DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Application filed on 24 June 2024.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 24 June 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 31 July 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN 202111630647.9, filed on 28 December 2021.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Controlling Measurement Performance of a Cell Defining Synchronization Signal and PBCH block (CD SSB).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 6 recites, “a CD SSB”. It is unclear whether “a CD SSB” is the same as “a CD SSB” in claim 1, line 3. Please apply to Claim 6, lines 3 and 4; claim 9, line 6; claim 10, line 5; claim 10, line 10; claim 10, line 19; claim 11, line 6; claim 11, line 10; claim 12, line 4; claims 13-16 and 19-20 as well
Claim 1, line 6 recites, “a BWP”. It is unclear whether “a BWP” is the same as “a BWP” in claim 1, line 5. Please apply claim 5, lines 11 and 12; claim 13-16 and 19-20.
Claim 2, line 1 recites, “obtaining”. It is unclear whether “obtaining” is the same as “obtaining” in claim 1, line 2. Please apply to claim 3 as well.
Claim 4, lines 1 and 4 recite, “controlling”. It is unclear whether “controlling” is the same as “controlling” in claim 1, line 7. Please apply to claims 5-7, 9, 11-12; claim 12, line 1; claim 13-16 and 19-20 as well.
Claim 6, lines 5 and 6 recite, “a present cell”. It is unclear whether “a present cell” is the same as “a present cell” in claim 1, line 6. Please apply to claim 7, lines 9 and 11; claim 9, line 3; claim 10, line 9; claim 10, line 18; claim 11, line 6 and 10; claim 12, line 4; claims 13-16 and 19-20 as well.
Claim 6, line 6 recites, “an NCD SSB”. It is unclear whether “an NCD SSB” is the same as “an NCD SSB” in claim 1, line 4. Please apply to claim 7, lines 9 and 10; claim 8, line 6; claim 9, line 3; claim 10, lines 49, 18 and 27; claim 10, line 9; claim 10, line 18; claim 10, line 27; claims 13-16 and 19-20 as well.
Claim 6, line 8 recites, “an intra-frequency neighboring cell”. It is unclear whether “an intra-frequency neighboring cell” is the same as “an intra-frequency neighboring cell” in claim 1, line 6. Please apply to claim 6, lines 6-7; claim 8, lines 6-7; claim 9, line 5; claim 10, line 7; claim 10, lines 12-13; claim 10, lines 15-16; claim 10, lines 21-22; claim 10, lines 24-25; claim 11, line 5 and 9; claim 12, line 6; claims 13-16 and 19-20 as well.
Claim 6, lines 10-11 recite, “an inter-frequency neighboring cell”. It is unclear whether “an inter-frequency neighboring cell” is the same as “an inter-frequency neighboring cell” in claim 6, lines 9-10. Please apply to claim 8, lines 6-7; claim 9, lines 5-6; claim 10, line 8; claim 10, lines 16-17; claim 10, lines 22-23; claim 10, line 25; claim 11, lines 5-6 and 9; claims 13-16 and 19-20 as well.
Claim 6, lines 10-11 recite, “an inter-system neighboring cell”. It is unclear whether “an inter-system neighboring cell” is the same as “an inter-system neighboring cell” in claim 6, lines 9-10; claim 8, line 7; claim 9, line 6; claim 10, line 8 and 13-14; claim 10, lines 16-17; claim 10, lines 22-23; claim 10, lines 25-26; claim 11, lines 5-6 and 9-10; claims 13-16 and 19-20 as well.
Claim 7, line 7 recites, “a second BWP”. It is unclear whether “a second BWP” is the same as “a second BWP” in claim 1, line 5. Please apply to claim 7, line 11; claim 8, line 6; claim 9, line 3; claim 10, lines 4, 9, 18 and 27; claim 10, line 9; claim 10, line 18; claim 10, line 27; claims 13-16 and 19-20 as well.
Claim 7, lines 14-17 and 20-24 recite, “measurement performance”. It is unclear whether “measurement performance” is the same as “measurement performance” in claim 1, line 2. Please apply to claim 10, lines 4 and 7; claim 10, line 10; claim 10, line 18; claim 10, line 19; claim 11, lines 2 and 3; claim 12, line 4; claims 13-16 and 19-20 as well.
Claim 7, lines 20-21 recite “a cell selection”. It is unclear whether “a cell selection” is the same as “a cell selection” in claim 7, line 19.
