DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the Amendment/Request for Reconsideration filed on January 12, 2026. Claims 1-7, 12, and 14 have been amended and are hereby entered. Claims 17-19 have been added. Claims 15-16 have been withdrawn per the Response to Election/Restriction filed on July 09, 2025. Claims 1-19 are currently pending. This action is made FINAL.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In para [0005], line 4, it appears “proving” should read as --providing--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because:
Reference character “20” has been used to designate both “lip” and “lid” in para [0027] (see para [0027], lines 3 and 21, respectively).
Claim Objections
Claims 10, 14, and 17-18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 10, lines 11-12, it is suggested to amend the phrase “an upper surface of the second wall” to --the upper surface of the second wall-- to improve clarity of the claims by more clearly referring back to the upper surface of the second wall recited in claim 10, line 2.
Claims 14 and 17-18 appear to be missing a comma after their respective claim preambles. It is suggested to include a comma after each claim preamble in order to utilize formatting more consistent with that of the remaining claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18, lines 1-2, recites “a slot formed that protrudes radially away from the arc-shaped recess”. However, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the arc-shaped recess” in the claims. It is thus unclear how the lid and its associated slot and handle are structurally related to one another, and the scope of the claim is therefore rendered indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Serrahima et al. (US 2020/0172292 A1), hereinafter Serrahima.
Annotated Figure 1. Serrahima Fig. 10, Lid (Examiner-Annotated)
Regarding claim 19, Serrahima discloses a pet bowl assembly (food container system 301, capable of use for pets) comprising:
a first bowl (container body 304) including a first base (bottom wall of container body 304) and a first wall (sidewall of container body 304) extending axially upwardly from the first base (fig. 6);
a second bowl (container body 404) including a second base (bottom wall of container body 404) and a second wall (sidewall of container body 404) extending axially upwardly from the second base (fig. 6), the second bowl configured for being received inside of the first bowl (fig. 6 and 8); and a lid (container lid 302) including a lid base (upper wall of container lid 302) and a lip (downwardly protruding perimeter of container lid 302) protruding downwardly from the lid base (annotated fig. 1), the lip being configured for holding the second bowl in place within the first bowl and for removably connecting to the first bowl (fig. 7-8; para [0031], lip is capable of at least partially holding container body 404 in place within container body 304 by securing lid 302 onto container body 304; lip is capable of removably connecting to container body 304),
wherein an outermost circumferential surface of the lid is aligned with an outermost circumferential surface of the first bowl (fig. 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 14, and 17 and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benbow (US 2019/0301783 A1), hereinafter Benbow, in view of Serrahima et al. (US 2020/0172292 A1), hereinafter Serrahima.
Regarding claim 1, Benbow discloses a pet bowl assembly (food storage system 100, capable of use for pets) comprising:
a first bowl (outermost bowl 10z) including a first base (bottom wall of bowl 10z) and a first wall (sidewall of bowl 10z) extending axially upwardly from the first base (fig. 2);
a second bowl (innermost bowl 10a) including a second base (bottom wall of bowl 10a) and a second wall (sidewall of bowl 10a) extending axially upwardly from the second base (fig. 2), the second bowl configured for being received inside of the first bowl (fig. 1); and
a lid (protection element 200) including a lid base (central surface of protection element 200) and a lip (annular grooved section 202) protruding downwardly from the lid base (fig. 4 and 6), the lip being configured for holding the second bowl in place within the first bowl and for removably connecting to the first bowl (para [0028], “protection element 200 may be positionable directly over a plurality 10 of nested bowls”, thus lip of element 200 would be capable of holding innermost bowl 10a in place).
Benbow does not appear to specifically disclose the lid including an articulable handle that is rotatably connected to the second base for rotation about an axis.
However, Serrahima is in the field of food containers (title; abstract) and teaches the lid (container lid 302) including an articulable handle (handle 306) that is rotatably connected to the second base (bottom wall of food container body 404; fig. 6-8, handle 306 is at least indirectly connected to bottom wall of container 400) for rotation about an axis (para [0031], “handle 306 may be pivoted upwardly with respect to the upper surface of the container lid 302”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pet bowl assembly with lid of Benbow to incorporate the articulable handle as taught by Serrahima with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a convenient place for a user to hold such that the assembly is more easily transportable.
