DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application 18/752,441 filed 6/24/2024 which claims benefit of 63/509,830 filed 6/23/2023.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-8 and 11 pending in the Application. Claims 1-5 previously withdrawn by Applicant. Claims 9-10 cancelled by Applicant. Thus, claims 6-8 and 11 examined below.
The previous objection to the drawings is maintained. Applicant did not amend the drawings and/or specification and did not address the previous objection in the remarks dated 9/25/2025.
Claims 9-11 were previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Applicant’s remarks (page 5) suggest the claims were amended to overcome the rejection. Claims 9 and 10 were cancelled. However, the limitation of claim 9 which rendered the claim indefinite was added to claim 6. Thus, claims 6 is now indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).. Claims 7-8 and 11 depend on claim 6 and are therefore rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Also, in view of the amendment, a new rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is made in the action below.
Response to Argument
RE Kalazich (US 2005/0268525 A1)(hereinafter Kalazich)
In view of the amendments to the claims, claims 6, 8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Kalazich in a new/different interpretation of the art.
RE Fredericks (US 862,150)(hereinafter Fredericks)
In view of the amendments to the claims, the previous rejection of claims 6 and 8 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Fredericks is withdrawn.
RE Fredericks in view of Kandlbinder (US 6,247,260 B1)(hereinafter Kandlbinder)
In view of the amendments to the claims, the previous rejection of claims 9-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Fredericks in view of Kandlbinder (US 6247260 B1)(hereinafter Kandlbinder) is withdrawn.
RE Kandlbinder
Applicant’s response does not appear to contain arguments specific to the previous rejection of claims 6, 8-9, and 11 as being anticipated by Kandlbinder (non-final rejection dated 6/25/2025 pages 5-6).
Applicant’s argument regarding the Kandlbinder reference relates to the previous rejection of claims 9-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fredericks in view of Kandlbinder. Applicant states: “the hook enters through the top O-ring (104) and not through an arbitrary hole within the mesh” (remarks page 6). This argument is not persuasive. There is no O-ring (104) in the device of Kandlbinder.
In Kandlbinder the hook 14 extends through an opening 16 in the protector 10, through the bait 12, and out of an opposite corresponding mesh hole as seen in see Fig 3 (sharp, pointed end of hook 14 projecting through the mesh protector bag 10).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 14 (page 4, line 4 and throughout).
Claim Interpretation
Claim 6, line 1 recites: “A system for making a fishing bait…” which does not clearly set forth the statutory category which the invention belongs to.
It has been determined that the claims are directed to a product (“a system”) and the appropriate principles for interpreting claims for that particular category of invention have been applied. Also, see the restriction dated 4/14/2025 and Applicant’s response without traverse dated 6/16/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For purposes of examination on the merits, the claims, as best understood, are examined in the Action below.
Claim 6 appears to recite method steps within an apparatus claim.
For example, in claim 6: “the receiving hook traversing into an arbitrary mesh hole of the plurality of mesh holes, through the bait material, and out of an opposite corresponding mesh hole of the plurality of mesh holes”
This limitation appears to describe the insertion of the hook/sharp end of the hook through the mesh and the bait (method step). For purposes of examination on the merits, it is interpreted that the hook extends through an arbitrary mesh hole, through the bait material, and out of an opposite corresponding mesh hole.
Furthermore, the following limitation is repeated in claim 6: “a receiving hook; the receiving hook traversing into an arbitrary mesh hole of the plurality of mesh holes, through the bait material, and out of an opposite corresponding mesh hole of the plurality of mesh holes; and the bait mesh wrap and the bait material being suspended on the receiving hook.” As currently drafted, it is unclear if there is one or two receiving hooks in the system. If there are two is the first one different than the second?
For purposes of examination on the merits, it is interpreted that this limitation was repeated due to a copy and paste error.
RE Claim 11: As currently drafted, claim 11 depends on claim 9. Claim 9 was cancelled by Applicant. The details of claim 9 were added to claim 6. For purposes of examination on the merits, it is interpreted that claim 11 should depend on claim 6.
Claims 7-8 and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6, 8, and 11, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kalazich.
RE Claim 6: Kalazich discloses a system (Fig 2) for making a fishing bait by utilizing a bait mesh wrap comprising:
a bait mesh wrap (20; para 0080);
a bait material (F; para 0080);
the bait mesh wrap (20) comprising a mesh body and a plurality of mesh holes (Fig 2)(also para 0080);
the plurality of mesh holes being distributed throughout the mesh body (Fig 2; also para 0080);
the bait material being situated upon the mesh body (F in 20 as seen in Fig 2 and described in para 0080);
the bait material being enveloped by the mesh body (20 is a sleeve which holds F per para 0080 and seen in Fig 2);
a receiving hook (24);
the receiving hook traversing into an arbitrary mesh hole of the plurality of mesh holes (Fig 2), through the bait material (24 extends through 10 as seen in Figs 1 and 3), and out of an opposite corresponding mesh hole of the plurality of mesh holes (best seen in Fig 2); and
the bait mesh wrap and the bait material being suspended on the receiving hook (Fig 2).
