DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 5, 12-14, 16, 17, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Davidsz et al. US 11322867 B1.
In reference to claim 1, Davidsz teaches housing assembly for an electrical connector (shown in fig. 10) that is intermateable with a mating connector (not shown, but mates with the connector shown in fig. 10), wherein the housing assembly comprises: a connector housing (40; fig. 10); and a cover element (48) attachable to the connector housing, wherein the housing assembly further comprises at least two exit openings (i.e. the recesses (near lead line 154) formed in the sides of the cover and the recesses (82) formed in the sides of the housing, together, form the exit openings) for passing electrical wires (similar to the wires of 14; fig. 6), wherein the at least two exit openings are mutually angled at 90° or more (the openings are formed 180 degrees apart from each other), and wherein at least one of the exit openings is jointly formed by the connector housing (40) and the cover element (48).
In reference to claim 4, Davidsz teaches housing assembly according to claim 1, wherein the connector housing comprises a mating face (near lead line 58; fig. 10) configured complementarily to the mating connector, and wherein the cover element is attachable to the connector housing opposite of the mating face (see fig. 10).
In reference to claim 5, Davidsz teaches housing assembly according to claim 1, wherein the connector housing comprises internal contact chambers (120) for holding contact terminals (i.e. the conductors of ribbon cable 14) of the electrical wires, and wherein the cover element attached to the connector housing covers the contact chambers.
In reference to claim 12, Davidsz teaches housing assembly according to claim 1, wherein the housing assembly comprises three, four or five exit openings (pertaining to the recesses 82 and the recesses in the sides 140 that accommodate the wires of the ribbon cable 40. The recesses are formed on both sides of the connector 34) that are pairwise mutually angled at 90° or more (the recesses are formed 180 degrees apart from each other).
In reference to claim 13, Davidsz teaches electrical connector (34; fig. 10) comprising: a housing assembly (i.e. the housing of 34) including a connector housing (40) and a cover element (34) attachable to the connector housing, the housing assembly including at least two exit openings (i.e. the recesses (near lead line 154) formed in the sides of the cover and the recesses (82) formed in the sides of the housing, together, form the exit openings) for passing electrical wires (similar to the wires of 14; fig. 6), wherein the at least two exit openings are mutually angled at 90° or more (the openings are formed 180 degrees apart from each other), and wherein at least one of the exit openings is jointly formed by the connector housing and the cover element; and at least two contact terminals (i.e. the conductor wires of the ribbon cable 14) held in the connector housing.
In reference to claim 14, Davidsz teaches electrical connector according to claim 13, wherein the electrical connector comprises at least two electrical wires (i.e. the wires of 14, where ribbon cable 14 is made up of many wires) each connected to a different contact terminal (each wire of the ribbon cable 14 connects to a different contact terminal 52), wherein the at least two electrical wires are each passed through a different exit opening (the connector housing comprises many recesses that accommodate the many wires in the ribbon cable 14) and routed in directions that are mutually angled at 90° or more (the direction is 180 degrees between the recess on the left side of the connector housing and the recess on the right side of the connector housing. The electrical wires of the ribbon cable pass from the left side through the right side of the connector housing 14).
In reference to claim 16, Davidsz teaches electrical connector according to claim 13, wherein the connector housing comprises a mating face (near lead line 58) configured complementarily to the mating connector, and wherein the cover element is attachable to the connector housing opposite of the mating face (see fig. 10).
In reference to claim 17, Davidsz teaches electrical connector according to claim 13, wherein the connector housing comprises internal contact chambers (120) for holding the contact terminals (i.e. the conductor wires of the ribbon cable 14) of the electrical wires (i.e. the conductors wires of ribbon cable 14), and wherein the cover element attached to the connector housing covers the contact chambers.
In reference to claim 19, Davidsz teaches electrical connector according to claim 13, wherein the housing assembly comprises three, four or five exit openings (pertaining to the recesses 82 and the recesses in the sides 140 that accommodate the wires of the ribbon cable 40. The recesses are formed on both sides of the connector 34) that are pairwise mutually angled at 90° or more (the recesses are formed 180 degrees apart from each other).
In reference to claim 20, Davidsz teaches electrical connection assembly comprising: an electrical connector (34; fig. 10) including a housing assembly (40, 44, 46, 48) and at least two contact terminals (52) held in the connector housing, the housing assembly including a connector housing (40) and a cover element (48) attachable to the connector housing, the housing assembly including at least two exit openings (i.e. the recesses (near lead line 154) formed in the sides of the cover and the recesses (82) formed in the sides of the housing, together, form the exit openings) for passing electrical wires (similar to the wires of 14; fig. 6), wherein the at least two exit openings are mutually angled at 90° or more (the openings are formed 180 degrees apart from each other), and wherein at least one of the exit openings is jointly formed by the connector housing and the cover element; and a mating connector (not shown, but mates to 34) including at least two mating contacts configured complementarily to the at least two contact terminals of the electrical connector.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 15, 18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TRAVIS S CHAMBERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831 09/16/2026