DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a Final Office Action in response to applicant’s filing on May 13, 2026. Claims 21, 28, and 35 were amended. Claims 21-40 are pending, of which claims 21, 28, and 35 are in independent form.
Response to arguments
35 USC § 112(a) Rejection
On pages 8-10 of Remarks, Applicant argues that paragraph [0028] provides written description support because it states that machine learning operations may include “training/re-training one or models”. The written description requirement of 35 USC § 112(a) is not satisfied because the specification repeats the claim terminology. Paragraph [0028] merely identifies “training/re-training one or more models” as one example of a machine learning operation that may be requested from the managed application execution service (MAES). However, the section does not describe how any model is trained, what data is used for training, what model architecture is employed, how model parameters are generated, or any other technical characteristics of recited training operations. The disclosure focuses on securely executing applications, including machine learning applications, rather than describing the machine learning training itself.
Accordingly, the original disclosure fails to reasonably convey to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inventions were in possession of the claimed limitation “wherein the machine learning operation comprises one or more of: (a) training of one or more models” as recited in claim 25, 32, and 39. Therefore, the rejection under 35 USC § 112(a) is maintained.
35 USC § 103 Rejection
On pages 11-12 of Remarks, Applicant argues that “the cited combination fails to teach or suggest that the feature in Martz mapped to Applicant's networking intermediary is permitted to obtain, at the computing resource [...] data which is to be processed by the application at the computing resource is the networking intermediary permitted to communicate with the application over a local communication channel of the computing resource”. Applicant further argues that Martz’s proxy device 506 is external to the trusted LAN hosting sandbox 517 and therefore cannot satisfy the claimed networking intermediary. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Martz teaches that an application executing within sandbox 517 communicates with external network entities only through authenticated proxy device 506. Specifically, Martz discloses that the sandbox implements web proxy authentication, internet access is permitted through proxy device 506 using an application operating within sandbox 517, such as untrusted browser, and requests received by proxy device 506 are authenticated, filtered, and forwarded to external destinations. Responses received through proxy device 506 are returned for processing by the sandboxed browser. Thus, Martz clearly teaches a networking intermediary that obtains data from external entities for processing by the application.
Applicant argues that proxy device 506 is located outside the computing resource. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Martz in paragraph [0035] discloses (A sandbox firewall (e.g., internal isolation firewall 511, FIG. 6) listening to or otherwise operating in connection with a sandbox (e.g., isolated computing environment 517, FIG. 6) on the host computer system (e.g., host computer system 510, FIG. 6) checks the URL status at 302 to determine whether the URL is to a trusted domain or to an untrusted domain). A sandbox firewall (e.g., internal isolation firewall 511, FIG. 6) listening to or otherwise operating in connection with a sandbox (e.g., isolated computing environment 517, FIG. 6) on the host computer system (e.g., host computer system 510, FIG. 6) checks the URL status at 302 to determine whether the URL is to a trusted domain or to an untrusted domain. Martz expressly discloses that the sandboxed browser is permitted internet access through proxy device 506 and that communications between the application and external entities occur only through that proxy. Accordingly, Martz establishes the functional relationship between the application and the networking intermediary irrespective of the precise physical location of the proxy.
Martz does not explicitly disclose the communication between the application and the networking intermediary occurs via a local communication channel. However, Joshi discloses a security architecture in which communications between execution context occur through an authorized intermediary executing on the client. It is noted that all communications between the Protected Context and Isolated Context are blocked except through the COM proxy. Therefore, the combination of Martz and Joshi teaches the claimed networking intermediary that obtains data from external entities, communicates locally with the application executing at the computing resource.
On pages 12-14 of remarks, applicant argues that the cited combination fails to teach or suggest applying by a network accessible service, configuration settings at a computing resource in accordance with an isolation requirement such that the recited networking restrictions and communication permissions are established. Applicant further argues that paragraph [0021] of Martz merely describes a firewall enforcing segregation and does not disclose applying configuration settings to the subsequently recited communication permissions. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Martz discloses that the host computer implements an isolated computing environment using an internal isolation firewall, wherein the firewall establishes communication restrictions between the workspace and the isolated computing environment. The firewall therefore defines the communication permissions that govern operation of the isolated environment. These restrictions constitute configuration settings that determine which communications are permitted and which communications are not permitted (For example, the sandbox container process may include an internal isolation firewall. The internal isolation firewall may enforce the segregation of the first and second memory spaces, in paragraph [0021]). Also, paragraphs [0046]-[0047] disclose that the sandbox implements authenticated web proxy communications, thereby permitting network communications only through the authenticated proxy. Martz in paragraph [0051] explains all improperly authenticated or unauthenticated traffic received on this port would be automatically dropped. Paragraph [0021] establishes the isolation architecture and firewall enforced communication policy, while the later paragraphs describe the resulting communication permissions implemented under that isolation policy.