Regarding claim 3, Benbow as modified discloses the pet bowl assembly as recited in claim 1, and further discloses wherein a lower surface of the lid base includes a support section (from Benbow, lower surface of central portion of protection element 200), the support section configured for engaging with the second base (from Benbow, bottom wall of bowl 10a) when an upper surface of the lid (from Benbow, protection element 200) is placed on the ground and the second bowl (from Benbow, innermost bowl 10a) is placed on top of the lid (from Benbow, fig. 4, lower surface of central portion of protection element 200 is capable of contacting, or engaging with, bottom wall of bowl 10a when upper surface of protection element 200 is placed on the ground and innermost bowl 10a is placed on top).
Regarding claim 14, Benbow as modified discloses the pet bowl assembly as recited in claim 1 wherein the second base (from Benbow, bottom wall of innermost bowl 10a) is configured for being received inside of the lip (from Benbow, annular grooved section 202) when an upper surface of the lid (from Benbow, protection element 200) is placed on the ground and the second bowl (from Benbow, innermost bowl 10a) is placed on top of the lid (from Benbow, fig. 4 and 6, bottom wall of innermost bowl 10a is capable of being received inside annular grooved section 202 when upper surface of protection element is placed on the ground and innermost bowl 10a is placed on top).
Regarding claim 17, Benbow as modified discloses the pet bowl assembly as recited in claim 1 and further discloses wherein the lid (from Serrahima, container lid 302) includes an arc- shaped recess (from Serrahima, channel 308) that receives the handle (from Serrahima, handle 306) in a retracted position of the handle (from Serrahima, fig. 7; para [0031]).
Claim(s) 2, 4, and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Benbow (US 2019/0301783 A1), hereinafter Benbow, in view of Serrahima et al. (US 2020/0172292 A1), hereinafter Serrahima, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kanazawa (WO 2013/058231 A1), hereinafter Kanazawa.
Regarding claim 2, Benbow as modified discloses the pet bowl assembly as recited in claim 1, but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein an upper surface of the second wall contacts a lower surface of the lid when the lid is connected to the first bowl.
However, Kanazawa is in the field of containers (title; abstract) and teaches wherein an upper surface of the second wall (upper edge of body portion 17) contacts a lower surface of the lid (lower surface of engagement lid 39) when the lid is connected to the first bowl (fig. 6b; lower surface of lid 39 contacts upper edge of body portion 17 when lid 39 is connected to outer container 5C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pet bowl assembly with second wall and lid of Benbow as modified to incorporated the teaching wherein an upper surface of the second wall contacts a lower surface of the lid as taught by Kanazawa with a reasonable expectation of success to provide stability to the second bowl within the first bowl when nested, such that the bowls do not move relative to each other when transported together.
Annotated Figure 2. Image from Kanazawa Fig. 6b (Examiner-Annotated)
Regarding claim 4, Benbow as modified discloses the pet bowl assembly as recited in claim 1, but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the lip is configured for insertion in contact with the second wall such that the lid is configured for holding the second bowl in place inside the first bowl while an engagement of a lid engagement section of the lid with a first bowl engagement section of the first bowl removably connects the lid to the first bowl, the lid engagement section being on an outer circumferential surface of the lip and the first bowl engagement section being on an inner circumferential surface of the first wall.
However, Kanazawa is in the field of containers (title; abstract) and teaches wherein the lip (downward protrusion of engaging convex portion 41) is configured for insertion in contact with the second wall (wall of body portion 17) such that the lid (engagement lid 39) is configured for holding the second bowl (inner container 3C) in place inside the first bowl (outer container 5C; fig. 6b) while an engagement of a lid engagement section of the lid with a first bowl engagement section of the first bowl removably connects the lid to the first bowl (annotated fig. 2; fig. 6a-6b), the lid engagement section being on an outer circumferential surface of the lip and the first bowl engagement section being on an inner circumferential surface of the first wall (wall of trunk portion 27; see annotated fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pet bowl assembly with lip and second wall of Benbow as modified to incorporate the teaching wherein the lip is configured for insertion in contact with the second wall as taught by Kanazawa with a reasonable expectation of success to provide stability to the second bowl within the first bowl when nested, such that the bowls do not move relative to each other when transported together.
