DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/03/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin (U.S. Publication 20110062872) in view of Mathe (U.S. Publication 20140111276).
Regarding claim 1, Jin teaches a voltage supply circuit (1.1) for a first analog output (5.1) (fig. 3 (LED driver circuit 300) fig. 3 the voltage supply circuit with Boost converter 301 and it feedback circuitry which supplies DC supply voltage Vboost to at least one analog current output formed by an LED channel including LDO 304 and LED string 302 [0035-39]), in particular of a measuring device (“The on-resistance of the PWM transistor is measured during the manufacturing process” [0019]), the voltage supply circuit comprising:
a DC/DC converter (2) (fig. 3 (301)) comprising a supply output (2.1) (fig. 3 (312)), an internal or external reference voltage reference (2.2) (fig. 3 (reference voltage with boost controller 316)) and a feedback terminal (2.3) (feedback terminal implemented via resistive divider R/R2 fig. 3 [0036-37]), wherein the DC/DC converter (2) is configured to provide a DC supply voltage (8) at the supply output (2.1) (boost converter 301 fig. 3 provide a regulated DC supply voltage Vboost at its output to supply downstream circuit [0037]);
a first signal input (5.3), via which the voltage value (9.1) provided at the first analog output (5.1) is supplied to the voltage supply circuit (1.1) (output signal Vsense 315 fig. 3 supplied from the analog output circuitry to the supply control circuitry via 311 and 313 influencing controls of the DC/DC converter [0040-44]) and
wherein the value of the DC supply voltage (8) is formed by adding a constant surplus voltage (10) to the sampled voltage value (9.1) (the DC/DC supply voltage Vboost is adjusted such that it exceeds the output voltage by a defined headroom voltage sufficient to maintain regulation of the linear current regulator [0047-49]).
Jin does not explicitly teach a first p-channel MOSFET (3) comprising a first gate terminal (3.1), a first source terminal (3.2) and a first drain terminal (3.3); sampled by the first gate terminal (3.1), wherein the first source terminal (3.2) is connected to the supply output (2.1) via a first resistor (4.1) and the first drain terminal (3.3) is connected to the feedback terminal (2.3) and to 0 volts via a second resistor (4.2).
Mathe in a relevant art teaching techniques for controlling boost converter operation in an envelope tracking (ET) system teaches a first p-channel MOSFET (3) comprising a first gate terminal (3.1), a first source terminal (3.2) and a first drain terminal (3.3) (Mosfet based circuitry used to sample voltage and control boost converter feedback signal fig. 2, 6 where transistor based elements process the sample tracking voltage to generate a control signal for the DC/DC converter [0044-46]);
sampled by the first gate terminal (3.1) (sampling a tracking voltage Vamp fig. 6 using control circuitry that process the sampled voltage prior to regulating the boost converter output, corresponding to sampling by a transistor control terminal [0044]),
wherein the first source terminal (3.2) is connected to the supply output (2.1) via a first resistor (4.1) (resistive coupling associated with the generation of Vtarget fig. 6, which is derived from the sampled voltage and supplied to the boost converter control input, implying resistive scaling between the supply related signal and the control circuitry) and the first drain terminal (3.3) is connected to the feedback terminal (2.3) and to 0 volts via a second resistor (4.2) (supplying the generated Vtarget fig. 6 signal to the boost converter control input referenced to ground through associated circuitry, corresponding to a resistively referenced feedback injection path [0045-49]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the explicit summation-based headroom control or Mathe to the headroom control DC/DC supply of Jin in order to achieve predictable improvement in efficiency and regulator operation.
