DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1 and 10 are directed to an abstract idea. The claims are about taking user inputs (text/voice/icon selections), interpreting them into actions, selecting patient-related options, and navigating an EHR interface accordingly. That is fundamentally an information-processing/workflow navigation concept implemented on a computer interface, rather than a concrete technical improvement to how computers or speech processing work.
The claims recites an abstract idea in the form of mental processes (e.g., interpreting language into “verbs” and associated actions; selecting patient specific parameters; selecting a patient; forming commands) and organizing human activity (managing and navigating patient record information in a healthcare workflow). These claims are grouping of abstract ideas. Grouping of abstract ideas into categories including mental processes and certain methods of organizing human activity.
The extra features in the claims (natural language interface; receiving text/sound/icon inputs; displaying a patient list; changing a navigational state) are generic user-interface and data navigation steps, not a specific technical solution. The claim mentions sound having “noise, redundancy, and verbosity,” but it does not recite a particular speech/noise-handling technique or a concrete algorithm that improves computer/speech technology. The USPTO guidance indicates that claims are more likely eligible when additional elements integrate the exception into a practical application, such as by improving computer functionality or another technology; that kind of specific technical improvement is not apparent from this claim text.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims are (i) mere instructions to implement the idea on a computer, and/or (ii) recitation of generic computer structure that serves to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry. Viewed as a whole, these additional claim element(s) do not provide meaningful limitation(s) to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claim(s) amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Therefore, the claim(s) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter. There is further no improvement to the computing device. Dependent claims 2-10 and 12-20 further recite an abstract idea performable by a human and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea as they do not provide steps other than what is conventionally known in data management.
Claims 2 and 12: adds only generic input modalities (voice + icon taps) for giving a request, which is just routine UI interaction.
Claims 3 and 13: merely displays command options in a “prioritized list,” i.e., organizing/presenting information for navigation.
Claims 4 and 14: merely ranks options using context/history/workflow/patient data, i.e., an abstract recommendation/decision rule based on information.
Claims 5 and 15: describes high-level language reformatting (rearranging stored words into command syntax), i.e., abstract data manipulation.
Claims 6 and 16: describes deriving commands from ordered linguistic components in a database, i.e., generic parsing/combining text elements.
Claims 7 and 17: describes predicting components/values and assembling commands from lists, i.e., abstract prediction and command construction from data.
Claims 8 and 18: only limits who uses it (healthcare provider/agent), which is a field-of-use limitation without technical improvement.
Claims 9 and 19: only limits who uses it (patient), which is a field-of-use limitation without technical improvement.
Claims 10 and 20: only places it on an IoT device, which is a generic “do it on a device” implementation limitation.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,020,698. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following:
Pending US Application No. 18/752,715
US Patent No. 12,020,698
Claims 1 and 11:
A method comprising: providing a natural language interface to enable a user to access an electronic health record (EHR) system; receiving, via the natural language interface, one or more first input stimuli from the user, wherein the one or more first input stimuli include text, sound, and one or more activation of icons, and wherein the sound includes noise, redundancy, and verbosity;
converting the one or more first input stimuli into a plurality of different verbs, each of the verbs associated with a different action performable in the EHR system;
obtaining multiple respective command parameters for each of the different verbs, each of the multiple respective command parameters being specific to a patient;
receiving a selection of one of the multiple respective command parameters for each of the different verbs; receiving, via the natural language interface, one or more second input stimuli from the user, wherein the one or more second stimuli include second text, second sound, and one or more second activation of icons; displaying one or more patients having records in the EHR system based on the one or more second input stimuli; receiving a selection of one of the one or more patients; converting the plurality of different verbs, the selected multiple respective command parameters, and the selected patient into one or more commands; and
changing a navigational state of the EHR system based on the one or more commands.
Claims 1 and 11:
A method comprising: providing a natural language interface to enable a user to access an electronic health record (EHR) system; receiving, via the natural language interface, one or more first input stimuli from the user, wherein the one or more first input stimuli includes text, sound, and one or more activation of icons, and wherein the sound includes noise, redundancy, and verbosity, each of the noise, the redundancy, and the verbosity including respective data that is not useful for parsing an intended command; converting the one or more first input stimuli into a plurality of different verbs, each of the verbs associated with a different action performable in the EHR system, wherein the converting includes extracting the noise, the redundancy, and the verbosity from the sound of the input stimuli; displaying multiple respective command parameters for each of the different verbs, each of the multiple respective command parameters being specific to a patient;
receiving from the user a selection of one of the multiple respective command parameters for each of the different verbs; receiving, via the natural language interface, one or more second input stimuli from the user, wherein the one or more second stimuli includes second text, second sound, and one or more second activation of icons; displaying one or more patients having records in the EHR system based on the one or more second input stimuli; receiving from the user a selection of one of the one or more patients; converting the plurality of different verbs, the selected multiple respective command parameters, and the selected patient into one or more commands, the one or more commands including the intended command; and changing a navigational state of the EHR system based on the one or more commands.