Applicant further argues that “the cited combination fails to teach or suggest (within the context provided by the rest of the claim) wherein the particular set of data is obtained at the application from the networking intermediary via the local communication channel”. The examiner disagrees. Joshi expressly teaches communication between isolated execution environments through local a local interposes communication mechanisms (request may be sent to a Clipboard Proxy running in the Protected Context over a Named Pipe, with the format identifier that was requested. The Clipboard Proxy in the Protected Context may be able to access these formats, since it may not be running with any access-controls with regards to the clipboard. It may send back the data of the requested format over the Named Pipe connection).
Applicant argues that Joshi’s Clipboard Proxy is unrelated to Martz’s proxy 506. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Both Martz and Joshi are directed to securely executing untrusted applications within isolated environments while controlling communications between applications and protected resources. Martz accomplishes the objective using an authenticated network proxy and firewall enforced communication restrictions. Joshi accomplishes the same objective by permitting communication through controlled local proxy mechanisms, such as Named Pipe communications with a Clipboard Proxy. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to employ Joshi’s local communication mechanism within Martz’s secure proxy architecture to securely exchange data while maintaining the communication restrictions imposed by the isolation policy, Consequently, the combination of Martz and Joshi teaches the claimed subject matter, and the rejection under 35 U.S.C 103 is maintained.
Dependent claims 22-27, 29-34, and 36-40 are rejected by virtue of dependency to independent claims 21, 28, and 35.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 25, 32, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 25 recites “wherein the machine learning operation comprises one or more of (a) training of one or more models or (b) an inference operation.”.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 25 recites “wherein the machine learning operation comprises one or more of (a) training of one or more models or (b) an inference operation;”. (i.e., To run a particular application at the MAES, e.g., in order to perform one or more machine learning operations (such as training/re-training one or more models, obtaining one or more predictions/inferences from a previously-trained version of a model, tuning model hyperparameters, and so on) or other types of operations, one or more programmatic requests may be submitted from a client device 195 via interfaces 170 in the depicted embodiment, see paragraph [0029]). The specification refers generally to machine learning applications and ML models being executed within isolated runtime environments. However, the specification fails to describe any formulas or algorithm by which a machine learning model is trained or updated.
The level of detail required to satisfy the written description requirement varies depending on the nature and scope of the claims and on the complexity and predictability of the relevant technology. Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1351, 94 USPQ2d at 1172; Capon v. Eshhar, 418 F.3d 1349, 1357-58, 76 USPQ2d 1078, 1083-84 (Fed. Cir. 2005). Computer-implemented inventions are often disclosed and claimed in terms of their functionality. For computer-implemented inventions, the determination of the sufficiency of disclosure will require an inquiry into the sufficiency of both the disclosed hardware and the disclosed software due to the interrelationship and interdependence of computer hardware and software. The critical inquiry is whether the disclosure of the application relied upon reasonably conveys to those skilled in the art that the inventor had possession of the claimed subject matter as of the filing date. Vasudevan Software, Inc. v. MicroStrategy, Inc., 782 F.3d 671, 682. 114 USPQ2d 1349, 1356 (citing Ariad Pharm., Inc. V. Eli Lilly & Co, 598 F.3d 1336, 1351, 94 USPQ2d 1161, 1172 (Fed. Cir. 2010) in the context of determining possession of a claimed means of accessing disparate databases).
Same reasons apply to the dependent claims 32 and 39.
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 21, 28, and 35 recite the limitation “an isolation requirement of an application to be executed at a computing resource;” renders the claim indefinite because it is not reasonably certain whether the recited application is merely identified for future execution or whether the application is actually executing when the subsequently recited limitations are performed. Therefore, it is unclear what is the intended scope of the claim invention. Applicant may clarify the limitation to rectify the issue.
Dependent claims 22-27, 29-34, and 36-40 are rejected by virtue of dependency to independent claims 21, 28, and 35.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-23, 26-30, 33-37, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martz et al . (US 2019/0097977 A1), hereinafter Martz in view of Joshi et al. (US 7,694,328 B2), hereinafter Joshi.