RE Claim 8: Kalazich discloses the system as claimed in claim 6, as previously discussed and further discloses
wherein the mesh body is made from a malleable mesh material (para 0076).
RE Claim 11: Kalazich discloses the system as claimed in claim 1 as previously discussed and further discloses further comprising:
the receiving hook comprising a sharp end (point on 24), a hook bend (bend between the barbed end and the shaft of 24), and a hook shank (shaft of the hook 24)(24 is a conventional fishing hook);
the hook bend being positioned adjacent to the sharp end (Fig 2);
the hook shank being positioned adjacent to the hook bend (Fig 2), opposite to the sharp end (Fig 2);
the sharp end and the hook bend traversing into the arbitrary mesh hole, through the bait material, and out of the opposite corresponding mesh hole (Fig 2)(para 0080); and
the bait mesh wrap and the bait material being positioned along the hook shank (Fig 2).
Claims 6, 8, and 11, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kandlbinder.
RE Claim 6: Kandlbinder discloses a system (Figs 1-4) for making a fishing bait by utilizing a bait mesh wrap comprising:
a bait mesh wrap (bait protector 10);
a bait material (bait 12);
the bait mesh wrap comprising a mesh body and a plurality of mesh holes (col 3, ln 65 – col 4, ln 5);
the plurality of mesh holes being distributed throughout the mesh body (col 3, ln 65- col 4, ln 5)(also Figs 1-4);
the bait material being situated upon the mesh body (Figs 1-4)(col 3, ln 20 – 33);
the bait material being enveloped by the mesh body (Figs 1-4)(col 3, ln 20 – 33);
a receiving hook (hook 14);
the receiving hook traversing into an arbitrary mesh hole of the plurality of mesh holes (Figs 1-3)(col 3, ln 20-30), through the bait material (14 extends through 12 as seen in Figs 1 and 3), and out of an opposite corresponding mesh hole of the plurality of mesh holes (best seen in Fig 3); and
the bait mesh wrap and the bait material being suspended on the receiving hook (Fig 3).
RE Claim 8: Kandlbinder discloses the system as claimed in claim 6, as previously discussed and further discloses
wherein the mesh body is made from a malleable mesh material (col 3, ln 65 – col 4, ln 5).
RE Claim 11: Kandlbinder discloses the system as claimed in claim 1 as previously discussed and further discloses further comprising:
the receiving hook comprising a sharp end (point), a hook bend (bend between the barbed end and the shaft), and a hook shank (shaft of the hook);
the hook bend being positioned adjacent to the sharp end (Figs 1 and 3);
the hook shank being positioned adjacent to the hook bend (Figs 1 and 3), opposite to the sharp end (Figs 1 and 3);
the sharp end and the hook bend traversing into the arbitrary mesh hole, through the bait material, and out of the opposite corresponding mesh hole (Figs 1-3)(col 3, ln 20-30); and
the bait mesh wrap and the bait material being positioned along the hook shank (Fig 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7, as best understood, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalazich.
RE Claim 7: Kalazich discloses the system as claimed in claim 6 as previously discussed and further discloses further comprising:
the bait mesh wrap further comprising a first lateral end and a second lateral end (opposing ends of 140);
the mesh body being wrapped around the bait material (para 0103);
the first lateral end being wrapped around the bait material (para 0103);
the second lateral end being wrapped around the bait material, opposite to the first lateral end (para 0103); and
the second lateral end overlapping the first lateral end (para 0103).
Regarding the limitation: “the bait material being centered on the mesh body”
Kalazich teaches some degree of a central placement of the bait material within the mesh body (140) because the mesh body (140) is wrapped around the bait (per para 0101-0103).
Should it be contemplated the central placement previously described is not the same as the bait material is “centered” on the mesh body, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kalazich such that the bait material is centered on the mesh body, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 (VI) (C) citing In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). This would be done to facilitate attaching the tie elements together.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 dated 6/25/2025.
These documents present alternative designs similar in scope which illustrate relevant features in comparison to the Applicant’s submission. The cited prior art include various devices for attaching fishing bait to hooks for attracting prospective game fish.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIA E GRABER/Examiner, Art Unit 3644
/MONICA L PERRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644