DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed, 29 April 2026, of application filed, with the above serial number, on 24 June 2024 in which claims 21, 26, 31, 33-34 have been amended, claim 32 has been cancelled. Claims 21-31, 33-40 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22, 28, 39 recites the limitation "an application" in line 2. It is not clear if an application in exemplary claim 22 is different from an application in claim 21.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim is amended to add ‘wherein the computing system automatically begins transmitting commands before for resetting the connection to the connection endpoint after the connection is established’. It is not clear on the timeline for when the ‘before’ commands are transmitted after the connection is established.
Claim 31 recites the limitation "the connection" in line 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is not clear if the connection is the connection established from the computing system to apparatus, or apparatus to endpoint or computing system to endpoint or all of the above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-25, 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bloch et al (hereinafter “Bloch”, 2011/0078309) in view of Brinskelle (hereinafter “Brinskelle”, 2019/0354709).
As per Claim 21, Bloch discloses a method for preventing exchange of communication with malicious servers, the method comprising:
generating a connection request initiated by an application to establish a connection with a connection endpoint at an Internet Protocol (IP) address (at least paragraph 70-72, fig. 4a, 6a; proxy appliance (w/traffic monitor) receiving client request to server IP address);
in a log service on the computing system (at least paragraph 97; traffic monitor 508 can allow for logging):
after generating the connection request, transmitting a reverse Domain Name System (DNS) request to a DNS security service, wherein the reverse DNS request identifies the IP address (at least paragraph 81, 84-85, 154; traffic monitor can perform reverse domain name service (DNS) lookup; to determine the domain name associated with an IP address, a reverse DNS lookup can be used to find the domain name); and
in response to receiving a response from the DNS security service indicating the IP address is malicious, transmitting commands for resetting the connection to the connection endpoint (at least paragraph 152, 169-173, 191, 206, 69; firewall action…generate a reset packet in response to matching the address; traffic monitor can send TCP resets to known bad IP addresses; bad or malicious domain).
Bloch fails to explicitly disclose in a computing system on a local network…[the connection request] initiated by an application executing on the computing system. However, the use and advantages for using such a system was well known to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as evidenced by the teachings of Brinskelle. Brinskelle discloses, in an analogous art, a security agent 105 acting as a proxy can be deployed in line with a connection between a client 100 and intended server, and also 100 and 105 being local to each other and operating on the same computer system or separate and on a local network gateway, and further the security agent spoofing TCP resets when detecting malicious activity (at least Brinskelle paragraph 146, 149-152, 163-164, 633-641; Fig. 4A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the use of Brinskelle’s security agent being client side with Bloch as Brinskelle teaches a security agent client side can improve security for the user or client application such as a web browser and help resolve active network man in the middle attacks (at least paragraph 158-161), as well as placement on where the security agent being a well known design choice, so long as the agent is located between the application on the client and the server, the application is secure and Bloch teaches in par. 61 that the proxy appliance can be deployed in any number of modes.
As per Claim 22. The method of claim 21, wherein the IP address is programmed into an application executing on the computing system (at least paragraph 151; known bad IP address of traffic monitor application; at least Brinskelle paragraph 146, 149-152, 163-164, 633-641 web browser of client 100).
As per Claim 23. The method of claim 21, comprising: transmitting the reverse DNS request in response to determining the IP address was not obtained by the computing system using a DNS request (at least paragraph 81-84; request includes IP address not domain name, proxy performs reverse DNS).
As per Claim 24. The method of claim 21, comprising:
initiating a second connection to a second connection endpoint at a second IP address (at least paragraph 70-72, fig. 4a, 6a; proxy appliance (w/traffic monitor) receiving client request to server IP address); in the log service: transmitting a second reverse DNS request to the DNS security service, wherein the second reverse DNS request identifies the second IP address (at least paragraph 81, 84-85, 154; traffic monitor can perform reverse domain name service (DNS) lookup; to determine the domain name associated with an IP address, a reverse DNS lookup can be used to find the domain name); and in response to receiving a second response from the DNS security service indicating the second IP address is not malicious, refraining from transmitting second commands for resetting the second connection (at least paragraph 104, 72; rules or policies allow firewall 604 to block or allow traffic on specified ports based on specified IP addresses, if IP address on whitelist).
