DETAILED ACTION
Final Rejection
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 26 January 2026 has been entered. Claims 43-72 are pending in the application. Claims 1-42 remain canceled from consideration.
Drawings
Pursuant to the amendments made to the Specification, the drawings filed 24 June 2024 are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 62-65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation of Claim 62 line 1 recites “the actuatable port comprises a piston”. A port is an opening. An opening cannot comprise, or be made of, a piston. It is unclear how one is to interpret the presence of an opening being made up of an item, specifically a piston in this instance.
Claims 63-64 are rejected based upon their dependence from claim 62.
The limitation of Claim 65 lines 1-2 recites “the actuatable port comprises a valve plug and a spring”. A port is an opening. An opening cannot comprise, or be made of, a valve plug and a spring. It is unclear how one is to interpret the presence of an opening being made up of an item or items, specifically a valve plug and a spring in this instance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 43, 55, and 58-61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bey (U.S. Patent Publication 2017/0184218) in view of Dale (U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0259080).
Regarding claim 43, Bey discloses a valve assembly 310 comprising:
a valve housing 312 having an upstream connection 312a, a downstream connection 312b, and a longitudinal bore (through 312, FIG. 4), wherein the valve housing in configured to be connected (the valve housing is able to be connected to any standard conduit regardless of the location of the conduit) to a bypass conduit connected to a main conduit;
a valve 315 positioned in the longitudinal bore; and
a flow restrictor 20 positioned downstream or upstream of the valve (both),
wherein the flow restrictor is configured to restrict a fluid flow through the valve assembly, and the flow restrictor comprises an actuatable port (right end of 20) configured to open to enable the fluid flow through the flow restrictor (FIG. 1, 4; Paragraph 29-31, 35).
Bey does not expressly state the valve housing is connected to a bypass conduit connected to a main conduit.
However, Dale teaches placing a valve 22 on a bypass conduit (5a, 5b) to a main conduit (100) (FIG. 1; Paragraph 46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Bey by placing a valve on a bypass conduit to a main conduit, as taught by Dale, for the purpose of placing the valve assembly in an environment within which the valve assembly is cable of operating in its known and intended manner.
Regarding claim 55, Bey, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 43.
Bey further discloses the flow restrictor has one or more perforations 24 configured to restrict the fluid flow through the flow restrictor (FIG. 1; Col. 4 ln 46-52).
Regarding claim 58, Bey, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 43.
Bey further discloses the valve is a ball valve (FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 59, Bey, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 43.
Bey/Dale further teaches a system (Dale 10) for pressure control in a fluid conduit, the system comprising:
the valve assembly of claim 43 (Bey FIG. 1, 4; Paragraph 29-31, 35; Dale FIG. 1; Paragraph 46); and
a valve actuation system (Dale 30) including a source of actuation fluid (Dale 34) configured to open the valve (FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 60, Bey, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 59.
Bey is silent regarding a second valve assembly.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to place a second valve assembly in series to provide a double redundant shut off, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 61, Bey, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 59.
Bey/Dale further teaches a control system (Dale 40) configured to receive an electronic signal related to a fluid pressure in the main conduit and control the valve actuation system (Dale FIG. 1; Paragraph 45).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 44-54 and 58-66 are allowed.
Claims 56-57 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 62-65 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the closest art fails to anticipate or make obvious an insert received in the flow restrictor, the insert having one or more perforations configured to restrict the fluid flow through the flow restrictor, along with the other limitations of the claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior art fails to anticipate or make obvious an insert received in the flow restrictor, the insert having one or more perforations configured to restrict the fluid flow through the flow restrictor, along with the other limitations of the claims.
Furthermore, the closest prior art fails to anticipate or make obvious the flow restrictor comprises a second actuatable port configured to independently open to enable the fluid flow through the flow restrictor, along with the other limitations of the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 26 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Bey does not disclose an actuatable port configured to open to enable the fluid flow through the flow restrictor. This argument is not persuasive. As stated above in the body of the rejection, Bey discloses that the right side opening of insert 20 is an actuatable port. Rotation of the sealing element 315 opens and closes the right side of the insert 20 to enable flow through the insert 20. Accordingly, the right side port of the insert 20 is actuatable. The opening and closing of the port enable or disables the fluid flow through the restrictor. Accordingly, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER D BALLMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/CRAIG M SCHNEIDER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753