Regarding claim 21, Martz discloses a computer-implemented method, comprising:
determining, at a network-accessible service of a cloud computing environment via one or more programmatic interfaces, an isolation requirement of an application to be executed at a computing resource (Martz, Para. 0058, In a cloud computing environment, program modules may be located in both local and remote memory storage devices) and (Martz, Para. 0052, the sandbox firewall 511 prevents non-allowed data or data requests between the host computer system trusted memory space, including the operating system of the host computer system and the sandbox. All other connectivity between the sandbox and other memory() space of the host computer system is blocked. In examples, non-allowed data or data requests comprises any data or data requests that are not explicitly initiated and/or allowed by user action. For example, in examples, applications, such as a browser, that run within the container must access certain system resources (e.g., memory management APIs, user-interface APIs, etc.)) and (Martz, Para. 0035, a sandbox firewall (e.g., internal isolation firewall 511, FIG. 6) listening to or otherwise operating in connection with a sandbox (e.g., isolated computing environment 517, FIG. 6) on the host computer system (e.g., host computer system 510, FIG. 6) checks the URL status at 302 to determine whether the URL is to a trusted domain or to an untrusted domain);
applying, by the network-accessible service, configuration settings at a computing resource in accordance with the isolation requirement such that (Martz, Para. 0021, the sandbox container process may include an internal isolation firewall. The internal isolation firewall may enforce the segregation of the first and second memory spaces), (Martz, Paras, 0046-0047), and (Para. 0051)(a) a networking intermediary executing at the computing resource and associated with the application executing at the computing resource is permitted to obtain, at the computing resource via a network from one or more entities external to the computing resource, data which is to be processed by the application at the computing resource (Martz, Para. 0047, The sandbox implements web proxy authentication, which allows access to the open internet. Moreover, internet access is permitted (e.g., only permitted) through proxy device 506 using an, application operating in the sandbox 517, such as an untrusted browser. If requests come to the proxy device 506 that are not properly authenticated or are from an application in the trusted memory space (e.g., outside of sandbox 517) and not explicitly permitted, the requests will be denied. If requests come to the web proxy listing a network destination that has been identified on a blacklist as a forbidden destination, the requests will be blocked by the web proxy 506. On the other hand, if requests come to the web proxy 506 listing a network destination that is identified on a whitelist as preapproved, those requests will be allowed through the web proxy) and (Martz, Para. 0035, a sandbox firewall (e.g., internal isolation firewall 511, FIG. 6) listening to or otherwise operating in connection with a sandbox (e.g., isolated computing environment 517, FIG. 6) on the host computer system (e.g., host computer system 510, FIG. 6) checks the URL status at 302 to determine whether the URL is to a trusted domain or to an untrusted domain), (b) the networking intermediary is prevented from accessing the application (Martz, Para. 0046) and (Martz, Para. 0047, The sandbox implements web proxy authentication, which allows access to the open internet. Moreover, internet access is permitted (e.g., only permitted) through proxy device 506 using an, application operating in the sandbox 517, such as an untrusted browser. If requests come to the proxy device 506 that are not properly authenticated or are from an application in the trusted memory space (e.g., outside of sandbox 517) and not explicitly permitted, the requests will be denied. If requests come to the web proxy listing a network destination that has been identified on a blacklist as a forbidden destination, the requests will be blocked by the web proxy 506. On the other hand, if requests come to the web proxy 506 listing a network destination that is identified on a whitelist as preapproved, those requests will be allowed through the web proxy), (c) the application is prevented from communicating via the network with at least some entities external to the computing resource (Martz, Para. 0046) and (Martz, Para. 0047, if requests come to the proxy device 506 that are not properly authenticated or are from an application in the trusted memory space (e.g., outside of sandbox 517) and not explicitly permitted) and (d) the networking intermediary executing at the computing resource and the application executing at the computing resource are permitted to communicate with each other via a local communication channel of the computing resource (Martz, Para. 0051, all improperly authenticated or unauthenticated traffic received on this port would be automatically dropped. Authenticated access to the web proxy is available (e.g., only available) using a sandboxed application, such as a browser. Authentication credentials, encrypted or not encrypted, may be stored in configuration files, whether locally or in other network-accessible locations); and
processing, by the application at the computing resource, a particular set of data received by the networking intermediary via the network from a particular entity external to the computing resource (Martz, Paras. 0050- 0051, system 500 is configured so that all externally bound web protocols from internal hosts are automatically directed to the web proxy on a specific port, such as 4321. In some cases, the location of this “redirection” is a router just prior to the border firewall (e.g. router 507). With the exception of traffic bound for whitelisted destinations or traffic received from an authenticated container, all other traffic received by the web proxy is automatically dropped),
Martz does not explicitly disclose wherein the particular set of data is obtained at the application from the networking intermediary via the local communication channel.