Regarding claim 2, Jin teaches a voltage supply circuit (1.2) for two preferably reciprocal analog outputs (5.1, 5.2) (LED driver 300 supplying multiple LED channels 302 fig. 3 [0035-39]), in particular of a measuring device (“The on-resistance of the PWM transistor is measured during the manufacturing process” [0019]), the voltage supply circuit comprising:
a DC/DC converter (2) (fig. 3 (301)) comprising a supply output (2.1) (fig. 3 (312)), an internal or external reference voltage reference (2.2) (fig. 3 (reference voltage with boost controller 316)) and a feedback terminal (2.3) (feedback terminal implemented via resistive divider R/R2 fig. 3 [0036-37]), wherein the DC/DC converter (2) is configured to provide a DC supply voltage (8) at the supply output (2.1) (boost converter 301 fig. 3 provide a regulated DC supply voltage Vboost at its output to supply downstream circuit [0037]);
a first signal input (5.3), via which the voltage value (9.1) provided at the first analog output (5.1) is supplied to the voltage supply circuit (1.1) (output signal Vsense 315 fig. 3 supplied from the analog output circuitry to the supply control circuitry via 311 and 313 influencing controls of the DC/DC converter [0040-44]) and
a second signal input (5.4), via which the voltage value (9.2) provided at a second analog output (5.2) is supplied to the voltage supply circuit (1.1) and sampled by the second gate terminal (11.1) (multiple output channels each provide their respective output related voltage/current information to the supply control circuitry, enabling monitoring of more than one analog output [0040-44]),
wherein the value of the DC supply voltage (8) is formed by adding a constant surplus voltage (10) to the respective higher of the two sampled voltage values (9.1, 9.2) (the DC/DC supply voltage Vboost is set based on the weakest output channel i.e the channel requiring the highest voltage, such that sufficient headroom is provided for all channels [0047-49]).
Jin does not explicitly teach a first p-channel MOSFET (3) comprising a first gate terminal (3.1), a first source terminal (3.2) and a first drain terminal (3.3);
a second p-channel MOSFET (11) comprising a second gate terminal (11.1), a second source terminal (11.2) and a second drain terminal (11.3);
wherein the first source terminal (3.2) is connected to the supply output (2.1) via a first resistor (4.1), the first drain terminal (3.3) is connected to the second source terminal (11.2) and the second drain terminal (11.3) is connected to the feedback terminal (2.3) and to 0 volts via a second resistor (4.2), and
Mathe in a relevant art teaching techniques for controlling boost converter operation in an envelope tracking (ET) system teaches a first p-channel MOSFET (3) comprising a first gate terminal (3.1), a first source terminal (3.2) and a first drain terminal (3.3) (Mosfet based circuitry used to sample voltage and control boost converter feedback signal fig. 2, 6 where transistor based elements process the sample tracking voltage to generate a control signal for the DC/DC converter [0044-46]);;
a second p-channel MOSFET (11) comprising a second gate terminal (11.1), a second source terminal (11.2) and a second drain terminal (11.3) (control circuitry capable of processing samples voltage value to determine a target voltage for the boost converter, and extending this circuitry to includes and additional MOSFET for sampling a second voltage an obvious duplication of known structure fig. 6);
wherein the first source terminal (3.2) is connected to the supply output (2.1) via a first resistor (4.1) (resistive coupling associated with the generation of Vtarget fig. 6, which is derived from the sampled voltage and supplied to the boost converter control input, implying resistive scaling between the supply related signal and the control circuitry), the first drain terminal (3.3) is connected to the second source terminal (11.2) (combining sampled voltage processing elements within the control path, and cascading transistor elements to form a dominant voltage selection path and obvious arrangement fig. 6) and the second drain terminal (11.3) is connected to the feedback terminal (2.3) and to 0 volts via a second resistor (4.2)(supplying the generated Vtarget fig. 6 signal to the boost converter control input, referenced to ground through associated circuitry, corresponding to a resistively referenced feedback injection path [0045-49]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the explicit summation-based headroom control or Mathe to the headroom control DC/DC supply of Jin in order to achieve predictable improvement in efficiency and regulator operation.
Regarding claims 3, 11, Jin as modified further teaches wherein the first analog output (5.1) is configured to output a 4-20 mA signal and/or the second analog output (5.2) is configured to output a 20-4 mA signal (the regulated output currents are selectable and adjustable by control circuitry [0038-42]).
Regarding claim 4, Jin as modified further teaches at least one current regulator for adjusting a signal to be output at the first analog output (5.1) and/or the second analog output (5.2) (LDO 304 fig. 3 for each channel output to regulate and adjust current supplied to the corresponding analog output channel [0038-42]), wherein the current regulator is connected to the supply output (2.1) (each LDO 304 is supplied directly from the DC/DC converter output Vboost 312 fig. 3, such that the current regulator is connected to the DC supply output of the boost converter [0036-39]).