Bloch fails to explicitly disclose in the computing system…initiating a second connection. However, the use and advantages for using such a system was well known to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as evidenced by the teachings of Brinskelle. Brinskelle discloses, in an analogous art, a security agent 105 acting as a proxy can be deployed in line with a connection between a client 100 and intended server, and also 100 and 105 being local to each other and operating on the same computer system and further the security agent spoofing TCP resets when detecting malicious activity (at least Brinskelle paragraph 146, 149-152, 163-164, 633-641). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the use of Brinskelle’s security agent being client side with Bloch as Brinskelle teaches a security agent client side can improve security for the user or client application such as a web browser and help resolve active network man in the middle attacks (at least paragraph 158-161), as well as placement on where the security agent being a well known design choice, so long as the agent is located between the application on the client and the server, the application is secure and Bloch teaches in par. 61 that the proxy appliance can be deployed in any number of modes.
As per Claim 25. The method of claim 21, wherein the log service executes as part of an operating system of the computing system (at least paragraph 67).
As per Claim 29. The method of claim 21, comprising:
transmitting the reverse DNS request in response to determining the IP address was not obtained by the computing system using a DNS request (at least paragraph 81-84; request includes IP address not domain name, proxy performs reverse DNS).
As per Claim 30. The method of claim 21, comprising:
initiating a second connection to a second connection endpoint at a second IP address (at least paragraph 70-72, fig. 4a, 6a; proxy appliance (w/traffic monitor) receiving client request to server IP address); in the log service: transmitting a second reverse Domain Name System (DNS) request to the DNS security service, wherein the second reverse DNS request identifies the second IP address (at least paragraph 81, 84-85, 154; traffic monitor can perform reverse domain name service (DNS) lookup; to determine the domain name associated with an IP address, a reverse DNS lookup can be used to find the domain name); starting transmission of second commands for resetting the second connection to the second connection endpoint (at least paragraph 152, 169-173, 191, 206; send resets); and in response to receiving a second response from the DNS security service indicating the second IP address is malicious, continuing the transmission of the second commands (at least paragraph 152, 169-173, 191, 206; send resets to known bad IP addresses).
Bloch fails to explicitly disclose in the computing system…initiating a second connection. However, the use and advantages for using such a system was well known to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as evidenced by the teachings of Brinskelle. Brinskelle discloses, in an analogous art, a security agent 105 acting as a proxy can be deployed in line with a connection between a client 100 and intended server, and also 100 and 105 being local to each other and operating on the same computer system and further the security agent spoofing TCP resets when detecting malicious activity (at least Brinskelle paragraph 146, 149-152, 163-164, 633-641). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the use of Brinskelle’s security agent being client side with Bloch as Brinskelle teaches a security agent client side can improve security for the user or client application such as a web browser and help resolve active network man in the middle attacks (at least paragraph 158-161), as well as placement on where the security agent being a well known design choice, so long as the agent is located between the application on the client and the server, the application is secure and Bloch teaches in par. 61 that the proxy appliance can be deployed in any number of modes.
Claims 26-28, 31, 33-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bloch in view of Brinskelle, further in view of Nussbaum et al (hereinafter “Nussbaum”, 2024/0419771).
As per Claim 26, Bloch discloses a method for preventing exchange of communication with malicious servers, the method comprising:
generating a connection request to establish a connection with a connection endpoint at an Internet Protocol (IP) address (at least paragraph 70-72, fig. 4a, 6a; proxy appliance (w/traffic monitor) receiving client request to server IP address);
in a log service on the computing system:
transmitting a reverse Domain Name System (DNS) request to a DNS security service, wherein the reverse DNS request identifies the IP address (at least paragraph 81, 84-85, 154; traffic monitor can perform reverse domain name service (DNS) lookup; to determine the domain name associated with an IP address, a reverse DNS lookup can be used to find the domain name);
after establishing the connection, automatically starting transmission of commands for resetting the connection to the connection endpoint (at least paragraph 152, 169-173, 191, 206; firewall action…generate a reset packet in response to matching the address; traffic monitor can send TCP resets to known bad IP addresses).
Bloch fails to explicitly disclose in a computing system…[the connection request] initiated by an application executing on the computing system. However, the use and advantages for using such a system was well known to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as evidenced by the teachings of Brinskelle. Brinskelle discloses, in an analogous art, a security agent 105 acting as a proxy can be deployed in line with a connection between a client 100 and intended server, and also 100 and 105 being local to each other and operating on the same computer system and further the security agent spoofing TCP resets when detecting malicious activity (at least Brinskelle paragraph 146, 149-152, 163-164, 633-641). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the use of Brinskelle’s security agent being client side with Bloch as Brinskelle teaches a security agent client side can improve security for the user or client application such as a web browser and help resolve active network man in the middle attacks (at least paragraph 158-161), as well as placement on where the security agent being a well known design choice, so long as the agent is located between the application on the client and the server, the application is secure and Bloch teaches in par. 61 that the proxy appliance can be deployed in any number of modes.
