DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5-8, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the element “the other predetermined haptic precursor” in ll. 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this element in the claim. As best understood by Examiner, it appears to mean “the another predetermined haptic precursor”, which is used in this examination. Furthermore, claim 3 recites “the haptic precursor” in last line and fails to indicate it refers to the predetermined haptic precursor or the another predetermined haptic precursor.
Claim 5 recites the element “the other predetermined haptic precursor” in last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this element in the claim. As best understood by Examiner, it appears to mean “the another predetermined haptic precursor”, which is used in this examination. Furthermore, claim 5 recites “the haptic precursor” in last two lines and fails to indicate it refers to the predetermined haptic precursor or the another predetermined haptic precursor.
Claim 6 recites the element “the other sensing component” in ll. 4 from the bottom. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this element in the claim. As best understood by Examiner, it appears to mean “the another sensing component”, which is used in this examination. Furthermore, claim 6 recites “the other haptic precursor” in ll. 2 from the bottom, which is lack of sufficient antecedent basis. As best understood by Examiner, it appears to mean “the another predetermined haptic precursor”, which is used in this examination. Finally, claim 6 recites “the targeted biophysical area of the user” in last two lines, which is lack of sufficient antecedent basis. As best understood by Examiner, it appears to mean “the another targeted biophysical area of the user”, which is lack of sufficient antecedent basis. Finally, claim 6 recites “a user” in ll. 3. It is unclear whether it refers to the same user in its parent claim 1. If not the same user is referred to, then “the user” in last line and ll. 3 from the last line is indefinite. For examination purpose, “a user” in the instant claim is interpreted as the same user in its parent claim 1.
Claim 7 recites “a second point in time” in ll. 2. It is unclear whether it means the same “second point in time” recited in its parent claim 1. As best understood by Examiner, it appears that the “second point in time” in the instant claim is different from the “second point in time” in its parent claim 1. Furthermore, claim 7 recites “the haptic precursor” in last line but fails to indicate whether it refers to the predetermined haptic precursor (recited in parent claim 1) or the another predetermined haptic precursor.
Claim 8 recites “a second point in time” in ll. 2. It is unclear whether it means the same “second point in time” recited in its parent claim 1. As best understood by Examiner, it appears that the same “second point in time” is referred to. It that is the case, “a second point in time” should be changed to “the second point of time”. Furthermore, claim 8 recites “the other haptic precursor” and “the other targeted biophysical area of the user” in last line, both are lack of sufficient antecedent bases. It appears that the another haptic precursor” and “the another targeted biophysical area of the user” are what is attempted to mean.
Claim 15 is rejected for substantially the same rationale as applied to claim 6.
Claim 20 is rejected for substantially the same rationale as applied to claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chahine (US 2021/0315458).
Regarding claim 1, Chahine teaches a method of repurposing a sensing component (Figs. 1b-1c: a sensing component is interpreted as one textile based sensor platform 9 or one set of textile based sensor platforms 9 integrated into garment 11, wherein each sensor platform includes fabric sensors/actuators 12; Examiner’s Note: the term “repurposing” is given no patentable weight as the claim body itself is self-sustained) to also perform a haptic-rendering function (Fig. 1C: actuators’ rendering functions includes haptic function as an option; [0043]: “Electromagnetic Yarns for the sensors 12 can be used to produce haptic feedback … the sensor platform 9 would have the ability to generate vibrational movements either from or to the wearer/user via the commands 45”; [0050]: “It is also recognized that the sensors 12 can include haptic feedback sensors that can be actuated via the computer processor 16 in response to sensed data 44a, b processed onboard by the processor 16 and/or instructions received from a third party device 60, or the wearer (operator of the computer device 40) via an interface 20”; [0051}: “The sensors 12 can also be provided as … haptic/vibrations sensors (e.g. actuators—for motion/touch signals./communication with the wearer)”), the method comprising:
at a first point in time, using a sensing component (Figs. 1b-1c: textile based sensor platform 9 integrated into a garment 11, each sensor platform including fabric sensors/actuators 12) of a wearable electronic device (Fig. 1c: garment 11 with resident sensor platform 9) to sense a biometric signal of a user ([0023]: “biometric data 44a collected (i.e. representative of biosignals generated by the body of the wearer 8 via the sensors 12 of the sensor platform 9)”, “biometric data 44a is collected via the sensors 12 of the sensor platform 9”); and