Regarding claim 11, Benbow as modified discloses the pet bowl assembly as recited in claim 1, but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein a lower surface of the lid base that is radially outside of the lip contacts an upper surface of the first wall.
However, Kanazawa is in the field of containers (title; abstract) and teaches wherein a lower surface of the lid base (lower surface of top plate portion 44) that is radially outside of the lip (downward protrusion of engaging convex portion 41) contacts an upper surface of the first wall (upper surface of trunk portion 17; shown in fig. 6b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pet bowl assembly with lid base, lip, and first wall of Benbow as modified to incorporate the teaching of a lower surface of a lid base radially outside the lip and contacting an upper surface of the first wall as taught by Kanazawa with a reasonable expectation of success to provide stability to the second bowl within the first bowl when nested, such that the bowls do not move relative to each other when transported together.
Regarding claim 12, Benbow as modified discloses the pet bowl assembly as recited in claim 1, but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the second bowl is held axially in place inside of the first bowl and the lid by a lower surface of the second base contacting an upper surface of the first base and by an upper surface of the second wall contacting a lower surface of the lid.
However, Kanazawa is in the field of containers (title; abstract) and teaches wherein the second bowl (inner container 3C) is held axially in place inside of the first bowl (outer container 5C) and the lid (engagement lid 39) by a lower surface of the second base (engaging recess 35) contacting an upper surface of the first base (part 37a) and by an upper surface of the second wall (upper surface of body portion 17) contacting a lower surface of the lid (lower surface of engagement lid 39; fig. 6b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pet bowl assembly with second bowl, first bowl, and lid of Benbow as modified to incorporate the teaching wherein the second bowl is held axially in place via contact with a first base and a lower surface of the lid with a reasonable expectation of success to provide stability to the second bowl within the first bowl when nested, such that the bowls do not move relative to each other when transported together.
Regarding claim 13, Benbow as modified discloses the pet bowl assembly as recited in claim 1, but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the lid is configured to contact an upper surface of the first wall and an upper surface of the second wall when the second bowl is received inside of the first bowl and the lid is connected to the first bowl.
However, Kanazawa is in the field of containers (title; abstract) and teaches wherein the lid (engagement lid 39) is configured to contact an upper surface of the first wall (upper surface of trunk portion 27) and an upper surface of the second wall (upper surface of body portion 17) when the second bowl (inner container 3C) is received inside of the first bowl (outer container 5C) and the lid is connected to the first bowl (fig. 6b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pet bowl assembly with lid, first wall of first bowl, and second wall of second bowl of Benbow as modified to incorporate the teaching wherein the lid is configured to contact an upper surface of the first wall and an upper surface of the second wall with a reasonable expectation of success to provide stability to the second bowl within the first bowl when nested, such that the bowls do not move relative to each other when transported together.
Claim(s) 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Benbow (US 2019/0301783 A1), hereinafter Benbow, in view of Serrahima et al. (US 2020/0172292 A1), hereinafter Serrahima, and Kanazawa (WO 2013/058231 A1), hereinafter Kanazawa, as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Menrath (US 2,575,283 A), hereinafter Menrath.
Regarding claim 5, Benbow as modified discloses the pet bowl assembly as recited in claim 4, but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein at least one of the first bowl engagement section and the lid engagement section includes at least one protrusion.
However, Menrath is in the field of containers (title) and teaches wherein at least one of the first bowl engagement section (threads 4 of outer jar member 1) and the lid engagement section (threads 4 of cover 13) includes at least one protrusion (fig. 6, each of threads 4 on member 1 and cover 13 is considered a protrusion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pet bowl assembly with first bowl engagement section and lid engagement section of Benbow as modified to incorporate the protrusions as taught by Menrath with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a screw-closure mechanism in order to better secure and insulate the pet bowl assembly, thus protecting the contents of the assembly from damage or degradation (col 3, line 56-col 4, line 2).
Regarding claim 6, Benbow as modified discloses the pet bowl assembly as recited in claim 5, and further discloses wherein the at least one protrusion (from Menrath, threads 4) is helically shaped (see Menrath, fig. 2; col 3, line 56-col 4, line 2, screw threads 4 used to thread multiple parts together form helical shapes).
