DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final Office Action is in response to the June 25, 2025.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Dependent claim 16 is dependent upon the system of claim 18, however, claim 18 is dependent upon improper dependent claim 20 (claim 20 is a non-transitory computer-readable medium not a system). Claim 17 is directed towards, “the system of claim 19” however, claim 19 is a non-transitory computer-readable medium limitation and not a system Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. Claims 16-18 are therefore rejected under 35 USC 112(d).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
an assessment module configured to: identify a type of the rotating asset and obtain one or more operational parameters corresponding to the rotating asset for a first time period in claim 12.
UDI module configured to: monitor the one or more operational parameters over the first time period to determine at least a first operational parameter value from amongst the one or more operational parameters to be beyond a first operating range to detect an anomaly, wherein the anomaly indicates a deviation of the first operational parameter value from the first operating range; calculate the deviation of the first operational parameter value from the first operating range to compute an anomaly score associated with the anomaly detected; derive one or more degradation indicators for the rotating asset in correspondence to the anomaly score and the one or more operational parameters; wherein each degradation indicator from the one or more degradation indicators is indicative of an aspect of an overall health status of the rotating asset; determine a Unified Degradation Indicator (UDI) from one or more degradation indicators, wherein the UDI corresponds to a current measure of the overall health status of the rotating asset in claim 12.
Dependent claims 13-18 further describe the UDI module in similar language that is interpreted under 35 USC 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed towards non-eligible subject matter.
In terms of Step 1, claims 1-20 are directed towards one of the categories of statutory subject matter.
In terms of Step 2(a)(1), independent claims 1, 12, and 19 are directed towards (as represented by claim 1), “A method to determine an overall health status of a rotating asset operating in a facility, the method comprising: identifying a type of the rotating asset and obtaining one or more operational parameters corresponding to the rotating asset for a first time period; monitoring the one or more operational parameters over the first time period to determine at least a first operational parameter value from amongst the one or more operational parameters to be beyond a first operating range to detect an anomaly, wherein the anomaly indicates a deviation of the first operational parameter value from the first operating range; calculating the deviation of the first operational parameter value from the first operating range to compute an anomaly score associated with the anomaly detected; deriving one or more degradation indicators for the rotating asset in correspondence to the anomaly score and the one or more operational parameters, wherein each degradation indicator from the one or more degradation indicators is indicative of an aspect of an overall health status of the rotating asset; determining a Unified Degradation Indicator (UDI) from the one or more degradation indicators, wherein the UDI corresponds to a current measure of the overall health status of the rotating asset; generating an overall health report in correspondence to the UDI for the rotating asset; and initiating one or more maintenance actions associated with the rotating asset in correspondence to the overall health report of the rotating asset”. The claims are describing a collection of information regarding operational parameters, high-level analyzing the parameters to provide degradation and measure the health of the asset/machine, and providing the results (health report). These claims are directed towards aspects that a person with aid of pen and paper would be able to perform mentally. Further, the claim in terms of initiating maintenance actions would be able to be performed further by the person with pen and paper. As such, the claims are directed towards an abstract idea under the mental process grouping.
Step 2(a)(II) considers the additional elements in terms of being transformative into a practical application. The additional elements of the independent claims are, “A system to determine an overall health status of a rotating asset operating in a facility, the system comprising: an assessment module configured to, a UDI module configured to (claim 12), A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions for determining an overall health status of a rotating asset, the instructions being executable by a processor to (claim 19), wherein the one or more operational parameters are obtained from one or more sensing elements coupled to the rotating asset”. The computer system elements (system, non-transitory, module, and processor aspects) are described in the originally filed specification figure 3 and paragraphs [39-41, 44-49, and 108-112]. The computer elements are merely described as tools to implement the abstract idea. The sensing elements are described in the originally filed specification [34 and 49]. The sensing elements are directed towards generic technology to collect information. The sensors are described as tools to implement the abstract idea. As such, the claims are not directed towards additional elements that are transformative into a practical application. Refer to MPEP 2016.05(f).