Bloch fails to explicitly disclose in response to receiving a response from the DNS security service indicating the IP address is not malicious, ending the transmission of the commands. However, the use and advantages for using such a system was well known to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as evidenced by the teachings of Nussbaum. Nussbaum discloses, in an analogous art, DNS request validation wherein if the system detects any potential attack, immediately issuing TCP RSTs to shut down a connection (at least Nussbaum paragraph 183-190). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the use of Nussbaum’s reset packets with Bloch as Nussbaum teaches detecting traffic from malicious devices such that any potential threat has a connection immediately reset, thus allowing a device to be protected in the time it takes for a DNS and reverse DNS request to be checked in instances where a DNS result is not known immediately. This would be an obvious combination to allow resets to immediately be communicated to hold off on the connection and wait for a result in Bloch’s system, the trade-off being a slight connection delay but a secure result.
As per Claim 27. The method of claim 26, comprising:
starting the transmission of commands in response to identifying the reverse DNS request (at least Nussbaum paragraph 183-190).
As per Claim 28. The method of claim 26, wherein the IP address is programmed into an application executing on the computing system (at least paragraph 151; known bad IP address of traffic monitor application; at least Brinskelle paragraph 146, 149-152, 163-164, 633-641 web browser of client 100).
As per Claim 31, Bloch discloses an apparatus for preventing exchange of communication with malicious servers, the apparatus comprising:
one or more computer readable storage media; a processing system operatively coupled with the one or more computer readable storage media; and program instructions stored on the one or more computer readable storage media that, when read and executed by the processing system, direct the apparatus to:
receive a reverse Domain Name System (DNS) request from a computing system, wherein the reverse DNS request identifies an Internet Protocol (IP) address of a connection endpoint with which the computing system initiated a connection (at least paragraph 81, 84-85, 154, 69; traffic monitor can perform reverse domain name service (DNS) lookup; to determine the domain name associated with an IP address, a reverse DNS lookup can be used to find the domain name;);
determine whether the IP address is malicious (at least paragraph 69; Based on whether the domains are considered to be bad, malicious, or otherwise undesirable, the IPFW rule manager provide or update rules for a firewall using the IP addresses based on the list for those undesirable domains so that traffic to those domains can be blocked, redirected, or otherwise acted upon); and
transmit a response indicating whether the IP address is malicious to the computing system, wherein the computing system automatically begins transmitting commands before for resetting the connection to the connection endpoint after the connection is established and uses the response as a basis for determining whether to stop transmitting the commands (at least paragraph 152, 169-173, 191, 206, 69; firewall action…generate a reset packet in response to matching the address; traffic monitor can send TCP resets to known bad IP addresses).
Bloch fails to explicitly disclose the connection request is initiated by an application executing on the computing system. However, the use and advantages for using such a system was well known to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as evidenced by the teachings of Brinskelle. Brinskelle discloses, in an analogous art, a security agent 105 acting as a proxy can be deployed in line with a connection between a client 100 and intended server, and also 100 and 105 being local to each other and operating on the same computer system and further the security agent spoofing TCP resets when detecting malicious activity (at least Brinskelle paragraph 146, 149-152, 163-164, 633-641). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the use of Brinskelle’s security agent being client side with Bloch as Brinskelle teaches a security agent client side can improve security for the user or client application such as a web browser and help resolve active network man in the middle attacks (at least paragraph 158-161), as well as placement on where the security agent being a well known design choice, so long as the agent is located between the application on the client and the server, the application is secure and Bloch teaches in par. 61 that the proxy appliance can be deployed in any number of modes.
As per Claim 33. The apparatus of claim 31, wherein the computing system continues transmitting the commands when the response indicates the IP address is malicious (at least Nussbaum paragraph 183-190; Bloch paragraph 152, 169-173, 191, 206; firewall action…generate a reset packet in response to matching the address; traffic monitor can send TCP resets to known bad IP addresses).