Claim 10, lines 5-6 recites, “a first BWP”. It is unclear whether “a first BWP” is the same as “a first BWP” in claim 1, line 4. Please apply to claim 10, lines 10-11; claim 10, line 19; claim 12, line 4 as well.
Claim 10, line 7 recites “measurement”. It is unclear whether “measurement” is the same as “measurement” in claim 10, line 7. Please apply to claim 10, lines 12 and 13; claim 10, lines 15 and 16; claim 10, lines 21 and 22; claim 10, lines 24 and 25; claim 11, line 5; claim 11, line 5; claim 11, line 7; claim 11, lines 8 and 9; claim 12, line 6; claim 12, line 6; claims 13-16 and 19-20 as well.
Dependent claim 17 is also rejected since it is dependent upon the rejected claims set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al (US 2019/0159261 A1), hereinafter Jung, in view of Sakhinini et al (US 2021/0329579 A1), hereinafter Sakhinini.
Regarding Claim 1, Jung discloses a measurement method (see paragraphs 4, 32 and 56; a measurement/measurement method/method), comprising:
obtaining (see paragraphs 60-61; obtaining/UE receives), by a terminal (see paragraph 56; by a terminal/UE), measurement performance of a first object (see paragraphs 55-56 and 60-61; measurement/measurement performance/performs of a first object/a default DL BWP of a PCell may be defined as a DL bandwidth part for which a UE performs measurement on a serving cell-defining SSB), wherein the first object (see paragraph 56; a first object/a default DL BWP of a PCell may be defined as a DL bandwidth part for which a UE performs measurement on a serving cell-defining SSB) comprises any one of the following:
a Cell Defining Synchronization Signal Block (CD SSB) of a first Bandwidth Part (BWP) (see paragraph 56; a Cell Defining Synchronization Signal Block (CD SSB) of a first Bandwidth Part (BWP)/a default DL BWP of a PCell may be defined as a DL bandwidth part for which a UE performs measurement on a serving cell-defining SSB) and a Non Cell Defining Synchronization Signal Block (NCD SSB) of a second BWP (see paragraphs 55-56, 59 and 78; and a Non Cell Defining Synchronization Signal Block (NCD SSB) of a second BWP/if a UE is configured with a particular DL/UL BWP via dedicated RRC signaling, the UE may be informed of a RACH configuration associated with a non-serving cell-defining SSB), or the NCD SSB of the second BWP (see paragraphs 55, 59 and 78; or the NCD SSB/(non-cell defining SSB) of the second BWP/particular DL BWP), wherein the first BWP is a BWP comprises a CD SSB (see Figure 7 and paragraphs 56 and 78; wherein the first BWP/(first default downlink bandwidth part) is a BWP/(bandwidth part) comprises a CD SSB/cell-defining synchronization signal block), and the second BWP is a BWP comprises an NCD SSB (see Figure 7 and paragraphs 56 and 78; and the second BWP/(second default bandwidth part) is a BWP/(bandwidth part) comprises an NCD SSB/non-serving cell-defining synchronization signal block).
Although Jung discloses a measurement method as set forth above,
Jung does not explicitly disclose “controlling, by the terminal, Radio Resource Management (RRM) measurement according to the measurement performance of the first object”.
However, Sakhinini discloses a measurement method, comprising:
controlling, by the terminal, Radio Resource Management (RRM) measurement according to the measurement performance of the first object (see paragraphs 6, 22-24, 32, 59 and 119-121; Radio Resource Management (RRM) measurement/(the management procedure includes a radio resource measurement procedure) according to the measurement performance/(measuring the first link between the UE and the base station) of the first object/CD-SSB or NCD-SSB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “controlling, by the terminal, Radio Resource Management (RRM) measurement according to the measurement performance of the first object” as taught by Sakhinini in the system of Jung to provides techniques for using a synchronization signal block for measurements (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Sakhinini).
Regarding Claim 2, Jung discloses the measurement method, wherein before obtaining, by the terminal, the measurement performance of the first object, the method further comprises:
receiving (see paragraphs 59 and 78; receiving/receive), by the terminal (see paragraphs 59 and 78; by the terminal/UE), configuration information of the NCD SSB of the second BWP from a network side device (see paragraphs 56, 59, 64 and 76; configuration information/(default DL BWP may include a PCID and a synchronization signal frequency location of a target cell-defining SSB) of the NCD SSB/(non-serving cell-defining SSBs) of the second BWP/(a particular DL/UL BWP) from a network side device/gNB).