Step 2(b) considers the additional elements in terms of being significantly more than the identified abstract idea. The additional elements of the independent claims are, “A system to determine an overall health status of a rotating asset operating in a facility, the system comprising: an assessment module configured to, a UDI module configured to (claim 12), A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions for determining an overall health status of a rotating asset, the instructions being executable by a processor to (claim 19), wherein the one or more operational parameters are obtained from one or more sensing elements coupled to the rotating asset”. The computer system elements (system, non-transitory, module, and processor aspects) are described in the originally filed specification figure 3 and paragraphs [39-41, 44-49, and 108-112]. The computer elements are merely described as tools to implement the abstract idea. The sensing elements are described in the originally filed specification [34 and 49]. The sensing elements are directed towards generic technology to collect information. The sensors are described as tools to implement the abstract idea. As such, the claims are not directed towards additional elements that are significantly more than the identified abstract idea. Refer to MPEP 2016.05(f).
Dependent claims 2-11, 13-18, and 20 are further describing the abstract idea and not directed towards further additional elements beyond those identified above. The claims are directed towards, “further comprises assigning a priority to the one or more degradation indicators in correspondence to an application in which the rotating asset is being utilized”, “wherein the one or more operational parameters include vibration, acceleration, and temperature”, “wherein the one or more degradation indicators are associated with a degradation value which corresponds to an extent of degradation of the corresponding one or more degradation indicators”, “wherein the UDI is determined dynamically in correspondence to a current operational parameter value amongst the one or more operational parameters and wherein a value of the UDI is in a range of 0 to 1”, “wherein the one or more degradation indicators include rolling cumulative anomaly count, a rate of change in cumulative anomaly count, rolling mean of anomaly score, rolling standard deviation of anomaly score, rolling kurtosis for vibration axes, and rolling number of starts”, “further comprises determining a remaining useful life of the rotating asset in correspondence to at least one of the UDI, an average life span of the rotating asset, a current age of the rotating asset, an impact factor, and a vibration class of the rotating asset”, “comprises identifying the vibration class of the rotating asset in correspondence to a pre-defined vibration threshold range for the rotating asset”, “wherein the remaining useful life of the rotating asset is determined on identifying the vibration class of the rotating asset”, “further comprises determining the impact factor in correspondence to at least one of an aggregated value of the UDI, a rate of change in the UDI, and the vibration class of the rotating asset, wherein the aggregated UDI and the rate of change in the UDI is computed for a second period of time”, and “further comprises identifying the second period of time in correspondence to the vibration class of the rotating asset”. The claims are further describing the identified mental process in terms of the collection, high-level analyzing, and display/providing the information. This is based on the collection of information regarding the degradation, vibration elements, and other factors; the high level analyzing that provides statistical analysis elements (mean, average, count, kurtosis) and other factors that are provided in analyzing the degradation, and providing the determined degradation. The claims are not directed towards additional elements that are transformative into a practical application or significantly more than the identified abstract idea. Refer to MPEP 2106.05(f).
The claimed invention is directed towards an abstract idea without additional elements that are significantly more or transformative into a practical application. Therefore, claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 USC 101 rejection for being directed towards non-eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over K et a [2023/0260332], hereafter K, in view of Czerniak et al [2016/0349744], hereafter Czerniak.
Regarding claim 1, K discloses a method to determine an overall health status of a rotating asset operating in a facility, the method comprising: identifying a type of the rotating asset and obtaining one or more operational parameters corresponding to the rotating asset for a first time period, wherein the one or more operational parameters are obtained from one or more sensing elements coupled to the rotating asset (Fig 2 and paragraphs [46]; K discloses sensors providing sensed data for a rotating asset/machine.);
monitoring the one or more operational parameters over the first time period to determine at least a first operational parameter value from amongst the one or more operational parameters to be beyond a first operating range to detect an anomaly, wherein the anomaly indicates a deviation of the first operational parameter value from the first operating range; calculating the deviation of the first operational parameter value from the first operating range to compute an anomaly score associated with the anomaly detected (Fig 6 and paragraphs [61-68]; K discloses modeling a predictive failure of the rotating asset based on the sensed parameters that are determined over a time series and calculating a failure point and other operation elements to indicate a deviation of the resultant data.);
deriving one or more degradation indicators for the rotating asset in correspondence to the anomaly score and the one or more operational parameters, wherein each degradation indicator from the one or more degradation indicators is indicative of an aspect of an overall health status of the rotating asset; generating an overall health report in correspondence to the UDI for the rotating asset (Paragraphs [70-77 and 88-90]; K discloses a modeling system that calculates the degradation/health of the asset based on the sensed parameters. The overall health report is through the current condition that is provided within the interface that also provides warnings and notifications of the type of device failure detected.);
K discloses a rotating asset determination system that provides degradation health analysis and notifications, however, does not specifically describe aspects of a UDI or initiating maintenance actions;
Czerniak teaches determining a Unified Degradation Indicator (UDI) from the one or more degradation indicators, wherein the UDI corresponds to a current measure of the overall health status of the rotating asset; initiating one or more maintenance actions associated with the rotating asset in correspondence to the overall health report of the rotating asset (Paragraphs [76-79]; Czerniak teaches a similar rotating asset determination system that specifically provides an indicator (as interpreted within the originally filed specification [25-27 and 35]) and severity determination. Based on the severity indication, Czerniak teaches providing maintenance actions including emergency shutdown, maintenance/inspection scheduling, or no action based on normal operations.).
