CTNF 18/752,543 CTNF 82476 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 12-151 AIA 26-51 12-51 Status of Claims Claims 1-19 are pending. Information Disclosure Statement The Information Disclosure Statements filed on 08/23/2024 and 10/29/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered. An initialed copy of the Form 1449 is enclosed herewith. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-2, 5, 13-14, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al., US 2021/0029256 in view of Oba, US 2021/0409574 . Regarding claim 1, Watanabe discloses a method comprising: controlling execution of a color inspection for inspecting a color quality state at a time of printing in an image forming apparatus ( printing unit controlling unit 84 performs execution of color inspection/color quality control by detecting/inspecting necessity of an image quality adjustment involving adjusting an image quality in a case where there is a problem at the time of recording medium to be printed by the printing unit. The necessity of the image quality adjustment is determined based on varied things such as necessity of the image quality adjustment differs depending on a type of the image quality adjustment. The image quality adjustment includes color correction, color shift correction, and the like in addition to toner replenishment, position shift correction, grayscale correction, and the like, paragraphs 41-42 ); controlling to determine one of a plurality of color adjustment processes for adjusting the color quality state of the image forming apparatus in accordance with the quality state determined by the color inspection ( color shift correction, grayscale correction, color correction, or the like is performed in such a way that a test image is formed on the recording medium based on the necessity of the image quality adjustment as detected. For example, the color/position shift correction is performed in a case where 300 sheets are printed, and the grayscale correction is performed in a case where 400 sheets are printed, paragraphs 42-44 ), where downtimes of the image forming apparatus differ for each of the color adjustment processes from each other ( it takes 30 seconds for the color/position shift correction, and it takes 50 seconds for the grayscale correction. Meanwhile, data of a list of each process and its associated downtime/execution time as shown in fig. 5 is stored, paragraph 44 ); and causing the image forming apparatus to execute the determined color adjustment processes ( the appropriate color quality adjustment process is executed by image forming apparatus 10 based on the determined necessity and type of the image quality adjustment, paragraphs 41-45, 53 ). Watanabe fails to explicitly disclose a method of controlling an information processing apparatus, the method comprising: processes executed by the information processing apparatus. However, Oba teaches a method of controlling an information processing apparatus ( in the printing system, printing apparatus 101 is capable of executing a print job received from the information processing terminal 102, paragraph 29 ), the method comprising: processes executed by the information processing apparatus ( computer of a system comprises one or more processors (e.g., CPU), micro processing unit (MPU)) and may include a network of separate computers or separate processors to read out and execute the computer executable instructions provided from storage medium such as ROM/RAM, paragraph 102 ). Watanabe and Oba are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with executing color adjustment processes in image forming apparatus. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Watanabe to incorporate the teachings of Oba for the benefit of providing techniques for performing accurate image quality adjustment in which tone correction patches are printed on a sheet in real time, even in a case of a combination including a sheet with a size able to accommodate the patches on a single sheet and a sheet that is unable to accommodate the patches on a single sheet as taught by Oba at paragraph 8. Regarding claim 2, Combination of Watanabe with Oba further teaches wherein, in the controlling to determine one color adjustment process among the plurality of color adjustment processes (Watanabe, necessity of the image quality adjustment differs depending on a type of the image quality adjustment detected, fig. 5 illustrates a small example of potential types of the image quality adjustment such as color correction, color shift correction, grayscale correction, and the like, paragraph 42 ), if the quality state is less than a threshold value (Watanabe, necessity of the image quality adjustment is determined based on, for example, a counted value of the number of sheets to be printed, for example, if number of sheets to be printed are less than 400 sheets, paragraph 43 ), a first color adjustment process (Watanabe, color position shift correction process ) for which the downtime is equal to or longer than a predetermined time is determined to be caused to be executed (Watanabe, CPU 78 performs the image quality adjustment where process time of the user or the image forming apparatus is longer than required time of the image quality, paragraph 54 ), and if the quality state is greater than or equal to the threshold value (Watanabe, for example, if number of sheets to be printed are 400 sheets, paragraph 43 ), a second color adjustment process (Watanabe, grayscale correction process ) for which the downtime is shorter than the predetermined time is determined to be caused to be executed (Watanabe, CPU 78 may instruct to perform the image quality adjustment in a case where time until the image quality adjustment ends is included in predetermined time, paragraph 54 ). Watanabe and Oba are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with executing color adjustment processes in image forming apparatus. