DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-12, filed 6/24/24, are currently pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference signs mentioned in the description: 60 and 70. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “a roller connected the” in line 7, suggested to be changed to --a roller connected to the-- for grammatical reasons.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the opposite side,” which lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim 1 recites “a roller connected the interior longitudinal member and positioned on the opposite side of the first transverse member from a middle of the interior longitudinal member” however the phrasing of this language is confusing. As best understood the roller is directly connected to both the interior longitudinal member and the first transverse member.
Claim 5 recites “a middle longitudinal member” suggested to be changed to --a middle longitudinal member of the three longitudinal members-- for clarity.
Claim 5 recites “the longitudinal member” in the last line, suggested to be changed to --the one of the longitudinal members-- for clarity.
Claim 8 recites “the roller,” which lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim 9 recites “the two longitudinal members” in line 5 suggested to be changed to --the pair of longitudinal members-- for clarity.
Claim 11 recites “the longitudinal member” however it is unclear which longitudinal member applicant is referring back to.
Any remaining claims are rejected as being dependent on a rejection base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (2013/0253390).
Regarding claim 1, in fig. 1-4 Park discloses a spine rolling apparatus (structure in fig. 1) comprising, a frame (100 fig. 3), the frame comprising a first transverse member (where 100 is pointing in fig. 3, see annotated fig. 3 below), a second transverse member (member parallel to the first transverse member in fig. 3, see annotated fig. 3 below), and two longitudinal members (see annotated figure 3 below), an interior longitudinal member (see annotated fig. 3 below) positioned parallel the two longitudinal members (see annotated fig. 3 below) and connected between the first transverse member and the second transverse member (see annotated fig. 3 below), and a roller (210 on side closest to first transverse member, rotates in part around axis of 221, fig. 12) connected the interior longitudinal member (indirectly connected, fig. 2) and positioned on the opposite side of the first transverse member from a middle of the interior longitudinal member (Fig. 2-4), the roller rotating around an axis (axis of 221, fig. 12) parallel to a longitudinal axis of the first transverse member (Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 4, Park discloses a leg (see annotated fig. 1 directly below) connected to one of the longitudinal members (all three, at least indirectly), the leg comprising a section (upper portion of leg, see annotated fig. 1 directly below) extending above the frame, and a handle (see annotated fig. 1 directly below) connected to the section.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Watson (2021/0069057).
Regarding claim 2, Park teaches a leg (see annotated fig. 1 directly below), but is silent regarding a leg rotatably connected to one of the longitudinal members, the leg comprising a first position and a second position, wherein the first position is at least ninety degrees rotated from the second position. However, in fig. 1 Watson teaches a leg 28 rotatably connected to one of the longitudinal members [0019], the leg comprising a first position (shown in fig. 1) and a second position (folded position against the table 12, [0019]), wherein the first position is at least ninety degrees rotated from the second position (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park’s leg with a foldable leg, as taught by Watson, for the purpose of allowing for a more compact storage configuration.
Regarding claim 3, Park teaches a leg (see annotated fig. 1 directly above) connected to one of the longitudinal members (indirectly), but is silent regarding the leg comprising a telescoping segment that can adjust the height of the first transverse member off the ground. However, in fig. 1 Watson teaches a leg 28 the leg comprising a telescoping segment that can adjust the height of the first transverse member off the ground [0020]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park’s leg with a telescopic leg, as taught by Watson, for the purpose of allowing for patient adjustability.
Claims 5-6, 8-9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (2013/0253390) view of Watson (2021/0069057).
Regarding claim 5, in fig. 1 Park discloses spine rolling apparatus (structure in fig. 1) comprising, a frame (100, fig. 3), the frame comprising a transverse member (see 1st transverse member in annotated fig. 3 above) and three longitudinal members (see annotated fig. 3 above), the three longitudinal members extending from the transverse member (see annotated fig. 3 above), and a roller assembly (structure in fig. 2, has rollers 110 and 210) adjustably connected to a middle longitudinal member (interior longitudinal member in the annotated fig. 3 above) at the intersection of the transverse member (fig. 2-4), and a leg connected to one of the longitudinal members (annotated fig. 1 directly above), but is silent regarding that the leg rotatably connected to the longitudinal member. However, in fig. 1 Watson teaches a leg 28 rotatably connected to one of the longitudinal members [0019]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park’s leg with a foldable leg, as taught by Watson, for the purpose of allowing for a more compact storage configuration.
Regarding claim 6, the modified Park discloses that the leg comprising a first position (shown in fig. 1, Watson) and a second position (folded position against the table 12, [0019] Watson), wherein the first position is at least ninety degrees rotated from the second position (Fig. 1, Watson).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Park is silent regarding the leg comprising a telescoping segment that can adjust the height of the roller off the ground. However, in fig. 1 Watson teaches a leg 28 the leg comprising a telescoping segment that can adjust the height of massage member 60 off the ground [0020]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park’s leg with a telescopic leg, as taught by Watson, for the purpose of allowing for patient adjustability.
Regarding claim 9, in fig. 1-4 Park discloses a spine rolling apparatus (structure in fig. 1) comprising, a frame (100 fig. 3) comprising a pair of transverse members (see annotated fig. 3 above) and a pair of longitudinal members (first and second longitudinal members, see annotated fig. 3 above), an interior longitudinal member (see annotated fig. 3 above) connected between the transverse members oriented parallel the two longitudinal members (see annotated fig. 3 above), a roller (210 on side closest to first transverse member, rotates in part around axis of 221, fig. 12) connected the interior longitudinal member (indirectly connected, fig. 2), and a leg (annotated fig. 1 directly above) connected to one of the longitudinal members, but is silent regarding that the leg comprising a telescoping segment that can adjust the height of the roller off the ground. However, in fig. 1 Watson teaches a leg 28 the leg comprising a telescoping segment that can adjust the height of massage member 60 off the ground [0020]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park’s leg with a telescopic leg, as taught by Watson, for the purpose of allowing for patient adjustability.
Regarding claim 11, the modified Park is silent regarding that the leg is rotatably connected to the longitudinal member. However, in fig. 1 Watson teaches a leg 28 rotatably connected to one of the longitudinal members [0019]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park’s leg with a foldable leg, as taught by Watson, for the purpose of allowing for a more compact storage configuration.
Regarding claim 12, the modified Park discloses that the leg comprising a first position (shown in fig. 1, Watson) and a second position (folded position against the table 12, [0019] Watson), wherein the first position is at least ninety degrees rotated from the second position (Fig. 1, Watson).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park and Watson, as applied to claim 5 above, in further view of Fortier (5,634,887).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Park is silent regarding that the leg comprises a section extending above the frame, and a handle connected to the section. However, in fig. 5 Fortier teaches a leg (74 and 80) comprising a section extending above the frame (portion of 80 extending above frame 12), and a handle 78 connected to the section. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park’s leg with the addition of a section extending above the frame, and a handle connected to the section, as taught by Fortier, for the purpose of allowing for patient adjustability.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park and Watson, as applied to claim 9 above, in further view of Fortier (5,634,887).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Park is silent regarding that the leg comprises a section extending above the frame, and a handle connected to the section. However, in fig. 5 Fortier teaches a leg (74 and 80) comprising a section extending above the frame (portion of 80 extending above frame 12), and a handle 78 connected to the section. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park’s leg with the addition of a section extending above the frame, and a handle connected to the section, as taught by Fortier, for the purpose of allowing for patient adjustability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hoard (1,265,083) directed towards a massage appliance with handles and Hamilton (1,572,794) directed towards a spinal massage device.
/RACHEL T SIPPEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785