Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19 and 20 are allowable over the prior art.
Claims 5-13 and 15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and upon overcoming the double patenting rejection.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art fails to teach or disclose wherein the system includes one or more cannulated pedicle screws that are configured to be insertable through one or more respective pedicles of the patient’s spine, and a distracting frame configured to operably connect the at least two cannulated screws to each other.
The prior art fails to teach or disclose wherein the posterior distractor rack assembly includes a first swivel tube subassembly having a first swivel tube, wherein the posterior distractor carriage assembly includes a second swivel tube subassembly having a second swivel tube, and wherein the first and second swivel tubes are each configured to receive a pedicle screw and screw tower therein.
The prior art fails to teach or disclose wherein the pinion assembly includes a knob, a post descending from the knob, a gear circumferentially engaging the post and having ridges that interdigitate with the ridges on the rack, and wherein the posterior distractor carriage assembly includes an aperture dimensioned to receive the post and gear of the pinion assembly therein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). Lines 13-14 of the claim recite “one or more cannulated pedicle screws that are insertable through one or more respective pedicles of the patient’s spine…” Examiner suggests language similar to “one or more cannulated pedicle screws that are configured to be insertable through one or more respective pedicles of the patient’s spine…” in order to avoid positively reciting the patient’s pedicle, and to overcome the rejection.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,042,405. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the present application and granted patent disclose an internal fixation system for spinal surgery on a patient. The system comprises a lateral lumbar interbody fusion (LLIF) retractor having an LLIF retractor adaptor, a posterior compressor/distractor, an A-arm configured to mount on a surgical table, and a B-arm configured to engage an end of the table-mounted A-arm and to engage the posterior compressor/distractor. The posterior compressor/distractor includes a posterior distractor rack assembly, a posterior distractor carriage assembly configured to operably engage the posterior distractor rack assembly, and a pinion assembly configured to operably engage the posterior distractor rack assembly and the posterior distractor carriage assembly. The posterior distractor rack assembly and posterior distractor carriage assembly are movable relative to one another. The posterior distractor rack assembly includes a rack having a plurality of ridges on at least one surface thereof, and wherein the posterior distractor carriage assembly includes an opening configured to receive the rack therethrough. The posterior distractor rack assembly includes a first swivel tube subassembly having a first swivel tube, wherein the posterior distractor carriage assembly includes a second swivel tube subassembly having a second swivel tube, and wherein the first and second swivel tubes are each configured to receive a pedicle screw and screw tower therein. The first and second swivel tube subassemblies are configured to be moved and positioned with respect to each other. The second swivel tube subassembly has a first arm extending therefrom and a carriage hub including a first cavity configured to receive the first arm therein, wherein the first cavity includes a first opening surrounded by a first annular end having a first plurality of teeth extending therefrom, and wherein the second swivel tube subassembly includes a second plurality of teeth proximate to and surrounding the arm, the second plurality of teeth being configured to removably engage the first plurality of teeth.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 2015/0018623 to Friedrich et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2012/0041272 to Dietze, Jr. et al.
As to Claim 1, Friedrich discloses an internal fixation system (10, Fig. 1) for spinal surgery on a patient [0009-0010]. The system comprises a lateral lumbar interbody fusion (LLIF) retractor (18, [0046]) having an LLIF retractor adaptor (40, [0042]) configured to connect to a surgical table [0033]. The LLIF retractor (18) is operative to approach the spine from a lateral side [0063], a posterior retraction instrument (12, [0033, 0035]), an A-arm (seen in Fig. 1, below, as a solid line) configured to mount (via 20) on a surgical table [0033], and a B-arm (seen in Fig. 1, below, as a dotted line) configured to engage an end of the table-mounted A-arm (at 46B, Fig. 1, below) and to engage the posterior retraction instrument (12, [0035]). The system (10, Fig. 1) is operative for performing prone lateral spine surgery on the patient without the use of a bolster, and the system enables a surgeon to access either the left or the right lateral side of the spine of the patient during the surgery [0063-0064].
As to Claim 2, Friedrich discloses an internal fixation system wherein the B-arm (seen in Fig. 1) includes a lateral connector (40), wherein the A-arm (seen in Fig. 1) includes a distal clamp (46B) on an end of the A-arm (Fig. 1) that is configured to engage the B-arm lateral connector (40, [0042]), and wherein the B-arm (seen in Fig. 1) further includes a B-arm posterior connector (30B) that is configured to engage the posterior retraction instrument (12, [0035]).
As to Claim 21, Friedrich discloses an internal fixation system wherein the B-arm (seen in Fig. 1) engages the LLIF retractor (18, [0046]) on one end and is configured to engages a posterior retraction instrument (12) on the other end (Fig. 1).
As to Claims 1, 2, and 21, Friedrich discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the system includes a posterior compressor/distractor operative to contact the spine at the patient's back and the back of the spine when the patient is prone for the surgery, the posterior compressor/distractor being configured to contacts and/or approaches the spine from the back.
