DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to the Amendment filed June 15, 2026.
In view of the Amendment, the objection to the specification, and the rejection of the claims under 35 USC 112, as set forth in the Office Action dated May 4, 2026, are withdrawn.
In addition, the amendments to claims 1, 19, and 20 and the accompanying remarks overcome the rejection of the claims under 35 USC 101, set forth in the Office Action dated 05/04/2026.
Claims 1-4, 12, 14, 16, and 19-20 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 04, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that Singh fails to disclose or suggest a wearable computing device that performs the claimed comparison of movement information with machine learning models on the device itself is not convincing as Singh discloses that one or more processors 116 of the tag assembly 102 (wearable computing device) can carry out all of the disclosed data processing steps (e.g., paragraph [0189]: any data processing steps may be carried out on any of the sub-systems of the present disclose). That is, the obtaining movement information, comparing, determining, obtaining animal identification, and transmitting steps may be carried out on the tag assembly 102 (one of the disclosed sub-systems).
With respect to the newly added limitation that the machine learning module is “stored on the wearable computing device”, the Examiner has not been able to locate express support for this limitation in the originally-filed specification; but, a secondary reference to Mirbozorgi (US 2023/0251108) teaches that it was known in the tracking of animals art to store in memory 404 of a computing device 400 both data and code for implementing machine learning techniques (see paragraph [0048]). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the wearable computing device of Singh that carries out all of the data processing steps of the subsystems of the Singh disclosure to store code for machine learning techniques as taught by Mirbozorgi.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: The recitation of “from a plurality of sensors of wearable computing device” is missing an article before “wearable”. The Examiner suggest changing “of wearable “ to --of a wearable--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The Amendment filed June 15, 2026 adds the limitation that the machine learning model is stored on the wearable computing device. However, the originally-filed specification(OFS) provides support for the wearable computing device including a memory storing computer-readable instructions but does not expressly store the “machine learning model” on the wearable computing device (e.g., Abstract, paragraphs [0004], [0006], [0020], [0044]-[0045], [0047]-[0048], [0077], [0077]-[0080]). One of ordinary skill in the art would not understand from reading Applicant’s specification that the “machine learning model” is stored on the wearable computing device. Paragraph [0041] of the OFS indicates that data stored in database 114 may be associated with information of the plurality of animals and machine learning models associated with health conditions of the animals. But, database 114 of the OFS is not on the wearable computing device 102, as shown in Fig. 1 of the drawings. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would not have found that the instant specification reasonably conveys that the instant inventor(s) had possession of the invention as now claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as rendered unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0053470 to Singh et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Singh”) in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0251108 to Mirbozorgi.
Regarding claim 1, Singh discloses a wearable computing device (e.g., abstract: animal tag assemblies configured to be disposed on members of an animal population) comprising: a plurality of sensors (e.g., Abstract: each animal tag includes one or more sensors); a memory storing computer-readable instructions (e.g., paragraphs [0107]-[0108]: tag assembly 102 includes a memory 117, 125, 132, see Figs 1B-C); and at least one processor to execute the instructions (e.g., paragraph [0108]: tag assembly 102 includes one or more processors 116, 124, 130 configured to execute software algorithms and/or instructions, see Figs. 1B-C) to: obtain, from the plurality of sensors, movement information associated with an animal wearing the wearable computing device (e.g., paragraphs [0037]-[0039]: tag assemblies include one or more sensors 114 including an accelerometer, a magnetometer, a gyroscope that monitor a range of motion (e.g., range of head motion), body movements, posture, the amount of activity (e.g., number of steps or distance traveled); and [0051]: the data analysis routines may be performed using one or more of the processors 116 of the tag assembly); compare, on the wearable computing device, the movement information with at least one machine learning model (e.g., paragraphs [0028]: embodiments of the present disclosure may provide for individual and herd trend analysis with predictive modeling where producers monitor animal and herd trends through historical and predictive data allowing for proactive measures to increase production; [0064]-[0065]: set of program instructions may be configured to cause the one or more processors to format the dataset into a format that is compatible with machine learning and formatting done by the one or more processors may be dependent on algorithms to be performed in the data analysis (e.g., machine learning predictions); Fig. 3A, 310 and paragraph [0182], and paragraph [0189]: as discussed above in the response to the remarks section), each machine learning model related to a particular animal health condition (e.g., paragraphs [0066]: a machine learning classifier is trained with datasets of known healthy physiological state, known bacterial infection, known viral infection, known normal behavior, and the like; and [0184]: in step 312, the machine learning classifier may be configured to correlate multiple dataset characteristics to a particular health state); determine, on the wearable computing device, that the movement information indicates a potential health condition for the animal wearing the wearable computing device (e.g., paragraphs [0042]: a deviation in any one or more physiological and/or behavioral characteristics of a given animal from a group of animals may indicate a deviation in health of the given animal from the rest of the population; and [0171], [0182]-[0184]: see Fig. 3A, 312; and paragraph [0189]: as discussed above in the response to the remarks section); obtain animal identification information for the animal with the potential health condition (e.g., paragraphs [0041]: one or more sensors 114 of tag assembly 102 may be used to identify an outlier of the animal population); [0051] and [0076]: upon identifying an animal displaying characteristics of an illness (or injury), the one or more processors transmit an alert to the one or more users); and transmit, from the wearable computing device, a notification indicating the animal identification information for the animal with the potential health condition to a remote computing device (e.g., paragraph [0186]: the health state is reported to one or more user devices where the users may take one or more preventative and/or curative actions intended to improve the health state of the animal implies that the animal is identified; and paragraph [0189]: as discussed above in the response to the remarks section). Singh differs from the claimed invention in that it does not expressly disclose that the machine learning model is stored on the wearable computing device. However, Mirbozorgi, in a related art, teaches that it was known in the tracking of animals art to store in memory 404 of a computing device 400 both data and code for implementing machine learning techniques (see paragraph [0048]). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the wearable computing device of Singh that carries out all of the data processing steps of the subsystems of the Singh disclosure to store code for machine learning techniques as taught by Mirbozorgi.