at a second point in time that is distinct from the first point in time ([0024]: “the computing device 14 can be in communication (via the communications network 22) with one or more networked devices 40, 60 (see FIGS. 3, 10), each running their respective applications 100,102 for interpreting the biometric data 44a (e.g. received from the computing device 14 as sourced from the sensor platform 9) and for providing (e.g. to the computing device 14 for subsequent operation of the sensors/actuators 12 using the biometric data 44b) the biometric data 44b for expression by the sensor platform 9 in response” clearly indicates collection of biometric data from sensor platform 9 and using the biometric data for subsequent operation by the sensor platform 9 are at different times; [0037]: “It is recognized that selected ones of the sensors 12 of the sensor platform 9 can be […] bidirectional (i.e. used to both collect biometric signals representing the data 44a from the wearer/user and apply biometric signals representing the data 44b to the user/wearer)”; [0050]: “It is also recognized that the sensors 12 can include haptic feedback sensors that can be actuated via the computer processor 16 in response to sensed data 44a, b” clearly indicates sensing biometric data from sensor platform 9 and using the biometric data for providing subsequent haptic feedback by the sensor platform 9 are at different times), instructing the sensing component to send a predetermined haptic precursor (Fig. 1C: actuators’ rendering functions includes haptic function as an option, wherein generation of the hatpic function necessarily results from a predetermined haptic precursor; [0043]: “Electromagnetic Yarns for the sensors 12 can be used to produce haptic feedback … the sensor platform 9 would have the ability to generate vibrational movements either from or to the wearer/user via the commands 45”; [0050]: “It is also recognized that the sensors 12 can include haptic feedback sensors that can be actuated via the computer processor 16 in response to sensed data 44a, b processed onboard by the processor 16 and/or instructions received from a third party device 60, or the wearer (operator of the computer device 40) via an interface 20”; [0051}: “The sensors 12 can also be provided as … haptic/vibrations sensors (e.g. actuators—for motion/touch signals./communication with the wearer)”) to a targeted biophysical area of the user (Fig. 1(c): biophysical area of user cover with sensor platform 9), such that the user is caused to perceive a haptic sensation after the predetermined haptic precursor is received at the targeted biophysical area of the user.
Regarding claim 2, Chahine further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the sensing component is an electrode configured to sense one or more neuromuscular signals ([0038]: “sensors/electrodes 12 including ECG sensors 12a, bio impedance sensors 12b, and strain gauge sensors 12c”, “sensors 12 can be composed of […] woven or knit plurality of conductive fibres constructed in a sensor/electrode configuration (e.g. a patch)”; [0047]: “These electrodes 12 can be capable of recording biopotential signals such as ECG while for low-amplitude signals such as EEG, as coupled via pathways 30 with an active circuit of the electrical components 15 within the housing 24. The ECG sensors 12a can be used to collect and transmit signals to the computer processor 16 reflective of the heart rate of the wearer. As such, it is recognized that the electrodes as sensors 12 can be composed of conductive yarn/fibres (e.g. knitted, woven, embroidery using conductive fibres—e.g. silver wire/threads) of the band 10, as desired”), and the predetermined haptic precursor is an electrical current sent to the targeted biophysical area of the user ([0044]: “Electrical Stimulation fibres of the sensors 12 can provide/receive a seamless and pain-inhibited electrical pulse to/from the skin as a new modality of sensation via textiles via the sensor platform 9. The electrical simulation proficient yarn/fibres can be incorporated in garments 11 on desired locations via the sensor platform 9 and operated via a low (i.e. appropriate) current signal administered via the application 100,102 and associated data processing system. For example, electrical pulses can be transmitted to the skin, which can invoke a tactile sensation, either from or to the wearer/user via the commands 45”).
Regarding claim 3, Chahine further teaches the method of claim 1, including:
at a third point in time that is distinct from the first point in time and the second point in time ([0050]: “It is also recognized that the sensors 12 can include haptic feedback sensors that can be actuated via the computer processor 16 in response to sensed data 44a, b”; Examiner’s Note: “a third point in time” is interpreted as a different point in time from the second point in time in claim 1 and is associated with a response to different, sensed data 44a, b), instructing the sensing component to send another predetermined haptic precursor to the targeted biophysical area of the user ([0050]: “It is also recognized that the sensors 12 can include haptic feedback sensors that can be actuated via the computer processor 16 in response to sensed data 44a, b”), wherein the other predetermined haptic precursor is different from the haptic precursor (see interpretation of “third point in time” in the instant claim), such that the user is caused to perceive another haptic sensation after the haptic precursor is received at the targeted biophysical area of the user.