Regarding claim 5, Jin as modified further teaches wherein the first resistor (4.1) and the second resistor (4.2) are configured such that the DC supply voltage (8) corresponds to the sum of the voltage (9.1) provided at the first analog output (5.1) and a constant surplus voltage (10) (Vboost fig. 3 is adjusted such that it exceeds the voltage required by the output channel by a defined headroom voltage sufficient to maintain regulation of the linear regulator [0047-49], the output voltage of the DC/DC converter is determined via a resistive feedback network R1/R2 coupled to the boost controller, such that the regulated output voltage corresponds to a desired relationship between the sensed voltage and the converter reference [0036-37]inherently resistive elements in the feedback path of a DC/DC converter to set the output voltage equal to a required output voltage plus a constant surplus) or to the sum of the voltage (9.2) provided at the second analog output (5.2) and the constant surplus voltage (10) (multiple output channels, Vboost is adjusted based on the output channel requiring the highest voltage, such that sufficient headroom is provided for all channels [0047-49]).
Regarding claim 6, Jin as modified further teaches wherein the constant surplus voltage (10) corresponds to a voltage drop at the at least one current regulator (Vboost is adjusted such that it provides sufficient headroom voltage across the linear current regulator LDO 304 to maintain regulation of the output current [0047-49] the power dissipated in the LDO is proportional of the voltage drop across the LDO, and that minimizing excess voltage while maintaining regulation is primary objective of the supply control scheme [0008-0010])).
Regarding claim 7, Jin does not explicitly teach wherein the constant surplus voltage (10) corresponds to the sum of the voltage drop across the first resistor (4.1), a gate-source voltage of the first p-channel MOSFET (3) or a gate-source voltage of the second p-channel MOSFET (11).
Mathe in a relevant art teaching techniques for controlling boost converter operation in an envelope tracking (ET) system teaches wherein the constant surplus voltage (10) corresponds to the sum of the voltage drop across the first resistor (4.1), a gate-source voltage of the first p-channel MOSFET (3) or a gate-source voltage of the second p-channel MOSFET (11) (generating a target voltage for a boost converter as a sum of multiple voltage components, including samples, programmable headroom voltage implemented using transistor based circuitry whose operation inherently includes gate source voltage contribution and resistive voltage drops [0044-46]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the explicit summation-based headroom control or Mathe to the headroom control DC/DC supply of Jin in order to achieve predictable improvement in efficiency and regulator operation.
Regarding claim 8, Jin as modified further teaches wherein the constant surplus voltage (10) is between 3 and 7 V, in particular 5 V (Vboost is controlled to maintain a surplus headroom voltage sufficient to ensure proper operation of the linear current regulator LDO 304 while minimizing power dissipation [0008-10, 47-49] selecting a specific value within a range is obvious to ensure reliable regulation while balancing efficiency).
Regarding claim 9, Jin as modified further teaches at least one voltage regulator for converting the DC supply voltage (8) into an additional DC voltage at a load output for a further load (voltage supply in which DC/DC converter output Vboost supplies downstream circuitry, including control electronics such as the luminance controller 310, DAC, ADC and associated logic fig. 3 [0035-44] “Boost converter 301 receives an input voltage Vin and provides regulated power to LED strings 302”).
Regarding claim 10, Jin as modified further teaches a measuring device (fig. 3 Led driver 300 “LDO 304 comprises a feedback loop that senses the current through the LED string via Vsense and controls the pass transistor Q.sub.L to maintain the sensed current at the programmed current level set by Vref. Op-amp 306 compares Vref to Vsense” [0035-39]), comprising:
a sensor element (fig. 3 sense resistor Rs and associated circuitry producing Vsence [0038-40]);
a voltage supply circuit (voltage supply circuit 301, feedback control and headroom based regulation supplying analog outputs fig. 3 [0035-39, 49-49]) according to claim 1; and
at least one regulator for adjusting a signal to be output at the first analog output (5.1) and/or a signal to be output at the second analog output (5.2) (linear current regulators LDO 304 for each output channel, each to regulate and adjust the signal supplied to the corresponding analog output [0038-42]) which is proportional to a measured value detected by means of the sensor element (the sensed signal Vsense is used by luminance controller 310 to adjust the output current and duty cycle, such that the regulated output signal is proportional to the sensed electrical parameter [0040-44]).
Regarding claim 12, Jin as modified further teaches wherein the voltage supply circuit (1.1, 1.2) comprises at least one voltage regulator for converting the DC supply voltage (8) into an additional DC voltage at a load output for a further load; and comprising at least one further load connected to the load output (voltage supply in which DC/DC converter output Vboost supplies downstream circuitry, including control electronics such as the luminance controller 310, DAC, ADC and associated logic fig. 3 [0035-44] “Boost converter 301 receives an input voltage Vin and provides regulated power to LED strings 302”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jin (U.S Publication 20130127344) discloses Adaptive Switch Mode LED Driver.
/TAQI R NASIR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858