K discloses a rotating asset modeling system for notifications based on asset health, however, K does not specifically disclose UDI or maintenance actions based on the determination.
Czerniak teaches a similar rotating asset modeling system that specifically provides a degradation indicator through the severity determination and providing maintenance actions based on the severity.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the rotating asset modeling system for notifications based on asset health of K the ability to include a similar rotating asset modeling system that specifically provides a degradation indicator through the severity determination and providing maintenance actions based on the severity as taught by Czerniak since the claimed invention is merely a combination of prior art elements and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 2, the combination teaches the above-enclosed limitations of the method as claimed in claim 1;
Czerniak teaches further comprises assigning a priority to the one or more degradation indicators in correspondence to an application in which the rotating asset is being utilized (Paragraphs [76-79]; Czerniak teaches a similar rotating asset determination system that specifically provides an indicator and severity determination (interpreted as priority). Based on the severity, Czerniak teaches emergency shutdown, maintenance/inspection scheduling, or no action based on normal operations.).
K discloses a rotating asset modeling system for notifications based on asset health, however, K does not specifically disclose UDI or maintenance actions based on the determination.
Czerniak teaches a similar rotating asset modeling system that specifically provides a degradation indicator through the severity determination and providing maintenance actions based on the severity.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the rotating asset modeling system for notifications based on asset health of K the ability to include a similar rotating asset modeling system that specifically provides a degradation indicator through the severity determination and providing maintenance actions based on the severity as taught by Czerniak since the claimed invention is merely a combination of prior art elements and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 3, the combination teaches the above-enclosed limitations of the method as claimed in claim 1,
K further discloses wherein the one or more operational parameters include vibration, acceleration, and temperature (Paragraphs [41-42 and 48]; K discloses parameters including temperature, vibration, and sensors that include accelerometers (interpreted as acceleration).).
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches the above-enclosed limitations of the method as claimed in claim 1,
Czerniak further teaches wherein the one or more degradation indicators are associated with a degradation value which corresponds to an extent of degradation of the corresponding one or more degradation indicators (Paragraphs [76-79]; Czerniak teaches determining a severity (interpreted as priority) to determine the appropriate maintenance action (emergency shutdown, critical warning, or inspection schedule).).
K discloses a rotating asset modeling system for notifications based on asset health, however, K does not specifically disclose UDI or maintenance actions based on the determination.
Czerniak teaches a similar rotating asset modeling system that specifically provides a degradation indicator through the severity determination and providing maintenance actions based on the severity.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the rotating asset modeling system for notifications based on asset health of K the ability to include a similar rotating asset modeling system that specifically provides a degradation indicator through the severity determination and providing maintenance actions based on the severity as taught by Czerniak since the claimed invention is merely a combination of prior art elements and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 5, the combination teaches the above-enclosed limitations of the method as claimed in claim 1,
K further discloses wherein the UDI is determined dynamically in correspondence to a current operational parameter value amongst the one or more operational parameters and wherein a value of the UDI is in a range of 0 to 1 (Fig 12B, 13B, and paragraphs [76-78]; K discloses degradation modeling between 0 and 1 for the distribution mean values. This would be within the UDI classification of Czerniak that provides threshold analysis and K provides the specific modeling range.).
