, further in view of Zhan.
Claims 7, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim, in view of Park, further in view of Sun et al. (2026/0164450), Sun hereinafter.
Re. claims 7 and 14, Shim and Park teach claims 1 and 8.
Yet, Shim does not expressly teach receiving a value of an SBFD access type indicator; selecting, based on the value of the SBFD access type indicator, a subset of slots from a first subset of slots or a second subset of slots of the LTM candidate cell, wherein: the first subset of slots do not include resources associated with the SBFD configuration of the LTM candidate cell, and the second subset of slots include resources associated with the SBFD configuration of the LTM candidate cell; and receiving a DL signal or channel from the LTM candidate cell in a slot of the subset of slots.
However, in the analogous art, Park explicitly discloses receiving a value of an SBFD access type indicator; selecting, based on the value of the SBFD access type indicator, a subset of slots from a first subset of slots or a second subset of slots of the LTM candidate cell, wherein: the first subset of slots do not include resources associated with the SBFD configuration of the LTM candidate cell, and the second subset of slots include resources associated with the SBFD configuration of the LTM candidate cell; (Fig. 8-12 & ¶0163 - expression ‘RS’ may also be interchangeably used with one or more of SSB, CSI-RS, SRS and DM-RS. Fig. 8-12 & ¶0165 - expressions “UL-only and DL-only Tx/Rx occasions” may interchangeably be used with legacy TDD UL or legacy TDD DL, respectively. In an example, the legacy TDD UL/DL Tx/Rx occasions may be the cases where SBFD is not configured and/or where SBFD is disabled. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0166 - For an SBFD operation scenario, a single configured DL and UL BWP pair may be used. A UE may be configured with one or more BWPs for a component carrier (CC) (or cell), where each BWP may be indexed with a BWP-ID, e.g., 0, 1, 2, or 3. The UE may receive (from a gNB) a SBFD configuration comprising at least time and/or frequency domain for DL/UL subband location information, where the SBFD configuration may be associated with a BWP-ID X, e.g., X=0, 1, 2, or 3. The SBFD configuration may be indicated/configured in the CC/cell level (e.g., along with the CC/cell configuration…. the UE may receive the SBFD configuration for the CC (or cell). Fig. 8-12 & ¶0168 - The UE may be configured with one or more resource allocations for SBFD subbands. The SBFD configuration may include a flag signal (e.g., enabled/disabled), where for example one value (e.g., the value of zero (0)) indicates no SBFD configuration (e.g., SBFD not enabled), and another value (e.g., the value of one (1)) may indicate SBFD configuration enabled). See at least ¶0169-¶0172 along with Fig.6),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Shim’s invention of a system and a method by which a terminal performs cross link interference (CLI) measurement in a wireless communication system to include Park’s invention of method and apparatus for subband non-overlapping full duplex, SBFD configuration in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient dynamic SBFD configuration updating/switching mechanism with improved flexibility, resulting in improved latency with heavy traffic condition in both uplink/downlink direction for wireless communication between a user equipment and a serving base station operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0079-¶0084, Park)
Yet, Shim and Park do not expressly teach receiving a DL signal or channel from the LTM candidate cell in a slot of the subset of slots.
However, in the analogous art, Sun explicitly discloses teach receiving a DL signal or channel from the LTM candidate cell in a slot of the subset of slots. (Fig. 1-8 & ¶0112 - in non-SBFD slot, the UE may calculate the PDCCH candidates based on all the CCEs…. in SBFD slot, the UE may calculate the PDCCH candidates only based on the valid CCEs with valid REGs for all the aggregation level, for both channel estimation of PDCCH and also the PDCCH blind detection. See snapshots below)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Shim’s invention of a system and a method by which a terminal performs cross link interference (CLI) measurement in a wireless communication system and Park’s invention of method and apparatus for subband non-overlapping full duplex, SBFD configuration in a wireless communication system to include Sun’s invention of PDCCH <physical downlink control channel> mapping in SBFD <subband non-overlapping full duplex > slot in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in determining by a user equipment UE (SBFD-aware) whether time and frequency locations of subbands for SBFD operation are known to the SBFD-aware UE or not, in turns, reduces the number of blind detection, and improves the efficient of PDCCH channel estimation/detection in the wireless communication system.(¶0070, Sun)
Re. claim 20, Claim 20 is rejected for the same reason as claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim, in view of Park, further in view of Sun.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #113; R1-2304789; Source: InterDigital, Inc.; Title: On subband non-overlapping full duplex operations; Incheon, Korea, May 22nd – May 26th, 2023. See §1-§3. See snapshot as reproduced below.
3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #113; R1-2305384; Source: LG Electronics; Title: Study on Subband non-overlapping full duplex; Incheon, Korea, May 22nd – May 26th, 2023. See §2-§4. See snapshot as reproduced below.
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467