DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 objected to because of the following informalities: Line 2 recites “performed” which appears to be a typo of “perform”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 15, 16, 17, 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fukuda (US 2010/0254379).
For claim 1, Fukuda teaches: A wireless access point (see at least 0081-0083, fig. 4, 8, a connection apparatus may comprise processing functionality for communications), comprising:
a first sublayer operable to perform first operations in accordance with a first standard, where the first standard is associated with the wireless access point (see at least 0011, fig. 8, MAC layer 107 of the connection apparatus may receive and process 802.11 packets from PHY layer 106, comprising a first standard); and
a second sublayer communicatively coupled to the first sublayer (see at least 0011, fig. 8, MAC layer 107 may be connected to a protocol stack comprising PHY, MAC, upper, and bridge layers 109-112 (also see 0071)), comprising:
a protocol stack operable to perform second operations in accordance with a second standard and to interface with a transmission medium to facilitate data transmissions between the wireless access point and a device (see at least 0011, fig. 8, PHY, MAC, upper layers 110-112 may process Ethernet packets for transmission, comprising a second standard); and
an adaptive layer to facilitate communications between the protocol stack and the first sublayer (see at least 0011, fig. 8, bridge 109 may bridge packets from 802.11 standard to Ethernet standard).
For claim 2, Fukuda teaches claim 1, Fukuda further teaches: further comprising a third sublayer communicatively coupled to the first sublayer, wherein: the third sublayer is operable to perform third operations in accordance with the first standard; and the third sublayer is operable to interface with a second transmission medium to facilitate data transmissions between the wireless access point and a second device (see at least 0011, fig. 8, MAC layer 107 may receive 802.11 packets from PHY layer 106 of an 802.11 protocol stack (third sublayer); packets may be originally received by PHY layer 106 from terminal 100).
For claim 3, Fukuda teaches claim 2, Fukuda further teaches: wherein the first sublayer is common between the second sublayer and the third sublayer, and the first sublayer is operable to perform the first operations relative to at least the second sublayer and the third sublayer (see at least 0011, fig. 8, MAC layer is comprised in both the 802.11 protocol stack (third sublayer) and Ethernet protocol stack in the connection apparatus, thus being common; MAC layer 107 may forward packets from PHY layer 106 to bridge/Ethernet layers 109-112, thus being relative to the second and third sublayers).
For claim 6, Fukuda teaches claim 1, Fukuda further teaches: wherein the second standard is a non-IEEE 802.11 standard (see at least 0011, fig. 8, PHY, MAC, upper layers 110-112 may process Ethernet packets for transmission, comprising a non-802.11 standard).
For claim 7, Fukuda teaches claim 6, Fukuda further teaches: wherein the second standard is one of G.hn, Multimedia over Coax Alliance, fiber optics, passive optical network, or Ethernet (see at least 0011, fig. 8, PHY, MAC, upper layers 110-112 may process Ethernet packets for transmission).
For claim 8, Fukuda teaches claim 1, Fukuda further teaches: wherein the second operations correspond to the second standard and the transmission medium (see at least 0011, fig. 8, PHY, MAC, upper layers 110-112 may process Ethernet packets for transmission).
For claim 9, Fukuda teaches claim 1, Fukuda further teaches: wherein the transmission medium is a wired connection (see at least 0016, Ethernet may be wired network).
For claim 10, Fukuda teaches: A method, comprising:
obtaining a first data frame from a first sublayer in a wireless access point, the first data frame corresponding to a first standard associated with the first sublayer and the wireless access point (see at least 0081-0083, fig. 4, 8, a connection apparatus may comprise processing functionality for communications. See at least 0011, fig. 8, bridge 109 of the connection apparatus may receive 802.11 packets from MAC layer 107, comprising a first standard);
adapting the first data frame from the first standard to a second standard to obtain an adapted frame, the adapted frame corresponding to a second standard (see at least 0011, fig. 8, bridge 109 may bridge packets from 802.11 standard to Ethernet standard); and
transmitting the adapted frame to a protocol stack in the wireless access point, wherein the second standard is associated with the protocol stack (see at least 0011, fig. 8, bridged Ethernet packets may be sent to PHY, MAC, upper layers 110-112 for transmission, comprising a second standard).