Regarding claim 7, Benbow as modified discloses the pet bowl assembly as recited in claim 6, and further discloses wherein the lid engagement section (from Menrath, threads 4 of cover 13) protrudes outwardly toward the first bowl (from Menrath, outer jar member 1; fig. 6) and the first bowl engagement section (from Menrath, threads 4 of outer jar member 1) protrudes inwardly toward the lip (from Menrath, cover 13; fig. 6).
Regarding claim 8, Benbow as modified discloses the pet bowl assembly as recited in claim 4, but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the first bowl engagement section and the lid engagement section each includes a plurality of arcuate protrusions, an upper surface of each of the arcuate protrusions of the lid engagement section contacting a lower surface of a respective one of the arcuate protrusions of the first bowl engagement section.
However, Menrath is in the field of containers (title) and teaches wherein the first bowl engagement section (threads 4 of outer jar member 1) and the lid engagement section (threads 4 of cover 13) each includes a plurality of arcuate protrusions (fig. 6; threads 4 are screw threads, which are rounded, or arcuate, in shape), an upper surface of each of the arcuate protrusions of the lid engagement section contacting a lower surface of a respective one of the arcuate protrusions of the first bowl engagement section (fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pet bowl assembly with first bowl engagement section and lid engagement section of Benbow as modified to incorporate the arcuate protrusions as taught by Menrath with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a screw-closure mechanism in order to better secure and insulate the pet bowl assembly, thus protecting the contents of the assembly from damage or degradation (col 3, line 56-col 4, line 2).
Regarding claim 9, Benbow as modified discloses the pet bowl assembly as recited in claim 4, but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the first bowl, the second bowl and the lid are configured such that a rotation of the lid onto the first bowl causes the lid engagement section to engage the first bowl engagement section and causes an upper surface of the second wall to contact the lid.
However, Menrath is in the field of containers (title) and teaches wherein the first bowl (outer jar member 1), the second bowl (inner jar member 5) and the lid (cover 13) are configured such that a rotation of the lid onto the first bowl causes the lid engagement section to engage the first bowl engagement section (fig. 2 and 6; col 3, line 56-col 4, line 2).
Benbow as modified does not appear to specifically disclose the pet bowl assembly configured such that a rotation of the lid onto the first bowl causes an upper surface of the second wall to contact the lid. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that in the combined apparatus of Benbow as modified by Serrahima, Kanazawa, and Menrath, rotation of the lid (from Menrath, cover 13) onto the first bowl (from Menrath, outer jar member 1; rotational engagement via threads 4) causes an upper surface of the second wall (from Kanazawa, upper edge of body portion 17) to contact the lid (from Kanazawa, engagement lid 39; see fig. 6b), as Menrath is merely used to modify the existing container closure mechanism of Kanazawa to include threaded engagement.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pet bowl assembly with first bowl engagement section and lid engagement section of Benbow as modified to have allowed for engagement via rotation with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a screw-closure mechanism in order to better secure and insulate the pet bowl assembly, thus protecting the contents of the assembly from damage or degradation (col 3, line 56-col 4, line 2).
Regarding claim 10, Benbow as modified discloses the pet bowl assembly as recited in claim 4, and further discloses wherein the lid (from Kanazawa, engagement lid 39) is configured to contact an upper surface of the first wall (from Kanazawa, upper edge of trunk portion 27) and an upper surface of the second wall (from Kanazawa, upper edge of body portion 17) when the second bowl (from Kanazawa, inner container 3C) is received inside of the first bowl (from Kanazawa, outer container 5C) and the lid is connected to the first bowl (from Kanazawa, fig. 6b).
Benbow as modified does not appear to specifically disclose:
wherein the first bowl engagement section and the lid engagement section each includes a plurality of arcuate protrusions, an upper surface of each of the arcuate protrusions of the lid engagement section contacting a lower surface of a respective one of the arcuate protrusions of the first bowl engagement section when the second bowl is received inside of the first bowl and the lid is connected to the first bowl,
wherein the first bowl, the second bowl and the lid are configured such that a rotation of the lid onto the first bowl causes the arcuate protrusions of the lid engagement section to engage the arcuate protrusions of the first bowl engagement section and causes an upper surface of the second wall to contact the lid.