Regarding Claim 3, Although Jung discloses the measurement method as set forth above,
Jung does not explicitly disclose “performing, by the terminal, measurement according to the configuration information to obtain the measurement performance of the first object”.
However, Sakhinini discloses the measurement method, wherein obtaining, by the terminal, the measurement performance of the first object comprises:
performing (see Figure 2 and paragraph 121; performing/perform), by the terminal, (see Figure 2 and paragraph 121; by the terminal/UE 115-a) measurement according to the configuration information to obtain the measurement performance of the first object (see Figure 2 and paragraphs 32, 121 and 126; measurement/measurements according to the configuration information/(configuration information 215) to obtain the measurement/(RSRP/SINR) performance of the first object/lean SSB 210).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “performing, by the terminal, measurement according to the configuration information to obtain the measurement performance of the first object” as taught by Sakhinini in the system of Jung as taught by Sakhinini in the system of Jung to provides techniques for using a synchronization signal block for measurements (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Sakhinini).
Regarding Claim 4, Jung discloses the measurement method, wherein before controlling, by the terminal, the RRM measurement according to the measurement performance of the first object, the method further comprises:
controlling, by the terminal, the RRM measurement according to the measurement performance of the CD SSB of the first BWP (see paragraphs 56, 68, 72 and 78; the RRM measurement/measurement according to the measurement/measurement performance of the CD SSB/(cell-defining SSB) of the first BWP/DL BWP).
Although Jung disclose the measurement performance of the CD SSB of the first BWP as set forth above,
Jung does not explicitly disclose “the RRM measurement” according to the measurement performance of the CD SSB of the first BWP.
However, Sakhinini discloses the measurement method, wherein before controlling, by the terminal, the RRM measurement according to the measurement performance of the first object, the method further comprises:
controlling, by the terminal (see Figure 2 and paragraph 113; by the terminal/UE 115-a), the RRM measurement according to the measurement performance of the CD SSB of the first BWP (see Figures 2-3 and paragraphs 12, 32, 59 113-115 and 123; the RRM measurement/(the management procedure includes a radio resource measurement procedure) according to the measurement/measurement performance/perform of the CD SSB/(cell-defining SSB) of the first BWP/second default BWP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “the RRM measurement” according to the measurement performance of the CD SSB of the first BWP as taught by Sakhinini in the system of Jung as taught by Sakhinini in the system of Jung to provides techniques for using a synchronization signal block for measurements (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Sakhinini).
Regarding Claim 5, Jung discloses the measurement method, wherein controlling, by the terminal, the RRM measurement according to the measurement performance of the first object comprises any one of the following:
controlling the measurement according to the measurement performance of the CD SSB of the first BWP (see paragraph 56; controlling the measurement/measurement according to the measurement/measurement performance of the CD SSB/(cell-defining) of the first BWP/default or initial DL BWP);
Although Jung disclose controlling the measurement according to the measurement performance of the CD SSB of the first BWP as set forth above,
Jung does not explicitly disclose controlling the “RRM measurement” according to the measurement performance of the CD SSB of the first BWP.
However, Sakhinini discloses the measurement method, wherein before controlling, by the terminal, the RRM measurement according to the measurement performance of the first object, the method further comprises:
controlling the RRM measurement according to the measurement performance of the CD SSB of the first BWP (see paragraphs 32, 56, 59, 113, 115-116, 121 and 126; controlling the RRM measurement/(the management procedure includes a radio resource measurement procedure) according to the measurement/measurement performance of the CD SSB/(lean SSB) of the first BWP/initial BWP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include controlling the “RRM measurement” according to the measurement performance of the CD SSB of the first BWP as taught by Sakhinini in the system of Jung as taught by Sakhinini in the system of Jung to provides techniques for using a synchronization signal block for measurements (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Sakhinini).
Regarding Claim 6, Jung discloses the measurement method, wherein controlling the RRM measurement comprises at least one of the following:
performing (see paragraph 56; performing/performs), by the terminal (see paragraph 56; by the termina/UE), measurement on a CD SSB of a present cell (see paragraph 56; measurement/measurement on a CD SSB/(cell-defining SSB) of a present cell/serving cell).
Regarding Claim 7, Jung discloses the measurement method, wherein controlling, by the terminal, the RRM measurement according to the measurement performance of the first object comprises:
a present cell is configured with an NCD SSB (see paragraph 59; a present cell/(one or more serving cell) is configured with an NCD SSB/ non-serving cell-defining SSB).