For claim 11, Fukuda teaches claim 10, Fukuda further teaches: wherein the first sublayer is common to the protocol stack and a second sublayer, and the first sublayer is operable to perform first operations relative to at least the protocol stack and the second sublayer (see at least 0011, fig. 8, MAC layer is comprised in both the 802.11 protocol stack (second sublayer) and Ethernet protocol stack in the connection apparatus, thus being common; MAC layer 107 of the connection apparatus may forward packets from PHY layer 106 to bridge/Ethernet layers 109-112, thus being relative to the Ethernet protocol stack and second sublayer).
For claim 12, Fukuda teaches claim 11, Fukuda further teaches: wherein the second sublayer performs second operations to a second data frame in accordance with the first standard (see at least 0011, fig. 8, 802.11 protocol stack may process 802.11 packets).
For claim 15, Fukuda teaches claim 10, Fukuda further teaches: wherein the second standard is a non-IEEE 802.11 standard (see at least 0011, fig. 8, PHY, MAC, upper layers 110-112 may process Ethernet packets for transmission, comprising a non-802.11 standard).
For claim 16, Fukuda teaches claim 10, Fukuda further teaches: wherein the second standard is one of G.hn, Multimedia over Coax Alliance (MoCA), fiber optics, passive optical network (PON), or Ethernet (see at least 0011, fig. 8, PHY, MAC, upper layers 110-112 may process Ethernet packets for transmission).
For claim 17, Fukuda teaches: A system, comprising:
a first sublayer operable to perform first operations in accordance with a first standard, where the first standard is associated with a wireless access point (see at least 0081-0083, fig. 4, 8, a connection apparatus may comprise processing functionality for communications. See at least 0011, fig. 8, MAC layer 107 of the connection apparatus may receive and process 802.11 packets from PHY layer 106, comprising a first standard);
a second sublayer communicatively coupled to the first sublayer (see at least 0011, fig. 8, MAC layer 107 may be connected to a protocol stack comprising PHY, MAC, upper, and bridge layers 109-112 (also see 0071)), comprising:
a protocol stack operable to perform second operations in accordance with a second standard comprising interfacing with a transmission medium to facilitate data transmissions between the wireless access point and a device (see at least 0011, fig. 8, PHY, MAC, upper layers 110-112 may process Ethernet packets for transmission, comprising a second standard); and
an adaptive layer to facilitate communications between the protocol stack and first sublayer (see at least 0011, fig. 8, bridge 109 may bridge packets from 802.11 standard to Ethernet standard); and
a third sublayer communicatively coupled to the first sublayer (see at least 0011, fig. 8, MAC layer 107 may receive 802.11 packets from PHY layer 106 of an 802.11 protocol stack (third sublayer)), wherein:
the third sublayer is operable to perform third operations in accordance with the first standard (see at least 0011, fig. 8, packets may be originally received by PHY layer 106 in the 802.11 standard); and
the third sublayer is operable to interface with a second transmission medium to facilitate data transmissions between the wireless access point and a second device (see at least 0011, fig. 8, packets may be originally received by PHY layer 106 from terminal 100).
For claim 18, Fukuda teaches claim 17, Fukuda further teaches: wherein the first sublayer is common between the second sublayer and the third sublayer, and the first sublayer is operable to perform the first operations relative to at least the second sublayer and the third sublayer (see at least 0011, fig. 8, MAC layer is comprised in both the 802.11 protocol stack (third sublayer) and Ethernet protocol stack in the connection apparatus, thus being common; MAC layer 107 may forward packets from PHY layer 106 to bridge/Ethernet layers 109-112, thus being relative to the second and third sublayers).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4, 13, 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuda (US 2010/0254379) in view of Chitrakar et al. (US 2021/0227547).