Regarding claim 4, Chahine further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the haptic sensation is one or more of a muscular movement, a nerve stimulation, a tendon activation, and a skin-feedback sensation ([0044]: “Electrical Stimulation fibres of the sensors 12 can provide/receive a seamless and pain-inhibited electrical pulse to/from the skin as a new modality of sensation via textiles via the sensor platform 9”.).
Regarding claim 5, Chahine further teaches the method of claim 1, including:
at a third point in time that is distinct from the first point in time and the second point in time (Fig. 1(c): sensor platforms 9 at different locations; Examiner’s Note: “a third point in time” is interpreted as a different point in time from the second point in time in claim 1 and is associated with a response to different, sensed data 44a, b of a different sensor platform 9), instructing the sensing component to send a predetermined haptic precursor to another targeted biophysical area of the user different than the targeted biophysical area ([0050]: “It is also recognized that the sensors 12 can include haptic feedback sensors that can be actuated via the computer processor 16 in response to sensed data 44a, b”; Examiner’s Note: another targeted biophysical area is interpreted as a different targeted biophysical area from the targeted biophysical area in claim 1), such that the user is caused to perceive a different haptic sensation after the haptic precursor is received at the other targeted biophysical area of the user (Examiner’s Note: a different sensor platform 9 results in different, sensed data 44a, b, which results in a different haptic sensation).
Regarding claim 6, Chahine further teaches the method of claim 1, including:
at a third point in time, using another sensing component to sense another biometric signal of a user (Figs. 1b-1c: another textile based sensor platform 9 different from the sensing component in claim 1; Examiner’s Note: sensing by another textile based sensor platform 9 can be performed at a third point in time different from the first point in time recited in claim 1); and
at a fourth point in time, instructing the other sensing component to send another predetermined haptic precursor to another targeted biophysical area of the user ([0024]: “the computing device 14 can be in communication (via the communications network 22) with one or more networked devices 40, 60 (see FIGS. 3, 10), each running their respective applications 100,102 for interpreting the biometric data 44a (e.g. received from the computing device 14 as sourced from the sensor platform 9) and for providing (e.g. to the computing device 14 for subsequent operation of the sensors/actuators 12 using the biometric data 44b) the biometric data 44b for expression by the sensor platform 9 in response” clearly indicates collection of biometric data from sensor platform 9 and using the biometric data for subsequent operation by the sensor platform 9 are at different times; [0037]: “It is recognized that selected ones of the sensors 12 of the sensor platform 9 can be […] bidirectional (i.e. used to both collect biometric signals representing the data 44a from the wearer/user and apply biometric signals representing the data 44b to the user/wearer)”; [0050]: “It is also recognized that the sensors 12 can include haptic feedback sensors that can be actuated via the computer processor 16 in response to sensed data 44a, b” clearly indicates sensing biometric data from sensor platform 9 and using the biometric data for providing subsequent haptic feedback by the sensor platform 9 are at different times; Examiner’s Note: “another targeted biophysical area” is interpreted as the targeted biophysical area covered by the corresponding sensor platform 9), such that the user is caused to perceive another haptic sensation after the other haptic precursor is received at the targeted biophysical area of the user.
Regarding claim 7, Chahine further teaches the method of claim 1, including:
at a second point in time that is distinct from the first point in time, instructing both the sensing component and another sensing component (Fig. 1(c): one sensor platform 9 different from sensor platform 9 in claim 1) to send another predetermined haptic precursor to the targeted biophysical area of the user ([0050]: “It is also recognized that the sensors 12 can include haptic feedback sensors that can be actuated via the computer processor 16 in response to sensed data 44a, b”; Examiner’s Note: “a second point in time” is interpreted as a different point in time from the second point in time in claim 1 and is associated with a response to different, sensed data 44a, b), such that the user is caused to perceive the haptic sensation after the haptic precursor is received at the targeted biophysical area of the user.