Regarding Claim 8, Although Jung disclose controlling the measurement according to the measurement performance of the NCD SSB of the second BWP as set forth above,
Jung does not explicitly disclose controlling the “RRM” measurement according to the measurement performance of the NCD SSB of the second BWP.
However, Sakhinini discloses the measurement method, wherein controlling the RRM measurement according to the measurement performance of the first object when the terminal meets the first preset condition comprises:
controlling the RRM measurement according to the measurement performance of the NCD SSB of the second BWP (see paragraphs 32, 56, 59, 113, 115-116, 121 and 126; controlling the RRM measurement/(the management procedure includes a radio resource measurement procedure) according to the measurement/measurement performance of the CD SSB/(lean SSB) of the second BWP/second bandwidth).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include controlling the “RRM” measurement according to the measurement performance of the NCD SSB of the second BWP as taught by Sakhinini in the system of Jung to provides techniques for using a synchronization signal block for measurements (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Sakhinini).
Regarding Claim 18, Jung discloses the measurement method, wherein:
the first BWP comprises at least one of the following:
downlink BWP (see paragraph 56; the first BWP/(default BWP) comprises at least one of the following: a downlink BWP/DL BWP).
Regarding Claim 19, Jung discloses a terminal (see Figure 2 and paragraph 41; a terminal/apparatus 200), comprising:
a processor (see Figure 2 and paragraph 41; a processor/processor 202); and
a memory having an instruction stored thereon (see Figure 2 and paragraphs 41-42; a memory/(memory 204) having an instruction/instructions stored/stored thereon/in memory 204), wherein the instruction (see Figure 2 and paragraph 42; wherein instruction/instruction), when executed by the processor/(see Figure 2 and paragraph 42; wherein when executed/executes by the processor/processor 202), causes the processor to implement operations, comprising:
obtaining (see paragraphs 60-61; obtaining/UE receives) measurement performance of a first object (see paragraphs 55-56 and 60-61; measurement/measurement performance/performs of a first object/a default DL BWP of a PCell may be defined as a DL bandwidth part for which a UE performs measurement on a serving cell-defining SSB), wherein the first object (see paragraph 56; a first object/a default DL BWP of a PCell may be defined as a DL bandwidth part for which a UE performs measurement on a serving cell-defining SSB) comprises any one of the following:
a Cell Defining Synchronization Signal Block (CD SSB) of a first Bandwidth Part (BWP) (see paragraph 56; a Cell Defining Synchronization Signal Block (CD SSB) of a first Bandwidth Part (BWP)/a default DL BWP of a PCell may be defined as a DL bandwidth part for which a UE performs measurement on a serving cell-defining SSB) and a Non Cell Defining Synchronization Signal Block (NCD SSB) of a second BWP (see paragraphs 55-56, 59 and 78; and a Non Cell Defining Synchronization Signal Block (NCD SSB) of a second BWP/if a UE is configured with a particular DL/UL BWP via dedicated RRC signaling, the UE may be informed of a RACH configuration associated with a non-serving cell-defining SSB), or the NCD SSB of the second BWP (see paragraphs 55, 59 and 78; or the NCD SSB/(non-cell defining SSB) of the second BWP/particular DL BWP), wherein the first BWP is a BWP comprises a CD SSB (see Figure 7 and paragraphs 56 and 78; wherein the first BWP/(first default downlink bandwidth part) is a BWP/(bandwidth part) comprises a CD SSB/cell-defining synchronization signal block), and the second BWP is a BWP comprises an NCD SSB (see Figure 7 and paragraphs 56 and 78; and the second BWP/(second default bandwidth part) is a BWP/(bandwidth part) comprises an NCD SSB/non-serving cell-defining synchronization signal block).
Although Jung discloses a measurement method as set forth above,
Jung does not explicitly disclose “controlling Radio Resource Management (RRM) measurement according to the measurement performance of the first object”.
However, Sakhinini discloses a measurement method, comprising:
controlling Radio Resource Management (RRM) measurement according to the measurement performance of the first object (see paragraphs 6, 22-24, 32, 59 and 119-121; controlling Radio Resource Management (RRM) measurement/(the management procedure includes a radio resource measurement procedure) according to the measurement performance/(measuring the first link between the UE and the base station) of the first object/CD-SSB or NCD-SSB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “controlling Radio Resource Management (RRM) measurement according to the measurement performance of the first object” as taught by Sakhinini in the system of Jung to provides techniques for using a synchronization signal block for measurements (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Sakhinini).