With respect to claim 2, Singh discloses the wearable computing device of claim 1, wherein the wearable computing device comprises at least one accelerometer and at least one gyroscope, and wherein the movement information is obtained from the at least one accelerometer of the wearable computing device and the at least one gyroscope of the wearable computing device (e.g., paragraph [0037]: sensors 114 may include accelerometers, magnetometers, gyroscopes and the like).
As to claim 4, Singh discloses the wearable computing device of claim 1, wherein the wearable computing device comprises at least one light, and wherein the at least one processor to execute the instructions to illuminate the at least one light of the wearable computing device, the at least one light indicating the potential health condition and the at least one light is a color that indicates one of a respiratory disease and Bovine Respiratory Disease Complex (BRDC) (e.g., paragraph [0114]: tag assembly 102 includes an indicator that generates audio or visual signals, such as light emitting diodes configured to visually display the status of an animal via the state of the LED); and paragraph [0007]: identifying and treating illness, such as Bovine Respiratory Disease Complex (BRD) is an advantage of the disclosed invention implies that the state of the LED would include identifying that illness).
With respect to claim 5, Singh discloses the wearable computing device of claim 1, wherein the wearable computing device comprises one or more weight sensors to determine and measure a weight of the animal at a first time and determine and measure the weight of the animal at a second time and determine that there is the potential health condition based on a change in the weight of the animal at the first time and the weight of the animal at a second time (e.g., paragraph [0027]: diagnosing the health of an individual animal or an animal population includes optimizing weight gain rates which implies weight sensors, measuring the weight at different times and determining a potential health condition; and [0127]).
As to claims 6-7, Singh discloses the wearable computing device of claim 1, the at least one processor further to execute the instructions to determine that the movement information indicates one or a plurality of violent movements of a head of the animal representative of one or a plurality of coughs over a period of time (e.g., paragraphs [0081]-[0085]: accelerometer readings may be used to determining specific activities of the animal including coughing where acceleration readings collected over a period of time are processed to determine an acceleration metric of the animal indicative of the animals’ head movement implies that a cough is determined by movement information obtained by the accelerometer; and [0051]: the data analysis routines may be performed using one or more of the processors 116 of the tag assembly).
With respect to claim 10, Singh discloses the wearable computing device of claim 1, [wherein] the at least one processor is further configured execute the instructions to determine one of a temperature of the animal and a temperature of an environment of the animal (e.g., paragraphs [0010], [0037]-[0038], [0066], [0079]: determine temperature of an animal; and [0080]: temperature metrices may be based on a combination of an animal temperature reading and local weather temperature in order to obtain a complete picture of the animal’s temperature throughout the selected time period).
As to claim 11, Singh discloses the wearable computing device of claim 1, the at least one processor further to execute the instructions to determine that the movement information indicates that the animal has not moved for a particular period of time (e.g., paragraphs [0066] and [0073]: temperature readings above a certain temperature and movement readings below a certain level may be associated with an infected animal implies that movement information is taken over a period of time and compared to an expected movement level where sick cattle exhibit depressed activity readings; and [0039] and [0124]: health state is based on physiological data and/or behavioral data (e.g., head tilt, feeding frequency, amount of movement (e.g., steps) which implies that the movement information can be determined to be zero steps).
With respect to claim 12, Singh discloses the wearable computing device of claim 1, wherein the wearable computing device is configured to be attached to one of an ear tag, a nose tag, and a collar (e.g., paragraphs [0010], [0166]: Figs. 2F and 2G illustrate tag assembly 102 attached to the ear of a cow).