Regarding claim 8, Chahine further teaches the method of claim 1, including:
at a second point in time that is distinct from the first point in time (see interpretation applied to claim 1), instructing:
the sensing component to send the predetermined haptic precursor to the targeted biophysical area of the user, such that the user is caused to perceive the haptic sensation after the haptic precursor is received at the targeted biophysical area of the user (see interpretation applied to claim 1); and
another sensing component (Figs. 1b-1c: another textile based sensor platform 9 different from the sensing component in claim 1) to send another haptic precursor (Fig. 1C: actuators’ rendering functions includes haptic function as an option, wherein generation of the hatpic function necessarily results from a predetermined haptic precursor; [0043]: “Electromagnetic Yarns for the sensors 12 can be used to produce haptic feedback … the sensor platform 9 would have the ability to generate vibrational movements either from or to the wearer/user via the commands 45”; [0050]: “It is also recognized that the sensors 12 can include haptic feedback sensors that can be actuated via the computer processor 16 in response to sensed data 44a, b processed onboard by the processor 16 and/or instructions received from a third party device 60, or the wearer (operator of the computer device 40) via an interface 20”; [0051}: “The sensors 12 can also be provided as … haptic/vibrations sensors (e.g. actuators—for motion/touch signals./communication with the wearer)”) to another targeted biophysical area of the user (Figs. 1b-1c: area covered by corresponding sensor platform 9), such that the user is caused to perceive another haptic sensation after the other haptic precursor is received at the other targeted biophysical area of the user.
Regarding claim 9, Chahine further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the user is caused to perceive the haptic sensation without the user wearing a glove (Figs. 1(b) and 1(c)).
Regarding claim 16, Chahine teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Fig. 3: memory 18) including instructions ([0051]: “a memory 18 for executing stored instructions for receiving and processing of data obtained from the sensors 12, as well as communicating via a network interface 20 with a network 22 (e.g. Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, attached wired cable, etc.) as well as sending and receiving electrical signals from the sensors 12”) that, when executed by a wrist-wearable device (Figs. 1(a) and 3: fabric band 10, which, “as one example of the sensor platform 9, can be provided as a stand-alone article or can be combined/combined into an article of clothing” according to [0037]; [0037]: “the garment 11, which cover all or part of body part(s) such as but not limited to: waist or abdomen; limb such as a leg or arm; torso/trunk; buttocks; foot or ankle; wrist or hand; and/or head”), cause the wrist-wearable device to:
at a first point in time, use a sensing component of a wearable electronic device (Fig. 1a and 3: fabric band 10, which, “as one example of the sensor platform 9, can be provided as a stand-alone article or can be combined/combined into an article of clothing” according to [0037]); and
at a second point in time that is distinct from the first point in time ([0024]: “the computing device 14 can be in communication (via the communications network 22) with one or more networked devices 40, 60 (see FIGS. 3, 10), each running their respective applications 100,102 for interpreting the biometric data 44a (e.g. received from the computing device 14 as sourced from the sensor platform 9) and for providing (e.g. to the computing device 14 for subsequent operation of the sensors/actuators 12 using the biometric data 44b) the biometric data 44b for expression by the sensor platform 9 in response” clearly indicates collection of biometric data from sensor platform 9 and using the biometric data for subsequent operation by the sensor platform 9 are at different times; [0037]: “It is recognized that selected ones of the sensors 12 of the sensor platform 9 can be […] bidirectional (i.e. used to both collect biometric signals representing the data 44a from the wearer/user and apply biometric signals representing the data 44b to the user/wearer)”; [0050]: “It is also recognized that the sensors 12 can include haptic feedback sensors that can be actuated via the computer processor 16 in response to sensed data 44a, b” clearly indicates sensing biometric data from sensor platform 9 and using the biometric data for providing subsequent haptic feedback by the sensor platform 9 are at different times), instructing the sensing component to send a predetermined haptic precursor (Fig. 1C: actuators’ rendering functions includes haptic function as an option, wherein generation of the hatpic function necessarily results from a predetermined haptic precursor; [0043]: “Electromagnetic Yarns for the sensors 12 can be used to produce haptic feedback … the sensor platform 9 would have the ability to generate vibrational movements either from or to the wearer/user via the commands 45”; [0050]: “It is also recognized that the sensors 12 can include haptic feedback sensors that can be actuated via the computer processor 16 in response to sensed data 44a, b processed onboard by the processor 16 and/or instructions received from a third party device 60, or the wearer (operator of the computer device 40) via an interface 20”; [0051}: “The sensors 12 can also be provided as … haptic/vibrations sensors (e.g. actuators—for motion/touch signals./communication with the wearer)”) to a targeted biophysical area of the user (Fig. 1(c): biophysical area of user cover with sensor platform 9), such that the user is caused to perceive a haptic sensation after the predetermined haptic precursor is received at the targeted biophysical area of the user.
Claim 17 is rejected for substantially the same rationale as applied to claim 2.
Claim 18 is rejected for substantially the same rationale as applied to claim 3.
Claim 19 is rejected for substantially the same rationale as applied to claim 4.