Dietze, Jr. discloses an internal fixation system (1, Fig. 3, [0010]) for spinal surgery on a patient including a first arm (52) having attached a lateral lumbar interbody fusion retractor (56) and a second arm (58) having attached a posterior compressor/distractor (100, [0051-0052], Fig. 3)). The compressor/distractor (100) is operative to contact the spine at the patient's back and the back of the spine when the patient is prone for the surgery [0052], the posterior compressor/distractor (18) is configured to contact and/or approach the spine from the back [0052, 0089] in order to provide for a retractor that minimizes clutter in the working field to provide maximum site lines to the surgical site during minimally invasive procedures [0009].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the internal fixation system of Friedrich with the retractor and distractor modification of Dietze, Jr. in order to provide for a retractor that minimizes clutter in the working field to provide maximum site lines to the surgical site during minimally invasive procedures.
Claims 3, 4, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 2015/0018623 to Friedrich et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2012/0041272 to Dietze, Jr. et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2009/0227845 to Lo et al.
As to Claim 14, Friedrich discloses an internal fixation system (10, Fig. 1) for spinal surgery on a patient [0009-0010]. The system comprises a lateral lumbar interbody fusion (LLIF) retractor (18, [0046]) having an LLIF retractor adaptor (40, [0042]) configured to connect to a surgical table [0033]. The LLIF retractor (18) is operative to approach the spine from a lateral side [0063], a posterior retraction instrument (12, [0033, 0035]), an A-arm (seen in Fig. 1, below, as a solid line) configured to mount (via 20) on a surgical table [0033], and a B-arm (seen in Fig. 1, below, as a dotted line) configured to engage an end of the table-mounted A-arm (at 46B, Fig. 1, below) and to engage the posterior retraction instrument (12, [0035]). The system (10, Fig. 1) is operative for performing prone lateral spine surgery on the patient without the use of a bolster, and the system enables a surgeon to access either the left or the right lateral side of the spine of the patient during the surgery [0063-0064].
As to Claim 14, Friedrich discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the system includes a posterior compressor/distractor operative to contact the spine at the patient's back and the back of the spine when the patient is prone for the surgery, the posterior compressor/distractor being configured to contacts and/or approaches the spine from the back.
Dietze, Jr. discloses an internal fixation system (1, Fig. 3, [0010]) for spinal surgery on a patient including a first arm (52) having attached a lateral lumbar interbody fusion retractor (56) and a second arm (58) having attached a posterior compressor/distractor (100, [0051-0052], Fig. 3)). The compressor/distractor (100) is operative to contact the spine at the patient's back and the back of the spine when the patient is prone for the surgery [0052], the posterior compressor/distractor (18) is configured to contact and/or approach the spine from the back [0052, 0089] in order to provide for a retractor that minimizes clutter in the working field to provide maximum site lines to the surgical site during minimally invasive procedures [0009].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the internal fixation system of Friedrich with the retractor and distractor modification of Dietze, Jr. in order to provide for a retractor that minimizes clutter in the working field to provide maximum site lines to the surgical site during minimally invasive procedures.
As to Claims 3, 4, and 14, Friedrich and Dietze, Jr. et al. disclose the claimed invention except for wherein the posterior compressor/distractor includes a posterior distractor rack assembly, a posterior distractor carriage assembly configured to operably engage the posterior distractor rack assembly, and a pinion assembly configured to operably engage the posterior distractor rack assembly and the posterior distractor carriage assembly, whereby the posterior distractor rack assembly and posterior distractor carriage assembly are movable relative to one another, wherein the posterior distractor rack assembly includes a rack having a plurality of ridges on at least one surface thereof, and wherein the posterior distractor carriage assembly includes an opening configured to receive the rack therethrough.
Lo discloses an internal fixation system (Fig. 4, [0033]) wherein the posterior compressor/distractor (2) includes a posterior distractor rack assembly (38), a posterior distractor carriage assembly (84) configured to operably engage the posterior distractor rack assembly (38, [0033]), and a pinion assembly (90) configured to operably engage the posterior distractor rack assembly (38) and the posterior distractor carriage assembly (84, [0033]), whereby the posterior distractor rack assembly and posterior distractor carriage assembly are movable relative to one another [0033]. The posterior distractor rack assembly (38) includes a rack having a plurality of ridges on at least one surface thereof (Fig. 4, [0033]), and wherein the posterior distractor carriage assembly (84) includes an opening (50) configured to receive the rack therethrough [0033] in order to provide an adjusting mechanism capable of adjusting and locking positions of the posterior compressor/distractor and lateral lumbar interbody fusion retractor in a desired position [0033].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the internal fixation system of Friedrich and Dietze, Jr. with the rack and pinion modification of Lo in order to provide an adjusting mechanism capable of adjusting and locking positions of the posterior compressor/distractor and lateral lumbar interbody fusion retractor in a desired position.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER J BECCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775