DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-7 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 04-04-2026 have been fully considered.
Regarding the rejections of claims 1-7 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tanaka (US20030137691A1), Applicant argues on page 6 that Tanaka selecting fit printing settings, applying the selected fit printing settings, and reprinting but does not disclose "the local device communication application is configured to: ... verify a permission status of the host web application relative to the local device, and responsive to verifying, based on the permission status, that the host web application has the permission to communicate with the local device, then transmit the device specific command to the local device," as recited by claim 1.
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. Tanaka discloses “verify a permission status of the host web application [web server 108] relative to the local device, and responsive to verifying, based on the permission status, that the host web application has the permission to communicate with the local device, then transmit the device specific command to the local device” by showing in para [0068] shows the print target data 110 is stored in the web server and displayed by the WWW browser 102; para [0123] when the printer driver is adapted for fit printing, check boxes are made effective, allowing (e.g., permitting) the user to select fit printing; [0103] shows the plug-in 103 reads the print target data 1407 and converts the GDI functions into DDI (Device Driver Interface) functions. The printer driver 104 converts the DDI functions into the printer control language interpretable by the printer 105, and creates a printing job including the print data. Tanaka discloses the language of the claim.
As to any argument not specifically addressed, they are the same as those discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tanaka (US20030137691A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tanaka discloses system for facilitating communication of data from a browser to a local device [printer 105], wherein the browser is configured to operate on a user device ([Abstract] and Fig 1 show a plug-in capable of being run from a browser is employed to make a drawing, and the drawing data is output to a printer driver; para [0081] shows a local printer),
the system comprising (para [0019] shows a web server transmitting data in response to an instruction from a client unit that includes a browser of a document type to be locally printed):
a local device communication application [printer driver 104] that is configured to operate on the user device, the local device communication application being separate from the browser (Fig 1 and para [0071] show the client unit 101 stores (e.g., operates) the browser 102, the plug-in 103, and the printer driver 104);
a host web application [WWW server 108] configured to operate on a host system [server unit 107] (Fig 1 and para [0064] show a WWW server 108 in the server unit 107); and
a local device communication application programming interface (API) [printing setting information 111] configured to operate on the host system [server unit 107], wherein the local device communication (API) is configured for communication with the host web application [WWW server 108] (para [0024] shows printing setting obtained using the extended API; para [0068] shows the print target data 110 is stored in the web server 108; the printing setting information 111 includes a print layout; para [0102] shows a printer in which the fit printing is supported using the extended API), wherein:
the host web application [WWW server 108] is to generate and transmit: data defining content for display by the browser (para [0068] shows the print target data 110 is stored in the web server and displayed by the WWW browser 102), and
code [plug-in 103] to cause the browser to communicate with the local device communication application [printer driver 104] (para [0065] shows the plug-in 103 to convert print target data obtained from the web server into drawing functions; para [0066] shows the printer driver 104 interprets printing commands received from the plug-in 103 and executes a process of creating print data interpretable by a printer 105); and
the local device communication application [printer driver 104] (Fig 1) is configured to:
receive the data from the browser (para [0066] shows the printer driver 104 interprets printing commands received from the plug-in 103 (e.g., from the browser)), then
convert the data to a device specific [interpretable by the printer 105] command (para [0087] shows the drawing function definition 1402 is converting the print target data into drawing functions (called GDI functions) for enabling the plug-in 103 to output the print target data; para [0103] shows the plug-in 103 first reads the print target data 1407 and converts the GDI functions into DDI (Device Driver Interface) functions, i.e., drawing functions interpretable by the output printer driver. The printer driver 104 converts the DDI functions into the printer control language interpretable by the printer 105, and creates a printing job including the print data),
verify a permission status of the host web application [WWW server 108] relative to the local device (para [0012] shows when carrying out a printing process for print target data which has been downloaded from a web server, reprint instruction from the browser is allowed and reprinting is performed; para [0102] shows printing to be fitted in a printed area when "business cards" is designated as the layout type; para [0123] shows the printer driver is adapted for fit printing, allowing the user to select fit printing), and
responsive to verifying, based on the permission status, that the host web application has the permission to communicate with the local device, then transmit the device specific command to the local device (para [0087] shows the drawing function definition 1402 is converting the print target data into drawing functions (called GDI functions) for enabling the plug-in 103 to output the print target data; para [0103] shows the plug-in 103 first reads the print target data 1407 and converts the GDI functions into DDI (Device Driver Interface) functions, i.e., drawing functions interpretable by the output printer driver. The printer driver 104 converts the DDI functions into the printer control language interpretable by the printer 105, and creates a printing job including the print data).