Claim 20 is rejected for substantially the same rationale as applied to claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chahine (US 2021/0315458) in view of Roth et al. (US 2024/0419244).
Regarding claim 11, Chahine teaches a system (Fig. 10: computer device 14, garments 11 with integrated sensor platforms 9 shown in Fig. 1(c), a third party device 60 or the wearer (operator of the computer device 40), interface 20 collectively form a system) including a wearable device (Fig. 1(b) and Fig. 1(c): garments 11 with integrated sensor platforms 9)
at a first point in time, using a sensing component (Figs. 1b-1c: textile based sensor platform 9 integrated into a garment 11, each sensor platform including fabric sensors/actuators 12) of a wearable electronic device (Fig. 1c: garment 11 with resident sensor platform 9) to sense a biometric signal of a user ([0023]: “biometric data 44a collected (i.e. representative of biosignals generated by the body of the wearer 8 via the sensors 12 of the sensor platform 9)”, “biometric data 44a is collected via the sensors 12 of the sensor platform 9”); and
at a second point in time that is distinct from the first point in time ([0024]: “the computing device 14 can be in communication (via the communications network 22) with one or more networked devices 40, 60 (see FIGS. 3, 10), each running their respective applications 100,102 for interpreting the biometric data 44a (e.g. received from the computing device 14 as sourced from the sensor platform 9) and for providing (e.g. to the computing device 14 for subsequent operation of the sensors/actuators 12 using the biometric data 44b) the biometric data 44b for expression by the sensor platform 9 in response” clearly indicates collection of biometric data from sensor platform 9 and using the biometric data for subsequent operation by the sensor platform 9 are at different times; [0037]: “It is recognized that selected ones of the sensors 12 of the sensor platform 9 can be […] bidirectional (i.e. used to both collect biometric signals representing the data 44a from the wearer/user and apply biometric signals representing the data 44b to the user/wearer)”; [0050]: “It is also recognized that the sensors 12 can include haptic feedback sensors that can be actuated via the computer processor 16 in response to sensed data 44a, b” clearly indicates sensing biometric data from sensor platform 9 and using the biometric data for providing subsequent haptic feedback by the sensor platform 9 are at different times), instructing the sensing component to send a predetermined haptic precursor (Fig. 1C: actuators’ rendering functions includes haptic function as an option, wherein generation of the hatpic function necessarily results from a predetermined haptic precursor; [0043]: “Electromagnetic Yarns for the sensors 12 can be used to produce haptic feedback … the sensor platform 9 would have the ability to generate vibrational movements either from or to the wearer/user via the commands 45”; [0050]: “It is also recognized that the sensors 12 can include haptic feedback sensors that can be actuated via the computer processor 16 in response to sensed data 44a, b processed onboard by the processor 16 and/or instructions received from a third party device 60, or the wearer (operator of the computer device 40) via an interface 20”; [0051}: “The sensors 12 can also be provided as … haptic/vibrations sensors (e.g. actuators—for motion/touch signals./communication with the wearer)”) to a targeted biophysical area of the user (Fig. 1(c): biophysical area of user cover with sensor platform 9), such that the user is caused to perceive a haptic sensation after the predetermined haptic precursor is received at the targeted biophysical area of the user.
Chahine does not further teach the system includes a head-wearable display device, the system configured to present user interfaces via the head-wearable device.
However, it is not new in the related art including both a body-wearable device and a head-wearable display device in a system.
Roth, for instance, teaches in Figs. 3-5 a system 300 including a head-wearable display device 305/405/505, the system configured to present user interfaces via the head-wearable device (Figs. 4-5; [0099]: “the extended reality device 405 may provide feedback to the user 102-c using the biometric data and/or the movement data. The feedback may include visual feedback 415, audio feedback 420”; [0119]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art to combine Roth’s technique with Chahine’s technique to achieve an enhanced XR experience.