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Watanabe to incorporate the teachings of Oba for the benefit of providing techniques for performing accurate image quality adjustment in which tone correction patches are printed on a sheet in real time, even in a case of a combination including a sheet with a size able to accommodate the patches on a single sheet and a sheet that is unable to accommodate the patches on a single sheet as taught by Oba at paragraph 8. Regarding claim 5, Combination of Watanabe with Oba further teaches wherein the first color adjustment process is a color adjustment process in which execution of a print job of the image forming apparatus is stopped and the color quality state is adjusted, and the second color adjustment process is a color adjustment process in which the color quality state is adjusted while continuing execution of a print job of the image forming apparatus (Watanabe, “ step S32, it is determined whether or not the necessity of the image quality adjustment is detected. The necessity of the image quality adjustment is the same as in the above-described first and second examples. In step S32, in a case where it is determined that the necessity of the image quality adjustment exists, the process proceeds to step S34, and the image quality adjustment is performed. In a case where the recording medium is fed into the recording medium supply unit 18 in subsequent step S36, stopping of the printing operation is released, and the printing operation is performed. In a case where it is determined that the necessity of the image quality adjustment does not exist step S34, the process proceeds to step S36, and the stopping of the printing operation is released ”, paragraph 62 ). Watanabe and Oba are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with executing color adjustment processes in image forming apparatus. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Watanabe to incorporate the teachings of Oba for the benefit of providing techniques for performing accurate image quality adjustment in which tone correction patches are printed on a sheet in real time, even in a case of a combination including a sheet with a size able to accommodate the patches on a single sheet and a sheet that is unable to accommodate the patches on a single sheet as taught by Oba at paragraph 8. Regarding claim 13, Watanabe discloses an image forming apparatus ( image forming apparatus 10, fig. 1 ) for executing a print job from information processing apparatus ( user is capable of inputting operation setting information through the input operation device 12. The input operation device 12 may be configured to be separated from the image forming apparatus 10, paragraph 23 ) and performing printing ( printing unit along with fixing device performs printing, paragraphs 24, 27, 31 ), and the image forming apparatus comprising: one or more second controllers ( control device 76, fig. 3 ) including one or more second processors ( CPU 78, fig. 3 ) and one or more second memories ( memory 80, fig. 3 ), the one or more second controllers configured to ( CPU 78 performs a predetermined process based on a control program stored in the memory 80, paragraph 38 ): control execution of a color inspection for inspecting a color quality state at a time of printing in an image forming apparatus ( printing unit controlling unit 84 performs execution of color inspection/color quality control by detecting/inspecting necessity of an image quality adjustment involving adjusting an image quality in a case where there is a problem at the time of recording medium to be printed by the printing unit. The necessity of the image quality adjustment is determined based on varied things such as necessity of the image quality adjustment differs depending on a type of the image quality adjustment. The image quality adjustment includes color correction, color shift correction, and the like in addition to toner replenishment, position shift correction, grayscale correction, and the like, paragraphs 41-42 ); control to determine one of a plurality of color adjustment processes for adjusting the color quality state of the image forming apparatus in accordance with the quality state determined by the color inspection ( color shift correction, grayscale correction, color correction, or the like is performed in such a way that a test image is formed on the recording medium based on the necessity of the image quality adjustment as detected. For example, the color/position shift correction is performed in a case where 300 sheets are printed, and the grayscale correction is performed in a case where 400 sheets are printed, paragraphs 42-44 ), where downtimes of the image forming apparatus differ for each of the color adjustment processes from each other ( it takes 30 seconds for the color/position shift correction, and it takes 50 seconds for the grayscale correction. Meanwhile, data of a list of each process and its associated downtime/execution time as shown in fig. 5 is stored, paragraph 44 ); and make an instruction to the image forming apparatus to execute the determined, color adjustment processes, and execute the color adjustment process that the information processing apparatus instructed ( the appropriate color quality adjustment process is executed by image forming apparatus 10 based on the determined necessity and type of the image quality adjustment, paragraphs 41-45, 53 ). Watanabe fails to explicitly disclose a printing system comprising an information processing apparatus and an image forming apparatus, the information processing apparatus comprising: one or more first controllers including one or more first processors and one or more first memories, the one or more first controllers configured to: make an instruction to the image forming apparatus to execute processes and