Reissue
Claim Status
Amended patent claims 1-20 and new claims 21-32 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0068350 to Kim et al. (hereinafter Kim ‘350) in view of EP 1942365 to Kim et al. (hereinafter Kim EP).
With respect to claims 1 and 4-8, Kim ‘350 teaches a pre-conductive array (matrix arrangement of regions 240) disposed on a target circuit substrate 205, the pre-conductive array comprising a plurality of conductive electrode groups 217,270 (Figure 3) disposed on the target circuit substrate 205, wherein a first distance L1 is provided between every two of the plurality of conductive electrode groups (see annotated Figure 2B below), and each of the plurality of conductive electrode groups comprises at least a pair of conductive electrodes. Instead of conductive particles Kim ‘350 discloses solder
bumps 270 on electrode pads 217 to connect substrate 205 to solder material 170 on lower substrate 105. See Figure 3; paras [0070-0090].
Kim EP discloses a means of connecting a chip 41 to a TFT substrate 81 using conductive particles. The chip 41 includes metal bumps 53 in electrical connection with electrode pads 43. Contact layers 45,47 are disposed on the chip and conductive particles 30 are positioned on the upper surface of the metal bump such that they are located above the contact layer. See Figure 10.
Kim EP teaches that use of the conductive particles with the metal bumps permits the bumps to “have a fine pitch, so that chip size may be reduced to increase the number of net dies per wafer, thereby reducing manufacturing cost.” See col.11, lines 1-9. Thus, it would have been obvious to replace the opposing bumps of Kim ‘350 with the single bump and conductive particles of Kim so as to place dies closer together, increasing the number of dies per wafer.
When replacing the solder bumps of Kim ‘350 with the bump and conductive particles of Kim EP, at least one conductive particle will be disposed on each of the pairs of the conductive electrodes wherein the conductive particles and the corresponding pair of the conductive electrodes form pre-conductive structures, and the pre-conductive structures form the pre-conductive array. As to the density of conductive particles, when the array of Kim ‘350 (shown in Figure 2B) is modified by Kim EP such that each electrode has at least one conductive particle therein, a first density is defined to represent a number of the plurality of conductive particles within a unit area of each of the pre-conductive structures, a second density is defined to represent a number of the plurality of conductive particles within a unit area between two of the pre-conductive structures, and the first density is greater than the second density. Since no conductive particles are located between each conductive structure, the first density will necessarily be larger than the second density which includes the empty areas between adjacent conductive structures.
As to claims 2 and 3, each of the plurality of conductive electrode groups of Kim ‘350 comprises multiple pairs of conductive electrodes, a second distance L2 is provided between adjacent two pairs of the conductive electrodes, and a third distance L3 is provided between two of the conductive electrodes of each pair. See Annotated Figure 2B above.
As to claims 9 and 10, in Kim ‘350 each pre-conductive structure may additionally be divided into a first number of conductive electrodes/electrode groups having a pair of conductive electrodes and a second number of conductive electrodes as shown in annotated Figure 2B as “electrode pairs.”
With respect to claims 11 and 12, as shown in Figure 2B of Kim ‘350 each pre-conductive structure contains a plurality of electrode groups arranged in a first array pattern and each group having at least a pair of conductive electrodes arranged in a second array pattern.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 13, and 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 10, 11, 17, and 24 of copending Application No. 18/753739 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The limitations of claims 1-4 are recited by claims 1-7 of the ‘739 application.
The limitations of claims 6-8 are recited by claims 10 and 11 of the ‘739 application.
The limitations of claim 13 are recited by claim 24 of the ‘739 application.
The limitations of claim 17 are recited by claim 17 of the ‘739 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-32 will be allowable upon filing of a terminal disclaimer to overcome the non-statutory double-patenting rejection set forth in this Office action.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 13 recites “…array-type micro semiconductor structures disposed corresponding to a part or all of the pre-conductive array of the target circuit substrate, wherein each of the micro semiconductor structures has a pair of electrodes, and each of the electrodes of each of the micro semiconductor structures and a corresponding pre-conductive structure of the target circuit substrate together form a conductive structure.” Claim 17 is substantially the same but instead requires “an electrode” instead of a “pair of electrodes.”
Kim ‘350 is directed to semiconductor packages and electronic devices, including CPUs and logic devices. Kim ‘350 does not teach or suggest disposing array-type micro-semiconductor structures, each having a pair of electrodes, on corresponding pre-conductive structures of the target circuit substrate to form a conductive structure, as required by claim 13. Kim EP likewise does not teach or suggest disposing micro-semiconductor structures in the manner claimed.
Claims 14-16 and 18-32 would be likewise allowable as depending from one of claims 13 or 17.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant is reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.178(b), to timely apprise the Office of any prior or concurrent proceeding in which Patent No. 10,431,561 is or was involved. These proceedings would include any trial before the Patent Trial and Appeal Board, interferences, reissues, reexaminations, supplemental examinations, and litigation.
Applicant is further reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.56, to timely apprise the Office of any information which is material to patentability of the claims under consideration in this reissue application.
These obligations rest with each individual associated with the filing and prosecution of this application for reissue. See also MPEP §§ 1404, 1442.01 and 1442.04.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
examiner should be directed to ELIZABETH MCKANE whose telephone number is
(571) 272-1275. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Thurs; 6:30 am -
4:30 pm.
supervisor Patricia Engle can be reached on 571-272-6660. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center at https://patentcenter.uspto.gov.
Should you have questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at
866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN
USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ELIZABETH L MCKANE/Specialist, Art Unit 3991
Conferees:
/LEE E SANDERSON/Reexamination Specialist, Art Unit 3991
/Patricia L Engle/SPRS, Art Unit 3991