Regarding claim 2, Tanaka as applied to claim 1 discloses the local device communication application is configured to provide available local devices to the browser for display and to receive a local device selection indication, and the local device is identified based on the local device selection indication (para [0102] shows the dialog screen can be selected for all types of printers, and the fit printing button 1302 can be selected for only a printer in which the fit printing is supported using the extended API.)
Regarding claim 3, Tanaka as applied to claim 1 discloses converting the data comprises converting Hypertext Markup Language (HTML) to a print command incorporating the content, style information, and positioning information derived from the HTML (para [0102] shows fit printing button 1302 for executing printing to be fitted in a printed area; para [0133] shows the dialog screen prompting the user to enter STYLE, FONT, TEXT; para [0135] shows the plug-in 103 creates an HTML file based on the downloaded HTML; para [0108] shows the plug-in 103 reads the printing setting information 1408 and determines the print layout type 1502 of the printing setting information.)
Regarding claim 4, Tanaka as applied to claim 1 discloses the local device is a printer (para [0081] shows a local printer.)
Regarding claim 5, Tanaka as applied to claim 1 discloses the local device communication application is configured to receive a local device response from the local device in a device specific format, and cause provision of a message for display by the browser based on the local device response (para [0102] shows the dialog screen can be selected for all types of printers, and the fit printing button 1302 can be selected for only a printer in which the fit printing is supported using the extended API.)
Regarding claim 6, Tanaka as applied to claim 1 discloses the local device communication application is configured to: cause the user device to output a user permission prompt relating to the host web application and the local device via the browser; receive an authorization indication in response to the outputting of the user permission prompt via the browser; and update the permission status relating to the host web application and the local device based on the authorization indication (para [0102] shows the dialog screen can be selected for all types of printers, and the fit printing button 1302 can be selected for only a printer in which the fit printing is supported using the extended API; para [0123] shows check boxes allowing the user to select fit printing.)
Regarding claim 7, Tanaka discloses a system for facilitating communication of data from a browser to a local device, wherein the browser is configured to operate on a user device, and the system comprises ([Abstract] and Fig 1 show a plug-in capable of being run from a browser of a client device is employed to make a drawing, and the drawing data is output to a printer driver; para [0081] shows a local printer):
a local device communication application [printer driver 104] that is configured to operate on the user device (Fig 1 and para [0071] show the client unit 101 stores the browser 102, the plug-in 103, and the printer driver 104),
a host web application [WWW server 108] configured to operate on a host system [server unit 107] (Fig 1 and para [0064] show a WWW server 108 in the server unit 107); and
a local device communication application programming interface [printing setting information 111] configured to operate on the host system [server unit 107], wherein the local device communication application programming interface is configured for communication with the host web application [WWW server 108] (para [0102] shows a printer in which the fit printing is supported using the extended API; para [0024] shows printing setting obtained using the extended API; para [0068] shows the print target data 110 is stored in the web server 108; the printing setting information 111 includes a print layout in response to each printing instruction),
wherein the host web application [WWW server 108] generates data for display by the browser and further enables the browser to communicate with the local device communication application [printer driver 104] (para [0068] shows the print target data 110 is stored in the web server and displayed by the WWW browser 102; the printer driver 104 interprets printing commands received from the plug-in 103 (e.g., from the browser)), and
wherein the local device communication application [printer driver 104] is configured to receive the data from the browser (para [0068] shows the printer driver 104 interprets printing commands received from the plug-in 103 (e.g., from the browser)),
convert the data to a device specific format [interpretable by the printer 105], and transmit the converted data to the local device (para [0087] shows the drawing function definition 1402 is converting the print target data into drawing functions (called GDI functions) for enabling the plug-in 103 to output the print target data; para [0103] shows the plug-in 103 d converts the GDI functions into DDI (Device Driver Interface) functions, i.e., drawing functions interpretable by the output printer driver. The printer driver 104 converts the DDI functions into the printer control language interpretable by the printer 105, and creates a printing job including the print data),
wherein the local device communication application [printer driver 104] is configured to enable return of local device status information [fit printing is allowed] to the host system via the browser in response to a request from the host system (para [0012] shows when printing target data from a web server, the plug-in can be booted up from a browser for accessing data in the web server to realize reprint instruction from the browser is allowed and reprinting is performed; para [0102] shows printing to be fitted in a printed area when "business cards" is designated as the layout type; para [0123] shows the printer driver is adapted for fit printing, allowing the user to select fit printing.)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAN DOAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445