However, Menrath is in the field of containers (title) and teaches:
wherein the first bowl engagement section (threads of outer jar member 1) and the lid engagement section (threads of cover 13) each includes a plurality of arcuate protrusions (fig. 6; threads 4 are screw threads, which are rounded, or arcuate, in shape), an upper surface of each of the arcuate protrusions of the lid engagement section contacting a lower surface of a respective one of the arcuate protrusions of the first bowl engagement section (fig. 6) when the second bowl (inner jar member 5) is received inside of the first bowl and the lid is connected to the first bowl (fig. 2),
wherein the first bowl, the second bowl and the lid are configured such that a rotation of the lid onto the first bowl causes the arcuate protrusions of the lid engagement section to engage the arcuate protrusions of the first bowl engagement section (fig. 2 and 6; col 3, line 56-col 4, line 2).
Benbow as modified does not appear to specifically disclose the pet bowl assembly configured such that a rotation of the lid onto the first bowl causes an upper surface of the second wall to contact the lid. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that in the combined apparatus of Benbow as modified by Serrahima, Kanazawa, and Menrath, rotation of the lid (from Menrath, cover 13) onto the first bowl (from Menrath, outer jar member 1; rotational engagement via threads 4) causes an upper surface of the second wall (from Kanazawa, upper edge of body portion 17) to contact the lid (from Kanazawa, engagement lid 39; see fig. 6b), as Menrath is merely used to modify the existing container closure mechanism of Kanazawa to include threaded engagement.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pet bowl assembly with first bowl engagement section and lid engagement section of Benbow as modified to incorporate the arcuate protrusions as taught by Menrath with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a screw-closure mechanism in order to better secure and insulate the pet bowl assembly, thus protecting the contents of the assembly from damage or degradation (col 3, line 56-col 4, line 2).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Benbow (US 2019/0301783 A1), hereinafter Benbow, in view of Serrahima et al. (US 2020/0172292 A1), hereinafter Serrahima, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schroeder et al. (US 2,428,588 A), hereinafter Schroeder.
Regarding claim 18, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue identified above, Benbow as modified discloses the pet bowl assembly as recited in claim 1 but does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the lid includes a slot formed that protrudes radially away from the arc-shaped recess to allow for a user to grip a radial extension of the handle and pull the handle out of the arc-shaped recess.
However, Schroeder is in the field of containers (title) and teaches wherein the lid (top 1c) includes a slot (recess enlargement 4x) formed that protrudes radially away from the arc-shaped recess (recess 4a; fig. 1) to allow for a user to grip a radial extension (central ridged portion of swingable handle 5) of the handle (handle 5) and pull the handle out of the arc-shaped recess (fig. 1; col 5, lines 5-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pet bowl assembly with handle of Benbow as modified to incorporate the slot of Schroeder with a reasonable expectation of success to allow a user to more easily lift and use the handle (col 5, lines 5-9).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments (Remarks, pages 1-3 of 4), filed January 12, 2026, regarding the rejection of claim(s) 1-4 and 11-14 under §102 have been fully considered, but they are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specifically, Applicant argues that Kanazawa (WO 2013/058231 A1) does not teach “a first bowl”, “a second bowl”, and “the lid including an articulable handle that is rotatably connected to the second base for rotation about an axis” (Remarks, page 2 of 4). However, in the instant rejection, Benbow (US 2019/0301783 A1) in view of Serrahima et al. (US 2020/0172292 A1) has been substituted for Kanazawa for teaching the limitation in question, thereby rendering Applicant’s arguments against Kanazawa moot.
Additionally, Applicant argues that Kanazawa (WO 2013/058231 A1) does not teach “a first bowl”, “a second bowl”, and “wherein an outermost circumferential surface of the lid is aligned with an outermost circumferential surface of the first bowl” (Remarks, page 2-3 of 4). However, in the instant rejection, Serrahima et al. (US 2020/0172292 A1) has been substituted for Kanazawa for teaching the limitation in question, thereby rendering Applicant’s arguments against Kanazawa moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.M.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3647
/KIMBERLY S BERONA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3647