Regarding claim 6, the combination teaches the above-enclosed limitations of the method as claimed in claim 1,
K further discloses wherein the one or more degradation indicators include rolling cumulative anomaly count, a rate of change in cumulative anomaly count, rolling mean of anomaly score, rolling standard deviation of anomaly score, rolling kurtosis for vibration axes, and rolling number of starts (Paragraphs [64-69]; K further discloses standard deviation, kurtosis, and other statistical/modeling elements for the asset. Further, within the combination, Czerniak teaches real-time data collection and K provides current data collection to compare and predict according to a baseline (interpreted as rolling).).
Regarding claim 7, the combination teaches the above-enclosed limitations of the method as claimed in claim 1;
Czerniak teaches further comprises determining a remaining useful life of the rotating asset in correspondence to at least one of the UDI, an average life span of the rotating asset, a current age of the rotating asset, an impact factor, and a vibration class of the rotating asset (Paragraphs [32-42 and 61-62]; Czerniak teaches providing and determining useful life for the rotating asset based on vibration, lifespan, and other factors based on damage and other measured results (cracks, frequency, start-stop).).
K discloses a rotating asset modeling system for notifications based on asset health, however, K does not specifically disclose UDI elements with vibration class.
Czerniak teaches a similar rotating asset modeling system that specifically provides a degradation indicator through the severity determination based on vibration parameters.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the rotating asset modeling system for notifications based on asset health of K the ability to include a similar rotating asset modeling system that specifically provides a similar rotating asset modeling system that specifically provides a degradation indicator through the severity determination based on vibration parameters as taught by Czerniak since the claimed invention is merely a combination of prior art elements and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 8, the combination teaches the above-enclosed limitations of the method as claimed in claim 7;
Czerniak teaches comprises identifying the vibration class of the rotating asset in correspondence to a pre-defined vibration threshold range for the rotating asset (Paragraphs [64-70]; Czerniak teaches vibrational frequency threshold determinations.).
K discloses a rotating asset modeling system for notifications based on asset health, however, K does not specifically disclose UDI elements with vibration class.
Czerniak teaches a similar rotating asset modeling system that specifically provides a degradation indicator through the severity determination based on vibration parameters.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the rotating asset modeling system for notifications based on asset health of K the ability to include a similar rotating asset modeling system that specifically provides a similar rotating asset modeling system that specifically provides a degradation indicator through the severity determination based on vibration parameters as taught by Czerniak since the claimed invention is merely a combination of prior art elements and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 9, the combination teaches the above-enclosed limitations of the method as claimed in claim 7,
Czerniak further teaches wherein the remaining useful life of the rotating asset is determined on identifying the vibration class of the rotating asset (Paragraphs [64-70]; Czerniak teaches vibrational frequency threshold determinations (interpreted as vibration class according to originally filed specification [68]).).
K discloses a rotating asset modeling system for notifications based on asset health, however, K does not specifically disclose UDI elements with vibration class.
Czerniak teaches a similar rotating asset modeling system that specifically provides a degradation indicator through the severity determination based on vibration parameters.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the rotating asset modeling system for notifications based on asset health of K the ability to include a similar rotating asset modeling system that specifically provides a similar rotating asset modeling system that specifically provides a degradation indicator through the severity determination based on vibration parameters as taught by Czerniak since the claimed invention is merely a combination of prior art elements and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 10, the combination teaches the above-enclosed limitations of the method as claimed in claim 7;
Czerniak teaches further comprises determining the impact factor in correspondence to at least one of an aggregated value of the UDI, a rate of change in the UDI, and the vibration class of the rotating asset, wherein the aggregated UDI and the rate of change in the UDI is computed for a second period of time (Paragraphs [64-70]; Czerniak teaches vibrational frequency threshold determinations (interpreted as vibration class according to originally filed specification [68]).).
K discloses a rotating asset modeling system for notifications based on asset health, however, K does not specifically disclose UDI elements with vibration class.
Czerniak teaches a similar rotating asset modeling system that specifically provides a degradation indicator through the severity determination based on vibration parameters.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the rotating asset modeling system for notifications based on asset health of K the ability to include a similar rotating asset modeling system that specifically provides a similar rotating asset modeling system that specifically provides a degradation indicator through the severity determination based on vibration parameters as taught by Czerniak since the claimed invention is merely a combination of prior art elements and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 11, the combination teaches the above-enclosed limitations of the method as claimed in claim 8
K discloses further comprises identifying the second period of time in correspondence to the vibration class of the rotating asset (Fig 14 and paragraphs [62-69]; K discloses timing aspects with respect to vibration parameters. Within the combination, Czerniak teaches [76-78] teaches timing elements for the vibration parameters.).