Regarding claim 12, Chahine further teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the sensing component is an electrode configured to sense one or more neuromuscular signals ([0038]: “sensors/electrodes 12 including ECG sensors 12a, bio impedance sensors 12b, and strain gauge sensors 12c”, “sensors 12 can be composed of […] woven or knit plurality of conductive fibres constructed in a sensor/electrode configuration (e.g. a patch)”; [0047]: “These electrodes 12 can be capable of recording biopotential signals such as ECG while for low-amplitude signals such as EEG, as coupled via pathways 30 with an active circuit of the electrical components 15 within the housing 24. The ECG sensors 12a can be used to collect and transmit signals to the computer processor 16 reflective of the heart rate of the wearer. As such, it is recognized that the electrodes as sensors 12 can be composed of conductive yarn/fibres (e.g. knitted, woven, embroidery using conductive fibres—e.g. silver wire/threads) of the band 10, as desired”), and the predetermined haptic precursor is an electrical current sent to the targeted biophysical area of the user ([0044]: “Electrical Stimulation fibres of the sensors 12 can provide/receive a seamless and pain-inhibited electrical pulse to/from the skin as a new modality of sensation via textiles via the sensor platform 9. The electrical simulation proficient yarn/fibres can be incorporated in garments 11 on desired locations via the sensor platform 9 and operated via a low (i.e. appropriate) current signal administered via the application 100,102 and associated data processing system. For example, electrical pulses can be transmitted to the skin, which can invoke a tactile sensation, either from or to the wearer/user via the commands 45”).
Regarding claim 13, Chahine further teaches the system of claim 1, including:
at a third point in time that is distinct from the first point in time and the second point in time ([0050]: “It is also recognized that the sensors 12 can include haptic feedback sensors that can be actuated via the computer processor 16 in response to sensed data 44a, b”; Examiner’s Note: “a third point in time” is interpreted as a different point in time from the second point in time in claim 1 and is associated with a response to different, sensed data 44a, b), instructing the sensing component to send another predetermined haptic precursor to the targeted biophysical area of the user ([0050]: “It is also recognized that the sensors 12 can include haptic feedback sensors that can be actuated via the computer processor 16 in response to sensed data 44a, b”), wherein the other predetermined haptic precursor is different from the haptic precursor (see interpretation of “third point in time” in the instant claim), such that the user is caused to perceive another haptic sensation after the haptic precursor is received at the targeted biophysical area of the user.
Regarding claim 14, Chahine further teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the haptic sensation is one or more of a muscular movement, a nerve stimulation, a tendon activation, and a skin-feedback sensation ([0044]: “Electrical Stimulation fibres of the sensors 12 can provide/receive a seamless and pain-inhibited electrical pulse to/from the skin as a new modality of sensation via textiles via the sensor platform 9”.).
Regarding claim 15, Chahine further teaches the system of claim 11, including:
at a third point in time, using another sensing component to sense another biometric signal of a user (Figs. 1b-1c: another textile based sensor platform 9 different from the sensing component in claim 1; Examiner’s Note: sensing by another textile based sensor platform 9 can be performed at a third point in time different from the first point in time recited in claim 1); and
at a fourth point in time, instructing the other sensing component to send another predetermined haptic precursor to another targeted biophysical area of the user ([0024]: “the computing device 14 can be in communication (via the communications network 22) with one or more networked devices 40, 60 (see FIGS. 3, 10), each running their respective applications 100,102 for interpreting the biometric data 44a (e.g. received from the computing device 14 as sourced from the sensor platform 9) and for providing (e.g. to the computing device 14 for subsequent operation of the sensors/actuators 12 using the biometric data 44b) the biometric data 44b for expression by the sensor platform 9 in response” clearly indicates collection of biometric data from sensor platform 9 and using the biometric data for subsequent operation by the sensor platform 9 are at different times; [0037]: “It is recognized that selected ones of the sensors 12 of the sensor platform 9 can be […] bidirectional (i.e. used to both collect biometric signals representing the data 44a from the wearer/user and apply biometric signals representing the data 44b to the user/wearer)”; [0050]: “It is also recognized that the sensors 12 can include haptic feedback sensors that can be actuated via the computer processor 16 in response to sensed data 44a, b” clearly indicates sensing biometric data from sensor platform 9 and using the biometric data for providing subsequent haptic feedback by the sensor platform 9 are at different times; Examiner’s Note: “another targeted biophysical area” is interpreted as the targeted biophysical area covered by the corresponding sensor platform 9), such that the user is caused to perceive another haptic sensation after the other haptic precursor is received at the targeted biophysical area of the user.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2019/0212824 by Keller et al. teaches using a wearable device to create haptic stimulation corresponding to physiological information of the wearer, the physiological information being gathered by sensors of the wearable device. Specifically, according to [0066], a controller circuit may select values of waveform characteristics (e.g., amplitude, frequency, trajectory, direction, phase, among other characteristics) used for generating the waves 116 that would provide a sufficient haptic stimulation at a target location on the user”. However, it is not closed the haptic function results from the sensor component gathering the physiological information of the wearer
/XUEMEI ZHENG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629