Regarding Claim 20, Jung discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program or an instruction that (see paragraphs 21-23; a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium/(computer readable medium) storing/storing an instruction/code that), when executed by a processor (see Figure 2 and paragraph 42; when executed by a processor/processor 202), causes the processor (see Figure 2 and paragraph 42; causes the processor/processor 202) to implement operations, comprising:
obtaining measurement performance of a first object (see paragraphs 55-56 and 60-61; obtaining/(UE receives) measurement/measurement performance/performs of a first object/a default DL BWP of a PCell may be defined as a DL bandwidth part for which a UE performs measurement on a serving cell-defining SSB), wherein the first object (see paragraph 56; a first object/a default DL BWP of a PCell may be defined as a DL bandwidth part for which a UE performs measurement on a serving cell-defining SSB) comprises any one of the following:
a Cell Defining Synchronization Signal Block (CD SSB) of a first Bandwidth Part (BWP) (see paragraph 56; a Cell Defining Synchronization Signal Block (CD SSB) of a first Bandwidth Part (BWP)/a default DL BWP of a PCell may be defined as a DL bandwidth part for which a UE performs measurement on a serving cell-defining SSB) and a Non Cell Defining Synchronization Signal Block (NCD SSB) of a second BWP (see paragraphs 55-56, 59 and 78; and a Non Cell Defining Synchronization Signal Block (NCD SSB) of a second BWP/if a UE is configured with a particular DL/UL BWP via dedicated RRC signaling, the UE may be informed of a RACH configuration associated with a non-serving cell-defining SSB), or the NCD SSB of the second BWP (see paragraphs 55, 59 and 78; or the NCD SSB/(non-cell defining SSB) of the second BWP/particular DL BWP), wherein the first BWP is a BWP comprises a CD SSB (see Figure 7 and paragraphs 56 and 78; wherein the first BWP/(first default downlink bandwidth part) is a BWP/(bandwidth part) comprises a CD SSB/cell-defining synchronization signal block), and the second BWP is a BWP comprises an NCD SSB (see Figure 7 and paragraphs 56 and 78; and the second BWP/(second default bandwidth part) is a BWP/(bandwidth part) comprises an NCD SSB/non-serving cell-defining synchronization signal block).
Although Jung discloses a measurement method as set forth above,
Jung does not explicitly disclose “controlling Radio Resource Management (RRM) measurement according to the measurement performance of the first object”.
However, Sakhinini discloses a measurement method, comprising:
controlling Radio Resource Management (RRM) measurement according to the measurement performance of the first object (see paragraphs 6, 22-24, 32, 59 and 119-121; controlling Radio Resource Management (RRM) measurement/(the management procedure includes a radio resource measurement procedure) according to the measurement performance/(measuring the first link between the UE and the base station) of the first object/CD-SSB or NCD-SSB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “controlling Radio Resource Management (RRM) measurement according to the measurement performance of the first object” as taught by Sakhinini in the system of Jung to provides techniques for using a synchronization signal block for measurements (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Sakhinini).
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Sakhinini, and further in view of Yiu et al (US 2019/0074887 A1), hereinafter Yiu.
Regarding Claim 10, Although the combination of Jung and Sakhinini discloses the measurement method as set forth above,
The combination of Jung and Sakhinini does not explicitly disclose “when measurement performance of an NCD SSB of a second BWP of a present cell is greater than or equal to a third preset threshold and the measurement performance of a CD SSB of a first BWP is greater than or equal to an eleventh preset threshold, not performing, by the terminal, at least one of the following: measurement on an intra-frequency neighboring cell”.