Regarding claim 12, K discloses a system to determine an overall health status of a rotating asset operating in a facility, the system comprising: an assessment module configured to: identify a type of the rotating asset and obtain one or more operational parameters corresponding to the rotating asset for a first time period, wherein the one or more operational parameters are obtained from one or more sensing elements coupled to the rotating asset (Fig 2 and paragraphs [46]; K discloses sensors providing sensed data for a rotating asset/machine.); and
a UDI module configured to: monitor the one or more operational parameters over the first time period to determine at least a first operational parameter value from amongst the one or more operational parameters to be beyond a first operating range to detect an anomaly, wherein the anomaly indicates a deviation of the first operational parameter value from the first operating range; calculate the deviation of the first operational parameter value from the first operating range to compute an anomaly score associated with the anomaly detected (Fig 6 and paragraphs [61-68]; K discloses modeling a predictive failure of the rotating asset based on the sensed parameters that are determined over a time series and calculating a failure point and other operation elements to indicate a deviation of the resultant data.);
derive one or more degradation indicators for the rotating asset in correspondence to the anomaly score and the one or more operational parameters; wherein each degradation indicator from the one or more degradation indicators is indicative of an aspect of an overall health status of the rotating asset; generate an overall health report in correspondence to the UDI for the rotating asset (Paragraphs [70-77 and 88-90]; K discloses a modeling system that calculates the degradation/health of the asset based on the sensed parameters. The overall health report is through the current condition that is provided within the interface that also provides warnings and notifications of the type of device failure detected.);
K discloses a rotating asset determination system that provides degradation health analysis and notifications, however, does not specifically describe aspects of a UDI or initiating maintenance actions;
Czerniak teaches determine a Unified Degradation Indicator (UDI) from one or more degradation indicators, wherein the UDI corresponds to a current measure of the overall health status of the rotating asset; and initiate one or more maintenance actions associated with the rotating asset in correspondence to the overall health report of the rotating asset (Paragraphs [76-79]; Czerniak teaches a similar rotating asset determination system that specifically provides an indicator (as interpreted within the originally filed specification [25-27 and 35]) and severity determination. Based on the severity indication, Czerniak teaches providing maintenance actions including emergency shutdown, maintenance/inspection scheduling, or no action based on normal operations.).
K discloses a rotating asset modeling system for notifications based on asset health, however, K does not specifically disclose UDI or maintenance actions based on the determination.
Czerniak teaches a similar rotating asset modeling system that specifically provides a degradation indicator through the severity determination and providing maintenance actions based on the severity.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the rotating asset modeling system for notifications based on asset health of K the ability to include a similar rotating asset modeling system that specifically provides a degradation indicator through the severity determination and providing maintenance actions based on the severity as taught by Czerniak since the claimed invention is merely a combination of prior art elements and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 13, the combination teaches the above-enclosed limitations of the system as claimed in claim 11,
Czerniak teaches wherein the UDI module is further configured to assign a priority to the one or more degradation indicators in correspondence to an application in which the rotating asset is being utilized (Paragraphs [76-79]; Czerniak teaches a similar rotating asset determination system that specifically provides an indicator and severity determination (interpreted as priority). Based on the severity, Czerniak teaches emergency shutdown, maintenance/inspection scheduling, or no action based on normal operations.).
K discloses a rotating asset modeling system for notifications based on asset health, however, K does not specifically disclose UDI or maintenance actions based on the determination.
Czerniak teaches a similar rotating asset modeling system that specifically provides a degradation indicator through the severity determination and providing maintenance actions based on the severity.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the rotating asset modeling system for notifications based on asset health of K the ability to include a similar rotating asset modeling system that specifically provides a degradation indicator through the severity determination and providing maintenance actions based on the severity as taught by Czerniak since the claimed invention is merely a combination of prior art elements and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 14, the combination teaches the above-enclosed limitations of the system as claimed in claim 11,
K further discloses wherein the one or more degradation indicators are associated with a degradation value which corresponds to an extent of degradation of the corresponding one or more degradation indicators; and wherein the one or more degradation indicators include rolling cumulative anomaly count, a rate of change in cumulative anomaly count, rolling mean of anomaly score, rolling standard deviation of anomaly score, rolling kurtosis for vibration axes, and rolling number of starts (Paragraphs [64-69]; K further discloses standard deviation, kurtosis, and other statistical/modeling elements for the asset. Further, within the combination, Czerniak teaches real-time data collection and K provides current data collection to compare and predict according to a baseline (interpreted as rolling).).