As to claim 13, Singh discloses the wearable computing device of claim 1, the at least one processor further to execute the instructions to provide audio output information related to the potential health condition of the animal (e.g., paragraph [0114]: tag assembly 102 may be configured to generate audio signals to indicate the status of an animal).
As to claim 14, Singh discloses the wearable computing device of claim 1, wherein the wearable computing device is configured to be powered by one of one or more batteries, solar power, wind power, and kinetic energy provided by the animal (e.g., paragraph [0044]: tag assembly 102 includes a power supply including one or more batteries 121, one and/or more power generating devices).
With respect to claim 15, Singh discloses the wearable computing device of claim 1, wherein the particular animal health condition comprises one of lameness, death, and Bovine Respiratory Disease Complex (BRDC) (e.g., paragraphs [0007]: identifying and treating illness, such as Bovine Respiratory Disease Complex (BRD) is an advantage of the disclosed invention implies that illness would be identified; and [0076]: upon identifying an animal displaying characteristics indicative of an illness (or injury/lameness), an alert is transmitted to one or more users).
As to claim 16, Singh discloses the wearable computing device of claim 1, wherein the wearable computing device comprises a global positioning system (GPS) hardware device , and wherein the at least one processor further to execute the instructions to determine location information of the animal using the global positioning system (GPS) hardware device of the wearable computing device (e.g., paragraph [0045]: tag assembly 102 includes GPS chips 118 for measuring the location of the given tag assembly).
With respect to claim 17, Singh discloses the wearable computing device of claim 1, the at least one processor further to execute the instructions to send the notification to a computing device of one of a pen rider and a veterinarian (e.g., paragraphs [0027]: on-animal devices monitor and diagnose the health of an animal here in a commercial feedlot and communicate wirelessly with users (e.g., feedlot managers, pen riders and the like) regarding the likelihood of illness of one or more members of the given animal population; and [0076]: upon identifying an animal displaying characteristics indicative of an illness (or injury), an alert is transmitted to one or more users).
As to claim 18, Singh discloses the wearable computing device of claim 1, wherein the animal comprises a bovine (e.g., paragraph [0027]: disclosure may acquire a variety of metrics from an animal (or from animals) to assist in early diagnosis and analysis of the health of an animal population (e.g., cattle herd); Oxford Languages definition of bovine is “relating to or affecting cattle”).
Referring to claim 19, Singh discloses a method (e.g., paragraphs [0022]: Figs. 3A-3B illustrate a method; [0051], and Figs. 3A-3B and corresponding paragraphs), comprising: obtaining, from a plurality of sensors of a wearable computing device, movement information associated with an animal wearing the computing device; comparing, by the wearable computing device, the movement information with at least one machine learning model, each machine learning model related to a particular animal health condition; determining, by the wearable computing device, that the movement information indicates a potential health condition for the animal wearing the computing device; obtaining, by the wearable computing device, animal identification information for the animal with the potential health condition; and transmitting, by the wearable computing device, a notification indicating the animal identification information for the animal with the potential health condition to a remote computing device (see rejection of claim 1 above where the tag assembly is a computing device, as modified by paragraph [0189]: as discussed above in the response to the remarks section).
Singh differs from the claimed invention in that it does not expressly disclose that the machine learning model is stored on the wearable computing device. However, Mirbozorgi, in a related art, teaches that it was known in the tracking of animals art to store in memory 404 of a computing device 400 both data and code for implementing machine learning techniques (see paragraph [0048]). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the wearable computing device of Singh that carries out all of the data processing steps of the subsystems of the Singh disclosure to store code for machine learning techniques as taught by Mirbozorgi.
Regarding claim 20, Singh discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions stored thereon that, when executed by a wearable computing device cause the wearable computing device to perform operations (e.g., paragraphs [0051]-[0052]: the data analysis routines may be performed using one or more of the processors 116 of the tag assembly to determine a state of health of one of more animals based on the received one or more physiological and/or behavioral characteristics; [0107]: processor 116 may include any microprocessor-type device configured to execute software algorithms and/or instructions and [0209]-[0210]: all embodiments described herein may include storing results of on one or more steps in a storage medium in any manner known in the art and the results can be used by another software module), method or system, the operations comprising: obtaining, from a plurality of sensors of a wearable computing device, movement information associated with an animal wearing the computing device; comparing, by the wearable computing device, the movement information with at least one machine learning model, each machine learning model related to a particular animal health condition; determining, by the wearable computing device, that the movement information indicates a potential health condition for the animal wearing the computing device; obtaining, by the wearable computing device, animal identification information for the animal with the potential health condition; and transmitting, by the wearable computing device, a notification indicating the animal identification information for the animal with the potential health condition (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh and US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0273926.