Claims 2 and 12 correspond to
Claims 2 and 12
Claims 3 and 13 correspond to
Claims 3 and 13
Claims 4 and 14 correspond to
Claims 4 and 14
Claims 5 and 15 correspond to
Claims 5 and 15
Claims 6 and 16 correspond to
Claims 6 and 16
Claims 7 and 17 correspond to
Claims 7 and 17
Claims 8 and 18 correspond to
Claims 8 and 18
Claims 9 and 19 correspond to
Claims 9 and 19
Claims 20 and 20 correspond to
Claims 20 and 20
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nenov et al. (WO 2009048984) in view of Fors et al. (US 2007/0083395).
Claims 1 and 11,
Nenov teaches a method comprising: providing a natural language interface to enable a user to access an electronic health record (EHR) system ([Abstract] [0002] the method provides an audio interface for controlling at least one of the controls through audio commands; the digitization of patient information has resulted in specialized databases that allow different medical practitioners to contribute to a single digital copy of the patient file);
receiving, via the natural language interface, one or more first input stimuli from the user, wherein the one or more first input stimuli include text, sound, and one or more activation of icons, and wherein the sound includes noise, redundancy, and verbosity ([0035-0036] [0041] [0065] [0067] [0071] attached to a speech input device (e.g. microphone) and includes other input devices (e.g.) mouse, keyboard, touchscreen; the voice recognition engine translates auditory signals into text; GUI controls include a button, a menu, a menu item etc.; for noise [Wingdings font/0xE0] avoiding unintentional voice commands being issued; redundancy [Wingdings font/0xE0] multiple voice commands may correspond to the same dashboard function, overloaded; verbosity [Wingdings font/0xE0] a macro voice command that corresponds to multiple dashboard functions);
converting the one or more first input stimuli into a plurality of different verbs, each of the verbs associated with a different action performable in the EHR system ([0041] the programmatic interface of some embodiments converts this text into tokens; the programmatic interface of some embodiments correlates each token to a function or set of functions that can be provided to the dashboard for execution by the dashboard);
receiving, via the natural language interface, one or more second input stimuli from the user, wherein the one or more second stimuli include second text, second sound, and one or more second activation of icons ([0035] [0059] [0067] speech input device include a microphone and other input device (e.g. mouse, keyboard, touchscreen etc.; GUI controls include buttons, menu items; selectable tabs from the drop down menu; multiple dashboard function (e.g. multiple buttons, menu selections, etc.).
converting the plurality of different verbs, the selected multiple respective command parameters, and the selected patient into one or more commands ([0075-0076] [00113-00114] speech recognition module converts speech into recognized text and scripting treats the recognized text as a potential voice command; dynamic patient selection command creation [Wingdings font/0xE0] retrieves list of patients names, generates token and corresponding function for selecting each patient and creates an entry); and
changing a navigational state of the EHR system based on the one or more commands ([0086] voice-invoked function include opening and closing modalities, minimizing and maximizing, rearranging locations; for example, receives voice command to minimize open, maximize, close modality).
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Nenov does not explicitly teach obtaining multiple respective command parameters for each of the different verbs, each of the multiple respective command parameters being specific to a patient; receiving a selection of one of the multiple respective command parameters for each of the different verbs; displaying one or more patients having records in the EHR system based on the one or more second input stimuli; receiving a selection of one of the one or more patients.
Fors teaches obtaining multiple respective command parameters for each of the different verbs, each of the multiple respective command parameters being specific to a patient ([0050] secondary menu, a variety of configurations for available data for the selected patient including order view, allergies, order entry etc.);
receiving a selection of one of the multiple respective command parameters for each of the different verbs ([0051] a user may select the “Show All Patient visits” option upon selection; the data may be displayed);
displaying one or more patients having records in the EHR system based on the one or more second input stimuli ([0036] [0045] configuring a list of patients based on specified criteria and user may search the patient list by name, last name, visit etc.; work screen is displayed to a user);
receiving a selection of one of the one or more patients ([0037] the patient list 410 allows a user to select a patient, for example, by a checkbox or other mode, such as for example, using a computer mouse).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Nenov with teachings of Fors by modifying the voice-controlled clinical information dashboard as taught by Nenov to include obtaining multiple respective command parameters for each of the different verbs, each of the multiple respective command parameters being specific to a patient; receiving a selection of one of the multiple respective command parameters for each of the different verbs; displaying one or more patients having records in the EHR system based on the one or more second input stimuli; receiving a selection of one of the one or more patients as taught by Fors for the benefit of managing a more efficient way to organize patient information (Fors [0004]).