However, Yiu discloses the measurement method, wherein controlling the RRM measurement according to the measurement performance of the CD SSB of the first BWP and the measurement performance of the NCD SSB of the second BWP comprises:
when measurement performance of an NCD SSB of a second BWP of a present cell is greater than or equal to a third preset threshold and the measurement performance of a CD SSB of a first BWP is greater than or equal to an eleventh preset threshold (see Figure 1 and paragraphs 17, 24, 28, 141 and 148; when measurement/measurement performance of an NCD SSB/(non cell level SSB) of a second BWP/bandwidth of a present cell/(serving cell) is greater than or equal/(meet or exceed) to a third preset threshold/threshold and the measurement/measurement performance of a CD SSB/(cell level SSB) of a first BWP/bandwidth is greater than or equal to/(meet or exceed) an eleventh preset threshold/indicated signal measurement), not performing (see paragraph 25; not performing/the UE is not required to perform), by the terminal (see paragraph 25; by the terminal/UE), at least one of the following:
measurement on an intra-frequency neighboring cell (see paragraphs 20, 25, 141 and 150; at least one of the following: measurement/measurement on an intra-frequency/(intra-frequency) neighboring/neighbor cell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “when measurement performance of an NCD SSB of a second BWP of a present cell is greater than or equal to a third preset threshold and the measurement performance of a CD SSB of a first BWP is greater than or equal to an eleventh preset threshold, not performing, by the terminal, at least one of the following: measurement on an intra-frequency neighboring cell” as taught by Yiu in the combined system of Jung and Sakhinini to determine whether to skip cellular measurements using s-Measure configuration with a new radio (NR) capable user equipment (UE) that can use a synchronization signal (SS) block (SSB) and/or Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Yiu).
Regarding Claim 11, Although the combination of Jung and Sakhinini discloses the method as set forth above,
The combination of Jung and Sakhinini does not explicitly disclose “when the measurement performance of the SSB of the current BWP is greater than or equal to a seventh preset threshold, not performing, by the terminal, at least one of the following:
measurement on an intra-frequency neighboring cell”.
However, Yiu discloses the method, the measurement method, wherein controlling the RRM measurement according to measurement performance of an SSB of a current BWP comprises:
when the measurement performance of the SSB of the current BWP is greater than or equal to a seventh preset threshold (see paragraphs 25, 141 and 150; when the measurement/measurement performance/perform of the SSB/(SS block) of the current BWP/bandwidth is greater than/(greater than) to a seventh preset threshold/s-Measure_CSI-RS), not performing (see paragraph 25; not/not performed/required to perform), by the terminal (see paragraph 25; by the terminal/UE), at least one of the following: measurement on an intra-frequency neighboring cell (see paragraphs 20, 25, 141 and 150; at least one of the following: measurement/measurement on an intra-frequency/(intra-frequency) neighboring/neighbor cell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “when the measurement performance of the SSB of the current BWP is greater than or equal to a seventh preset threshold, not performing, by the terminal, at least one of the following: measurement on an intra-frequency neighboring cell” as taught by Yiu in the combined system of Jung and Sakhinini to determine whether to skip cellular measurements using s-Measure configuration with a new radio (NR) capable user equipment (UE) that can use a synchronization signal (SS) block (SSB) and/or Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Yiu).
Regarding Claim 12, Although the combination of Jung and Sakhinini discloses the measurement method as set forth above,
The combination of Jung and Sakhinini does not explicitly disclose “when measurement performance of a CD SSB of a first BWP of a present cell is greater than or equal to a ninth preset threshold, not performing, by the terminal, at least one of the following: measurement on an intra-frequency neighboring cell”.
However, Yiu discloses the method, the measurement method, wherein controlling the RRM measurement according to measurement performance of an SSB of a current BWP comprises:
when measurement performance of a CD SSB of a first BWP of a present cell is greater than or equal to a ninth preset threshold (see paragraphs 25, 141 and 150; when measurement/measurement performance/perform of a CD SSB/(SS block) of a first current BWP/bandwidth of a present cell is greater than/(greater than) a ninth preset threshold/threshold), not performing (see paragraph 25; not/not performed/required to perform), by the terminal (see paragraph 25; by the terminal/UE), at least one of the following: measurement on an intra-frequency neighboring cell (see paragraphs 20, 25, 141 and 150; at least one of the following: measurement/measurement on an intra-frequency/(intra-frequency) neighboring/neighbor cell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “when measurement performance of a CD SSB of a first BWP of a present cell is greater than or equal to a ninth preset threshold, not performing, by the terminal, at least one of the following: measurement on an intra-frequency neighboring cell” as taught by Yiu in the combined system of Jung and Sakhinini to determine whether to skip cellular measurements using s-Measure configuration with a new radio (NR) capable user equipment (UE) that can use a synchronization signal (SS) block (SSB) and/or Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Yiu).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 13-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wen et al (US 2023/0171658 A1) discloses Communication Method and Apparatus. Specifically, see paragraphs 115-123.
/L.A.M/ Examiner, Art Unit 2469 /Ian N Moore/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2469