As per Claim 34. The apparatus of claim 31, wherein the computing system stops transmitting the commands when the response indicates the IP address is malicious (at least Nussbaum paragraph 183-190; Bloch paragraph 152, 169-173, 191, 206; firewall action…generate a reset packet in response to matching the address; traffic monitor can send TCP resets to known bad IP addresses).
As per Claim 35. The apparatus of claim 31, wherein to determine whether the IP address is malicious, the program instructions direct the apparatus to: determine one or more attributes associated with the IP address; and determine whether the one or more attributes satisfy criteria to consider the connection endpoint malicious, wherein the IP address is malicious when the connection endpoint is determined to be malicious (at least paragraph 69-73; domains are considered malicious and IP address being on blacklist).
As per Claim 36. The apparatus of claim 35, wherein the one or more attributes include one or more of an attribute group comprising: a name server associated with the IP address; and a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) associated with the IP address (at least paragraph 73; If the IP addresses are not found in the whitelists, then control transfers to step 420 and step 422 in which checks are made against an administrator blacklist and whitelist based on domain or URL).
As per Claim 37. The apparatus of claim 35, wherein the criteria include one or more of a criteria group comprising: one or more whitelists; one or more blacklists; and a change in an attribute over time (at least paragraph 73; If the IP addresses are not found in the whitelists, then control transfers to step 420 and step 422 in which checks are made against an administrator blacklist and whitelist based on domain or URL).
As per Claim 38. The apparatus of claim 31, wherein a firewall directs the reverse DNS request from the computing system to the apparatus (at least paragraph 96; traffic to that domain is to be redirected to a different domain, the firewall rule manager 704 creates and communicates a rule to the firewall so that traffic to the IP address is redirected to the different domain).
As per Claim 39. The apparatus of claim 31, wherein the IP address is programmed into an application executing on the computing system (at least paragraph 151; known bad IP address of traffic monitor application; at least Brinskelle paragraph 146, 149-152, 163-164, 633-641 web browser of client 100).
As per Claim 40. The apparatus of claim 31, wherein the computing system transmits the reverse DNS request in response to determining the IP address was not obtained by the computing system using a DNS request (at least paragraph 81-84; request includes IP address not domain name, proxy performs reverse DNS).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 29 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that Bloch’s proposed modification would change its principle of operation, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). A proxy appliance being intermediary between a client and server or proxy application on a client itself without the intermediary device is well known and common in the art and clearly not changing the principle of operation to have a client have additional network proxy software installed. The argument that moving the proxy appliance to the client would no longer protect all network traffic and ‘any number of client computers’ is not persuasive as it is a design choice to protect a whole network or a single device, they each have their advantages and are well known to those of ordinary skill in the art, and the number of clients being one is within the scope of the argument.
Brinskelle, in fact, is completely directed to protecting a client just as in Bloch but with the software and monitoring being on a local client. Applicant has not responded to the Brinskelle teachings, and in fact Brinskelle, while teaching primarily such security measures being done at a security agent residing client-side, also teaches such use being for users within the network or on a gateway and thus protecting plurality of clients (at least paragraph 151; Fig. 4A). Brinskelle clearly rebuts the argument that Bloch’s appliance as modified would be unsatisfactory for its intended purpose as Brinskelle shows such security features can be in many places in a network.
Regarding claim 26, Applicant argues Bloch not teach automatically starting transmission of commands for resetting the connection. However, par. 152 teaches ‘The traffic monitor can send TCP resets to known bad IP addresses when on a tap, such as by taking advantage of the IPFW functionality to do so’. Thus the traffic monitor having IPFW functionality sends the resets in response to known bad IP addresses, such appearing to be automatic as there is no other steps or manual intervention. Whether after detection of suspicious activity, as argued, or after detecting the bad IP address, both are ‘after establishing the connection’ as claimed. Bloch teaches in par. 191 that the traffic monitor “installs IPFW rules that will result in sending resets to TCP and/or UDP connections that are intended to be blocked”
Applicant argues Nussbaum fails to disclose ending the transmission of commands. However, Nussbaum teaches immediately sending reset commands upon any potential connection threat or attack in order to shut down a connection, while Bloch teaches determining of the IP address is bad or not and then issuing the reset commands. The combination would be an obvious result that Nussbaum’s TCP RST commands are immediately issued and once it is determined by Bloch that the IP address is not bad or malicious, such commands would be stopped as the potential attack, something being possible in the future, is no longer a potential attack and sending the RST commands would result in the connection not being made with a determined good IP address, an obvious result that is not intended.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/GREGORY TODD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443