execute the process that the information processing apparatus instructed. Oba teaches a printing system comprising an information processing apparatus and an image forming apparatus for executing a print job from the information processing apparatus ( in the printing system, a printing apparatus 101 and an information processing terminal 102 are connected to one another. The printing apparatus 101 is capable of executing a print job received from the information processing terminal 102, paragraph 29 ) and performing printing ( printing unit (printer engine) 209 prints an image on a sheet based on job received from terminal 102, paragraph 34 ), the information processing apparatus (i nformation processing terminal 102 is the computer in the printing systema as shown in fig. 1 ) comprising: one or more first controllers including one or more first processors and one or more first memories, the one or more first controllers configured to ( computer of a system comprises one or more processors (e.g., CPU), micro processing unit (MPU)) and may include a network of separate computers or separate processors to read out and execute the computer executable instructions provided from storage medium such as ROM/RAM, paragraph 102 ): control execution of a color inspection for inspecting a color quality state ( management table stores the print position of the tone correction marks (tone patches) for tone correction, the color sensor for measuring the printed color patches, and signal values from the color sensor and correction information derived from the signal values and patches for image quality adjustment are patches of each color, cyan, magenta, yellow, and black, and in order to perform adjustment, data of the patches of all the colors must be prepared, paragraphs 73, 90 ).; and make an instruction to the image forming apparatus to execute determined processes ( printer receives instructions from information processing terminal to execute, paragraphs 34, 102 ), and the image forming apparatus ( printer 101, fig. 2 ) comprising: one or more second controllers ( control unit 200, fig. 2 ) including one or more second processors ( CPU 201, fig. 2 ) and one or more second memories ( ROM 202, RAM 203, fig. 2 ) ( paragraph 32 ), the one or more second controllers configured to: execute the color adjustment process that the information processing apparatus instructed ( paragraphs 34, 73, 90, 102 ). Watanabe and Oba are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with executing color adjustment processes in image forming apparatus. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Watanabe to incorporate the teachings of Oba for the benefit of providing techniques for performing accurate image quality adjustment in which tone correction patches are printed on a sheet in real time, even in a case of a combination including a sheet with a size able to accommodate the patches on a single sheet and a sheet that is unable to accommodate the patches on a single sheet as taught by Oba at paragraph 8. Regarding claim 14, is an apparatus version of claim 2 reciting similar features and thus is rejected on the same rationale. Regarding claim 17, is an apparatus version of claim 5 reciting similar features and thus is rejected on the same rationale. Regarding claim 18, which recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium version of claim 1, see rationale as applied above. Note that non-transitory computer-readable storage medium is taught by Watanabe in claim 20 and Oba in paragraph 102. Regarding claim 19, it recites similar features as claim 13 and thus is rejected on the same rationale . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 3-4, 6-12, and 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: cited and other related prior arts fail to explicitly teach all the limitations of claim 3 such as “ wherein in the color inspection, the quality state is inspected by causing the image forming apparatus to print a chart in which color patches for color inspection are arranged, reading the chart and calculating an average color difference and a maximum color difference of the color patches, and comparing the average color difference and the maximum color difference against an average color difference and a maximum color difference of a color reference ” . Claims 4 and 6-12 are further dependent upon claim 3. Claims 15 is an apparatus version of claim 3 reciting similar features. Claim 16 is further dependent upon claim 15 . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kobashi et al., US 2023/0344951 Tsujita, US 2022/0141355 Shinnae, US 2024/0143963 Koda et al., US 2023/0141186 Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PAWANDEEP DHINGRA whose telephone number is (571) 270-1231. The examiner can normally be reached 9:00-5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Abderrahim Merouan can be reached at (571) 270-5254. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PAWAN DHINGRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2683 /ABDERRAHIM MEROUAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/752,543 Page 2 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/752,543 Page 3 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/752,543 Page 4 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/752,543 Page 5 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/752,543 Page 6 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/752,543 Page 7 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/752,543 Page 8 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/752,543 Page 9 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/752,543 Page 10 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/752,543 Page 11 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/752,543 Page 12 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/752,543 Page 13 Art Unit: 2683