For claim 4, Fukuda teaches claim 1, but not explicitly: wherein the first sublayer is an upper medium access control layer configured to perform multi-link operations in the wireless access point. Chitrakar from an analogous art teaches (see at least 0104, fig. 20, an upper MAC layer may provide interface between upper layers and lower MAC layers). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Chitrakar to the system of claim 1, so the sublayer comprises an upper MAC layer between lower MAC and upper layers, as suggested by Chitrakar. The motivation would have been to enhance communications by implementing upper MAC interface for lower MAC layers (Chitrakar 0104).
For claim 13, Fukuda teaches claim 10, but not explicitly: wherein the first sublayer is an upper medium access control layer configured to perform multi-link operations in the wireless access point. Chitrakar from an analogous art teaches (see at least 0104, fig. 20, an upper MAC layer may provide interface between upper layers and lower MAC layers). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Chitrakar to the system of claim 10, so the sublayer comprises an upper MAC layer between lower MAC and upper layers, as suggested by Chitrakar. The motivation would have been to enhance communications by implementing upper MAC interface for lower MAC layers (Chitrakar 0104).
For claim 19, Fukuda teaches claim 17, but not explicitly: wherein the first sublayer is an upper medium access control layer configured to performed multi-link operations in the wireless access point, and the third sublayer is a lower medium access control layer. Chitrakar from an analogous art teaches (see at least 0104, fig. 20, an upper MAC layer may provide interface between upper layers and lower MAC layers). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Chitrakar to the system of claim 17, so the first sublayer comprises an upper MAC layer connected to the third sublayer comprising lower MAC layer, as suggested by Chitrakar. The motivation would have been to enhance communications by implementing upper MAC interface for lower MAC layers (Chitrakar 0104).
Claim 5, 14, 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuda (US 2010/0254379) in view of Patil et al. (US 2021/0014911).
For claim 5, Fukuda teaches claim 1, Fukuda further teaches: wherein the first standard is Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 (see at least 0011, fig. 8, MAC layer 107 of the connection apparatus may receive and process IEEE 802.11 packets) but not explicitly: and the 802.11be amendment. Patil from an analogous art teaches (see at least 0088, PDUs may be formatted in accordance with 802.11be amendment). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Patil to the system of claim 1, so the packets are in 802.11be standard, as suggested by Patil. The motivation would have been to enhance communications by implementing well known 802.11be protocol (Patil 0088).
For claim 14, Fukuda teaches claim 10, Fukuda further teaches: wherein the first standard is Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 (see at least 0011, fig. 8, MAC layer 107 of the connection apparatus may receive and process IEEE 802.11 packets) but not explicitly: and the 802.11be amendment. Patil from an analogous art teaches (see at least 0088, PDUs may be formatted in accordance with 802.11be amendment). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Patil to the system of claim 10, so the packets are in 802.11be standard, as suggested by Patil. The motivation would have been to enhance communications by implementing well known 802.11be protocol (Patil 0088).
For claim 20, Fukuda teaches claim 17, Fukuda further teaches: …and the second standard is one of G.hn, Multimedia over Coax Alliance, fiber optics, passive optical network, or Ethernet (see at least 0011, fig. 8, PHY, MAC, upper layers 110-112 may process Ethernet packets for transmission) but not explicitly: wherein the first standard is Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers 802.11be. Patil from an analogous art teaches (see at least 0088, PDUs may be formatted in accordance with 802.11be amendment). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Patil to the system of claim 17, so the first standard packets are in 802.11be standard, as suggested by Patil. The motivation would have been to enhance communications by implementing well known 802.11be protocol (Patil 0088).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhou et al. (US 2019/0150214) discloses packet based link aggregation architectures.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SIREN WEI whose telephone number is (571)272-0687. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Thursday 7-4. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hassan Phillips can be reached on 571-272-3940. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Siren Wei/
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2467