Singh discloses the wearable computing device of claim 1, wherein the wearable computing device communicates with user to deliver targeted antibiotics directly to a site of infection of the animal (e.g., paragraph [0186]: preventative and/or curative actions upon receipt of notification of a sick animal include administering an antibiotic to the animal), but does not expressly recite that communication is with a patch that delivers the antibiotic. However, Tamayol, in a related art: drug delivery using microneedle array where the subject/patient is a bovine (e.g., title and paragraph [0075]), teaches a flexible substrate (patch) comprising an array of microneedles configured for intradermal delivery of a therapeutic agent for treating a wound and a programmable wound dressing comprising control module coupled to and in communication with the microneedle array that is configured to control delivery of the therapeutic agent (e.g., paragraph [0006] of Tamayol) where the smart bandage/patch has a heater to trigger thermo-responsive drug carriers containing antibiotics and the heater is connected to an electronic module that can power the heater when antibiotic delivery is needed (e.g., paragraphs [0038] and [0069] of Tamayol: therapeutic agent can be an antimicrobial agent such as an antibiotic); and such medical patches can deliver therapeutics in response to the wound status in a controlled fashion that can be delivered locally (only where needed) (e.g., paragraph [0281] of Tamayol). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that antibiotics can be delivered via a smart patch in a local area such as the site of the infection where a computing device communicates the needs of the drug delivery in view of the teachings of Tamayol. Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the wearable computing device of Singh to communicate with a patch having an array of microneedles so that antibiotics are delivered to the site of infection in view of the teachings of Tamayol that such a patch was well-known to those in the antibiotic delivery art, and because the combination would have yielded a predictable result.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0316003 to Zhang et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Zhang”).
With respect to claim 8, Singh discloses the wearable computing device of claim 1, the at least one processor further to execute the instructions to determine that the movement information indicates a plurality of violent movements of a head of the animal representative of a number of coughs in a first particular period of time (e.g., paragraphs [0040]: sensors 114 of tag assembly 102 may also measure animal posture characteristics such as head tilt using an accelerometer; [0081] and [0085]: specific time sequences of acceleration patterns may indicate that the animal is coughing ; and [0051]: the data analysis routines may be performed using one or more of the processors 116 of the tag assembly), but does not expressly disclose determining that the movement information indicates a plurality of violent movements of a head of the animal representative of a number of coughs in a second particular period of time and determining that the number of coughs in the first particular period of time is greater/lesser than the number of coughs in the second particular period of time. However, Zhang, in a related art: drugs for treating respiratory diseases, teaches that to determine the efficacy of a drug, it was known to count the number of coughs within a particular period of time (e.g., paragraph [0078] of Zhang) and then, at a later time period, count the number of coughs (e.g., paragraph [0079] of Zhang where the number of coughs in the first period (latency period) is greater than the number of coughs in the second particular period of time (e.g., paragraph [0080] and Table 2: the number of coughs within 2 minutes were reduced from the latency period). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the wearable computer device of Singh so that the processor counts the number of coughs over more than one period of time to determine the efficacy of a drug, or to determine if the patient/bovine is getting better in view of the teachings of Zhang that such was a well-known protocol in the treatment of respiratory disease art, and because the combination would have yielded a predictable result.
As to claim 9, Singh discloses the wearable computing device of claim 1, the at least one processor further to execute the instructions to determine that the movement information indicates a plurality of violent movements of a head of the animal representative of a number of coughs in a first particular period of time (e.g., paragraphs [0040]: sensors 114 of tag assembly 102 may also measure animal posture characteristics such as head tilt using an accelerometer; [0081] and [0085]: specific time sequences of acceleration patterns may indicate that the animal is coughing ; and [0051]: the data analysis routines may be performed using one or more of the processors 116 of the tag assembly), but does not expressly disclose determining that the movement information indicates a plurality of violent movements of a head of the animal representative of a number of coughs in a second particular period of time and determining that the number of coughs in the first particular period of time is less than the number of coughs in the second particular period of time. However, Zhang, as discussed above, teaches that it was known in the treatment of respiratory diseases to count the number of coughs over more than one time period in order to determine if the patient/bovine is getting better. Since there is no language to define the first and second periods of time, the latency period of Zhang could be the second period of time and the number of coughs within 2 min could be the first period of time, in that case, the number of coughs in the first period of time would be less than the number of coughs recorded during the second period of time (e.g., paragraphs [0080] and Table 2 of Zhang). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the wearable computer device of Singh so that the processor counts the number of coughs over more than one period of time to determine the efficacy of a drug, or to determine if the patient/bovine is getting worse in view of the teachings of Zhang that such was a well-known protocol in the treatment of respiratory disease art, and because the combination would have yielded a predictable result.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CATHERINE M VOORHEES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792