DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an amendment filed on 08/13/2026.
Response to Amendment
No claim has been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 08/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues on pages 5-6 in the remarks that current prior art does claims 1 and 20.Therefore, this case should be allowed. In response, Examiner’s disagrees with the applicant. The examiner’s interpretation of this claim 1 limitation is using a method for receiving a system message comprising a third information, the third information indicates a terminal device is allowed to send a first information indicative of a capability reduction information of the terminal device, and the terminal sends the first information. The examiner interpretation for claim 20 is same as claim 1. DING’s teaching on page 13, step 501 about using an overheating indicator information is equated to first information, page 20, paragraph 3,SRS is equated to a second information, his teaching on page 23, step 501 about using a RRC is equated to a third information and a system message, sending a first overheating indicator by a terminal using a RRC message is read as receiving by a network device, his teaching on page 23, step 501 about using an overheating indication information is equated to a capability reduction of a terminal, and sending an overheating indicating message by the terminal using a RRC signaling message explicitly teaches using the third information indicates that a terminal device is allowed to send first information indicating for a capability reduction of the terminal device, his teaching on page 23, step 501 about sending an overheating indicating message by the terminal using a RRC signaling message also explicitly teaches sending the first information.
As for applicant’s argument about depend claims on 6, these claims are not allowable, because these claims depend on independent claims those do not overcome with current prior art rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 13-14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102 (a) (2) as being anticipated by DING et al. (hereinafter, ”DING”; CN110049563). (For citation purpose, examiner has used English translation of CN110049563.The original version and the English translation describe the same innovation. The publication date of CN110049563 is July/23/2019; therefore, it qualifies as a prior art under 35 U.S.C 102 (a)(2)).
In response to claims 1 and 20,
DING teaches a method, comprising: receiving system message, wherein the system message comprises third information(page 13, step 501,overheating indicator information is equated to first information, page 20, paragraph 3,SRS is equated to a second information, page 23, step 501,RRC is equated to a third information and a system message, sending a first overheating indicator by a terminal using a RRC message is read as receiving by a network device), and
the third information indicates that a terminal device is allowed to send first information indicating for a capability reduction of the terminal device (page 23, step 501,overheating indication information is equated to a capability reduction of a terminal, sending an overheating indicating message by the terminal using a RRC signaling message explicitly teaches this limitation);and
sending the first information (page 23, step 501, sending an overheating indicating message by the terminal using a RRC signaling message explicitly teaches this limitation).
In response to claim 2,
DING teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving a first configuration corresponding to a first capability of the terminal device (page 23, step 501,overheating indication information is also equated to first configuration corresponding to a first capability of the terminal device, sending an overheating indicating message by the terminal using a RRC signaling message explicitly teaches this limitation).
In response to claim 6,
DING teaches wherein the sending the first information comprises: sending a radio resource control (RRC) setup complete message, wherein the RRC setup complete message comprises the first information (page 23, step 501,overheating indication information is also equated to first configuration corresponding to a first capability of the terminal device, RRC message is equated to a radio resource control (RRC) setup complete message, a sending an overheating indicating message by the terminal using a RRC signaling message explicitly teaches this limitation); or sending an RRC resume complete message, wherein the RRC resume complete message comprises the first information.
In response to claim 7,
DING teaches wherein the receiving the first configuration comprises: receiving an RRC reconfiguration message, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message comprises the first configuration (page 24, step 502, a first configuration information is equated to a first configuration, using a radio resource control (RRC) by a network device for sending a first configuration information is interpreted as receiving by the terminal RRC configuration message comprises the first configuration); or receiving an RRC resume message, wherein the RRC resume message comprises the first configuration.
In response to claim 8,
DING teaches wherein the first configuration indicates allowing the terminal device to send a current capability of the terminal device (page 26, step 601, overheating indication information is also equated to a current capability of the terminal device, sending a first configuration by the network device using a timer and receiving an overheating indication information from the terminal (during a first timer) is interpreted as first configuration indicates allowing the terminal device to send a current capability of the terminal device).
In response to claim 13,
DING teaches a method, comprising: sending system message, wherein the system message comprises third information (page 13, step 501,overheating indicator information is equated to first information, page 20, paragraph 3,SRS is equated to a second information, page 23, step 501,RRC is equated to a third information and a system message, sending a first overheating indicator y a terminal using a RRC message is read as sending by a terminal), and
the third information indicates that a terminal device is allowed to send first information indicating for a capability reduction of the terminal device (page 23, step 501,overheating indication information is equated to a capability reduction of a terminal, sending an overheating indicating message by the terminal using a RRC signaling message explicitly teaches this limitation); and
receiving the first information (page 23, step 501, sending an overheating indicating message by the terminal using a RRC signaling message explicitly teaches this limitation).