Regarding claim 15, the combination teaches the above-enclosed limitations of the system as claimed in claim 11,
Czerniak teaches wherein the UDI module is further configured to determine a remaining useful life of the rotating asset in correspondence to at least one of the UDI, an average life span of the rotating asset, a current age of the rotating asset, an impact factor, and a vibration class of the rotating asset (Paragraphs [32-42 and 61-62]; Czerniak teaches providing and determining useful life for the rotating asset based on vibration, lifespan, and other factors based on damage and other measured results (cracks, frequency, start-stop).).
K discloses a rotating asset modeling system for notifications based on asset health, however, K does not specifically disclose UDI elements with vibration class.
Czerniak teaches a similar rotating asset modeling system that specifically provides a degradation indicator through the severity determination based on vibration parameters.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the rotating asset modeling system for notifications based on asset health of K the ability to include a similar rotating asset modeling system that specifically provides a similar rotating asset modeling system that specifically provides a degradation indicator through the severity determination based on vibration parameters as taught by Czerniak since the claimed invention is merely a combination of prior art elements and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 16, the combination teaches the above-enclosed limitations of the system as claimed in claim 18,
Czerniak teaches wherein the UDI module is further configured to determine the impact factor in correspondence to at least one of an aggregated value of the UDI and a rate of change in the UDI, wherein the aggregated UDI and the rate of change in the UDI is computed for a second period of time (Paragraphs [64-70]; Czerniak teaches vibrational frequency threshold determinations (interpreted as vibration class according to originally filed specification [68]).).
K discloses a rotating asset modeling system for notifications based on asset health, however, K does not specifically disclose UDI elements with vibration class.
Czerniak teaches a similar rotating asset modeling system that specifically provides a degradation indicator through the severity determination based on vibration parameters.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the rotating asset modeling system for notifications based on asset health of K the ability to include a similar rotating asset modeling system that specifically provides a similar rotating asset modeling system that specifically provides a degradation indicator through the severity determination based on vibration parameters as taught by Czerniak since the claimed invention is merely a combination of prior art elements and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 17, the combination teaches the above-enclosed limitations of the system as claimed in claim 19,
Czerniak teaches wherein the UDI module is further configured to identify the vibration class of the rotating asset in correspondence to a pre-defined vibration range for the rotating asset (Paragraphs [64-70]; Czerniak teaches vibrational frequency threshold determinations.).
K discloses a rotating asset modeling system for notifications based on asset health, however, K does not specifically disclose UDI elements with vibration class.
Czerniak teaches a similar rotating asset modeling system that specifically provides a degradation indicator through the severity determination based on vibration parameters.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the rotating asset modeling system for notifications based on asset health of K the ability to include a similar rotating asset modeling system that specifically provides a similar rotating asset modeling system that specifically provides a degradation indicator through the severity determination based on vibration parameters as taught by Czerniak since the claimed invention is merely a combination of prior art elements and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 18, the combination teaches the above-enclosed limitations of the system as claimed in claim 20,
K further discloses and wherein the UDI module is further configured to identify the second period of time in correspondence to the vibration class of the rotating asset (Fig 14 and paragraphs [62-69]; K discloses timing aspects with respect to vibration parameters. Within the combination, Czerniak teaches [76-78] teaches timing elements for the vibration parameters.)
Czerniak teaches wherein the remaining useful life of the rotating asset is determined on identifying the vibration class of the rotating asset; (Paragraphs [64-70]; Czerniak teaches vibrational frequency threshold determinations (interpreted as vibration class according to originally filed specification [68]).).
K discloses a rotating asset modeling system for notifications based on asset health, however, K does not specifically disclose UDI elements with vibration class.