Claims 2 and 12,
Nenov further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more first input stimuli further comprise voice and activation of one or more icons ([00115] a voice command was described as performing a single dashboard function on a visible control (e.g., operating one user interface tool of a dashboard, such as clicking a single button, selecting a patient from a list, etc.); a voice command performs a "macro," which invokes several dashboard functions (e.g., operates multiple user interface tools of a dashboard, such as clicking several buttons)).
Claims 3 and 13,
Fors further teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising displaying the one or more command parameters in a navigation prioritized list ([0050] displaying a secondary menu presenting a navigable set of selectable configurations; secondary menu 620 illustrates a variety of configurations).
Claims 4 and 14,
Fors further teaches the method of claim 3, wherein a priority of each of the one or more command parameters in the navigation prioritized list is based on a context of the user, a history of past commands, a current workflow, and patient information ([0038] [0041] [0043-0044] the patient list 410 may be configured based on, for example, the user, type of user or location; information may vary based on the user; configured to show what is new since a prior point in time; the prior point in time may be, for example, a fixed period or since the user last viewed the list; criteria may include person’s a user is responsible for, and/or condition; new information may include new lab results and new orders).
Claims 5 and 15,
Nenov further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein converting the verb, the selected command parameter, and the selected patient into one or more commands comprises rearranging linguistic components stored in an input stimuli database into a command syntax ([0079-0080] [00100-00114] storing converted/recognized text values (linguistic components) in a text token database and converting/mapping those linguistic components into token strings (command syntax) (e.g., “ZoomIn()”, “Select JohnDoe()”) including retrieving the command token via an SQL query; database stores converted text values corresponding to tokens; a row may have ‘zoom in’ in the Text column ‘ZoomIn()’ in the Token column; explicit correlation of linguistic phrase to token (command-syntax token); Patient-specific command token formed using verb and patient name (command syntax); linguistic component (patient name) is stored/entered into the text-token database to correspond recognized text to the token).
Claims 6 and 16,
Nenov further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein converting the verb, the selected command parameter, and the selected patient into one or more commands comprises deriving the one or more commands from various ordered linguistic components stored in an input stimuli database ([0079-0081] [00112] a text-token database and it stores converted text values that correspond to tokens/command; shows deriving a token (command syntax) from recognized text using the database query; the scripting module 320, automatically forms a query, using the received recognized text as a parameter of the query and see the query [0079]; using present recognized text plus subsequent recognized text (i.e. ordered components) to locate an associated token; the scripting module hold the recognized text, in case subsequent recognized text, in conjunction with the present recognized text, is associated with a token in the text-token database; combinatorial voice commands built from ordered components; the modules 320 and 330 create a combinatorial voice command, see example).
Claims 7 and 17,
Nenov further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein converting the verb, the selected command parameter, and the selected patient into one or more commands ([0041] the voice recognition engine translates auditory signals into text; the programmatic interface converts this text into tokens; the programmatic interface correlates each token to a function or set of functions that can be provided to the dashboard for execution) to build the one or more commands from one or more of predicted components and predicted values ([00104] the available voice commands are generated when new data is received in the dashboard; for instance, if a dashboard displays a list of patients, the set of available voice commands, “select John Doe”, alternatively the command may simply be “John Doe”).
Fors further teaches comprises using one or more navigation prioritized lists ([0050] the secondary menu 620 may illustrate a variety of configurations for available data for the selected patient; the configurations on the secondary menu 620 may be configured by a specific criteria).
Claims 8 and 18,
Nenov further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the user is a healthcare provider, a human agent of the healthcare provider, or an artificial agent of the healthcare provider ([0002] medical practitioners).
Claims 9 and 19,
Nenov further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the user is a patient ([Abstract] medical patient).
Claims 10 and 20,
Nenov further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the natural language interface is incorporated into an Internet of Things (IoT) device ([Abstract] voice-controlled clinical information dashboard; an audio interface for controlling at least one of the controls through audio commands).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Schultz (US 2009/0292554) – A tool for planning and management of clinical trials. The tool computes a patient enrollment timeline in a clinical trial using multiple factors that bear on the rate of patient enrollment. The factors may be site-dependent factors or may be country-dependent factors. When these factors are applied, different sites may have different rates of enrollment in the same interval. Further, the factors may be time dependent such that even the same sites may have different enrollment rates in different intervals. Once the timeline is created, the tool may use it to calculate a schedule of monitor visits, project trial completion or otherwise generate output used in management of the clinical trial.
SHREYANS A. PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2653
/SHREYANS A PATEL/ Examiner, Art Unit 2659