However, Joshi teaches wherein the particular set of data is obtained at the application from the networking intermediary via the local communication channel (Joshi, Para. 0170, a request may be sent to a Clipboard Proxy running in the Protected Context over a Named Pipe, with the format identifier that was requested. The Clipboard Proxy in the Protected Context may be able to access these formats, since it may not be running with any access-controls with regards to the clipboard. It may send back the data of the requested format over the Named Pipe connection. The original call may then be completed with the data that is retrieved via the proxy. The storage for this data is locally allocated in the Process's address space, and may be cleaned up when the Process closes the clipboard).
Martz and Joshi are both considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of network isolation levels for run-time environments supported at a managed application execution service. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Martz to incorporate the teachings of Joshi to include wherein the particular set of data is obtained at the application from the networking intermediary via the local communication channel (Joshi, Para. 0170). Doing so would aid to detect intrusions that have already occurred, or intrusions in progress. These types of systems may suffer from false positives, and also may have very little potential for prevention. Because these systems depend on monitoring activity on the network to infer whether an intrusion is in progress, they may interpret many sorts of unusual activity as a potential intrusion (Joshi, Col. 2, Lines 39-46).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Martz in view of Joshi teaches the computer-implemented method as recited in claim 21, further comprising: establishing, at the computing resource, a first run-time environment and a second run-time environment (Martz, Paras. 0036, For example, the sandboxed browser may establish an authenticated connection to the web proxy. This authenticated connection allows the untrusted browser to send user-initiated communications to untrusted web sites or visit other untrusted internet destinations); executing the networking intermediary at the first run-time environment; and executing the application at the second run-time environment (Martz, Paras. 0015, the sandbox firewall process ensures that requests to untrusted network destinations are handled by processes within (e.g., fully contained within) a sandbox environment, starting a new process as required. Likewise, the sandbox firewall ensures that requests to trusted network destinations are handled by processes outside (e.g., fully contained outside) of a sandbox environment, (trusted memory space), starting a new process as required).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Martz in view of Joshi teaches the computer-implemented method as recited in claim 22, wherein the first run-time environment comprises one of (a) a software container or (b) a virtual machine (Martz, Para. 0051, the isolated computing environment may be a sandboxed computing environment enforced by a sandbox container process that enables the internal isolation firewall) and (Martz, Para. 0040, this classification may be performed by a standalone process (e.g., the sandbox firewall) operating in isolation, or by multiple processes operating in conjunction (e.g. with a virtual machine (VM) or another sandboxed application)).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Martz in view of Joshi teaches the computer-implemented method as recited in claim 21, wherein the local communication channel comprises one or more in-memory streaming buffers or pipes (Joshi, Para. 0119, During the intercept to the CIFS function, the security client may take the universal naming convention (UNC) path- 65 name that the Isolated Context passed to CIFS, and uses it to create a UNC path to a named pipe on the same server (i.e. it), it is noted that UNC is equated to a local communication channel, and (Joshi, Para.0170, the storage for this data is locally allocated in the Process's address space). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Martz to incorporate the teachings of Joshi to include wherein the local communication channel comprises one or more in-memory streaming buffers or pipes (Joshi, Para. 0119). Doing so would aid to detect intrusions that have already occurred, or intrusions in progress. These types of systems may suffer from false positives, and also may have very little potential for prevention. Because these systems depend on monitoring activity on the network to infer whether an intrusion is in progress, they may interpret many sorts of unusual activity as a potential intrusion (Joshi, Col. 2, Lines 39-46).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Martz in view of Joshi teaches the computer-implemented method as recited in claim 21, wherein in accordance with the isolation requirement, the configuration settings prevent one or more of: (a) reads from at least a portion of a storage device or (b) writes to at least a portion of a storage device (Martz, Para. 0021,The software may restrict sandbox-based access to one more file descriptors, memory, file system space, etc. For example, the applications and/or processes operating within the sandboxed computing environment may be permitted to certain portions of Memory 14 but may not be allowed access to other portions of Memory 14. As an example, Memory).