Czerniak teaches a similar rotating asset modeling system that specifically provides a degradation indicator through the severity determination based on vibration parameters.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the rotating asset modeling system for notifications based on asset health of K the ability to include a similar rotating asset modeling system that specifically provides a similar rotating asset modeling system that specifically provides a degradation indicator through the severity determination based on vibration parameters as taught by Czerniak since the claimed invention is merely a combination of prior art elements and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 19, K discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions for determining an overall health status of a rotating asset, the instructions being executable by a processor to: identify a type of the rotating asset and obtain one or more operational parameters corresponding to the rotating asset for a first time period, wherein the one or more operational parameters are obtained from one or more sensing elements coupled to the rotating asset (Fig 2 and paragraphs [46]; K discloses sensors providing sensed data for a rotating asset/machine.);
monitor the one or more operational parameters over the first time period to determine at least a first operational parameter value from amongst the one or more operational parameters to be beyond a first operating range to detect an anomaly, wherein the anomaly indicates a deviation of the first operational parameter value from the first operating range; calculate the deviation of the first operational parameter value from the first operating range to compute an anomaly score associated with the anomaly detected (Fig 6 and paragraphs [61-68]; K discloses modeling a predictive failure of the rotating asset based on the sensed parameters that are determined over a time series and calculating a failure point and other operation elements to indicate a deviation of the resultant data.);
derive one or more degradation indicators for the rotating asset in correspondence to the anomaly score and the one or more operational parameters, wherein each degradation indicator from the one or more degradation indicators is indicative of an aspect of an overall health status of the rotating asset; generate an overall health report in correspondence to the UDI for the rotating asset (Paragraphs [70-77 and 88-90]; K discloses a modeling system that calculates the degradation/health of the asset based on the sensed parameters. The overall health report is through the current condition that is provided within the interface that also provides warnings and notifications of the type of device failure detected.);
K discloses a rotating asset determination system that provides degradation health analysis and notifications, however, does not specifically describe aspects of a UDI or initiating maintenance actions;
Czerniak teaches determine a Unified Degradation Indicator (UDI) from the one or more degradation indicators, wherein the UDI corresponds to a current measure of the overall health status of the rotating asset; and initiate one or more maintenance actions associated with the rotating asset in correspondence to the overall health report of the rotating asset (Paragraphs [76-79]; Czerniak teaches a similar rotating asset determination system that specifically provides an indicator (as interpreted within the originally filed specification [25-27 and 35]) and severity determination. Based on the severity indication, Czerniak teaches providing maintenance actions including emergency shutdown, maintenance/inspection scheduling, or no action based on normal operations.).
K discloses a rotating asset modeling system for notifications based on asset health, however, K does not specifically disclose UDI or maintenance actions based on the determination.
Czerniak teaches a similar rotating asset modeling system that specifically provides a degradation indicator through the severity determination and providing maintenance actions based on the severity.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the rotating asset modeling system for notifications based on asset health of K the ability to include a similar rotating asset modeling system that specifically provides a degradation indicator through the severity determination and providing maintenance actions based on the severity as taught by Czerniak since the claimed invention is merely a combination of prior art elements and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 20, the combination teaches the above-enclosed limitations of the non-transitory computer-readable medium as claimed in claim 19,
Czerniak teaches wherein the instructions further cause the processor to determine a remaining useful life of the rotating asset in correspondence to at least one of the UDI, an average life span of the rotating asset, a current age of the rotating asset, an impact factor, and a vibration class of the rotating asset (Paragraphs [32-42 and 61-62]; Czerniak teaches providing and determining useful life for the rotating asset based on vibration, lifespan, and other factors based on damage and other measured results (cracks, frequency, start-stop).).
K discloses a rotating asset modeling system for notifications based on asset health, however, K does not specifically disclose UDI elements with vibration class.
Czerniak teaches a similar rotating asset modeling system that specifically provides a degradation indicator through the severity determination based on vibration parameters.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the rotating asset modeling system for notifications based on asset health of K the ability to include a similar rotating asset modeling system that specifically provides a similar rotating asset modeling system that specifically provides a degradation indicator through the severity determination based on vibration parameters as taught by Czerniak since the claimed invention is merely a combination of prior art elements and in the combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the results of the combination were predictable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Krishnaswamy et al [2022/0198357] (useful life asset modeling);
/ANDREW CHASE LAKHANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3629