In response to claim 14,
DING teaches wherein the method further comprises: sending a first configuration corresponding to a first capability of the terminal device (page 23, step 501,overheating indication information is also equated to first configuration corresponding to a first capability of the terminal device, sending an overheating indicating message by the terminal using a RRC signaling message explicitly teaches this limitation).
In response to claim 17,
DING teaches wherein the receiving the first information comprises: receiving a radio resource control (RRC) setup complete message, wherein the RRC setup complete message comprises the first information (page 23, step 501,overheating indication information is also equated to first configuration corresponding to a first capability of the terminal device, RRC message is equated to a radio resource control (RRC) setup complete message, a sending an overheating indicating message by the terminal using a RRC signaling message explicitly teaches this limitation); or receiving an RRC resume complete message, wherein the RRC resume complete message comprises the first information.
In response to claim 18,
DING teaches wherein the sending the first configuration comprises: sending an RRC reconfiguration message, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message comprises the first configuration (page 24, step 502, a first configuration information is equated to a first configuration, using a radio resource control (RRC) by a network device for sending a first configuration information is interpreted as sending an RRC reconfiguration message, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message comprises the first configuration); or sending an RRC resume message, wherein the RRC resume message comprises the first configuration.
In response to claim 19,
DING teaches an apparatus, comprising: at least one processor, wherein the processor is coupled to a memory, and the processor is configured to execute a computer program or instructions stored in the memory, so that the apparatus is enabled to perform operations including (page 30 paragraph 4 teaches using a processor and a memory by a terminal to perform the claimed functionalities):
receiving system message, wherein the system message comprises third information, and the third information indicates that the apparatus is allowed to send first information indicating for a capability reduction of the apparatus; and sending the first information (these limitations are identical to claim 1, therefore, these limitations are rejected as claim 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 9-12 and 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As for claim 3 and 15, these dependent claims are objected, because there is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitation “wherein the first capability of the terminal device is lower than a second capability of the terminal device.”
The closest prior art in the record DING et al.’s (CN110049563) teaching in page 13, step 501 about overheating indicator information is equated to first information, his teaching on page 20, paragraph 3, using a SRS is equated to a second information, his teaching on page 23, step 501, using a RRC is equated to a third information and a system message, sending a first overheating indicator by a terminal using a RRC message is read as receiving by a network device, his teaching on page 23, step 501 about overheating indication information is equated to a capability reduction of a terminal, sending an overheating indicating message by the terminal using a RRC signaling message explicitly teaches using the third information indicates that a terminal device is allowed to send first information indicating for a capability reduction of the terminal device. He fails to teach the above cited limitation.
Claims 4 and 16 are objected because these claims depend on claims 3 and 15.
As for claim 5, this dependent claim is objected, because there is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitation “wherein before the sending the first information, the method further comprises: determining that a current capability of the terminal device is lower than a second capability of the terminal device.”
The closest prior art in the record DING et al.’s (CN110049563) teaching in page 13, step 501 about overheating indicator information is equated to first information, his teaching on page 20, paragraph 3, using a SRS is equated to a second information, his teaching on page 23, step 501, using a RRC is equated to a third information and a system message, sending a first overheating indicator by a terminal using a RRC message is read as receiving by a network device, his teaching on page 23, step 501 about overheating indication information is equated to a capability reduction of a terminal, sending an overheating indicating message by the terminal using a RRC signaling message explicitly teaches using the third information indicates that a terminal device is allowed to send first information indicating for a capability reduction of the terminal device. He fails to teach the above cited limitation.
As for claim 9, this dependent claim is objected, because there is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitation “wherein the method further comprises: sending second information indicating a temporary capability of the terminal device.”
The closest prior art in the record DING et al.’s (CN110049563) teaching in page 13, step 501 about overheating indicator information is equated to first information, his teaching on page 20, paragraph 3, using a SRS is equated to a second information, his teaching on page 23, step 501, using a RRC is equated to a third information and a system message, sending a first overheating indicator by a terminal using a RRC message is read as receiving by a network device, his teaching on page 23, step 501 about overheating indication information is equated to a capability reduction of a terminal, sending an overheating indicating message by the terminal using a RRC signaling message explicitly teaches using the third information indicates that a terminal device is allowed to send first information indicating for a capability reduction of the terminal device. He fails to teach the above cited limitation.
Claims 10-12 are objected because these claims depend on claim 9.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABUSAYEED M HAQUE/Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466