In regards to claim 28, the system claim 28 is similarly analyzed and rejected as the method claim 21.
In regards to claim 29, the system claim 29 is similarly analyzed and rejected as the method claim 22.
In regards to claim 30, the system claim 30 is similarly analyzed and rejected as the method claim 23.
In regards to claim 33, the system claim 33 is similarly analyzed and rejected as the method claim 26.
In regards to claim 34, the system claim 34 is similarly analyzed and rejected as the method claim 27.
In regards to claim 35, the non-transitory computer-accessible storage media claim 35 is similarly analyzed and rejected as the method claim 21 and system claim 28.
In regards to claim 36, the non-transitory computer-accessible storage media claim 36 is similarly analyzed and rejected as the method claim 22 and system claim 29.
In regards to claim 37, the non-transitory computer-accessible storage media claim 37 is similarly analyzed and rejected as the method claim 23 and system claim 30.
In regards to claim 40, the non-transitory computer-accessible storage media claim 40 is similarly analyzed and rejected as the method claim 26 and system claim 33.
Claims 24-25, 31-32, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martz et al . (US 2019/0097977 A1), hereinafter Martz in view of Joshi et al. (US 7,694,328 B2), hereinafter Joshi and further in view of Titonis et al. (US 2013/0097706 A1), hereinafter Titonis.
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Martz in view of Joshi does not explicitly teach the computer-implemented method as recited in claim 21, wherein to process the particular set of data, the application performs a machine learning operation.
However, Titonis teaches wherein to process the particular set of data, the application performs a machine learning operation (Titonis, Para. 0281, One of ordinary skill in the art appreciates that once the datasets and training sets are accumulated, that other supervised classification techniques more amenable to larger datasets will be implemented into the Cloud Service. In particular, it is foreseen the use of Support Vector Machines and Decision Trees based on the aforementioned feature vectors and/or subsets of their components).
Martz, Joshi and Titonis are all considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of network isolation levels for run-time environments supported at a managed application execution service. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Martz and Joshi to incorporate the teachings of Titonis to include wherein to process the particular set of data, the application performs a machine learning operation (Titonis, Para. 0281). Doing so would aid to prevent a malicious application from reaching consumers by hooking into the application distribution network, expediting the application analysis queue, and by the automatic labeling of anomalous applications early in the distribution process (Titonis, Para. 0023).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Martz in view of Joshi does not explicitly teach the computer-implemented method as recited in claim 24, wherein the machine learning operation comprises one or more of (a) training of one or more models or (b) an inference operation.
However, Titonis teaches wherein the machine learning operation comprises one or more of (a) training of one or more models (Titonis, Para. 0020-0022, the process consists of a set of algorithms, computer programs that perform tasks based on input data that learns over time as the system is fed more data, or training samples) or (b) an inference operation (Titonis, Para. 0281-286, comparing the feature vector of an sample application binary against the feature vectors of a set of known malware binaries;). However, Titonis teaches wherein to process the particular set of data, the application performs a machine learning operation (Titonis, Para. 0281, One of ordinary skill in the art appreciates that once the datasets and training sets are accumulated, that other supervised classification techniques more amenable to larger datasets will be implemented into the Cloud Service. In particular, it is foreseen the use of Support Vector Machines and Decision Trees based on the aforementioned feature vectors and/or subsets of their components).
Martz, Joshi and Titonis are all considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of network isolation levels for run-time environments supported at a managed application execution service. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Martz and Joshi to incorporate the teachings of Titonis to include wherein the machine learning operation comprises one or more of (a) training of one or more models (Titonis, Para. 0020-0022) or (b) an inference operation (Titonis, Para. 0281-286). Doing so would aid to prevent a malicious application from reaching consumers by hooking into the application distribution network, expediting the application analysis queue, and by the automatic labeling of anomalous applications early in the distribution process (Titonis, Para. 0023).
In regards to claim 31, the system claim 31 is similarly analyzed and rejected as the method claim 24.
In regards to claim 32, the system claim 32 is similarly analyzed and rejected as the method claim 25.
In regards to claim 39, the non-transitory computer-accessible storage media claim 39 is similarly analyzed and rejected as the method claim 25 and system claim 32.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GITA FARAMARZI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2496
/JORGE L ORTIZ CRIADO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2496